Have you ever completely changed your mind about something?

• 07-09-2011 03:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭

People on Boards.ie , like everywhere on the internet, are very steadfast in their opinions; and are unlikely to back down regardless of what they read. So I am wondering to users here have examples of when they completely changed their mind about something and had to admit they were wrong. Examples might be to do with what are the true facts of a situation, a politcal opinion, an opinion on the moral rights or wrongs of a particular situation, whether to hold a positive or negative view of someone, etc.

For example, I used to think Amanda Knox was guilty, that she was the manipulative, crazy person she was portrayed as, and the Americans just don't trust the rest of the world to get anything right (despite the failings of their own justice system). Until I read this:

http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/news/the-neverending-nightmare-of-amanda-knox-20110627

For example, it basically explains the context behind her strange behaviour (why she was buying underwear, doing cartwheels, etc) which makes it clear it wasn't strange at all; like the media tried to portray it. There are many other things (like the lack of a time of death) which I didn't know about before. So I changed my mind and now hope she is freed.

I'm interested to hear other examples of where people on did a compete turn-around on their opinion on something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Yes.

Wait, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Yeh I wasnt going to post on this thread but im bored so I changed my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

What, and catch the ghey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

one thing I learnt from my growing-up is that I do change my mind completely on something, in some cases they are related to my personal choices or preference. This finding really upsets me. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I use to think Socialism was Communism and the entire thing was a system to exploit and control people. Then I decided to read into it and to my complete surprise everything I thought I knew was wrong.

Exact same thing happened when I looked at a little closer at religion and belief.

Amazing what you find out when you actually look into something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I left the Priesthood 10 years ago and am now married with 1 kid and one on the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Im set in my ways but last christmas my opinion was completely reversed on the whole eating Brussel Sprouts situation, i blame the alcohol but they are very eatable these days since christmas past, i blame the alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

and are unlikely to back down regardless of what they read.

Utter nonsense, and since when can you speak for everyone on boards? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Yep, God.

Yes I have done a completes turn around on one or two of my beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

I left the Priesthood 10 years ago and am now married to 1 kid and one on the way

F yo P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I used to think girls were icky :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I change my mind regularly and then change it back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Yes, I used to fancy Lyndsay Lohan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I was against gay adoption until I started watching Modern Family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wagon Wheels.

Thought they were deadly when I was young but I had one recently and to be honest, they're kinda sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

No. I form a quick and strong oppinion on every subject anyone around me has ever discussed and despite forming my oppinion on minimal or non existant data at the time, once formed I will not be swayed.

Unless you've got boobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

If you're talking about complete 180's..then a few years ago on a different forum, I thought circumcisions were grand (to put it simply) then somebody enlightened me as to the damage they can do if performed badly. Now I think they're pointless and can be dangerous.

If your opinions are always impermeable and unalterable, being 'right' is more important to you than truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I thought all boys were disgusting and then I went to see Titanic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

For example, I used to think Amanda Knox was guilty, that she was the manipulative, crazy person she was portrayed as, and the Americans just don't trust the rest of the world to get anything right (despite the failings of their own justice system).

Before you invite her round for a pajama party just remember she's a feckin psycho, you don't walk into court smiling in a murder cause.
    She's guilty you were right the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

kingtut wrote: »
    Utter nonsense, and since when can you speak for everyone on boards? :eek:

I just mean that when you read discussions on boards.ie, its very rare you see someone change their opinion over the course of that discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Always changing my mind tbh, Ive certain things that Ive a steadfast view on but whose to say in the future I wont change my mind on them aswell.

Id rather be a bit flaky on certain issues than a stubbon eejit, but naturally the more informed I am about something the less likely my opinion is to sway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Lesbians

I used to think they were all blonde Playboy bunnies that would get naked at the sight of a dildo or dildo-like object.........damn pornos lied to me! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Before you invite her round for a pajama party just remember she's a feckin psycho, you don't walk into court smiling in a murder cause.
    She's guilty you were right the first time.

They found her smiling a couple of times over the course of a very long trial, doesn't make her a psycho. Especially as we don't know the context of the smile. Same as how the media went on and on about how she and her boyfriend went to buy underwear, but nobody mentioned that all her clothes had been taken away to be examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Jeremy Vine on BBC Radio 2. Used to annoy the hell out of me whereas now I find him an entertaining DJ to listen to now and again :cool:

Why out of all things I've changed my mind on I can only think of Jeremy Vine is beyond me :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

just mean that when you read discussions on boards.ie, its very rare you see someone change their opinion over the course of that discussion.
    180's are probably rare but I'd say it's common enough that people alter their opinion or take a new perspective into account. Sometimes people have to go off and process that new perspective and it can take a while for that to change the opinion. People also don't always want to broadcast 'FYI I'm altering my opinion now' but I know what you mean...and completely agree with you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Kittens. Used to hate them with a passion and when I was younger vowed I would never change my mind. But maturity comes to us all and now I find if they are well seasoned and I add a touch of garlic and herbs they are delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Calibos

I left the Priesthood 10 years ago and am now married with 1 kid and one on the way

I totally believed this until I did a search on his posts. Then I completely changed my mind........ :D Former Altar boy with delusions of grandeur more like :D

Just because its not a sin for us atheists to tell porkies doesn't mean we should ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

no

edit: yes