Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Team To Play Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭purpleblaa

LFC5Times wrote: »
    DK has to go with O'Gara and even still I could see Sexton coming on as a sub and having a positive impact.

A lot of people seemed to of gone for McFadden however I just can't see Kidney dropping Darcy.

Agreed. ROG has to play. I would imagine with Murray as he will give faster ball than Reddan. Only concern with ROG is his tackling is weaker than Sextons.
    Not sure why people are talking about dropping Darcy. He's been solid and his experience is vital beside BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

wixfjord wrote: »
    Have to say, I find it hilarious the furore about Heaslip, stemming from Gorgeous George.

He wasn't himself, but actually did quite well. Carries, lineout takes etc.

Think a few on here, and particularly on MF, want to see his tweeting, personality and coloured boots as a sign of something, when it's clear that he's still one of the best 8s in the world.

Anyone have any stats for the game?

+1, not to forget we havent played the same back row in any of our warm ups, and Leamy started 3 of the warm ups at 8 a position he wont see any WC game time at (i hope)

Heaslip, ferris and SOB will be an epic back row for next weekend, i just hope the rest of the pack up their work rate (2nd rows hit the rucks and stop trying to carry the ball badly)

If anyone deserves to be slated for being consistently poor in DOC who like Darcy is playing on reputation at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

1 - Healy
    2 - Flannery
    3 - Ross
    4 - DOC
    5 - POC
    6 - Ferris
    7 - SOB
    8 - Heaslip
    9 - Reddan
    10 - ROG
    11 - Earls
    12 - McFadden
    13 - BOD
    14 - Trimble
    15 - Kearney

16 - Best
    17 - Court
    18 - Cullen
    19 - Jennings
    20 - Boss
    21 - Sexton
    22 - Bowe

D'Arcy has been atrocious for Ireland for at least 2 years!
    DOC gets such a bad doing from the fans despite the fact that he does so much work that goes unnoticed.
    Cullen is on the bench, but he is very overrated IMO.
    Earls was our best back yesterday and Bowe had a shocker (apart from the tries. I'd spring him with 15 minutes left.)
    Boss deserves a run, i think he could change the game with 15/20 minutes left. I'm still annoyed that Stringer didn't fly!
    I know SOB is a blindside, but I just don't rate Jennings highly.

I reckon this team could do the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

theboss80 wrote: »
    Mine would be

Healy
    Best
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    ROG

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

Bench: Court , Flannery , Cullen , Jennings , Murray , Sexton , Earls
    i go with that lineout

a big munster and ireland rugby friend last nite lost his battle with brain cancer
    he was mad watching the wc from hospital bed and was looking forward too the aussie match but not too be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

a big munster and ireland rugby friend last nite lost his battle with brain cancer
    he was mad watching the wc from hospital bed and was looking forward too the aussie match but not too be

Such a shame. Condolences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

How can Bowe score two tries and have a 'shocker' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

He took his tries exceptionally well, was in the perfect position in both instances. 'Shocker' is probably referring to his general play, where he knocked on a few times and was unsure under the high ball. Probably a bit harsh because Murphy struggled too in that department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Agree. How can a player have a shocker when he was our most potent attacking threat and was involved in the build up and finished off our second try. He had a couple of knock on's including one pas that was fired at him at 30 mph from a distance of about 3 metres by D'Arcy

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Such a shame. Condolences.

bought his rugby new gear too support Ireland too show in his local,was offered ihis new ireland gear but i couldnt take it ,just couldnt

so here's hoping that Ireland can win or put in a great performance with Australia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

jacothelad wrote: »
    I totally agree.
    Woops - Best should not be at tighthead prop in my selection of course - Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭An.Duine.Eile

1 - Healy
    2 - Best ( Did well. Hit the jumpers and got around the park)
    3 - Ross
    4 - Ferris ( Ferris out of position will do better than DOC )
    5 - POC
    6 - SOB ( his best position)
    7 - Jennings
    8 - Heaslip
    9 - Reddan ( need his experience )
    10 - Sexton ( ROG would be targeted )
    11 - Earls ( more big game experience )
    12 - Bowe ( Think his form is improving. D'arcy not breaking the tackles )
    13 - BOD
    14 - Trimble ( In form )
    15 - Kearney

16 - Flannery ( If best is off, great to have him to come on )
    17 - Court
    18 - DOC
    19 - Ryan ( He is doing better than leamy. replace jennings, and Ferris to Blindside )
    20 - Murray
    21 - ROG ( Bowe to wing, sexton to 1st centre, Earls or Kearney off)
    22 - McFadden

This the team I would be excited to see on the field ( lucky not upto me).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Ct25

What about a backrow of

6. Ferris
    7. Heaslip
    8. SOB

Might get slated in here but, Heaslip and SOB can rotate for scrums, and Heaslip can deal with Pocock and leave ferris and SOB to do the ball carrying.
    Not sure if Heaslip has played much at openside, but whats the worst that can happen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭sedantez

Its so frustrating to see a talented team, full of European champions, playing so far below their ability. I really think the reason is down to the Irish nerves and fear of losing. This results in players trying to play via a strict plan as opposed to playing through natural instinct. We try to play it safe. Heaslip is a perfect example, on a good day, he reads a game so well and knows exactly when to make runs and passes. Yesterday, I think he froze - why didn't he pick off the go-forward scrum?

If we can loose the nerves, relax and play with confidence we can beat Australia.

By the great words of Yoda: “Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering"

Comon Ireland - NO FEAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

yupyup7up wrote: »
    1 - Healy
    2 - Flannery
    3 - Ross
    4 - DOC
    5 - POC
    6 - Ferris
    7 - SOB
    8 - Heaslip
    9 - Reddan
    10 - ROG
    11 - Earls
    12 - McFadden
    13 - BOD
    14 - Trimble
    15 - Kearney

16 - Best
    17 - Court
    18 - Cullen
    19 - Jennings
    20 - Boss
    21 - Sexton
    22 - Bowe

D'Arcy has been atrocious for Ireland for at least 2 years!
    DOC gets such a bad doing from the fans despite the fact that he does so much work that goes unnoticed.
    Cullen is on the bench, but he is very overrated IMO.
    Earls was our best back yesterday and Bowe had a shocker (apart from the tries. I'd spring him with 15 minutes left.)
    Boss deserves a run, i think he could change the game with 15/20 minutes left. I'm still annoyed that Stringer didn't fly!
    I know SOB is a blindside, but I just don't rate Jennings highly.

I reckon this team could do the job

less than 2 minutes in Earls is put clear through the centre with only full back to beat and with Heaslip on his shoulder, Earls showing zero composure ran across Heaslips line taking him out of the equation and was tackled by the full back.
    All he had to do was run straight, draw the full back, pass to Heaslip and its try time under the posts.

Bowe got 2 trys despite his dreadful handling early on, plus have a look at the lines Bowe runs, he's the only back we have capable of running the support lines and low and behold he gets 2 trys for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 axel the red

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. O’Callaghan
    5. O’Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O’Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. O’Driscoll
    13. Bowe
    14. Earls
    15. Kearney

16. Flannery
    17. Court
    18. Cullen
    19. Leamy
    20. Boss
    21. ROG
    22. McFadden

I think Sexton needs to have a bit of faith shown in him by the management at this point, and with Reddan, Heaslip and BOD around him, I think he can really shine in this game. I think Boss deserves a shot from the bench, because he is more physical around the fringes, and he offers something different to Reddan. D'Arcy needs to be dropped, but we're not exactly over-loaded with options here. Earls has been tried there but it's not his best position, McFadden hasn't played enough there at this point to be starting , and at least Bowe has experience at 13. His physicality could be a threat too. Heaslip starts on the basis that we have nothing better, on form he is as good as anything in the world and he is overdue a performance. I might have gone with Flannery except that Best doesn't deserve to be dropped after Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I wish the below would be the team;

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Leo
    5. O’Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O’Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. O’Driscoll
    13. Bowe
    14. Earls
    15. Kearney

16. Flannery
    17. Court
    18. Ryan
    19. Leamy
    20. Boss
    21. ROG
    22. McFadden

I'm dropping DOC right out of it, the lad needs a kick in the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RoryMc23

Earls has been butchering a lot of tries lately. I've no idea why but his decision making seems to have regressed.

1.Healy
    2.Best
    3.Ross
    4.POC
    5.Cullen
    6.Ferris
    7.O'Brien
    8.Heaslip
    9.Reddan (Boss would have been perfect for Genia but no game time unfortunately)
    10.Sexton
    11.Trimble
    12.McFadden
    13.O'Driscoll
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

16.Flannery
    17.Court
    18.O'Callaghan
    19.Jennings
    20.Boss
    21.ROG
    22.Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭CJC86

purpleblaa wrote: »
    Agreed. ROG has to play. I would imagine with Murray as he will give faster ball than Reddan. Only concern with ROG is his tackling is weaker than Sextons.
    Not sure why people are talking about dropping Darcy. He's been solid and his experience is vital beside BOD.

I don't know what you were watching, Murray was giving unbelievably slow ball. Once Reddan came on the backs got quick ball and got moving a bit. I know Sexton didn't have a good game, but he has to start because Quade Cooper would run over O'Gara himself and would certainly send runners his way.

My pick:
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip

9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. D'arcy
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

Subs:
    Flannery
    Court
    O'Callaghan
    Jennings
    Boss
    O'Gara
    McFadden

I agree with the above. Not a chance I'd play O'Gara. There are essentially three curremt teams that I'd never play ROG against : France, NZ and Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

CJC86 wrote: »
    ... because Quade Cooper would run over O'Gara himself and would certainly send runners his way.

This raises a good point. Cooper is not a good tackler - Ireland will be sending SOB down the 10 channel on a regular basis. Look for BOD/ Darcy(?) to be looking at Cooper as the weakness too.

If ROG plays, expect to see alot of lineouts - Ireland will try to gain an edge here. Scrum time will be crucial also.

Sexton doesn't seem to manage the game as well as ROG when things aren't going Ireland's way. He is better with quick ball imo but struggles when he isn't getting quick service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭twinytwo

I dont think it matters what team we pick... There is a serious lack in the team of being able to play what is in front of them, instead they stick to a stupid game plan.

Against the US after the first 5 mins they saw the us had no scrum and no maul. The second it started raining and we started to drop ball.. Drico or poc or heaslip should have turned around and said " right lads up the jumper with it" but no instead they continued to try and play it wide.

Personally i would have expected a whole lot more from the teams leaders even if that ment tell kidney to shove his game plan where the sun dont shine.

Agains the aussies its going to be the same crap... if something isnt working they dont seem to be able to think for themselves and change to something that works.

• Do people genuinely believe you can play 10man rugby vs these guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i dont see mcfadden adding anything to the team attackwise. hes a safe middle of the road player but no real cutting edge to him IMO. fitzgerald wasnt great pre-season but i think he should have went. at least hes capable of creating something out of nothing. darcy has been poor for a long time now as said so that 12 role is getting to be a problem now.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Shane10 wrote: »
    i dont see mcfadden adding anything to the team attackwise. hes a safe middle of the road player but no real cutting edge to him IMO. fitzgerald wasnt great pre-season but i think he should have went. at least hes capable of creating something out of nothing. darcy has been poor for a long time now as said so that 12 role is getting to be a problem now.

I would agree with this. He's certainly not up to the standards of an international 12 anyway.

I'd personally have Wallace over MCF, but would have no probs starting Darcy the next day. The drop off is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

Do people genuinely believe you can play 10man rugby vs these guys?

I'm not advocating a 10 man approach. I think more variety should be brought into the gameplan though.

We have struggled, for a few years now, to play a more expansive game. We have a supposedly strong lineout - why not use it as part of a balanced gameplan?

• we don't have a strong lineout.

We haven't been competitive in the lineouts for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Do people genuinely believe you can play 10man rugby vs these guys?

Yes, in fact I think it's our only hope. If we try to play an expansive game they will bury us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

we don't have a strong lineout.

We haven't been competitive in the lineouts for years

true but then we havent anyone who can throw in good ball in ages. and what was the praise the lineout was getting yesterday, sure USA didnt even compete. i found it baffling.