Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tuition Fees?

• 21-08-2011 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭

Hey all.

Anyone know what the college fees will be this year for Arts?

I've heard it may be €2k but I'm not 100% sure.

Also when do we pay the fees?

Is it all done at the end of september or is it done in installements.

Thanks to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭BuroniKiisu

The Student Contribution Charge (formerly the registration fee) is currently €2,000 per annum for third-level students. You pay it for your first academic year during your registration as a first year student, if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

The Student Contribution Charge (formerly the registration fee) is currently €2,000 per annum for third-level students. You pay it for your first academic year during your registration as a first year student, if I remember correctly.

Thanks man.

So I presume that is during orientation week and I pay for it in full?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

That €2000 is still covered by the county council if you get a grant though, isn't it? Otherwise I'm slightly phucked :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Yeah, tis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

That €2000 is still covered by the county council if you get a grant though, isn't it? Otherwise I'm slightly phucked :p

Hang on a minute! I thought if you're a postgrad, there was no 2k fee???

If there is, no postgrad for me.

mickstupp wrote: »
    Hang on a minute! I thought if you're a postgrad, there was no 2k fee???

If there is, no postgrad for me.
    I really don't know, sorry!! Maybe send an email to the fees office and check? It would be awful if that made you unable to do your course >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

For post grads you just have to pay the student levy(€97), no student contribution (€2000).

http://fees.nuim.ie/feesschedule.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Norrdeth wrote: »
    For post grads you just have to pay the student levy(€97), no student contribution (€2000).

http://fees.nuim.ie/feesschedule.shtml
    Many thanks for temporarily stalling a heart attack. For some reason I'd just assumed the 2k was part of the course fees, or not applicable or something. But I looked on the fees and postgrad sites and couldn't find it explicitly written anywhere. Even at that linked page... it's not entirely clear that it applies only to undergrads... panicpanicpanicpanicpanic

EDIT: Nice lady in the fees office just confirmed NO! There's no extra reg fee for postgrads.

Thanks to all just one last question, which I feel went unnoticed earlier.

Is the tuition fees paid for in full or do I pay some in Sept and some in January?

I have €2k in my credit union ready to go so I will hopefully sort it out on monday after my debs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

karaokeman wrote: »
    Thanks to all just one last question, which I feel went unnoticed earlier.

Is the tuition fees paid for in full or do I pay some in Sept and some in January?

I have €2k in my credit union ready to go so I will hopefully sort it out on monday after my debs.

It's not a tuition fee, it's a registration fee. Tuition fees are crazy money! (IIRC you only have to pay them if you repeat the year?)

But yes it's all paid in one go.

Don't forget the 93 or the boys in the SU will cry :P

Ok sorry I keep forgetting to call it the registration fee.

And yeah I will send the extra €93 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 JMcG92

How lenient is the college regarding the Registration Fee? I don't expect to receive confirmation of my grant until at least mid-October, possibly not until after Christmas. :mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Does anyone know anything about reg fees and work experience?! Should I be paying them?!

Law dept are being useless abou this atm and the fees office and records office both send me back to the dept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

JMcG92 wrote: »
    How lenient is the college regarding the Registration Fee? I don't expect to receive confirmation of my grant until at least mid-October, possibly not until after Christmas. :mad:

Generally the university break knees or thumbs...

only joking, the university won't let you complete registration until they have confirmation that you'll receive a grant or the cash.

You'll still be able to do all your studenting*

* you might be denied access to the library without your student card, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

Does anyone know anything about reg fees and work experience?! Should I be paying them?!

Law dept are being useless abou this atm and the fees office and records office both send me back to the dept!

In what respect? Do you mean if your doing a course where you have to do work experience as part of it, do you still pay registration?

Yes.

If your doing a whole year placement-deally, I would say yes as well

Alt_Grrr wrote: »

In what respect? Do you mean if your doing a course where you have to do work experience as part of it, do you still pay registration?

Yes.

If your doing a whole year placement-deally, I would say yes as well

Apparently not if for the whole year apparently! Well if I was a business student...
    Because I'm doing law however no one seems to know for def!

That's what I've found out lately anyway! Stress of this!

Right, so I do have to pay fees!

So can someone do me a favour and just explain what i do and don't need to do until i get confirmation that I will/won't be getting a grant.
    Like with registration tomorrow, is there a way of only paying the €93. Am I going to have to go into the college at all?

Also what does my future first year brother have to do when he's registering next week? Just go up and show them proof that he's waiting on confirmation? And then he just can't get his student card until he gets confirmation/pays?

Stress of grants. At least there's a chance that I might be able to afford college for once though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Just show up. Doesn't necessarily need confirmation, that can be handed in at a later stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 aoifemcd

OK so I just checked my fees due and apparently I owe €6508! I don't get it, i had to pay full fees last year because i had already done 1st year in UCD but i thought it got cancelled out after that and i just had to pay €2000?
    does anyone elses page say this?

aoifemcd wrote: »
    OK so I just checked my fees due and apparently I owe 6508! I don't get it, i had to pay full fees last year because i had already done 1st year in UCD but i thought it got cancelled out after that and i just had to pay 2000?
    does anyone elses page say this?

You only did first yeah in UCD yeah? In that case you shouldn't have to pay full fees for any other years. Get on to the fees office and they should be able to sort it out. You should be able to register online without paying your fees anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 aoifemcd

You only did first yeah in UCD yeah? In that case you shouldn't have to pay full fees for any other years. Get on to the fees office and they should be able to sort it out. You should be able to register online without paying your fees anyway :)

Will do, thank you :)
    I was having a slight heart attack there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Apparently I don't have to pay any...

I'm assuming that's because my grant application went through? [even though I didn't know it did...]

Daemos wrote: »
    Apparently I don't have to pay any...

I'm assuming that's because my grant application went through? [even though I didn't know it did...]

Mine have been reduced to 1500 apparently. So confused...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

That bit sort of got me too, am I wrong in remember that fees went up to €2000?

They may have just not updated it online, and when you receive the giro it will say the €2000, though that could raise major problems...

That bit sort of got me too, am I wrong in remember that fees went up to €2000?

They may have just not updated it online, and when you receive the giro it will say the €2000, though that could raise major problems...

I was wondering if maybe it was because my brother was starting or the fact that I'm doing work experience! But Obviously not!

I only paid thr €93 anyway and gonna wait for some confirmation/rejection of a grant before I do anything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

If there's 2+ in the family going to college one pays 2000, the rest pay the reduced rate of 1500.
    Think I'll pay mine next week, it's painful enough handing it over might as well keep it for a while :pac:

I was wondering if maybe it was because my brother was starting or the fact that I'm doing work experience! But Obviously not!

I only paid thr €93 anyway and gonna wait for some confirmation/rejection of a grant before I do anything else!

I don't get a grant though?
    And although the second child was supposed to pay less than the first, the way the system works is that each child pays the full €2000 and then the second child/parent claims back the money later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭A Changer

I'm the only person in my family currently attending college, I don't get any financial aid, and I've only been asked to pay €1593 as well. I'm not sure what's happening here.

Others on my course have been saying the same.

I don't get a grant though?
    And although the second child was supposed to pay less than the first, the way the system works is that each child pays the full €2000 and then the second child/parent claims back the money later in the year.

I never have before either! I just meant that I'm not even worrying about it until I need to pay it!

And yea I thought that's waht the system was for the second child thing! I was only trying to come up with reasons for the reduction! :P

Should one of us maybe call the fees office...
    Who's too honest around here?!

typical law student... ;)

Hey, I'm not even in the college this year. Why should I do it? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If someone is asking you to pay less than you should you should definitely say nothing!! Let them realise their mistake.

They've only asked me for 1593 too, I wonder is it because my brother went to college before me? (He's long since graduated though) I took it to mean you only get the reduced rate while there's 2 or more in the family going to college at the same time?

Ian Beale wrote: »
    They've only asked me for 1593 too, I wonder is it because my brother went to college before me? (He's long since graduated though) I took it to mean you only get the reduced rate while there's 2 or more in the family going to college at the same time?

To be honest, by the looks of it, everyone is being charged the same amount. I'm assuming that the system wasn't updated wuth the new amount or something

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    If someone is asking you to pay less than you should you should definitely say nothing!! Let them realise their mistake.

My point exactly! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Madra Maith

They're asking me for €7,410! :O
    I know I took a few years out and then repeated but I am doing final year for 1st time so should I not be paying the 2 grand and student services charge?
    I guess I'll have to head over to Maynooth in a bit.... I'm seriously freaking out . I must try and not shout at them.

Ahh there we go, just received this :)

Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is
    requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student
    Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web
    Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval
    letter to us on their return to University.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

Feck we just got a mail sent out:
    Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval letter to us on their return to University.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

--
    Ann O'Shea
    Student Records Officer
    NUI Maynooth
    Maynooth
    Co Kildare

Tel: +353 1 7084722
    Fax: +353 1 7083935

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Madra Maith

I got that e-mail too but they are still trying to charge me €7,410!

WHO TATTLED?!

Ahh there we go, just received this :)

Dear Student,

It has come to our attention that the online registration process is
    requesting the incorrect amount for the Student Contribution and Student
    Levy. If you have paid €1593 you can now go back in to the Student Web
    Services and pay the remaining €500.

Grant holders should pay €93 and bring a copy of their grant approval
    letter to us on their return to University.

Fees & Grants Office
    NUI Maynooth

Dear Administrator,

It has come to my attention that the online registration process is requestiong the incorrect amount for the Student Ass Raping and Other Combined Services Fee. I have paid 1593 euro and will not be paying a penny more. Minister of Education and Spoofery Ruari Quinn promised that I would not have to pay any more, he signed a pledge to that effect before the election in March.

If you could forward this email to him please I think you will find that as a decent, honest human being he will feel shame for his back-tracking, lying, shameless behaviour and find it within himself to waive payment of the extra 500 euro. If not I am sure that he will do the right thing and resign his position as he will have then admitted to lying to the electorate and student body as a whole. Alternatively, you can ask him for a lend of his cigar box which I'm sure contains the money needed to allow me to complete my education.

If he refuses to give up the money or resign you can tell him I called him a cun...

Thank you,

LR

WHO TATTLED?!

They tickled me till I spilled. With a big fluffy boa :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Evita

Does anyone know what you do if you're a continuing student and can register online but you haven't heard a word from the council yet? I presume I can't register online because I'll be asked for my credit card details to pay the fees myself... anyone know what you do in this case? If not I'll just give the fees and grants or records office a buzz. So much red tape and you never know who's in charge. Such a load of hassle.

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since). Edit: I never got a grant before so am unfamiliar with this and unsure if I'll even get one this year

Evita wrote: »
    Does anyone know what you do if you're a continuing student and can register online but you haven't heard a word from the council yet? I presume I can't register online because I'll be asked for my credit card details to pay the fees myself... anyone know what you do in this case? If not I'll just give the fees and grants or records office a buzz. So much red tape and you never know who's in charge. Such a load of hassle.

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since.)

You can register for your course and modules, just do steps 1-9.
    Step 10 is the part where you pay the fees, just don't do that part yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Evita

Ian thank you very much for the info :)
    Edit: student web services down now. Lovely.

Can I register for more than 1 non compulsary 7.5 module to keep my choices open or do I have to make a decision now before attending first, 2 nd year arts history is the subject. Sorry if this is wrong area to ask such a question.

You can only pick one but you have a few weeks to change your mind.
    Just remember that some fill up really quickly.

What ones are you looking at?

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Evita wrote: »

(I'm thinking of ringing Kildare CoCo today if I don't get anything in the post. I sent my app in in mid July and not a word since.)

You can register for your course and modules, just do steps 1-9.
    Step 10 is the part where you pay the fees, just don't do that part yet.

Or just pay the €93 by card and leave the rest until you know which is what I did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭~Candy~

ok i am so confused, i paid the 1593..then got the email saying i can now log on and pay 500quid more...but my balance says 0 :O what do i do now? pay the 500 anyway although balance says 0? :eek:

Run away...