My car was stolen last night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Castleknock in Dublin 15. It could be worse, at least I and my housemates are OK.

Castleknock? geez.
    Seemingly a "good" area. But then again sh*t can happen anywhere. Good area or utter kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

same happened me last year.
    my mazda 323 was robbed, and about to be burnt out when the garda found it.

clutch was gone, and back window smashed.

bastards whoever does it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Hard luck OP. Had a couple of motorcycles stolen over the years, and it's not a nice thing to happen to anybody.
    I hope they catch the scum and beat the livin' **** out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Console wrote: »
    Castleknock? geez.
    Seemingly a "good" area. But then again sh*t can happen anywhere. Good area or utter kip.

It can certainly happen anywhere, doesn't matter if the area is perceived as "good" or not. I've left my car unlocked (accidentally!) in areas that could be considered extremely dodgy and nothing ever happened to it, and had my car stolen right from under my nose in an area that could be considered quite affluent.

A mate of mine had his motorbike stolen in Castleknock recently OP, seems to be something of a problem in the area at the moment. Sorry to hear, it's an absolutely ****ty feeling I know, hopefully all your dealings with the insurance company go as smoothly as they possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭polyfusion

4leto wrote: »
    ...Its only when your car gets robbed and burnt out you realise the amount of things we leave in our cars.

I used to leave my drivers license in mine, until some fcukers nearly took mine after peeling back the top of the door. I guess they were either disturbed or figured a Cordoba wasn't good enough for them.

OP, if you don't get it back, we can only hope and pray that they ended upside down in a ditch full of water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

polyfusion wrote: »
    I used to leave my drivers license in mine, until some fcukers nearly took mine after peeling back the top of the door. I guess they were either disturbed or figured a Cordoba wasn't good enough for them.

OP, if you don't get it back, we can only hope and pray that they ended upside down in a ditch full of water.

:D:D I agree the cnuts.

I was worse I left my licence my cards (all of them) so that was my first flap cancelling them then the pain in the arse of replacing them. Also a lot of my cycling and sports gear was in my boot and I am sure other things as well, never again will I use my car as extra storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

My Dad had a shíte ball of a car years ago that some scum tried to knick,

we came down the following morning to see the car sitting in the middle of the road with all the wires under the steering wheel pulled out.

The car had actually broken down in the process of its theft and the lads ditched, getting all of about 3 metres in it.

Shítty old car 1, scumbags 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cson

Clanned?
    That's wanton man. At least they had taste, the cunts.

Shit sounds man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Just got a call from the Gardai. My car was found burnt out in Cherry Orchard this morning.:(

Fortunately I only had a few CDs in the car but it had a good radio. But at the end of the day it is only a car, and an old one at that. You have to put things into perspective sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

Just got a call from the Gardai. My car was found burnt out in Cherry Orchard this morning.:(

Fortunately I only had a few CDs in the car but it had a good radio. But at the end of the day it is only a car, and an old one at that. You have to put things into perspective sometimes.

Sorry to hear that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yeah man.. No point in getting distressed. It's not worth it. Some jackarse hit my car about 3 or 4 weeks ago and drove off. I didn't want my 5 years no claims to be hurt, so I had to pay it out of my own pocket.

I took consolation in the fact that he apparently blew his tire and drove away on a punctured alloy in a brand new Audi. I hope the bill for him was huge, or his entire no claims was destroyed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

dlofnep wrote: »
    Yeah man.. No point in getting distressed. It's not worth it. Some jackarse hit my car about 3 or 4 weeks ago and drove off. I didn't want my 5 years no claims to be hurt, so I had to pay it out of my own pocket.

That happened me a while ago when I went for lunch in a restaurant in Swords, Dublin. Some sap reversed into my car as they were leaving a parking space, and hit my car hard enough that my passenger side door wouldn't open. No camera, so I couldn't point blame at anyone (it was definitely the red learner car parked perpendicular, only red car there!)

I didn't have to pay for the repair - I went to the Gardai in swords, who pointed me towards the wreckers yard on the swords road. After I told them who sent me, they sorted out my panelling on the spot, and the major bumps. Wouldn't take cash for the job, and offered the girlfriend and I tea. Every cloud has a silver lining :D Passed on a favour a while after that, and considered the karma account back at neutral!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sorry to hear this. Scum. as a matter of interest was it alarmed?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

The best anti theft device you can get for an older car is a clamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

discus wrote: »
    That happened me a while ago when I went for lunch in a restaurant in Swords, Dublin. Some sap reversed into my car as they were leaving a parking space, and hit my car hard enough that my passenger side door wouldn't open. No camera, so I couldn't point blame at anyone (it was definitely the red learner car parked perpendicular, only red car there!)

I didn't have to pay for the repair - I went to the Gardai in swords, who pointed me towards the wreckers yard on the swords road. After I told them who sent me, they sorted out my panelling on the spot, and the major bumps. Wouldn't take cash for the job, and offered the girlfriend and I tea. Every cloud has a silver lining :D Passed on a favour a while after that, and considered the karma account back at neutral!

Was that Bolands? Grand scrappies is that, yer man that own it is sound enough to chat to aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Sorry to hear it OP !

Remember when i was a young fella (10 years ago) I left all my WWF wrestlers in my fathers 96 escort which was robbed..

Car turned up safe and sound but the bástards robbed Stone Cold and left all the other wrestlers ! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Sorry to hear that, also the turds would have pulled all the wires out of the steering wheel to start it. It would have cost big money to get fixed. So I know this sounds wrong, but you are lucky they burnt it out.

I hope your dealings with the insurance company goes as smooth as my dealings with them when the reprobates burnt my car out about a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭mk6705

cson wrote: »
    Clanned?
    That's wanton man. At least they had taste, the cunts.

Shit sounds man.

YOU WERE PLAYIN' THEM! Look at this f*ckin hypocrite Ben ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Seriously dunno what knackers get from doing this to peoples cars. Get a life/job/whatever. Eugh.
    Was in work the other day and my workmates car was broken into from right outside-radio/cds/ipod/small bit of shoppping she had all nicked from the car and no camera proof. Least they actually robbed something and got something outta it that they can sell etc tho (no excuse, but beats burning a car out for the craic!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Was that Bolands? Grand scrappies is that, yer man that own it is sound enough to chat to aswell.

Yeah that's the one, just at the top of the hill before the turn for airside? Absolute gentleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jaysus

I blame Shining Path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭pcardin

OP, how did your insurance sort this out for you? Did you get money from them to buy another car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭funnilenough

gang of young scumbags attempted to rob my motorbike from outside a neighbours house 3 years ago.we didnt have a drive in and my good neighbours let me park it there when visiting the aul folks.
    anyway ,long story short,alarm goes off ,i ran out but they all legged it.i recognised one of them.
    use to play with his older brother when i wasyounger.fastforward 2 years, and the same little scummer was on the news.he'd been shot by another scummer.
    now i'm not sayin he deserved it over me bike,but i wont shed any tears either.Feckim!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭trellheim

<truestory>
    sitting at the corner of papal cross car park sunday before last ( a sunny one) talking to the family, about 3pm, car park jammers of course, heard a roar, scumbag was trying rob a motorbike, owner saw him and legged after him, yer man panicked and jumped head first into the micra full of other scummers and headed off, made my day seeing his legs sticking out the passenger window and the micra zooming off, somewhat like wacky races

If he'd been stopped he was a dead man, zooming off at that speed among so many small kids in the park

Daylight robbery : keep an eye on your stuff.

</truestory>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Local car mechanic was telling a story of a Garda who left his car outside of the mechanic's house and garage in the early hours of the morning for the mechanic to do some work on. When the mechanic got up in the morning to pull the car into the garage hadn't some fucker come along and smashed both mirrors. He called the Garda to tell him the bad news but the Garda just laughed and told him not to worry about it. The following day when the Garda came to pick up the car the Garda told him he had found the two scumbags who smashed the mirrors. He simply strolled into one of the shops across the road, asked for CCTV and used it to locate the 2 lads who broke the mirrors. Played the DVD for the mechanic and all.

Long story short, had it been a Garda's car instead of yours OP they'd have found the fuckers by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Seachmall wrote: »

Long story short, had it been a Garda's car instead of yours OP they'd have found the fuckers by now.

I don't like posting in a necro'd thread, but was there CCTV across the road from the OP's house last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭logic

Jaysus

thread is 6 months old :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I don't like posting in a necro'd thread, but was there CCTV across the road from the OP's house last year?

Yes.