Gardai abuse of the rules of the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭jimdeans

Snakeblood wrote: »
    It is good advice. Never underestimate people's ability to be stupid.

The issue is it's effectiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I asked you to point out where I was being hypocritical. You can't, mostly because you are profoundly stupid and said I was being so without actually knowing what it meant. You take on any halfwitted defence of the gardai, not because you think you're right, but because you don't want the gardai to be wrong. You're so infinitely stupid that if someone says 'I saw a garda speeding' in a forum, you ask for proof. It can't be provided, so it's just a conversational dead end, much like talking to you or trying to engage with you. You won't listen to people explain that they aren't talking about all gardai, you won't acknowledge that people have changed their minds, you won't answer direct questions.

You're a dead end of a poster. Completely worthless.

Here, I'm leaving the innuendo aside and telling you explicitly what I think.

Ah mastermind did i offend you by taking the opposite viewpoint. You mentioned about something about a
    Garda breaking into someones home and beating them just to try and get your way, a spoiled brat kind of thing to do especially as this thread was about garda using bus lanes. Yes i am of the opinion that you are a hypocrite as you only use instances that put the garda down. At least i can see and acknowledge when they are in the wrong and have said so.
    I think you are not that good a poster either, in fact more useless than you accuse me of being. Sad kind of character i'd say, just going round looking for faults in everything our gardai are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

jimdeans wrote: »
    The issue is it's effectiveness.

I thought it was that a garda was saying it. Guidance counsellors say the same kind of thing. It's the stuff everyone spouts so our kids dont' come home stinking of booze\taken advantage of\mugged. They still come home mugged but at least this way we feel like someone said something.

Ah mastermind did i offend you by taking the opposite viewpoint. You mentioned about something about a
    Garda breaking into someones home and beating them just to try and get your way, a spoiled brat kind of thing to do especially as this thread was about garda using bus lanes. Yes i am of the opinion that you are a hypocrite as you only use instances that put the garda down. At least i can see and acknowledge when they are in the wrong and have said so.
    I think you are not that good a poster either, in fact more useless than you accuse me of being. Sad kind of character i'd say, just going round looking for faults in everything our gardai are doing.

No, you offended me by not listening to anything anyone else had to say, reaching for any excuse, insulting people as a first port of call, and generally being a worthless poster. I'm not sure how you failed to understand that from my last response to you, but I'll put it down to you being monumentally stupid.

I thought it was that a garda was saying it. Guidance counsellors say the same kind of thing. It's the stuff everyone spouts so our kids dont' come home stinking of booze\taken advantage of\mugged. They still come home mugged but at least this way we feel like someone said something.

I just find it patronising that they say this kind of stuff because they think people don't know that they should use a condom or shouldn't get so drunk as to pass out or not get home etc.

Like you said, all kinds of people offer their wisdom on these types of issues, but rarely make any difference.

I just find it patronising that they say this kind of stuff because they think people don't know that they should use a condom or shouldn't get so drunk as to pass out or not get home etc.

Like you said, all kinds of people offer their wisdom on these types of issues, but rarely make any difference.

I see the point but you have to keep repeating this stuff. If one girl doesn't get knocked up as a result, let's hope it's my daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No, you offended me by not listening to anything anyone else had to say, reaching for any excuse, insulting people as a first port of call, and generally being a worthless poster. I'm not sure how you failed to understand that from my last response to you, but I'll put it down to you being monumentally stupid.

A big ego trying to exit a small brain obviously !!
    I think you are not worth replying to but i will put it down to arrogance and stupidity.

I see the point but you have to keep repeating this stuff. If one girl doesn't get knocked up as a result, let's hope it's my daughter.

Were you never young? :D Maybe it's just me, but I wouldn't listen to advice from a garda when i was a youngster. Condom and drink issues are as much to do with peer pressure and ease of availability and a raft of other factors than a simple matter of being told about them.

I always took advice from the gardai, actually. I'm a respectful law abiding citizen. :cool:

Definitely the gardai aren't a source of cool to kids like that Lady Gaga and her hippety hop, but it's a part of the whole to be informed. Around my area there's a community outreach garda who actually talks to the kids and tells them things. They actually seem to listen to some extent, so I think it's worthwhile to get the message out there. THe kids might not think it's awesome but they might think it's true. Other factors are definitely huge too, but you know. Holistics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

seamus wrote: »
    Nothing. Though I'm sure it wasn't a walk in the park for him, psychologically. He was not legally required to hold a licence at the time, and the DPP did not seek any prosecution, so presumably the Garda was driving within the law, it was just a very unfortunate accident.

Unfortunate accident. Nice.
    If the average civilian decides to jump in a car without a licence and proceeds to plough into someone (whilst breaking no other traffic laws) and kill or maim them, then they're hauled in front of court and done for death by dangerous driving (and rightly so).
    No talk of unfortunate accidents there and a slap on the wrist...instead a public prosecutor comments to judge and jurors alike about a wanton disregard for rules of the road, the horrific loss for a family, the cost to society etc etc.

Whatever about driving in a buslane (a no-brainer as far as I'm concerned for gardaí on duty) that type of sh*t is plain wrong.
    Either that garda outright lied on their application about their ability to drive legally or else the whole system that allowed them to get away with is seriously flawed.

Can you prove they were speeding ?

Of course he can't. Same as the cops can't prove someone was speeding without a radar/laser detection device.
    In that case they just slap you with a careless driving charge. :)
    How do you know that the particular Garda had not done the ADT ?

I don't.
    How does the poster I was responding to know that they had?
    I wasn't the one who made the definitive statement that all gardaí have this intensive training when they patently all don't.
    I'd like to think that if a garda tasked with driving is to be allowed to drive at speed in urban settings, change lanes and break red lights and generally ignore general rules that all drivers are told are for everyone's saftey, that they would at least have completed such a course to a degree level of proficiency...but that is not the case.

Wertz wrote: »
    Unfortunate accident. Nice.
    If the average civilian decides to jump in a car without a licence and proceeds to plough into someone (whilst breaking no other traffic laws) and kill or maim them, then they're hauled in front of court and done for death by dangerous driving (and rightly so).
    No talk of unfortunate accidents there and a slap on the wrist...instead a public prosecutor comments to judge and jurors alike about a wanton disregard for rules of the road, the horrific loss for a family, the cost to society etc etc.

Whatever about driving in a buslane (a no-brainer as far as I'm concerned for gardaí on duty) that type of sh*t is plain wrong.
    Either that garda outright lied on their application about their ability to drive legally or else the whole system that allowed them to get away with is seriously flawed.

Of course he can't. Same as the cops can't prove someone was speeding without a radar/laser detection device.
    In that case they just slap you with a careless driving charge. :)

I don't.
    How does the poster I was responding to know that they had?
    I wasn't the one who made the definitive statement that all gardaí have this intensive training when they patently all don't.
    I'd like to think that if a garda tasked with driving is to be allowed to drive at speed in urban settings, change lanes and break red lights and generally ignore general rules that all drivers are told are for everyone's saftey, that they would at least have completed such a course to a degree level of proficiency...but that is not the case.

I agree. The Gardai should all have the ADT before leaving the college and then there would be no need for a Super's permission or whatever they get. They should be properly trained before being allowed out on the road. Its clearly a training issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

tmcw wrote: »
    That's inconsiderate alright, if they have to share cars; it's pretty rank having to get into a smokers car, but mix that with "cop-smell", I'd say that's even worse.

Mix in the smell of you in the back of the car and you have a serious smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭blindsider

hondasam wrote: »
    Do you use TETRA?

How is that relevant? I am familar with Tetra for what it's worth.

blindsider wrote: »
    hondasam wrote: »
    Do you use TETRA?

How is that relevant? I am familar with Tetra for what it's worth.

a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭tmcw

Bosco boy wrote: »

I'm not the type of person who would be in a cop car; I'm not stupid enough that it would be one of my limited options as far as a career is concerned, and I was brought up to respect the laws of the land.

tmcw wrote: »
    Bosco boy wrote: »

I'm not the type of person who would be in a cop car; I'm not stupid enough that it would be one of my limited options as far as a career is concerned, and I was brought up to respect the laws of the land.

that's what they all say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

seamus wrote: »
    I would rather the Gardai were able to move about freely and cover more ground, regardless of whether there's a current emergency, than pay them to sit in traffic all day.

i would rather they did some meangiful work and not cower behind bends with a latte in the cup holder waiting for people to be 5/km hr over the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I for one would never presume to know what the Gardai might be doing when they speed by.

OP for all you know they could be racing to a murder scene or accident. They could be in persuit of a criminal or on the way to make an arrest or save some-one's life. They might be about tell some-one their lost loved has been found alive and well or tell parents their child is never coming home.

You just don't know so don't pretend you do, and get down of that moral high horse.

The abuse the Gardai get is nothing short of mind boggling sometimes. Yes there are bad apples but that is the same in any career and to tar them all because of it is unfair and madness tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

OP for all you know they could be racing to a murder scene or accident. They could be in persuit of a criminal or on the way to make an arrest or save some-one's life.

Presumbly in such cases the flashing lights/siren would be on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Is it really true that Garda can be assigned the duty of driving a patrol car even though they haven't passed their driving test?

Jesus i hope not. If that's the case then the Superintendent should be in trouble for allowing it. The minimum requirement should be a full licence and a driving course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Four legs good, two legs bad, all Gardai bad because i never say anything good about them, ever.

So you're implying I'm saying all Gardai are bad people?
    Literal facepalm. One of my friends' dads is a Gard in fact.
    How is demanding accountability and one set of laws for everyone implying that all Gardai are bad people?

Silly analogy but in response to a silly premise: Are black people campaigning for equal rights automatically implying that ALL white people are bad people?

Ridiculous argument is ridiculous. I'm not and I never will suggest that. But it's not ok for any section of society whatsoever to be above the law unless it's an emergency situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 MrSavo

TheZohan wrote: »
    Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread.

sorry as an ex traffic instructor,90% of your traffic divission are ****e,and think there above the law of the land,outside of city's YOU dont see high profile policing,which deters bad driving and gives a feeling of safety to it's citizens,all we see is tax collectors,thats how good they are at there jobs,hide behind walls,hedges and bureaucracy.
    as Forest Gump said "thats all I have to say on that".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread..

Well at least one of youse is talking through their back passage -now which of you is it ?

MrSavo wrote: »
    Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread.

sorry as an ex traffic instructor,90% of your traffic divission are ****e,and think there above the law of the land,outside of city's YOU dont see high profile policing,which deters bad driving and gives a feeling of safety to it's citizens,all we see is tax collectors,thats how good they are at there jobs,hide behind walls,hedges and bureaucracy.
    as Forest Gump said "thats all I have to say on that".

ex traffic instructor my arse! Where? When? And with whom? Playstation dosent count by the way, what horse****!

Merseyside Police you whopper,Bikes and Cars,bet your a boy racer with NO experience,got your licence free with cornflakes,go away child.

bet you played for Liverpool on a Saturday as well, your a bull****ter plain and simple

NO divi,I cant stand Liverpool,but your a man u fan,hate the english,but wear the jersey,sad barstool,you wouldnt know an advanced driver if you seen one,how long you had a FULL licence norbert,change your name here to thrush,cos your an irratating c***.
    now go away and play nice with the other children.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

NO divi,I cant stand Liverpool,but your a man u fan,hate the english,but wear the jersey,sad barstool,you wouldnt know an advanced driver if you seen one,how long you had a FULL licence norbert,change your name here to thrush,cos your an irratating c***.
    now go away and play nice with the other children.;)

Are you always this unpleasant and insulting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

chin_grin wrote: »
    Saw one in a car yapping Fapping away on her mobile while driving. Eejit.

Corrected that for ya. :D