Postgrad Students 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 KingKazama

Jellytotsx wrote: »
    Any idea when our lectures actually start?Hate not knowing how everything is going to go and when everything is starting!

I was in talking to Ann this morning in the History Department and they got my deposit and everything's all good :) She told me that our Hdip modules begin on Monday 19th even though we don't register 'til the 22nd. We will get all the information about the course and our electives later on during the week, possibly Wednesday. Hope it helps!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Thanks for posting that KingKazama! Saves me from having to go into the dept office tomorrow now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 KingKazama

Thanks for posting that KingKazama! Saves me from having to go into the dept office tomorrow now :P

No problem at all. Name's Padraig btw. Can't wait to start now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭KizzyMonster

HDIP in IT? Dont worry it'll be fun ;)

Wooooooo!!! :)

KingKazama wrote: »
    No problem at all. Name's Padraig btw. Can't wait to start now:D
    Neither can I! I'm Shauna :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Who's going to the Wine Reception tomorrow evenin?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Thx1182

Would love to be going for the Wine reception (free wine!) but my induction day is Friday and it was hard enough getting off work for that i dont think "but its for free wine!" would cut it as an excuse :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Free wine!!!!
    I'm not going. I would have gone, but, like, I'm in France and whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Not sure if even free wine and the chatz can bring me out to Maynooth.
    Will probably be at the induction thing on Friday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Don't worry, ye didn't miss much - not many of the faculty were there, just some music, english and biology, wrapped up after an hour or so.

God damnit, those chocolate croissants were nice! :P Anyone else in attendance today? I lol'd at the amount of people who left before the SU talk :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I lol'd at the amount who left after the SU talk. I thought it was badly organised. I know the girl was outside a few minutes later saying "It's not over! It's not over!". But they should've been in the room with the next speaker ready to go. I was thoroughly fed up by that stage and just went home. I don't think any of that stuff printed out contained any information I couldn't have gotten off the website. Maybe the talks after that SU fella were fine and full of relevant information... but I'm annoyed. That was four and a half hours commuting, fifteen euros, for absolutely nothing useful to me. Nothing, at least, that I couldn't have read off the site or an email. Complete waste of time. It seemed more designed for people who'd never been to the college before. Granted, as I said, I left early right after that SU fella... so maybe it was thoroughly wonderful later on. But the stuff he was saying was almost the last straw, and then when nothing happened once he finished my patience broke.

Naw you're right, there really wasn't much to it at all. If I'd have known beforehand i probably wouldn't have bothered going in at all.

mickstupp wrote: »
    I lol'd at the amount who left after the SU talk...Granted, as I said, I left early right after that SU fella...

You lol'd at yourself?

Yeah, absolutely. I think it's pretty sad if you can't laugh at yourself. It was stupid of me to expect anything approaching useful information so I shouldn't have bothered showing up at all.

TBH I thought it was pretty bad form when all the people left, it made the SU look bad,
    not to mention the college and also made the president's speech about helping the
    non NUIM students not make much sense when all the NUIM students decided to desert the others and leave.

I don't think the day was a waste of time as it focused mostly on the postgrad aspects of NUIM,
    it wasn't an introduction for 1st years and the topics had a specifically post grad focus put on them.
    I did my UG in NUIM and I still thought the talks had useful points.
    Points which most students take for granted when studying in NUIM.

I didn't think it made the SU look at all bad. Don't see how it would. If anyone wants to point fingers and say 'they' look bad, they might point at the graduate studies office for being badly organised, and perhaps it didn't reflect well on the dean of graduate studies for her speech about excellence leading into a sloppy situation. But I don't think I'd hold it against anyone particularly, and I don't think it would be helpful. It was just a bit of a screw up, that's all. Everybody screws up sometimes. Whoever was on before that guy mentioned something about finishing up a little early. Once yer man was done and none of the organisers were actually in the room, it was natural in my opinion for a bunch of people to assume that was that. There should have been someone from the graduate studies office in there at all times, letting people know there was someone else coming or whatever. They probably just lost track of time, but they still should've had someone in there, they shouldn't all have left.

In any case I, and a bunch of others, were leaving as soon as the break was coming anyway. No staff in the room, so why not assume that was the break? But the reason for me leaving was that as far as I was concerned there wasn't a single thing that could not have been shared via email or simply read off the site, whether right then, three weeks ago, or whenever they get around to updating their pages properly. That's why I was angry. When I said I shouldn't have expected useful information, I should have elaborated. I didn't mean the information itself was useless or irrelevant, simply that there was nothing there that I couldn't have gotten from the site or a mail. And that goes for the handouts and booklets too. They didn't need to be printed, all that wasted money and paper. Talking about austerity and cuts and then spending who knows how much on glossy colour printed booklets and so on? Should've kept it at PDFs on the site. Emails.

Besides that there was a little misinformation too, both in the talk and in the graduate studies handbook. For instance the lady assuring us we could pay the 93 in any way we wished. Yet last night I went to the fees site and there's a big notice there saying they accept nothing but giros. It's not like they took the summer off as well, they've had plenty of time to organise things and proof read and check their links and facts. It was a bit sloppy, that's all. By all means make it compulsory for those who haven't been going to NUIM for a bunch of years, it was absolutely all relevant for them, but the rest should've been told all the information is either already online or will be once the sites are updated. Lot of people aren't able to afford unnecessary travel and expenses. This was unnecessary. That's money I could've used on a second hand textbook. It's time that people didn't have to waste, it's people organising child minders or lifts or trains or days off work or whatever when they really didn't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Nekro Man

Masters in Radio and TV Production ^__^

I have a specific question regarding fees for MA:
    I got my fees giro a few weeks ago which quoted me the full fee for my course
    but I registered last week and when I got to the outstanding fees part
    it said that the outstanding fee was just over 2 grand less than what the giro said,
    yet I hadn't paid the giro before that.

Has this happened to anyone before?
    And if so is it what I think it means?
    (that I received a grant this year and that the lesser amount quoted
    is all that I am required to pay).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

Norrdeth wrote: »
    I have a specific question regarding fees for MA:
    I got my fees giro a few weeks ago which quoted me the full fee for my course
    but I registered last week and when I got to the outstanding fees part
    it said that the outstanding fee was just over 2 grand less than what the giro said,
    yet I hadn't paid the giro before that.

Has this happened to anyone before?
    And if so is it what I think it means?
    (that I received a grant this year and that the lesser amount quoted
    is all that I am required to pay).

The giro includes fees, student levy, registration fees etc. You were quoted (at registration) only your fees for the course but you need to pay what is on the giro to fully register with the college. All the additional amounts will add up to about €2000 so this could be where the discrepancy is.

If you have received a grant, you only need to pay the student levy and whatever amount of fees the grant doesn't cover (if any). If you are confused about it, go to the "fees and grants" office (it should be the same place you had your photo taken for your student card) and they will explain what you owe and what will be paid for you by the grant.

Thanks for the information, I have been to the reg. office many times and it's been really busy,
    I am due to get a grant for 1/2 fees so I thought I got the discount
    but it turns out that they haven't assessed my re-application yet.
    I'll visit on Thursday when things have calmed down hopefully.
    And in the mean time try to pay the student levy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Anyone else see this e-mail?
    Hello Postgraduates,

The Graduate Studies Office is happy to announce that on Monday October 17th the Postgraduate Common Room, the HET HUT, will officially be open for postgraduate students.

The Het Hut is located on the south Campus behind Logic House in a portable prefab building. The Formal Gardens are on the right. (see attached map, Het Hut is marked in RED). It is the 2nd to last prefab before the field. Signs are posted on the windows so you should not miss it.

It is accessed by a swipe card. Security has provided access to all postgraduate students. Once in the building, the Room Code is 142. If you have any problems with your swipe card, please let me know and I can notify Security on your behalf.

Your swipe card is only accessible between 8:00 am and 7:00 pm. Please note: the surrounding area is dark at night, so please ring Security for an escort if you are staying late. We also ask for security purposes that you please close windows and shades if you are the last person leaving the room.

Please remember that the room is a shared space, for use by all postgraduate students. Please help to keep the room clean and tidy for all to use.

ENJOY the space, and please ring us or email us if you have any questions or suggestions regarding the room.

And more importantly, anybody been in there?
    What facilities are in the 'het hut'?
    Is it just a room, or does it have a kettle and things, like the mature students room??

At the postgrad orientation they told us there would be kettle, microwave, and even a hob I think. I'll check it out on Monday and report back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Awesome, so close to me here. Microwaving late dinners, woo!

Yuss right beside me also, should pop in on Mon. for an evaluation.
    Boardsies PG Meeting/tea & coffee session anyone?

Norrdeth wrote: »
    Yuss right beside me also, should pop in on Mon. for an evaluation.
    Boardsies PG Meeting/tea & coffee session anyone?

I wholeheartedly endorse this idea \o/

Great idea, someone knock in to me in Logic :pac:

Not sure where ye live but it's worth a shot!

Definitely up for it, I'm around all day Monday as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Must check that place out.