Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Team To Play Australia

• 11-09-2011 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Mine would be

Healy
    Best
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    ROG

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

Bench: Court , Flannery , Cullen , Jennings , Murray , Sexton , Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

I'd go with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

theboss80 wrote: »
    Mine would be

Healy
    Best
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    ROG

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

Bench: Court , Flannery , Cullen , Jennings , Murray , Sexton , Earls

Close to that:

Healy
    Flannery
    Ross

DOC
    POC

O'Brien
    Ferris
    Heaslip

Reddan
    ROG

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Healy, Best, Ross, DOC, POC, Ferris, SOB, Heaslip;
    Murray, Sexton, Trimble, McFadden, BOD, Bowe, Kearney

Bench: Flannery, Court, Cullen, Jennings, Reddan, ROG, Earls

While they didn't distinguish themselves, I don't think Murray and Sexton are the problem with the Irish team. We can't keep chopping and changing our halfbacks so I say we keep faith in those two. I think Sexton will kick far less against the Wallabies.

I thought Earls was alright against USA but Trimble is the form player.

I really don't think it will matter anyway, I can't see Ireland winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    Jennings
    O'Brien
    Boss
    Sexton
    Trimble
    McFadden
    O'Driscoll
    Bowe
    Murphy

Flannery, Court, O'Callaghan, Heaslip, Reddan, O'Gara, Wallace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

1, your man who drinks at the end of the bar in Jacks.
    2, his mate who spends most of the night in the jacks.
    3, Mary who always sits in the last Pew for the quick get away after Sunday Mass.

Who cares, the real question is, does Ireland deserve to get out of the pool, if this was X Factor it would be 4 people saying NO!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I don't even care who starts. We're going to get humped regardless.

danthefan wrote: »

Well the thread is for people who wish to put what team they want to see starting. Unless you have something constructive to add i suggest going to AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

chris85 wrote: »
    Well the thread is for people who wish to put what team they want to see starting. Unless you have something constructive to add i suggest going to AH.

I don't think that's fair tbh, not caring who starts is a valid opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Healy, Best, Ross, DOC, POC, Ferris, Jennings, SOB
    Reddan, Sexton, Earls, McFadden, BOD, Bowe, Kearney.

Subs: Flannery, Court, Cullen, Heaslip, Murray, ROG, Trimble.

I'd give Jennings another shot he did manage to exert a little bit of control at ruck time, and hopefully relegating Heaslip to the bench will force him to play like a man demented when he comes on.

Big ask of McFadden to dive in against Oz but anything is better than D'arcy at the moment ( We could do with having a 100kg+ basher of a center a la Jamie Roberts IMO,)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. DOC
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. O'Gara
    11. Trimble
    12. D'arcy
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Flannery
    17. Court
    18. Cullen
    19. Jennings
    20. Boss
    21. Sexton
    22. Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

Patrick Sarsfield
    Brian Boru
    Niall of the Nine hostages
    St Brendan
    Finn McCool
    Hugh O'Neill
    Silken Thomas
    Wolfe Tone
    Robert Emmet
    Cathal Brugha
    Tom Barry
    Sean Lemass
    Jim Larkin
    Kelly the boy from Kilane
    Michael Collins

I particularly like Lemass at outhalf as he had good form in changing the course of a game. Tinkered with putting in James Connolly as an impact dub from the bench but his injury record comes against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Healy ..
    Best
    Ross...No other choice

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

Bench: Court , Flannery , Cullen , Jennings , Boss , ROG, Earls

I thought Murray was average to dross during the game. I watched it again this afternoon - masochism really - and I have to say he was pretty awful. Poor options, bad passes, slow getting the ball away, knocking on, slow getting to rucks. His main ploy is simply to look for POC and shovel the ball to him even when he is in totally the wrong place. He may become a good player but he isn't one yet. Instead of playing Murray with ROG and Sexton with Reddan or Boss he does neither.

Jennings was our top tackler by the way.

We won't win any Oz lineout ball because we don't challenge and only POC is athletic enough of our likely second rows to actually get off the ground quickly. I would have given Cullen at least 30 minutes today alongside POC. Cullen is a far better lineout player than DOC. Instead we had DOC and POC playing the full game and the dull and talent free Ryan scratching his plums on the bench. He won't add anything different and brings considerably less.

Instead of taking off Earls to give Trimble a run, he put Trimble at full back in place of G.M. Smart move that.

Then we had the drivel at the end from Kidney. Blaming the weather and the fact that we dominated the set pieces for not playing any rugby. Is he completely off his trolley? Getting positives out of missing penalties because we than didn't have to face kick - offs from the mighty USA. Does he think we are a bunch of brain damaged window lickers? The man is either a wonderful con artist who is lulling Oz and Italy and us into a false sense of superiority and has a bagful of tricks up his sleeve. OR. He is a total fraud, completely over his head and is lulling them into a true sense of superiority. We'll soon find out. If he has been ordering the players to keep the game plan secret, they have been doing it for 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Mine would be

Healy
    Fla
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

Bench: Court , best , Cullen , Jennings , Murray , ROG , Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Anyone else considering calling up Richard Dunne?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

That's the attitude we need. A bit more of this and underdog status will be reinstated thus guaranteeing a great performance.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

maddragon wrote: »
    Patrick Sarsfield
    Brian Boru
    St Brendan
    Finn McCool
    Hugh O'Neill
    Silken Thomas
    Wolfe Tone
    Robert Emmet
    Cathal Brugha
    Tom Barry
    Sean Lemass
    Jim Larkin
    Michael Collins

I particularly like Lemass at outhalf as he had good form in changing the course of a game. Tinkered with putting in James Connolly as an impact dub from the bench but his injury record comes against him.

Nah...you cant play Wolfe Tone in the back row...he doesnt have the head for the big occasion...and you can't have James Connolly...he's ineligible as he was born in Scotland.
    I'd have Charlie Haughey on the wing..nobody would ever catch him.

chris85 wrote: »

Don't tell other people how to post, honestly. I don't care what you think. If you're so upset hit the report button.

Hermy wrote: »
    That's the attitude we need. A bit more of this and underdog status will be reinstated thus guaranteeing a great performance.

It's nothing to do with underdog status, there is something fundamentally broken about this team and the odd change here or there is going to do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    O'Callaghan
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton
    Earls
    D'arcy
    O'Driscoll
    Bowe
    Kearney

Subs: Flannery, Court, Cullen, Jennings, Boss, O'Gara, Trimble.

Connolly qualifies under residency and Haughey was banned for match fixing. Bertie Ahern would have been a shoe in at the 2007 WC due to the inability of the opposition to lay anything on him but he is stuck in a closet somewhere now. Jedward would make an interesting half back pairing but Kidney won't play them together because they might know each other too well from home.

It's nothing to do with underdog status, there is something fundamentally broken about this team and the odd change here or there is going to do nothing.

I jest Dan. And I couldn't agree more with you that something is very badly amiss with this team. Just wish I knew what the fnck it is?

Genealogy Forum Mod

Hermy wrote: »
    I jest Dan. And I couldn't agree more with you that something is very badly amiss with this team. Just wish I knew what the fnck it is?

Yeah sorry, I'm too downbeat even to joke about it at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Don't tell other people how to post, honestly. I don't care what you think. If you're so upset hit the report button.

Why are you even in this thread if you dont care who starts:confused: this thread is about the team posters would like to see start, you have stated you dont care, why the interest in this thread then? baffling really.

OP id like to see that team you posted start.

Way to go derailing the OP's good thread, always seems to happen in the rugby forum.

Why are you even in this thread if you dont care who starts:confused: this thread is about the team posters would like to see start, you have stated you dont care, why the interest in this thread then? baffling really.

Why are you posting the exact same thing as someone else? See reply above.

What are you on about, i have said i would like to see the team that the op posted, as in i agree with the team he has picked, if you dont care who plays as you have stated then i really cant understand your interest in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Dan I realise you're probably pissed off still after the match so if you have no interest that's grand leave it off until you do, but this will be a topic discussed all week until the team is announced so I said I'd get the ball rolling with what I think would be a decent team to play.

Know the feeling.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Dan I realise you're probably pissed off still after the match so if you have no interest that's grand leave it off until you do, but this will be a topic discussed all week until the team is announced so I said I'd get the ball rolling with what I think would be a decent team to play.

Good post, im not trying to have a go but the thread is what it is and maybe we are all just pissed off with the match this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    O'Callaghan
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton
    Earls
    D'arcy
    O'Driscoll
    Trimble
    Kearney

Subs: Flannery, Court, Cullen, Leamy, Boss, O'Gara, Bowe.

That's fine, I'm aware people have their views on who should start, but I'm of the view that it really doesn't matter. We are going to lose. How is this not a valid viewpoint?

I know how you feel. As an avid rugby fan this group of players have given me some of the happiest moments I can remember whether it be in Munster, Leinster or Ireland jerseys. Gaffney is not doing his job with the backs and Kidneys selection policy is unfathomable. Sad thing is Australia look beatable and SA or Wales in a quarter final are nothing to fear either but not with this Ireland team in the disarray it's in now.

durkadurka wrote: »
    Mine would be

Healy
    Fla
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Having thought about it all day, having ruled out all the various issues with individual and collective accountability, having watched Ireland all through the 80s 90s and 00s I am pretty certain that I have ascertained the issue, and can propose a solution.

The issue: This Ireland team has a bad juju.

The solution: http://www.blesstheworld.com/spiritual_remedies.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

That's fine, I'm aware people have their views on who should start, but I'm of the view that it really doesn't matter. We are going to lose. How is this not a valid viewpoint?

Never said it wasn't valid at all. Just a crap attitude towards a valid thread. But its your opinion which you are entitled to as much as the next man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

maddragon wrote: »
    Patrick Sarsfield
    Brian Boru
    St Brendan
    Finn McCool
    Hugh O'Neill
    Silken Thomas
    Wolfe Tone
    Robert Emmet
    Cathal Brugha
    Tom Barry
    Sean Lemass
    Jim Larkin
    Michael Collins

What about Bobby Sands? Or do you think he'd be starved of possession...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

and you'll be ireland number 1 fan if they win next sat eh?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

andrewdcs wrote: »
    Having thought about it all day, having ruled out all the various issues with individual and collective accountability, having watched Ireland all through the 80s 90s and 00s I am pretty certain that I have ascertained the issue, and can propose a solution.

The issue: This Ireland team has a bad juju.

The solution: http://www.blesstheworld.com/spiritual_remedies.html

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHARFFLFFOLMAMAOLOLOLOLOL!! :pac: I'm in tears here...

Its the internet. Ironic you are telling me how to post about not telling what other people should post.

I am not concerned what you think tbh but the thread is about your team to start and i dont think saying we are going to get humped is valid opinion to it.

There are other threads for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Hrmm, good thread tho.. I think the majority of us are in agreement with the who we'd like to see starting, there's some slight differences in everyones posts, but the funny thing is we'll see some unusual picks come saturday, because that's how Kidney does... :P

My 2c...
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. DOC
    5. POC
    6. SOB
    7. Leamy
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. McFadden
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney
    16. Court
    17. Flannery
    18. Cullen
    19. Ferris
    20. Murray
    21. ROG
    22. Earls

Couple of things: The SH/FH pairing is so important from the kick off... I'm not wearing blue-tinted shades here, I honestly think Sexton and Reddan on their best days will compete with the best. Also communication is key.. if Kidney decides to start ROG, that's fine, that's understandable.. but he must start a familiar SH with him: Murray. No more of this mixing at the pivot...

Leamy at 7? I know, but SOB is a world class 6, and that'll be one of our few strengths.. Also he can move about for Ferris to come on as an impact sub.

Earls as replacement? Well if dreams come through and Kidney drops Darce for McFadden we'll need someone that can double up as FB if Kearney takes a blow.. Earls had a great game at FB in march, and is looking less like a finisher these days.. he'd be ideal at FB cover, or just a general 22. More than likely Wallace will get this role. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

durkadurka wrote: »
    Mine would be

Healy
    Fla
    Ross

DOC
    POC

Ferris
    O'Brien
    Heaslip

Reddan
    Sexton

Trimble
    McFadden
    BOD
    Bowe
    Kearney

I'd love to see McFadden at 12 and he deserves his chance but i'd be very surprised if Kidney picks him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

I think the occasion of the world cup has gotten to Sexton. I don't think he should start this game and shouldn't come on unless ROG makes a series of blunders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

.ak wrote: »
    Leamy at 7? I know, but SOB is a world class 6, and that'll be one of our few strengths.. Also he can move about for Ferris to come on as an impact sub.

Can't believe you made me read that.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

1 Cian "Baby Elephant" Healy
    2 Rory "Flipper" Best
    3 Mike "Rhino" Ross
    4 Leo "Long Sheep" Cullen
    5 Paul "Redser" O Connell
    6 Stephen "Glassman" Ferris
    7 Shane "Gouge Kennedy" Jennings
    8 Sean "If there's no hole, I'll make one" O'Brien
    9 Eoin "Smallfry" Reddan
    10 Johnny "Sex is dire, but can be on fire" Sexton
    11 Andrew "hercules" Trimble
    12 Fergus "Skippy" McFadden
    13 Brian "Drico" O Driscoll
    14 Tommy "Long Johns" Bowe
    15 Geordan "Tiger Smurf" Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Conas wrote: »
    1 Cian "Baby Elephant" Healy
    2 Rory "Flipper" Best
    3 Mike "Rhino" Ross
    4 Leo "Long Sheep" Cullen
    5 Paul "Redser" O Connell
    6 Stephen "Glassman" Ferris
    7 Shane "Gouge Kennedy" Jennings
    8 Sean "If there's no hole, I'll make one" O'Brien
    9 Eoin "Smallfry" Reddan
    10 Johnny "Sex is dire, but can be on fire" Sexton
    11 Andrew "hercules" Trimble
    12 Fergus "Skippy" McFadden
    13 Brian "Drico" O Driscoll
    14 Tommy "Long Johns" Bowe
    15 Geordan "Tiger Smurf" Murphy

Healy's nickname is "Church"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

healy
    best
    ross

leo
    poc

ferris
    jennings
    sob

reddan
    sexton

trimble
    Ferg
    bod
    bowe
    rob

we cannot kick without finding touch v oz cause they will kill us with loose ball! Cooper will score tries from everywhere if we start kicking wildly! We need keep ball in hand, keep it tight until we get quick ball. We cannot go into the game without an out and out 7 or we wont compete at ruck time. heaslip to come on for SOB after 55-60 mins! I worry if we have to take off one of our props court isnt good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

jacothelad wrote: »

I thought Murray was average to dross during the game. I watched it again this afternoon - masochism really - and I have to say he was pretty awful. Poor options, bad passes, slow getting the ball away, knocking on, slow getting to rucks. His main ploy is simply to look for POC and shovel the ball to him even when he is in totally the wrong place. He may become a good player but he isn't one yet. Instead of playing Murray with ROG and Sexton with Reddan or Boss he does neither.

As the vast majority of our World Cup Squad have shown since early, there's a very significant different between being a bad player and having a bad game.

To suggest Murray isn't a good player in light of the 50 minutes or so he got today is stretching it, even assuming your assessment of his performance is accurate.

Given the conditions, I thought he did an alright job. I remember him knocking on once, and I think it was a marginal call, I remember him appealing to Joubert that it went backwards. Regarding shovelling the ball to O'Connell, well POC and Ferris were the only 2 offering themselves to carry ball, its natural enough that he'd pass the ball to him often enough. I thought he had a couple of decent half breaks, his kicking was ok, and his passing not as bad as you're making out. I'm not pretending he was world class, but he didn't disgrace himself, and it's not like Reddan turned in a significantly better performance when he came on.

That said, Reddan to start with Murray on the bench next week for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Not going to happen but here is my team :-

1. Cian Healy (presume fit)
    2. Rory Best
    3. Mike Ross

4. Stephen Ferris
    5. Paul O'Connell

6. Sean O'Brien (presume fit)
    7. Shane Jennings
    8. Jamie Heaslip

9. Eoin Reddan
    10. Jonathon Sexton

11 Andrew Trimble
    12. Tommy Bowe
    13. Brian O'Driscoll (c)
    14. Keith Earls

15. Rob Kearney

16. Tom Court
    17. Jerry Flannery
    17. Tony Buckley (pewk but what can you do)
    18. Denis Leamy
    19. Donncha O'Callaghan
    20. Ronan O'Gara
    21. Issac Boss
    22. Fergus McFadden

To a certain extent I am basing this around having the Leinster 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 on the pitch and in their starting positions. DOC loses out for giving away silly penalties and because we must have Ferris on the pitch, all the more so when losing David Wallace. I think he would cope fine with 4.

Leo Cullen unlucky to miss out on the bench. Ronan O'Gara very unlucky to stay on the bench but I will persevere for one more start with Sexton...that's a very marginal call.

Kearney for Murphy...just because I have mortal fear of Murphy in defence...he just seems to miss one crucial tackle in every crunch match for Ireland.

Tommy Bowe at 12 is my dark horse. I would regard him and BOD as inter-changeable between 12 and 13 depending on the circumstances. Yes I know its not been done...almost seems like something that should by now have been tried doesn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

.ak wrote: »
    Hrmm, good thread tho.. I think the majority of us are in agreement with the who we'd like to see starting, there's some slight differences in everyones posts, but the funny thing is we'll see some unusual picks come saturday, because that's how Kidney does... :P

My 2c...
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. DOC
    5. POC
    6. SOB
    7. Leamy
    8. Heaslip
    9. Reddan
    10. Sexton
    11. Trimble
    12. McFadden
    13. BOD
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney
    16. Court
    17. Flannery
    18. Cullen
    19. Ferris
    20. Murray
    21. ROG
    22. Earls

Couple of things: The SH/FH pairing is so important from the kick off... I'm not wearing blue-tinted shades here, I honestly think Sexton and Reddan on their best days will compete with the best. Also communication is key.. if Kidney decides to start ROG, that's fine, that's understandable.. but he must start a familiar SH with him: Murray. No more of this mixing at the pivot...

Earls as replacement? Well if dreams come through and Kidney drops Darce for McFadden we'll need someone that can double up as FB if Kearney takes a blow.. Earls had a great game at FB in march, and is looking less like a finisher these days.. he'd be ideal at FB cover, or just a general 22. More than likely Wallace will get this role. :(

Nice of you to post on here Denis. Seriously, just about the most barking choice possible.

What is the relationship between dropping Darcy and fullback cover. :confused::confused:

BERBA wrote: »
    and you'll be ireland number 1 fan if they win next sat eh?:rolleyes:

I will support the team as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭bm1993

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Cullen
    O'Connell
    Ferris
    O'Brien