Has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I'm guessing that no one got it, tbh.

I am my own audience. Appreciation of ones self is a vital key to true happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

funk-you wrote: »
    What a load of shite.

-Funk

What you quoting your own name? Yes it is a load of ****e

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Only every ex-girlfriend I can think of;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    I am my own audience. Appreciation of ones self is a vital key to true happiness.
    Then why don't you just sit in front of a mirror with your laptop, sending emails to yourself so you don't waste your satirical talents on us unappreciative plebs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Smcgie wrote: »
    What you quoting your own name? Yes it is a load of ****e

-Funk

He goes into a bass solo every time he finishes a post. Like Seinfeld without the funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Being patronising in an ironic way, another original attempt at humour on an internet forum.

I do actually 'possess' learning difficulties by the way. I know you were just trying to be hilarious and insult me and I'm sure some people found it funny. Personally I always found it funnier and more insulting when people just called me retarded rather than using more eloquent language to appear to have a more sophisticated, Stewart Lee-type wit.
    Ok, lets get back on topic MJ. Pighead didn't mean to make you cry.

So Mocha, has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

Pighead has a feeling that your answer may be "Yes, everybody".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Then why don't you just sit in front of a mirror with your laptop, sending emails to yourself so you don't waste your satirical talents on us unappreciative plebs?

Never called you or anyone here an unappreciative pleb. I'm not the idiotic troll you are now trying to make me out to be.

To answer the question, that was clearly a joke. I'm not some philosophical guru operating on a higher plain of thought than everyone else. I'm as shallow and pathetic as they come and the replies on here amuse me and help confirm the fact I exist, which comforts me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Pighead wrote: »

So Mocha, has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

That's not going to help with the tears.

I can assure you, you didn't make me cry Pighead. Though I appreciate the fact that it was an attempt at humour and acknowledge and applaud that effort Pighead.

Well Pighead, you'd be surprised to learn that many people have come and went in Mocha Joes short life. There was one called Larry David that left and Mocha Joe had nothing to show for Larry's attempted favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This is gonta be good! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Anyway, has anybody from your life ever just fcuked off without telling you and do you ever wonder what became of them?

I did it, grabbed all I could carry from my home and just left, never told them where I was going and never went back. I have not spoken to my mother in 3 years and 4 months!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I did it, grabbed all I could carry from my home and just left, never told them where I was going and never went back. I have not spoken to my mother in 3 years and 4 months!

You are so grounded when you get home :eek: !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Oink wrote: »
    You are so grounded when you get home :eek: !

I know, she will go Fritzl on my ass!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Had a summer job in a fancy dress shop years ago and there was a really weird customer that used to disappear into the changing rooms for days on end. Always wore a suit and bowler hat and when he invariably showed up again would claim that he had gone off to "have an adventure'.

Used to freak us out, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

There is a desk clerk called Jerry who has been in it from the start. He's a bit of a dufus but in fairness to him he's a loveable dufus. Anyway, he was in ER up until the end of season 5 and since then he's just disappeared.

He's gone off to live in Alaska. It is mentioned in one of the episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

I used to work with this girl who one day decided she wanted a new life and headed off without telling anyone, even her parents. The cops were around work asking questions but no one had any idea. It was only a small place - 6 of us working there and we didn't notice anything different in the time leading up to her running off. She was a bit mad though, and not in a funny way.

2 years later another member of staff was on his hols in Cork and having a bite to eat, the kitchen door opened and here was yer wan working as a chef.....She also had a 7yr old child we knew nothing about in all the time working with her. Mental.

Also a lad in my class in college dissapeared - I won't say his name because it was quite high profile but he's still missing. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I can assure you, you didn't make me cry Pighead. Though I appreciate the fact that it was an attempt at humour and acknowledge and applaud that effort Pighead.

Well Pighead, you'd be surprised to learn that many people have come and went in Mocha Joes short life. There was one called Larry David that left and Mocha Joe had nothing to show for Larry's attempted favour.
    That's fair enough Mocha. Listen pal, we've got off on the wrong foot here. Sorry for calling you a crybaby. Lets start over and be boards buddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I like the way this thread is going....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

When I was a child, one of our neighbours went missing. His name was Terry. He used to manage a bank but got into an car accident after he was driving home drunk from a christmas party. Two people in the car died and he and another fella were left brain damaged. He was really bad. He was left like a child. He lost everything (house,wife,kids) and had to eventually move into his mam's house (she lived across the road from us). A few years later he went missing. He used to walk his mam's dog up and down the road but one day the dog came back without him. The garda, my parents and most of our neighbours did a big search looking for him. His body was found ten months later. His body was found near the canal in Clondalkin Village at the pub there. It was about an hours walk from where we lived (longer for him) and no one knew how his body ended up that far away. He was scared to leave the road and he wouldn't go out alone... he was always either with his mam or had the dog with him (he only felt safe that way). His death was ruled an accident/misadventure. But my parents and I think somebody must have done something/hurt him cause it just doesn't make sense how he ended up so far away when he was scared to go further than our road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Bigfoot .

He walked off into the forest and hasn't been seen since .

His last words were '' I'm just popping over here for a wee chaps ...shan't be long ''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Anyway, has anybody from your life ever just fcuked off without telling you and do you ever wonder what became of them?

yes pighead, yes indeed, and i often wondered would they pop up again
    That's fair enough Mocha. Listen pal, we've got off on the wrong foot here. Sorry for calling you a crybaby. Lets start over and be boards buddies.

As one who only logs on to boards for the giggle, you have been missed pighead :D

* rubs hands together with glee & heads to shop to get popcorn and beer, not even turning of computer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

My cat Leo

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Oh Pighead, you have made my week.

Fair play son

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I did it to yore ma.

Was enjoying the thread till I read that.

When are people going to realise that just isn't funny anymore???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Before Jerry, there was a desk clerk called Timmy. They never explained where he went either, but he also reappears in later seasons.

Also, the desk clerk Frank was in season 1 as a completely different character, a patient who got shot I think.

God, I love ER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I left my then group of friends because I could see that she was falling for a guy that I dated briefly and was a mutual friend and I knew that they would never get together with me around. They are married with children now but when I tried to go back a few years later they ignored me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Was enjoying the thread till I read that.

When are people going to realise that just isn't funny anymore???
    The auld wan next door,

We call her the footpath, she's been walked out on so much.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

One of my best friends told me she was going to New Zealand with her husband and child, I text her the day she was meant to be heading wishing her all the best and she never text back.

Was talking to one of her friends lately and she told me that she didnt in fact go to New Zealand but another country where they speak french and she heard that my friend was having an awful time getting used to the language. I tried adding her husband as a friend on facebook as she isnt on it and he is ignoring my add's but adding oter friends.

I eventually found out after a bit of snooping around online that she is Maritius. Still don't know why she didn't tell me this in the first place instead of lying. :(