Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

• 14-09-2011 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Over the past year or so, Pighead has been watching the outstanding medical drama series ER on DVD. Missed it the first time around as when it was originally on back in the 90's, Pighead was a wild carefree looses cannon who went through a stage of rebelling against watching outstanding medical drama series.

Currently watching season 7 and although it's great, Pighead realised something wasn't quite right. Finally realised last night what it was.

There is a desk clerk called Jerry who has been in it from the start. He's a bit of a dufus but in fairness to him he's a loveable dufus. Anyway, he was in ER up until the end of season 5 and since then he's just disappeared.

Have gone back through the whole of season 6 and there's not a mention of him. No explanation at all as to his disappearance. And none of the cast seem to have noticed either.

At least when Harold Bishop went missing from Neighbours they let us know that he had lost his mind and he had possibly fallen over a cliff into the sea. The ER writers have given us nothing to work on here. It's as if they've forgotten he ever existed.

Reminds Pighead of the time his pet dog, Timothy disappeared back in 91. One minute he was in the garden doing his mid afternoon poo, next minute he'd gone. Didn't leave a note or anything.

Thought he may have been kidnapped but no ransom note ever came so it looks like he just had enough and decided to do a littlest hobo on us and keep on moving on. Tad ungrateful of the fcuker in fairness, considering we fed, watered and bathed him for nigh on five years.

Anyway, has anybody from your life ever just fcuked off without telling you and do you ever wonder what became of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Yep. God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭egan2020

Apparently he comes back in Season 8 where he tells people he has been "in retirement".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I did it to yore ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Yep. God.
    Just because you can't see him doesn't mean he doesn't exist Steve. God is like a silent fart. Just because he's quiet it doesn't mean he isn't effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Any excuse to post a Pearl Jam song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

In season 8 Dr. whatshisface wakes up to find Jerry in the shower and realises the last 2 seasons were all a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

there was a guy in secondary school with us just never turned up one day and we never saw him again. In fairness he was a bit retarded and smelled so we didnt really care.

egan2020 wrote: »
    Apparently he comes back in Season 8 where he tells people he has been "in retirement".
    Retirement? He was only about 35 or something? How can you go into retirement for three years in your mid thirties? Sounds like ER just forgot about him. Shoddy treatment in fairness. At least he's not dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Glenn Miller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Yes, but I think she was pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Pighead wrote: »
    Just because you can't see him doesn't mean he doesn't exist Steve. God is like a silent fart. Just because he's quiet it doesn't mean he isn't effective.

Ah yes but I believe that anachronism of "he who denied it supplied it" applies here. Which due to a bad translation around the time of the resurrection made it seem like Thomas denied Jesus 3 times but he just denied farting three times.

Which means Jesus is a fart in a roundabout way.

And as you said: "Just because he's quiet it doesn't mean he isn't effective."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Retirement? He was only about 35 or something? How can you go into retirement for three years in your mid thirties?

You can in the Irish Public Service.

I have worked with two people who took a years leave of absent s, a day or two after they resumed working it was like they had never been away, T'was really weird it was like they had only steeped out for a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Reminds Pighead of the time his pet dog, Timothy disappeared back in 91. One minute he was in the garden doing his mid afternoon poo, next minute he'd gone. Didn't leave a note or anything.

Thought he may have been kidnapped but no ransom note ever came so it looks like he just had enough and decided to do a littlest hobo on us and keep on moving on. Tad ungrateful of the fcuker in fairness, considering we fed, watered and bathed him for nigh on five years.

Everyone sing along, you all know the words :D :

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    I did it to yore ma.
    Very good Mocha Joe. Clever the way you implied that you were making love to Pighead's mother before ruthlessly disappearing from her life without so much as a goodbye.

Your incisive cutting edge post made Pighead want to hear more of your razor sharp material. Your last three posts read as thus:
    Blast yourself with piss.
    Blast her with piss. Who oogles a piss-covered woman?
    I did it to yore ma.

Some people may say that you are a repetitive dull unimaginative spanner but Pighead would laugh in those peoples faces when you shut them up by threatening to "blast them with yore ma's piss". Never disappear from Pighead's life, Mocha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I worked with a guy in Germany in the 90's. When he was in his early 20's around 1981/82 he had a major row with his family and walked out, never made any contact with them until he showed up again on the doorstep of the house in 1990.

He had spent the 8 years in Spain, Italy and the UK, he didn't need a passport as a national ID card was seemingly enough. The police put up a notice for him (not an arrest warrant) but seeing as it started with a domestic row they essentially did nothing. The family spent thousands on private detectives for the first year, and had the area searched by friends but he went straight to Italy on a train where he knew some Italian girl and stayed away for the 8 years. The family eventually gave him up for dead.

He was OK, kept to himself, not strange in any way, I never really socialised with him and I only worked in that place on a contract for 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭ThelotusKid

People have been looking for me for years.

My parents are the only ones who know where I am.

Giblet is another one. One day he was threatening to ban Pighead from boards forever and next minute he's vanished and Terry is drunkenly driving the After Hours bus. Speaking of which, where's Terry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

People have been looking for me for years.

My parents are the only ones who know where I am.

Maddie? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

When I was 10 my parents ran away from home. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Giblet is another one. One day he was threatening to ban Pighead from boards forever and next minute he's vanished and Terry is drunkenly driving the After Hours bus. Speaking of which, where's Terry?

Snyper too. He got married, changed his boards name, and hasn't been seen in AH since.

That's women for you. They'll take a note of everything that is good in your life and slowly but surely cut off all ties between you and those good things until finally she has you all to herself. Kind of romantic really.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Very good Mocha Joe. Clever the way you implied that you were making love to Pighead's mother before ruthlessly disappearing from her life without so much as a goodbye.

Your incisive cutting edge post made Pighead want to hear more of your razor sharp material. Your last three posts read as thus:

Some people may say that you are a repetitive dull unimaginative spanner but Pighead would laugh in those peoples faces when you shut them up by threatening to "blast them with yore ma's piss". Never disappear from Pighead's life, Mocha.

I stand by everyone one of my posts 100%. My profile here is a satirisation of internet forumers(particularly AH ones). I apologise for the fact you did not get this Pighead. I hope you continue to refer to yourself in the third person using your boards username in order to keep the humour of the site at an optimum level.

Sincere thanks for the patronising reply,
    Mocha Joe.

I stand by everyone one of my posts 100%. My profile here is a satirisation of internet forumers(particularly AH ones). I apologise for the fact you did not get this Pighead. I hope you continue to refer to yourself in the third person using your boards username in order to keep the humour of the site at an optimum level.

Mocha Joe.
    Dear Mocha,

Pighead is delighted that you enjoy being patronised and he appreciates that your last post was a very good effort considering the learning difficulties you obviously possess.

Pighead will now pat you on the head and tell you to "run along now like a good little boy"

Yours patronisingly,
    Pighead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

Mocha Joe.

Just a heads up for your own safety Mocha, don't take on Pighead. :P He is well-known for his scathing remarks and well thought out counter-posts. Though he may be getting older and his tail may be losing its curl, he will still destroy your R - rated posts. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I stand by everyone one of my posts 100%. My profile here is a satirisation of internet forumers(particularly AH ones).

What a load of shite.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

My profile here is a satirisation of internet forumers(particularly AH ones). I apologise for the fact you did not get this Pighead.
    I'm guessing that no one got it, tbh.

Dear Mocha,

Pighead is delighted that you enjoy being patronised and he appreciates that your last post was a very good effort considering the learning difficulties you obviously possess.

Pighead will now pat you on the head and tell you to "run along now like a good little boy"

Yours patronisingly,
    Pighead.

Being patronising in an ironic way, another original attempt at humour on an internet forum.

I do actually 'possess' learning difficulties by the way. I know you were just trying to be hilarious and insult me and I'm sure some people found it funny. Personally I always found it funnier and more insulting when people just called me retarded rather than using more eloquent language to appear to have a more sophisticated, Stewart Lee-type wit.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I'm guessing that no one got it, tbh.

I am my own audience. Appreciation of ones self is a vital key to true happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

funk-you wrote: »
    What a load of shite.

-Funk

What you quoting your own name? Yes it is a load of ****e

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

Only every ex-girlfriend I can think of;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I am my own audience. Appreciation of ones self is a vital key to true happiness.
    Then why don't you just sit in front of a mirror with your laptop, sending emails to yourself so you don't waste your satirical talents on us unappreciative plebs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Smcgie wrote: »
    What you quoting your own name? Yes it is a load of ****e

-Funk

He goes into a bass solo every time he finishes a post. Like Seinfeld without the funny.

Being patronising in an ironic way, another original attempt at humour on an internet forum.

I do actually 'possess' learning difficulties by the way. I know you were just trying to be hilarious and insult me and I'm sure some people found it funny. Personally I always found it funnier and more insulting when people just called me retarded rather than using more eloquent language to appear to have a more sophisticated, Stewart Lee-type wit.
    Ok, lets get back on topic MJ. Pighead didn't mean to make you cry.

So Mocha, has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

Pighead has a feeling that your answer may be "Yes, everybody".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Then why don't you just sit in front of a mirror with your laptop, sending emails to yourself so you don't waste your satirical talents on us unappreciative plebs?

Never called you or anyone here an unappreciative pleb. I'm not the idiotic troll you are now trying to make me out to be.

To answer the question, that was clearly a joke. I'm not some philosophical guru operating on a higher plain of thought than everyone else. I'm as shallow and pathetic as they come and the replies on here amuse me and help confirm the fact I exist, which comforts me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

So Mocha, has anybody ever just upped sticks and left your life without explanation?

That's not going to help with the tears.

I can assure you, you didn't make me cry Pighead. Though I appreciate the fact that it was an attempt at humour and acknowledge and applaud that effort Pighead.

Well Pighead, you'd be surprised to learn that many people have come and went in Mocha Joes short life. There was one called Larry David that left and Mocha Joe had nothing to show for Larry's attempted favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This is gonta be good! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Anyway, has anybody from your life ever just fcuked off without telling you and do you ever wonder what became of them?

I did it, grabbed all I could carry from my home and just left, never told them where I was going and never went back. I have not spoken to my mother in 3 years and 4 months!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I did it, grabbed all I could carry from my home and just left, never told them where I was going and never went back. I have not spoken to my mother in 3 years and 4 months!

You are so grounded when you get home :eek: !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Oink wrote: »
    You are so grounded when you get home :eek: !

I know, she will go Fritzl on my ass!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Had a summer job in a fancy dress shop years ago and there was a really weird customer that used to disappear into the changing rooms for days on end. Always wore a suit and bowler hat and when he invariably showed up again would claim that he had gone off to "have an adventure'.

Used to freak us out, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

There is a desk clerk called Jerry who has been in it from the start. He's a bit of a dufus but in fairness to him he's a loveable dufus. Anyway, he was in ER up until the end of season 5 and since then he's just disappeared.

He's gone off to live in Alaska. It is mentioned in one of the episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Hells Belle

I used to work with this girl who one day decided she wanted a new life and headed off without telling anyone, even her parents. The cops were around work asking questions but no one had any idea. It was only a small place - 6 of us working there and we didn't notice anything different in the time leading up to her running off. She was a bit mad though, and not in a funny way.

2 years later another member of staff was on his hols in Cork and having a bite to eat, the kitchen door opened and here was yer wan working as a chef.....She also had a 7yr old child we knew nothing about in all the time working with her. Mental.

Also a lad in my class in college dissapeared - I won't say his name because it was quite high profile but he's still missing. :(

I can assure you, you didn't make me cry Pighead. Though I appreciate the fact that it was an attempt at humour and acknowledge and applaud that effort Pighead.

Well Pighead, you'd be surprised to learn that many people have come and went in Mocha Joes short life. There was one called Larry David that left and Mocha Joe had nothing to show for Larry's attempted favour.
    That's fair enough Mocha. Listen pal, we've got off on the wrong foot here. Sorry for calling you a crybaby. Lets start over and be boards buddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I like the way this thread is going....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

When I was a child, one of our neighbours went missing. His name was Terry. He used to manage a bank but got into an car accident after he was driving home drunk from a christmas party. Two people in the car died and he and another fella were left brain damaged. He was really bad. He was left like a child. He lost everything (house,wife,kids) and had to eventually move into his mam's house (she lived across the road from us). A few years later he went missing. He used to walk his mam's dog up and down the road but one day the dog came back without him. The garda, my parents and most of our neighbours did a big search looking for him. His body was found ten months later. His body was found near the canal in Clondalkin Village at the pub there. It was about an hours walk from where we lived (longer for him) and no one knew how his body ended up that far away. He was scared to leave the road and he wouldn't go out alone... he was always either with his mam or had the dog with him (he only felt safe that way). His death was ruled an accident/misadventure. But my parents and I think somebody must have done something/hurt him cause it just doesn't make sense how he ended up so far away when he was scared to go further than our road.