Gardai abuse of the rules of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Care to link me to one?
    Legitimate complaints are not bashing, fyi. If you can find me a thread where people had a go at the Gards over something which wasn't actually wrong, then let me know.

This one for starters! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Have you considered the fact that maybe that was his lunch, and he was heading back out on patrol as soon as possible? Maybe he doesn't have the comfort of taking an hour long lunch break??

He still shouldn't be doing it.It's a dangerous place to park, and if anyone else was parking there they'd be getting ticketed. By him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    This one for starters! ;)

So in other words, you actually can't cite any? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

blindsider wrote: »
    See my earlier post - TETRA is their comms network. No reason for mobiles to be used in car. You took my post a bit out of context.
    Perhaps a little bit, but if you saw my earlier post, I know that members will still often use their mobiles for directly contacting other members while out in the car. From what I understand, direct contact is possible over the TETRA system, but they're officially not supposed to use it.
    It is indeed ridiculous, which is why it has no relevance whatsoever to what I actually suggested
    It's exactly what you suggested - that Gardai should not be allowed to use bus lanes to get to the shops more quickly. So at what point do they come "off patrol" and become "going to the shops". Even in the case where they're going down from the station and back again to get coffee/donuts for the super, I would prefer that they use the bus lanes so that we're not wasting more money having Gardai sitting in traffic. The quicker they get out and back, the sooner they're available for work.

I will say one thing in relation to my dad since you decided to childishly bring him into this argument for no good reason other than trolling:

From hanging out with him when he gets a call or talking to him when he gets home from work, it seems to me that an absolutely gigantic proportion of complaints he deals with are about traffic incidents.

Just throwing that out there. I could be wrong of course and those are just the ones which require the most investigation, but I've certainly noticed that incidents involving Gards on the road seem to be some of the most common subjects which come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I picked you out because you're not contributing anything to the discussion over the last posts. First you try to deflect things, then you get to name calling, which isn't defending the gardai, it's attacking others.

Also, if you read my posts, you'll see I actually changed my mind on stuff due to contributions made by other, better posters.

It is not just this thread but also many others and we have the same old gang taking the same old Garda bashing stance. I am of the opinion that many of them are doing so to get revenge for something. Maybe they were caught and can't take it, maybe they didn't make the grade themselves, i don't know but its very petty.
    However the Gardai risk their lives every day, two last week at a house fire in Mullingar. I will defend these brave men and women from what i think are petty and childish attack from the same old rabble and bar-room experts on here.
    What if someone uses a bus lane? If they sit in the car in a queue even to get to the shop, what does it matter and why should someone start a thread about such a petty thing. These people are on shift work where they maybe finished earlier that day after nights and are back on duty again and want/need a coffee. There is far too much petty-mindedness attached to threads like this and to me there is something wrong with the kind of mentality of the people who start them.

seamus wrote: »
    It's exactly what you suggested - that Gardai should not be allowed to use bus lanes to get to the shops more quickly. So at what point do they come "off patrol" and become "going to the shops". Even in the case where they're going down from the station and back again to get coffee/donuts for the super, I would prefer that they use the bus lanes so that we're not wasting more money having Gardai sitting in traffic. The quicker they get out and back, the sooner they're available for work.

Read the OP, they were also speeding, and to be honest I'd much rather waste 5 minutes than see people's lives put in danger for the sake of a cup of coffee, wouldn't you? O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Read the OP, they were also speeding, and to be honest I'd much rather waste 5 minutes than see people's lives put in danger for the sake of a cup of coffee, wouldn't you? O_o
    Did the OP have a speed gun? When you're sitting in stationary traffic, a vehicle passing you at 50km/h will appear to be going very fast indeed. Even 30km/h seems quite fast.

I would never rely on an eyewitness testimony that someone was "speeding".

Tayto lover: It's about equality and not wanting to live in a country where the people in power are allowed to abuse it.

Secondly, read the post I made a few posts ago about my dad who you attacked for absolutely no reason. Traffic incidents involving Gards seem to be among the most common complaints I hear him talk about, and maybe they wouldn't be if this kind of thing was more strictly controlled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

A friend of mine worked for a phone company. One day he decided to drive into work using the bus lane.

A motorbike cop pulled him over. My friend explained that he was late for work.

The cop asked where he worked, and when he was told, said that he was having difficulties getting his phone upgraded. He gave my friend hs personal phone number and stated that if he got an upgrade he would tear up the ticket.

It is not just this thread but also many others and we have the same old gang taking the same old Garda bashing stance. I am of the opinion that many of them are doing so to get revenge for something. Maybe they were caught and can't take it, maybe they didn't make the grade themselves, i don't know but its very petty.
    However the Gardai risk their lives every day, two last week at a house fire in Mullingar. I will defend these brave men and women from what i think are petty and childish attack from the same old rabble and bar-room experts on here.
    What if someone uses a bus lane? If they sit in the car in a queue even to get to the shop, what does it matter and why should someone start a thread about such a petty thing. These people are on shift work where they maybe finished earlier that day after nights and are back on duty again and want/need a coffee. There is far too much petty-mindedness attached to threads like this and to me there is something wrong with the kind of mentality of the people who start them.

The rules of the land apply to the citizens of the land. Gardai are also citizens. THey have a tough job, but I don't see why being able to ignore the law for personal interests should be a perk. It's that sort of mentality that leads to gardai (or anyone) feeling they are above the law. Not attacking people who execute their duties, I'm against the notion of people serving themselves with their power. I'd have thought most gardai would, or should, be of the same mind.

Edit: this isn't an 'all coppers are bastards' thread, this is a 'some coppers are abusing their power' thread. Like a 'some priests happen to be paedophiles because it's a job that allows it' or 'some top bankers are thieves because it's a job that allows it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You should know that to make an accusation of speeding you must be able to prove it. Just like the Gardai have to do. Had the person who said they speeding a radar gun to prove this ? Can either of you also prove that lives were put in danger? I doubt it but you took it for granted that they were right. Again proving your bias and willingness to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

A friend of mine worked for a phone company. One day he decided to drive into work using the bus lane.

A motorbike cop pulled him over. My friend explained that he was late for work.

The cop asked where he worked, and when he was told, said that he was having difficulties getting his phone upgraded. He gave my friend hs personal phone number and stated that if he got an upgrade he would tear up the ticket.

I know your friend, he actually asked the garda if there was anything he could do for him to avoid the ticket, "a new phone perhaps" as he worked for a mobile phone company. The garda said "no thanks" and gave him a warning that if he ever saw him using the bus land again it would be points and a fine and that he wouldn't get a second chance.

The rules of the land apply to the citizens of the land. Gardai are also citizens. THey have a tough job, but I don't see why being able to ignore the law for personal interests should be a perk. It's that sort of mentality that leads to gardai (or anyone) feeling they are above the law. Not attacking people who execute their duties, I'm against the notion of people serving themselves with their power. I'd have thought most gardai would, or should, be of the same mind.

So if they sat in traffic and waited and in doing so were not in a position to respond instantly to a serious matter its o.k. as long as they didn't use the bus-lane ?

You could try reading the thread. Someone made the same argument earlier and I retracted the comment, because I was wrong.

Wouldn't fit me being a begrudger though, would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

blindsider wrote: »
    See my earlier post - TETRA is their comms network. No reason for mobiles to be used in car. You took my post a bit out of context.

Firstly, depending on where you are stationed TETRA may not work
    In the DMA I would imagine it does but out in the sticks it often doesn't

Secondly, the Gardai often use their mobiles when relaying information of a sensitive nature
    For example if they are called to an alleged rape they may ring the station and say "I have an alleged rape here, I'm taking Mary Jane Bloggs the victim down to the station can you arrange to have a banner & a doctor there to talk to her"

If you were Mary Jane Bloggs' husband or brother or father would you want that kind of information broadcast over TETRA where the entire region's Gardai would hear it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Or they could pull out, sirens on to alert other road users, when answering a call - including using bus lanes. However, when they are popping down to the shop for a coffee...:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Tayto lover: It's about equality and not wanting to live in a country where the people in power are allowed to abuse it.

Secondly, read the post I made a few posts ago about my dad who you attacked for absolutely no reason. Traffic incidents involving Gards seem to be among the most common complaints I hear him talk about, and maybe they wouldn't be if this kind of thing was more strictly controlled.

IMO your a bitter person with a chip on your shoulder, tell me what you work at and we'll see how it compares and what a perfect profession it is?

I really hope he has a more open mind than you have or he should not be doing that job. I'd hate to think he also had pre-conceived ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Kiss1037

i take exception to this , no points / convictions, never had any, i obey ALL the rules of the road , have no issues whatsoever with gardai using bus lanes, none , my problem is the speeding in the morning in an area with loads of schoos kids , no issue with gards speeding to get to an incident, but not to get a bloody coffee !! if the rules of the road are there for a reason ie danger of speeding then lead by example.

don't make assumptions about someone so glibly

I really hope he has a more open mind than you have or he should not be doing that job. I'd hate to think he also had pre-conceived ideas.

You have preconceived ideas about how pure the gardai are. Funny that they're ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

chin_grin wrote: »
    Saw one in a car yapping away on her mobile while driving. Eejit.

They're allowed do that once they're on duty actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I heard the Gardai are allowed commit murder too.

When I commit murder it's a terrible crime but the other day I saw a Garda murder someone in the queue in Centra just so he could get served his breakfast roll faster.

I wouldn't mind them murdering people if it's an emergency - like if they're doing it to get to the scene of a fire faster, or an armed robbery or a murder perhaps - but just murdering people on their way to breakfast is ridiculous.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Or they could pull out, sirens on to alert other road users, when answering a call - including using bus lanes. However, when they are popping down to the shop for a coffee...:rolleyes:

Well now it must be great to be perfect ....:rolleyes:
    So if there is no emergency then they should sit in traffic for their entire shift if need be. No paperwork to be done, reports, statements, court case preparations etc they should just sit in the traffic. Cop on.

Kiss1037 wrote: »
    i take exception to this , no points / convictions, never had any, i obey ALL the rules of the road , have no issues whatsoever with gardai using bus lanes, none , my problem is the speeding in the morning in an area with loads of schoos kids , no issue with gards speeding to get to an incident, but not to get a bloody coffee !! if the rules of the road are there for a reason ie danger of speeding then lead by example.

don't make assumptions about someone so glibly

Can you prove they were speeding ?

Why stop there. Can they prove it was police? It could have been aliens.

Oh don't worry, he certainly does have a more open mind than me. :D:D:D

But seriously, pre conceived ideas? What pre conceived ideas am I being accused of holding, exactly...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Kiss1037

no , am i issuing them with a ticket ?

You have preconceived ideas about how pure the gardai are. Funny that they're ok.

Do you reckon he didn't make it then too ?

Oh don't worry, he certainly does have a more open mind than me. :D:D:D

But seriously, pre conceived ideas? What pre conceived ideas am I being accused of holding, exactly...?

Four legs good, two legs bad, all Gardai bad because i never say anything good about them, ever.