Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brownian Motion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭brownian

Did nothing much today. Not too sore from last night's club session, so perhaps should have gone for 10km or so. Weather wasn't right, though (excuse 1) and had too much beer last night (excuse 2). Long run planned for Sunday so wouldn't in the normal course of events run tomorrow. Prolly head out hill walking or cycling, though.

Was going well on the resting front, until herself said "let's nip up Lugnaquilla". Five hours of hill walking followed. Nice walk, but perhaps not ideal prep for a long run on the Sunday.

Can't believe August is already half over. Where have my holidays gone?:eek: Will be back doing school runs before I know it. Gark.

Met up some rubber-clad men from the internet for a session in the Phoenix park yesterday morning. Krusty, TheRoadRunner, EColi, Tunguska and (subsequently) Aero2K - I was a bit intimidated with the quality of the company, I must confess. Arrived a few minutes early and did a short warmup, which confirmed that my quads and calves were really rather sore after the previous evening's spin up Lugnaquillia. Hobbled and limped back to the car park to be reassured by KC that I looked like shi1te already :)

Very nice run, once we got going. Solid pace, but pretty manageable - very consistent throughout. Stopped at ten miles back at the car for a quick drink, then ticked off another three. Despite having brought cakes for all, I took them home with me - half a marathon wasn't enough for anyone else!

Home for rasher, egg and sausage sandwich. Out for a nice 30km on the bikes with wife and kids around Wicklow in the afternoon - great quiet roads out around Ballinaclash, Macreddin area.

A little stiff today...probably take it easy, head out for ten miles tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

You could have left the cakes under my car. I would have shared them out, honest

I was going to do that, but you know what deer and Jaffa Cakes are like. Once they'd eaten them, they'd have opened your car like a bean can, to see if there were more inside. I couldn't in all conscience.

If it makes you feel better, I did have half a dozen and a cup of tea after I found my way back to the Paypal X.

A poor run today - I felt like I worked hard throughout, but the time doesn't reflect the effort. That in turn doesn't do anything for my confidence that I'll be able to knock out a decent run on Saturday.

Started out slow but soon had the pace up around the 4 minutes a kilometre. Felt like I was motoring along pretty handy up to the end of Kilgobbet park, but got to the 5km mark only at about 20:00 (best to date up to there was 17:30 and I'd have hoped to get there about 18:30 or so today...not a bit of it). Bit of a drag up the hill through Ballybrack and down to Killiney dart station. Sections of 3:45 pace, then hit the steep hill away from the sea, where speed predictably dropped to about 6:00/km up to the top. Listening to a rather dull lecture about Freud's relationship with Fister (ok, Pfister, but that's fisting with an Austrian accent) didn't help. Stopped at the top to watch a kayaker in Killiney bay being buzzed by three dolphins - a large male and two smaller ones. Probably the ones I saw in Dalkey sound earlier this summer. Lovely to see.

Handy spin down to Coliemore Harbour, up to Dalkey village and down to Bullock Harbour. Feeling the heat from here on in, and a stiff enough headwind along Tivoli Road back to Monkstown. Final spin up Monkstown Avenue and down to the Rock Road and home.

Definitely put some extra effort into this run, trying to keep a decent pace (sub 4/km where possible, since that'd be my goal pace on Saturday), but I don't think I prepared well - didn't drink a whole lot with lunch so was dry from the start, didn't take a gel or anything to drink en route, didnt' sleep all that well last night, went to bed late with a beer and a toastie cheese sitting on the gut...not quite Pfistinger and Douglas.

Gentle shorter run on Thurs, quick jog on Friday - that's my lot before the Frank Duffy. Then really have to think about some sort of plan to increase pace - the distance is going ok, but I'm 3 minutes per ten miles slower than pre-Connemara, which doesn't delight me.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

brownian wrote: »
    not quite Pfistinger and Douglas.
    You definitely need a break from Freud!

Wondered if anyone would notice :D

Not a freudian slip then?!

Tapering a little coming up to Saturday's race, I shortened things down and took them a bit easier today, and will skip the club intervals this evening. Had a bite of lunch and a pint of water+sugar+electrolytes before heading out, and put on my boards running top for enhanced performance. Listened to a talk on pheronomes in badgers "human armpits are like badger bottoms". To my shock, those AttractaBurd tablets I've been buying off TrusteeFarmisy.com may not actually be based on hard science...but I may be more attractive to badgers than I expect.

Anyway, running was tight and uncomfortable to start with, and I kept a pretty tight rein on speed, never letting it get faster than 4:00/km. Found 4:15 pretty comfortable from a breathing and energy perspective, but doubt I could have done another 10 or 20km at that pace today. Legs were sore throughout - calves (as usual) and quads (more worryingly) both full of niggles. That's a few days that I've had this level of discomfort - if it persists after my week in France next week, I'll go for a beating to Ciaran Fitz. That'll remind me what discomfort really is all about.

Long stretch, big drink of juice+water plus a banana when I got in. Still a bit sore. One consolation is that Krusty seems to have similar malaise...if the superstars get it, then maybe my discomfort is a sign of incipient superstardom:)

If you're following my path of wanton destruction, you can expect to hit rock bottom in a couple of weeks. I always felt that 'TheGutterRunner' would've been a much better username than Krusty_Clown.

Did you figure out what Saturday's target is going to be?

TheGutterRunner- is that like TheRoadRunner only wetter and smellier? :)

Still in two minds about Saturday. One mind is
    - Mind #1 - run at 6:00/mile pace for as long as possible. If I get near the end and am still alive, go faster and try to get under 60 minutes. This mind is largely fantasy and likely to lead to a 65-70 minute end result at best, injury or demoralisation at worst. But the only possible way I'll do better than with....

- Mind #2 - run at usual lunchtime pace or a little harder (say, 6:30 a mile). Aim for creditable if unspectacular 1:05 goal, which would be my fastest 10 miles since training for Conn, at which time I seemed to be able to knock off 65s twice a week. What happened to me since:(

There is of course a sort of middle ground, where I aim for 63 or 64. TBH, that doesn't seem much better to me than 65, and more risky.

Will decide on the day. Knowing me, it'll go like this
    - half a mile at 6:30
    - three miles at 6:00
    - three miles at 6:30
    - three and a half miles at 6:45
    ...unless I feel great, find that a gel at the start makes a massive difference and am swept up by a superstar group that I draft effortlessly all the way round.

Long-winded way of saying "target-me??" :)

Just a few handy ks to keep the legs ticking over for tomorrow's ten-mile race.

I feel like sh1te, though. Quads and calves tight and sore, poor power, rapidly tiring when I do put the foot down. I can get the pace up to 6 minute miles, but I'm gasping and fighting to keep it there, and my legs hurt hurt hurt. Not the usual tightness, but a real soreness in all the major muscle groups. Stretches are fine, but muscles feel full of acidic fizz. Everything's off kilter.

Been like this for a couple of weeks now...might it be something to do with the new shoes ? Will run in my last pair tomorrow, just in case there's a miracle cure there. That said, I have run adequately (last weekend's 13 miles, last Tuesday's 10 miles) if not actually very well, in the new shoes.

For tonight, a couple of neurofen and a good load of fluids. Will get around tomorrow, but any thoughts anything around 60 seem total pie in the sky - 65 to 70 looks more likely. Then take a week of holidays, with just a few handy ticking-over runs. If I still feel this poor at the end of the month, it's time for professional advice.

Roll on tomorrow...hmmm :(

Having felt poor most of the week, I wasn't looking forward to this. Got to the park nice and early, did some desultory warm-ups. Not quite as sore as the last couple of days, but legs not feeling the love, and lungs also not happy bunnies.

Strolled down to the under-85 bin (wasn't THAT pessimistic) but hung back maybe ten rows from the front. Met up with Derek, a friend who runs with Rathfarnham, and with whom I've run several Connemara Halfs, usually in or around the same pace. A few more stretches, ignoring a sense of dodgy stomach - why is there always an urge for a squidgy steamer 15 minutes before the off? It must be nerves, but it put me off my plan to take a gel before the start.

Slow enough start, getting past the many people in front, but by half a mile in myself and Derek were spinning along handy enough at about 6:20 pace. Kept this up to mile 5, pacing one another and keeping things under control. I could have run a little faster, but not sub-6, and I was very aware of the need to keep something in the tank. Took a gel just coming up to Chesterfield.

Broke away from Derek on Chesterfield after the 5 mile marker, and ended up putting about 20 seconds on him by the end. Ran the long gentle downhills between 5 and 8 a little bit faster, occasionally hitting 3:40 or 3:45 a km pace. Throttled back a little (to 4:00) on the flats. Looking forward to a gulp of water at the bottom of the steep hill, but sadly there wasn't one, and so had to keep going. I'd been reeling people in fairly steadily, if slowly, for miles 5-8, but was caught by a few speedsters too.

Bit of a crank up to the top of Acres Road, then the loooong flat back to the finish line. Tried to really hit pace around the 1km mark, but after 100m I knew I couldn't sustain 3:50, and dropped it to about 4:00. Went over the line as hard as I could, but not what you'd call a sprint finish.

They wouldn't give me a medium t-shirt (cheeky!), but the large is pretty medium, really. Got a good load of water and a couple of bananas, met up with Krusty the sub60 Clown, Aero2K, TheBoyBlunder, Aibhinn and one or two other speed merchants...they gave me that "63...you should be happy enough" encouragement that the sub-60s can afford :):). Really, it was good to put some names on faces, and also to run into Mike from Bray Runners.

Gentle jog down to Parkgate Street (traffic in park unsurprisingly savage) and home for pancakes with nutella and rasberries (as a foreign friend so nicely puts it "tastes like an orgasm in your mouth" :)) and to pack for tomorrow's week of wine, cheese and easy jogging in France.

Overall, I'm pretty happy. I was sincerely expecting a 67/68 pain fest; instead I managed (just) negative splits and ran in or around 4:00 kms, which is adequate. Not sub-60 this time, but someday it might happen... And, of course, it's a PB!

Nicely done brownian. Negative split? You must be one of the few! Enjoy the vino.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Well done man, I was near enough behind you. Glad there was no movements from that "squidgy steamer" :-)

A week of wine and (especially) cheese hasn't really done much for the fitness. Oddly, my legs have more niggles and twinges than when I left, so am stretching several times today to see can I get some normality back. Right knee also giving gip - probably the IT band.

Out in la belle France I did get two pleasant 10ks in...mixed road and trail running, pretty hilly, in mid/high twenties temperatures. Did the same route twice; on the second time it was mysteriously ornamented (if that's the word) with an enormous dead dog in the middle of the trail. Given that the trail looks like it sees two tractors a generation, I can't imagine how it died or how it got there :confused:

Also got in a lovely day's walking in the Pyrenees and a reasonable 45k family cycle, so wasn't entirely idle. That's (un)balanced by many hours in the hot tub, six-course meals ("avec ses vins"), plenty of beer and ice cream. Cross-training, I'd call it.

Anyway, back to it. Will try a short easy run today, to see if the legs are in fact sore, or just whinging.

Oh yeah, got my pix back from the Marathon Pix people - I look agonised more or less all the time..I do actually like running :)

Headed out this evening after a reasonable amount of warm-up, just to jog around easy and see if my sore right knee or tight (tight) left+right achilles were going to behave. Sure enough, the first mile or two felt tight and sore, but then it loosened out. Wore full-length tights for the first time in months - after France, Ireland feels cold (expect to see Krusty in his snorkel jacket after Calfornia:)). Apart from the dead dog, I saw no sign of mountain lions or snakes in France.

Pleasant spin along the usual linear park, listening to the opening chapters of Charles Dickens' Tale of Two Cities. Actually, given that I'd no great energy and no savage urge to run, I'm pretty happy that I just went and did it, and that, after a while, I found some reasonable pace without killing myself.

Home then for a long stretch, some foam rolling (ITB hell, can't put much weight on it), a pint of strawberry milk and a late dinner (mmmm, steak, nice break from the cheese). Actually, I'd be happy to lose a few pounds between now and DCM, but the accepted wisdom seems to be NOT to cut down on your calories. However, I'll try to cut down on the chocolate and beer that represent the bottom of my food pyramid :o

Major trauma ahead - back to getting up at 0630 and bringing the sprogs to school. Those evenin's are a drawin-in...can't wait. Urgh.

Delighted to see that the odd person with nowt better to do is reading the log occasionally. Thanks for thanking - I don't mind talking to myself, but real peer pressure is also good.

Wore full-length tights for the first time in months.
    Jaysus. What kind of a country am I coming back to? It was all sunny and warm when I left it.
    Where's the pictures of the dead dog? :confused::)

Nothing in the way of running today - just some stretches and a stroll.

Sorry, Krusty, no pictures of the dead dog. Cloud of flies would have ruined the shot anyway. Picture a big brown heap covered in fur and black flies; add a broad rothweiler-shaped head and a bushy retriever-style tail, and you've got it.

Mind you, compared to the Coyote trails you're on, at least the French ones are scenic and free of chicken wire, industrial estates and hobos.

Back to usual whinges - ITB still giving me gyp. Hopefully will get a beating from cfitz in the next day or two, and also some extra stretches. Am stretching the Achilleses pretty religiously, but still look like an old man when I get out of bed in the morning, doing a sort of John Wayne meets Long John Silver walk for the first few minutes, and going downstairs clutching the banister....

Ten somethings tomorrow, depending on how I feel, and back to the club on Thursday, now that I've actually paid money and filled in a form.

Still feeling a bit out of whack after my week of sloth and cheese (and dead dogs) in France. But Monday's handy 10k was a reasonable sign of ok-ness, so headed out for 10 miles today. Not the usual coastal hill-fest; thought I'd try to run mainly on grass and flat today, so ran in the linear park doing loops of various pitches to make up the distance. Actually, this turned out to be pretty boring, and harder to keep motivated than going A-to-B. So not likely to do it again anytime soon.

My podcast of Tale of Two Cities went on the blink half way through, and I lost two minutes trying to fix it before giving up in disgust. Think I'll go back to iTunes University and improve my mind - certainly needs it!

Anyway, despite the usual slow start (warm up, I call it, as an excuse), the first 6k were handy enough (4:11 average), while the boredom started to bite in the second 6K (4:22) average. Found some motivation for the last three k (3:58 average), but was blowing and panting a bit by the end. Probably need to prehydrate a bit, and eat something more substantial than sushi beforehand. Still, happy enough with the last 3 K, but kms 7-13 did fade a bit too much.

Club tomorrow night, following massage tomorrow morning. Then a long run on Saturday (long, in my lazy books, means 13, or at most 15, miles).

Didn't get the Garmin working properly on this run...did show the pace (typically 4:20-5:00 per km, lots around the 4:30 mark) but somehow seems to have lost the distance data. Tedious.

Anyway, after a good seeing to from Mr Fitz, felt somewhat looser today. Then down to Bray to the Bray Runners meet. No intervals/racing today, just a "general run", with people breaking up into groups at whatever pace suited. Spun along with whoever would have me. Didn't feel massively strong, but then I don't usually run two days in a row, so the body may be complaining.

After run, did a few stretches, filled the car with petrol (90 euro!!! - owing a BMW isn't all it's cracked up to be:eek:) and tootled home. Trying to get another hour's work out of the old body, but the mental focus is waning.

Rest day tomorrow, with some stretches and mebbe a trifle of cross-training.

Well, as planned, did nothing much on Friday. 9.30 Saturday found me down in Shanganagh park, running a few warmup laps of the pitch. Met Vinny at ten, and he dragged me up from Bray to the mining tower on Carrickgollagan (sp?), down the scalp into Enniskerry and back to Bray via the Twelve Bends road. Took a bit of a tumble around mile three or so, bruised the hip. No pain on the day, but a bit sore since.

Overall, probably only about ten or eleven miles, but plenty of uphill and effort. Garmin on the blink again..if it kacks up once more, it's the bin.

Sunday took a stroll up Camaderry in the afternoon with the wife - 12 km easy walking, a bit muddy underfoot but we missed the main downpours. Plan had been to go sailing, but the crap forecast put paid to that.

Didn't sleep great, so may/may not run today; schedule (such as it is) is to run tomorrow. [update: yup, didn't run today. Manana!]

Nice going to the lads/ladies who ran the half - some pretty serious times there. You know who you are.

This is a bit more like it. Felt strong throughout, and put in a fair amount of sub-4 kilometres. Nice tailwind in the first half, pig of a headwind at times going back. First 4.5 km average was under 3:50 per km, then stopped for two minutes to catch breath because I was trying just a bit too hard (18 mintues for 4.66...a fair bit off my PB of 17:30 for 5km on the same run).

Next 2 km were uphill through Ballybrack and then down along by Killiney dart station, averaging 3:51. Actually, that's pretty good, as the uphill's not that trivial, and I didn't sprint the seafront. Bono's house hill is hard, and I deliberately throttled back; the first 500m in particular are savage, and the discussion of whether or not it's best to leave your company to your children didn't lift the legs; the 750m of climbing averaged 5:35 (it really is rather steep, is my excuse). Definite room for improvement there - must plan a hill run soon.

From there, a long cruise down to Dalkey, along the windy seafront and back up home (8.64km) averaged 4:14, which isn't too far off marathon pace. The secret, apparently, is to do as the Japanese do - if you eldest son is a loser, adopt a better one, aged about 25, so that you keep the company in the family without loss of performance.

Without the headwind, could have cut a minute or two off this...I put in plenty of effort and hadn't a whole lot left in the tank at the end. But the upside is that I felt strong for a lot of it, and the GPS agrees - without Bono's hill and the headwind, and with slightly smarter pacing, this could have been better.

Going to try to get a few more miles in this week, aim for 40, rather than 33, which is all I've been doing of late. Maybe a five mile gentler run tomorrow, and then another ten on Thursday, even if this means missing the club race....

Going up to Connemara I was putting in runs like 18 to 20 at 7 minutes; I need to find that speed and endurance again if I'm going to run well in Dublin.

Another day another ten-miler. Much like Tuesday's run, but 12 seconds slower despite the lack of a significant head-wind. Tired legs in the second half didn't help one bit, and significant time was lost.

Started fast, with the first 5ks in about 19:30. Once again, though, the level of effort was just too high, and I had to stop for a rest and to catch my breath (1:20). So this particular experiment of sprint starts can now be formally declared a failure...anything that stops me dead for 80 seconds probably isn't improving my performance over the following 11 kms. I was hoping to knock off 5 kms at sub-4:00 and then just keep on cruising, but I was hurting keeping up the pace from about 3kms out. Next run, I'm going to try for 67 minutes, and a steady pace of 4:10. That's roughly planned marathon pace. Right now, feels ambitious!

The next 2 ks were up, down and flat, averaging 4:10. You can see the impact here of the too-fast start. I ran these at 3:51 on Tuesday. Mind you, I did lose 10 or 20 seconds waiting to cross the road. Hate that.

Climbing up the steep hill on the Vico road took 3:06 this time; again, slightly slower than Tuesday, even though I told myself I was going faster. It's only 200 feet of climbing, but it's a major effort all the same. Not too wrecked at the top; the downhill mile to Dalkey went at 4:07 and the flatter run past Bullock harbour etc at 4:20. Slowing down here, and feeling tired, despite much more favourable wind than Tuesday. The last 3kms were at 4:26 - mainly flat along Tivoli road, down to Monkstown castle and up to the squareabout at Stradbrook, then down home. This is where I really lost time - all this section was 4:14 on Tuesday.

Food diary - as for Tuesday. Nutella and batch sandwich starting out, with mug of tea. I suspect that 700 mls of Torq powder and water might be better (as per pre-Connemara), so back to trying that again next week. Strawberry milk and a banana with the cooldown when I got home.

Sorry, I know it's a bit long-winded. I'm trying to dissect my loss of three minutes over ten miles compared to my last marathon training - at the mo, the hills are really costing me time, as are too-fast starts. But I suspect there's also dehydration going on. And really, 20 for the first 5kms shouldn't be a deal-breaker, if I'm looking for 1:05 to 1:06 for the 16km. It should just be easier!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hey Brownian, how about a different approach. Start steady and finish off the last 5k at 19:30 rather that the first 5k? Pushing every 10miler too will tire you. You could try an easy on at say 4:30 pace with km intervals at 3:50 pace. The last 16 km run I did I split into 23, 22 and 21 min 5ks with the last km picked up to make it a sub 70 run. It was a good run.

Your Conn form was super alright and I remember you doing lots of 10 mile training runs at 70 mins. What is the difference between this approach at then?

Headed down to the club in Bray to take part in this run...thought it'd be a low key affair but turned out to be a fairly stiff event with some tough runners, not least BeepBeep67 of this parish.

Was tired after the ten mile run this lunchtime, when I got to the venue at six (usual club meetup time). Turned out the race wasn't till 7.30, so went for a stroll around the park with Mrs B and the little Brownians, who had come along to support.

7:30 we lined up at the start and the pistol went on time. First km was ok, running just behind and then just in front of BeepBeep. Fast group a couple of seconds ahead, of maybe half a dozen runners. Pace was pretty harsh, about 3:30 kms. By the end of the second km (end of first lap) I was hurting - starting to pant, feeling the lunchtime run something fierce. Dropped by a couple of lads, including BB67, but struggled on to hold a reasonable pace. 4kms passed (end of second lap), still sub 14 minutes or so, but really in pain and finding the pace increasingly hard to maintain. A stitch hit me (almost to my relief, I was so shook) about 100m into the last km, and I dropped to a fast jog for 100m or so, losing two places in the process. One more passed me shortly afterwards; after that, the gap was big enough that I was able to hold off any more overtakers (only just, bit of a sprint finish).

Finished 14th or so, wife-timed time (pretty accurate, tallied with official time keeper) of 18:04. A PB for a measured 5k, and not bad considering the state I was in. Fresh, I could hope to knock 60 seconds off that, I reckon. Enjoyed the intensity of the race, though not the physical suffering that I went through....10 miles at lunch, going hard, wasn't ideal prep!

Lovely gentle warm-down (2kms in about 8/9 minutes - got my nice dry top all sweaty) with a few hardy men, then home.

Hey Brownian, how about a different approach. Start steady and finish off the last 5k at 19:30 rather that the first 5k? Pushing every 10miler too will tire you. You could try an easy on at say 4:30 pace with km intervals at 3:50 pace. The last 16 km run I did I split into 23, 22 and 21 min 5ks with the last km picked up to make it a sub 70 run. It was a good run.

Your Conn form was super alright and I remember you doing lots of 10 mile training runs at 70 mins. What is the difference between this approach at then?

I wish I knew the difference; apart from my pre-Conn runs being 65/66 instead of 6m minutes, I amn't doing anything much different. I did a fair amount of hill runs prior to Conn (including an epic 20mile recce of the WW ultra with Dpop, KC, JeffonTour and Mithril); these were slow (6 minute kms) runs, but maybe they built some hardiness that allowed me to go faster in my widweek runs. And I did more or less religiously drink 750mls of carbo/water before the ten-milers last time - maybe that suits me better than the nutella sandwich and cup of tea.

I'll try your 23/22/21 approach next time I'm out, and I'll go for the Torq drink rather than the sandwich.

Next up - 15 miles at the weekend, about 7 min/mile. Might do a 5 mile easy run tomorrow, to shift today's lactic acid (there's gotta be plenty of it).

BTW ran in support socks this evening, having worn them this afternoon. Legs certainly felt surprisingly good this afternoon while wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Thats some days running Brownian.... Fair play tough ur going to b a sore boy tomorrow morning :pac:

liamo123 wrote: »
    Thats some days running Brownian.... Fair play tough ur going to b a sore boy tomorrow morning :pac:

Thank you! I fear you're not wrong. :)

Got some advice after the race from one of the lads who left me for total dust - get a solid session in tomorrow, so that tomorrow's pain make you forget today's discomfort (at least that's my interpretation). Might actually try to get 5 miles easy (8:00s, mebbe) in tomorrow, shift some of this lactic acid.