Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie 1.0 Vanilla[Whitelist]

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Sharrow wrote: »
    Well balls was hoping to do one or two things on the older server before the change over,
    little things like piling all the tnt into my house for end of sever fireworks...

I might run the 1.7 server alongside this server, albeit with a smaller memory allocation if you want?

EDIT: Also at spawn its clearly a chunk error. Map might get another reset upon official launch today.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

EDIT: Also at spawn its clearly a chunk error. Map might get another reset upon official launch today.

Can't you fix it?
    Balfie wrote: »
    Was getting between 1-5 FPS so had to turn it off. I would be at the top of a mountain, try to move one block down towards the bottom and not move at all, only to find I'm at the bottom a few seconds later with less than half health, I wanna play it but damn its way too hard with that severe lag.

Don't give up, just stay away from the affected area until cherry fixes it with a hammer :pac: If you're having problems at the spawn, try moving north (up past the... house?) or west away from it (just watch out for the old ditch someone dug across your path!). Or possibly east, never even tried that yet. Just don't head south because the Fail Zone stretches across the sea for kms in that direction :eek:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Solitaire wrote: »
    Can't you fix it?

I can't at all :( Only in 1.7 maps and below. Not until MCEdit gets updated to 1.8 can I clear the chunk.

I could however reset the server and try change the spawn point if thats ok?

Sure :)

Right, I'm off. Once dec gets off we can get to the hard work of making me lose my diamond tools seeding a new map!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Nooo..I'll lose my treehouse-of-w1n:pac:

And it was such a good view from up there! :(

If the spawn could be changed I'd have voted for it to be put near there so newbs could get their bearings :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

Probably the best thing to do about this whole "delete the map or not" thing.
    http://i.imgur.com/NisHr.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Xenon560

I think a new map would be best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

Server crash?

edit: the nether was crashing my game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 TMRevenant

So... is there a download for the old map or what? There's a few things I'd like to blow up.

Who the hell decided that sticking some vines on their house was a good plan??!? :eek: By the time I was ready to disconnect tonight the entire village was overgrown with the accursed things! :eek::mad: I spent an hour cleaning up that mess, and as there are a few vines I couldn't reach the feckers WILL come back.

This is bad. Vines aren't merely Ugly, they're Fugly. Especially in a Desert biome. They're also highly flammable. When I decided to clear them up they'd nearly reached the lava bridge. Any closer and they'd have chainburned right back into the village and turned the entire place into a raging inferno! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Completionist

Solitaire wrote: »
    Who the hell decided that sticking some vines on their house was a good plan??!? :eek: By the time I was ready to disconnect tonight the entire village was overgrown with the accursed things! :eek::mad: I spent an hour cleaning up that mess, and as there are a few vines I couldn't reach the feckers WILL come back.

This is bad. Vines aren't merely Ugly, they're Fugly. Especially in a Desert biome. They're also highly flammable. When I decided to clear them up they'd nearly reached the lava bridge. Any closer and they'd have chainburned right back into the village and turned the entire place into a raging inferno! :eek:

ahahahah... And all our houses are made of wood:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

See ye online tonight :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 steve Gambit

Hi CherryGhost,

could you white list me please

username: stephenmurrphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

No white list at the moment lads, just hop on.

On a mincraft related note, jeb has said that the pre release will be updated before the full 1.8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Linkus

Don't suppose we could implement Survivalcraft? Mobs digging through your house walls make the game a lot more interesting. Only way to survive is to build out of solid blocks like stone.

1.8 doesn't support any mods yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Can't seem to log on.

Still on ver 1.7.3

Do I need to manually update to 1.8 to access the serv?

Yeah sorry about that, I hastily jumped the gun. In order to correct the issue, anyone who hasn't updated to 1.8 yet can connect to the older version server now. Anyone who currently has 1.8 has a prerelease and buggy version.

Minecraft is officially being updated today though to 1.8, but the 1.8 server will be without mods for a few days/week.

1.8: 78.137.161.116
    1.7.3: 78.137.161.116:25566

The 1.7.3 map will be phased out over the week and then shut down, uploaded for everyone to share. We are currently considering using portals between maps, but the issue of server load/lag is a huge concern at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Excellent. I'm in :D

Nobody around...no buildings....it's eerie :pac:

Will this 1.8 serv be reset when the actual 1.8 comes out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Gah were are those roll back files, bloody minecraft, bloody 1.8 ARRRRGGGH!

Kon - everyone's set up in a village literally a km from the spawn, and have set their bedspawns there and/or get teleported back there by others if they die and respawn back at the original spawn point. That's why there's so little around the spawn :p

Ugh... the spawn and the base aren't affected (yet) but there's already a couple of void errors and even an unknown lagfest error not too far from the village (in the house outside the village). I just hope passive mobs will respawn after there being a time last night with nobody on the server - they don't seem to respawn when killed nor despawn if the area they are in becomes uninhabited. Shorn sheep can stay for days or even weeks of game time nearly a km from any active players! :eek:

Server was down. Now back up but can't connect!

Stokolan died near spawn and the game is unplayable again. I've had to stop the server until as it was churning out errors on the console.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Stokolan died near spawn and the game is unplayable again. I've had to stop the server until as it was churning out errors on the console.

I saw a thread in the minecraft forums where they used MCedit to delete the orbs, I'm going to see if I can find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭BlandKitten

Lag seems to be gone now.
    Well, the fps issue is gone for me, but there's still lag in breaking blocks actually.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Solution:

Get rid of the orbs using this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atrVsrHu0HA

Then use this to stop them dropping again:
    http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/620720-18-presmp-xp-orb-disable-stop-the-lag-monster/

Its for the original pre-release but should work for v2.

Ok grand, working on it, give me about 10 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

I don't remember dying at the spawn. I died under the village and then re-spawned and quit out.

I do apologise if my dying killed the server tho.