Gardai abuse of the rules of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Bosco boy wrote: »
    IMO your a bitter person with a chip on your shoulder, tell me what you work at and we'll see how it compares and what a perfect profession it is?

Its a strange world we live in that a person who is making very reasonable points re: those charged with ensuring road safety should be seen to drive with due care and attention when engaged in non-emergency journeys is accused of having a chip on his shoulder.
    How DARE anyone suggest coffee collection is perhaps not an adequate reason for driving in a bus lane... lets us all berate that person at once. Or we could admit that the laws should apply to all citizens equally...But That's crazy talk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Well now it must be great to be perfect ....:rolleyes:
    So if there is no emergency then they should sit in traffic for their entire shift if need be. No paperwork to be done, reports, statements, court case preparations etc they should just sit in the traffic. Cop on.

Here's the difference. I could be working in a job as a truck driver or delivery man, and if I hit some bad traffic which slowed me down? Tough sh!t, I'd just have to live with it.

Exemptions from the law should only be used when it's necessary, not merely when they CAN be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Do you reckon he didn't make it then too ?

I just find you hypocritical, is all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I heard the Gardai are allowed commit murder too.

When I commit murder it's a terrible crime but the other day I saw a Garda murder someone in the queue in Centra just so he could get served his breakfast roll faster.

I wouldn't mind them murdering people if it's an emergency - like if they're doing it to get to the scene of a fire faster, or an armed robbery or a murder perhaps - but just murdering people on their way to breakfast is ridiculous.

are you sure he had the breakfast roll? He sounds more like a cereal killer to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Kiss1037 wrote: »
    no , am i issuing them with a ticket ?

Then if it cannot be proved why is it being said ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I just find you hypocritical, is all.

Ditto.

So if there is no emergency then they should sit in traffic for their entire shift if need be. No paperwork to be done, reports, statements, court case preparations etc they should just sit in the traffic. Cop on.

That is an absurd argument - so Guards should be allowed to ignore the rules of the road at all times so they can get their paperwork done? By the same token so should ambulance drivers (someone might have a heart attack while the ambulance is in traffic!) or fire fighters (engine stuck in traffic on way to collect coffee...house burns down! Several fatalities as ambulance detained while driver was off getting a ham roll luckily the gardaí were present at they had been proceeding along the bus lane on route to Tesco to get milk for the inspector's tea).

Ditto.

How am I hypocritical? I think I've been remarkably consistent. You're accusing people of being blinkered when you are obviously remarkably blinkered yourself. That's hypocrisy. What am I doing like that?

Here's the difference. I could be working in a job as a truck driver or delivery man, and if I hit some bad traffic which slowed me down? Tough sh!t, I'd just have to live with it.

Exemptions from the law should only be used when it's necessary, not merely when they CAN be used.

If every Garda driver did that then you would be the first, probably, to complain about them. If they just sat there in the traffic all day and didn't get their summonses out or paperwork done in the station and just told their boss "tough sh't" live with it do you think that would work ?

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    That is an absurd argument - so Guards should be allowed to ignore the rules of the road at all times so they can get their paperwork done?

According to some posts, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Kiss1037

because, i am sure as much as i can be sure without the use of a speed camera , that they where speeding , i can only comment on my judgement. i have been driving for 30 years so would expect to have picked up a bit of skill in judging speed, despite what you say one can tell speeding when it is excessive even in sitting traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Its a strange world we live in that a person who is making very reasonable points re: those charged with ensuring road safety should be seen to drive with due care and attention when engaged in non-emergency journeys is accused of having a chip on his shoulder.
    What has driving in a bus lane got to do with road safety?

I don't recall anyone saying that the Gardai should be allowed to drive dangerously and recklessly when on duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm guessing from the tone of some of the posts here that certain people are AGS members themselves/have friends or relatives who are - it's the ONLY thing I can think of that would explain this blinkered "the Gardai can do no wrong" attitude they have regardless of what is put to them (and don't get me started on the "if you don't have a link it didn't happen" crap..)

The reality is that while there are certainly many fine Gardai who take the job and responsibilities it carries seriously, there are also TOO many who think that the badge makes them Dirty Harry (or Harriette) and that they can abuse or blatently flaunt the law whenever the mood takes them - be it traffic violations, abuse of authority, whatever!

Like many of our politicians, and public service in general, these people have forgotten that they are there to serve the people - not the other way around! - and what pisses me off even worse than that, is this ridiculous sheep-like, cowed attitude that many Irish people have when it comes to challenging this. Anyone who complains is a "whinger" or "making stuff up" or "has a chip on their shoulder" and it's this mentality that allows this abuse to continue. Respect (for AGS and generally) is earned folks (or it should be!) not just given blindly!

Therre's been more than enough documented evidence in the courts, papers, TV and online over the years - as well as a few "choice" contributions from certain AGS members on boards - to show that all is NOT well in our police force and that a serious grass-roots overhaul is well overdue at this stage.

Like others I could cite various examples of the above behaviour from various AGS members I've encountered over the years, but there'd be no point because of the attitude from others that I described above.

Anyway, my 2c.. seeing as this is AH I'll wait for the inevitable trolling replies, so carry on...

because, i am sure as much as i can be sure without the use of a speed camera , that they where speeding , i can only comment on my judgement. i have been driving for 30 years so would expect to have picked up a bit of skill in judging speed, despite what you say one can tell speeding when it is excessive even in sitting traffic.

You could be entirely wrong and if you cannot prove it then why stick the boot in and suggest it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

I just love this comment, so gardai are deserving of special dispensations when breaking state laws (or gently bending in the name of efficiency) because otherwise they wouldn’t be able to fulfil their duties – anyone can pull that argument, it reeks of corruption & disregard for not only the system in which they work but a clear sense of personnel superiority to that system and the laws therein.

The police also require policing thus the introduction of the ombudsman - I think we should all cop on that for effective policing of the state we ALL need to respect thosee laws including the enforcers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Kiss1037

i'm starting to relaize why i gave up posting on boards ,

Black !! what's your response

You could be entirely wrong and if you cannot prove it then why stick the boot in and suggest it ?

This isn't a court, and even if it was, do you know anything at all about the justice system?

seamus wrote: »
    What has driving in a bus lane got to do with road safety?

I don't recall anyone saying that the Gardai should be allowed to drive dangerously and recklessly when on duty.

It has been suggested that gardaí who are stuck in traffic will not be able to perform their other duties and should therefore be allowed to take any measures required to avoid being stuck in traffic...including driving in bus lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Bosco boy wrote: »
    are you sure he had the breakfast roll? He sounds more like a cereal killer to me

Stop it now, have you no work to do? go issue a few tickets or something.
    I got my coffee thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

i'm starting to relaize why i gave up posting on boards ,

Black !! what's your response

Re reg, what's your previous username?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

TheZohan wrote: »
    Gardai have to take advance driving courses to drive garda vehicles, they're a damn sight better drivers than most that will post on this thread.

True.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I'm guessing from the tone of some of the posts here that certain people are AGS members themselves/have friends or relatives who are - it's the ONLY thing I can think of that would explain this blinkered "the Gardai can do no wrong" attitude they have regardless of what is put to them (and don't get me started on the "if you don't have a link it didn't happen" crap..)

The reality is that while there are certainly many fine Gardai who take the job and responsibilities it carries seriously, there are also TOO many who think that the badge makes them Dirty Harry (or Harriette) and that they can abuse or blatently flaunt the law whenever the mood takes them - be it traffic violations, abuse of authority, whatever!

Like many of our politicians, and public service in general, these people have forgotten that they are there to serve the people - not the other way around! - and what pisses me off even worse than that, is this ridiculous sheep-like, cowed attitude that many Irish people have when it comes to challenging this. Anyone who complains is a "whinger" or "making stuff up" or "has a chip on their shoulder" and it's this mentality that allows this abuse to continue. Respect (for AGS and generally) is earned folks (or it should be!) not just given blindly!

Therre's been more than enough documented evidence in the courts, papers, TV and online over the years - as well as a few "choice" contributions from certain AGS members on boards - to show that all is NOT well in our police force and that a serious grass-roots overhaul is well overdue at this stage.

Like others I could cite various examples of the above behaviour from various AGS members I've encountered over the years, but there'd be no point because of the attitude from others that I described above.

Anyway, my 2c.. seeing as this is AH I'll wait for the inevitable trolling replies, so carry on...

I am not a Garda and i could give loads of great heroic stories about the deeds of the Gardai. Show me any organisation that has no problems within it. Why is an overhaul of the Garda warranted ? I think they are good at weeding out bad apples and repairing damage.

hondasam wrote: »
    Re reg, what's your previous username?

Coph8r187

I am not a Garda and i could give loads of great heroic stories about the deeds of the Gardai. Show me any organisation that has no problems within it. Why is an overhaul of the Garda warranted ? I think they are good at weeding out bad apples and repairing damage.

Also true.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    This isn't a court, and even if it was, do you know anything at all about the justice system?

I know that you have to be able to prove something to make it stick in court.
    You can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Don't see what the problem is if that they can use bus lanes. They are for people who need to get to other places quickly - taxis, busses, emergency services. It's not dangerous to use bus lanes, like some people are suggesting.

It would be silly to bring in a law that garda cars can use the bus lane when they are chasing an emergency but not at other times. It would be impossible to enforce. Instead it's easier to allow it at all times as a perk of the job, and as these gardai spend a lot of time on the road, I think it's fair they get this perk to cut down on travelling times during lunch breaks, etc. People working in an office can walk five minutes to their canteen, spar, local restuarant. Gardai spending time out on patrol don't have this opportunity.

I agree they should be provided with bluetooth headsets. Talking on the phone while driving is dangerous. Most people who drive for private companies are provided with bluetooth headsets. If the Gardai aren't, and are forced to use their mobiles, then blame the cutbacks, not the individual Gardai, who may well have to take an important phone call.

I know that you have to be able to prove something to make it stick in court.
    You can't.

Yes. but possibly you also know this isn't a court, no one is on trial and thus the basis for submitting evidence is a little easier going, and eyewitness testimony would be allowed. Making it 'stick' doesn't really come into it.

Incidentally, still waiting for you to explain my hypocrisy. Anytime.

It has been suggested that gardaí who are stuck in traffic will not be able to perform their other duties and should therefore be allowed to take any measures required to avoid being stuck in traffic...including driving in bus lanes.

Maybe you would explain to me how they can serve the public while stuck in traffic if they are not allowed to pull out of it into a bus lane ?

I don't really see the issue with the cops using the bus lanes i have to say.

If anything it just makes a huge amount of sense.

Don't see what the problem is if that they can use bus lanes. They are for people who need to get to other places quickly - taxis, busses, emergency services. It's not dangerous to use bus lanes, like some people are suggesting.

It would be silly to bring in a law that garda cars can use the bus lane when they are chasing an emergency but not at other times. It would be impossible to enforce. Instead it's easier to allow it at all times as a perk of the job, and as these gardai spend a lot of time on the road, I think it's fair they get this perk to cut down on travelling times during lunch breaks, etc. People working in an office can walk five minutes to their canteen, spar, local restuarant. Gardai spending time out on patrol don't have this opportunity.

I agree they should be provided with bluetooth headsets. Talking on the phone while driving is dangerous. Most people who drive for private companies are provided with bluetooth headsets. If the Gardai aren't, and are forced to use their mobiles, then blame the cutbacks, not the individual Gardai, who may well have to take an important phone call.

So the Gardaí should be allowed to zip along the bus lane as a perk. And bankers should be allowed favourable loan terms - as a perk. And TDs should be allowed .... as a perk. Hey - lets have a perk for everyone in the country!

No Perks for Anyone!

The Gardaí get paid to do a job - part of that job is enforcing safe driving on the roads. A job for which they volunteered, indeed actively applied for - nobody forced them.