If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tuition Fees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

Should one of us maybe call the fees office...
    Who's too honest around here?!

typical law student... ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Should one of us maybe call the fees office...
    Who's too honest around here?!

typical law student... ;)

Hey, I'm not even in the college this year. Why should I do it? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If someone is asking you to pay less than you should you should definitely say nothing!! Let them realise their mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

They've only asked me for 1593 too, I wonder is it because my brother went to college before me? (He's long since graduated though) I took it to mean you only get the reduced rate while there's 2 or more in the family going to college at the same time?

Ian Beale wrote: »
    They've only asked me for 1593 too, I wonder is it because my brother went to college before me? (He's long since graduated though) I took it to mean you only get the reduced rate while there's 2 or more in the family going to college at the same time?

To be honest, by the looks of it, everyone is being charged the same amount. I'm assuming that the system wasn't updated wuth the new amount or something

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    If someone is asking you to pay less than you should you should definitely say nothing!! Let them realise their mistake.

My point exactly! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Madra Maith

They're asking me for €7,410! :O
    I know I took a few years out and then repeated but I am doing final year for 1st time so should I not be paying the 2 grand and student services charge?
    I guess I'll have to head over to Maynooth in a bit.... I'm seriously freaking out . I must try and not shout at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

Ahh there we go, just received this :)

Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is
    requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student
    Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web
    Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval
    letter to us on their return to University.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

Feck we just got a mail sent out:
    Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval letter to us on their return to University.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

--
    Ann O'Shea
    Student Records Officer
    NUI Maynooth
    Maynooth
    Co Kildare

Tel: +353 1 7084722
    Fax: +353 1 7083935

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Madra Maith

I got that e-mail too but they are still trying to charge me €7,410!

WHO TATTLED?!

Ahh there we go, just received this :)

Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is
    requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student
    Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web
    Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval
    letter to us on their return to University.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

Dear Administrator,

It has come to my attention that the online registration process is requestiong the incorrect amount for the Student Ass Raping and Other Combined Services Fee. I have paid 1593 euro and will not be paying a penny more. Minister of Education and Spoofery Ruari Quinn promised that I would not have to pay any more, he signed a pledge to that effect before the election in March.

If you could forward this email to him please I think you will find that as a decent, honest human being he will feel shame for his back-tracking, lying, shameless behaviour and find it within himself to waive payment of the extra 500 euro. If not I am sure that he will do the right thing and resign his position as he will have then admitted to lying to the electorate and student body as a whole. Alternatively, you can ask him for a lend of his cigar box which I'm sure contains the money needed to allow me to complete my education.

If he refuses to give up the money or resign you can tell him I called him a cun...

Thank you,

LR

WHO TATTLED?!

They tickled me till I spilled. With a big fluffy boa :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Evita

Does anyone know what you do if you're a continuing student and can register online but you haven't heard a word from the council yet? I presume I can't register online because I'll be asked for my credit card details to pay the fees myself... anyone know what you do in this case? If not I'll just give the fees and grants or records office a buzz. So much red tape and you never know who's in charge. Such a load of hassle.

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since). Edit: I never got a grant before so am unfamiliar with this and unsure if I'll even get one this year

Evita wrote: »
    Does anyone know what you do if you're a continuing student and can register online but you haven't heard a word from the council yet? I presume I can't register online because I'll be asked for my credit card details to pay the fees myself... anyone know what you do in this case? If not I'll just give the fees and grants or records office a buzz. So much red tape and you never know who's in charge. Such a load of hassle.

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since.)

You can register for your course and modules, just do steps 1-9.
    Step 10 is the part where you pay the fees, just don't do that part yet.

Ian thank you very much for the info :)
    Edit: student web services down now. Lovely.

Can I register for more than 1 non compulsary 7.5 module to keep my choices open or do I have to make a decision now before attending first, 2 nd year arts history is the subject. Sorry if this is wrong area to ask such a question.

You can only pick one but you have a few weeks to change your mind.
    Just remember that some fill up really quickly.

What ones are you looking at?

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since.)

You can register for your course and modules, just do steps 1-9.
    Step 10 is the part where you pay the fees, just don't do that part yet.

Or just pay the €93 by card and leave the rest until you know which is what I did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭~Candy~

ok i am so confused, i paid the 1593..then got the email saying i can now log on and pay 500quid more...but my balance says 0 :O what do i do now? pay the 500 anyway although balance says 0? :eek:

Run away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭~Candy~

Run away...

lol, nope, i was expecting it say balance 500 then i can proceed with payment, but it says 0..do i just pay like that anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

either the American History or the History of Suicide, heard from people I know the latter is very interesting but the former would be more useful. Do you know if I can attend both for the first lecture,also thanks for the info very helpful.

either the American History or the History of Suicide, heard from people I know the latter is very interesting but the former would be more useful.

Useful? I'm not sure you can really call any of them useful!

Go for History of Suicide! I'm regretting not doing it thoigh History of Med was good too!
    You'll have a brilliant lecturer and a fascinating subject! plus no exam which you will have with American!

Is History of Medicine still done by Dympna McLoughlin? I done that back in the day, ahh memories :)

It was last year anyway!

Interesting subject but the woman has no sense of humour. Did she show you the BBC documentary where the man appears to levitate backwards down a staircase? We laughed at it and were thrown out of the class :D

Thanks MCR.
    For those of you who have paid did it quote a price say "€2595" or whatever price your course is and then say "this amount is based on outstanding fees"? Getting a bit worried as 'outstanding' sounds like fees I haven't paid from last year but I did pay them and have my receipts and all from last year. Maybe they just mean this is what I owe them now for this coming year (but it should be almost double that... maybe they think I want to pay in two installments like I did last year (if I end up paying again I don't want to do that because you can't get tax back then). I'm going to wait till I hear from the council but I can just imagine if I paid it I'd get an email back going "you can now return and pay another €2600".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

If there's 2+ in the family going to college one pays 2000, the rest pay the reduced rate of 1500.
    Think I'll pay mine next week, it's painful enough handing it over might as well keep it for a while :pac:

Is this true? I thought it was changed to everyone pays the 2,000. Can anyone clarify before my brother goes and pays his fees

Thanks MCR.
    For those of you who have paid did it quote a price say "€2595" or whatever price your course is and then say "this amount is based on outstanding fees"? Getting a bit worried as 'outstanding' sounds like fees I haven't paid from last year but I did pay them and have my receipts and all from last year. Maybe they just mean this is what I owe them now for this coming year (but it should be almost double that... maybe they think I want to pay in two installments like I did last year (if I end up paying again I don't want to do that because you can't get tax back then). I'm going to wait till I hear from the council but I can just imagine if I paid it I'd get an email back going "you can now return and pay another €2600".

Are you paying actual fees for your course?
    As opposed to just the student contribution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Can you register without paying fees?

Can you choose and register your classes but not complete the 10th step and just pay this before the end of registration?