Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Your average Italian man is (conventionally) more attractive than an Irish guy, and their moves are also transparent, but they do make a big deal about being charming and polite to a girl, even if it's abundantly clear what they're after.

Interestingly, all the Italian women I've known hate that approach, and the perceived vanity of Italian men, and say they prefer Irish and British men!

From my experience living in Italy, I found this to be the case. More often than not I saw Italian guys crash and burn when they tried their tactics on normal Ire/UK women. Italian women, while stunning, were hard work as well.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Your average Italian man is (conventionally) more attractive than an Irish guy, and their moves are also transparent, but they do make a big deal about being charming and polite to a girl, even if it's abundantly clear what they're after.

Interestingly, all the Italian women I've known hate that approach, and the perceived vanity of Italian men, and say they prefer Irish and British men!

TBH I've never witnessed Italian guys making a big deal about being charming or polite to a girl, quite the opposite infact, they seem to be extremely blunt and outrageously arrogant.

Most of them that I've had the misfortune to have known or worked with wouldn't go near your average Irish or British girl anyway, they are far too superficial for that, they would usually make a beeline for the more aesthetically pleasing Eastern Europeans or Scandinavians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

I agree Irish women are a waste of time. Having been to several countries and expierenced their women I know what you said is true. Italians amazing. Easy to approach very good looking interesting. The conversation isnt just one way. Same with Spanish women. Like I cant believe most Irish women who arnt very attractive can be so stuck up. What do they expect. WHy does every Irish lad want to go to Ibiza Mallorca Malia etc. Its funny coz when they do go abroad they are "stayed well away from". Now there is still alot of very nice Irish women who arnt stuck up. But from what I heard thats the generalisation of Irish women. Oh well 10 morer months and Im outta here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Raekwon wrote: »
    they would usually make a beeline for the more aesthetically pleasing Eastern Europeans or Scandinavians.

So, much like Irish blokes then? :pac:

True, Italians are notorious sleazebags. The trouble is that because they are considered to be much better looking then Irish guys, 9 times out of 10 they will get their end away, which says alot more about the women that entertain their sh*te then it does for them for trying it on.

irish guys can't get any, must be a problem with the irish girls
    other nationalities can get some with irish girls, must be a problem with the irish girls

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

bluewolf wrote: »
    other nationalities can get some with irish girls, must be a problem with the irish girls

Yes, apparently it's our fault we might fancy fordiners more, even though it's fine for men to fancy foreign women more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

seachto7 wrote: »
    From my experience living in Italy, I found this to be the case. More often than not I saw Italian guys crash and burn when they tried their tactics on normal Ire/UK women. Italian women, while stunning, were hard work as well.......

Yeah, I think Italian girls in Italy are used to having Italian guys chatting them up and always expect the guy to chat them up (and look like an Italian guy :)).
    I will say though that all of the Italian women I've met here are very friendly and approachable, and generally appreciative of Irish men, probably because they don't go to nightclubs too often here!
    TBH I've never witnessed Italian guys making a big deal about being charming or polite to a girl, quite the opposite infact, they seem to be extremely blunt and outrageously arrogant.

Most of them that I've had the misfortune to have known or worked with wouldn't go near your average Irish or British girl anyway, they are far too superficial for that, they would usually make a beeline for the more aesthetically pleasing Eastern Europeans or Scandinavians.

The typical Italian guy's approach (not all of them of course, just the nightclubby types!) is definitely far from perfect, and quite transparent in its own way, but I still think they put in a little effort to work the charm on the girl, and at least they're usually sober!
    But it's not much better than a drunk Irish guy's, just a little more finessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

And why are guys such sleazeballs? When a guy is staring at your chest rather than keeping eye contact I tend to lose interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

booboo88 wrote: »
    And why are guys such sleazeballs? When a guy is staring at your chest rather than keeping eye contact I tend to lose interest.

You know what the easiest solution to that is? Cover them up love! ;)

py2006 wrote: »

If a girl has big boobs, high neck tops look matronly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

If a guy comes up to me on a night out, I used to be very polite and would chat away with them.

Recently though it's just becoming a pain and I wish guys would just stop coming up to me altogether (I'm not big headed by the way. I'm in no ways a stunner at all but it just shows that drunk sleazy guys will hit on anyone). Why can't men understand that they don't have the God given right to a conversation with me! I know that sounds really rude and obnoxious but sometimes I just want to have a night out with the girls and not be annoyed by men :(

right girls, don the burkas so, our responsibility

Some of yiz should but not all! :P tee hee hee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

they are covered up, but big boobies dont exactly blend in, love:rolleyes:

actually thats another thing, calling me love or pet......big no no:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

I actually know a few Irish women dating Eastern European men.

I've actually never met one. I wonder what the ratio is for every 1 Irish girl dating an Eastern European man, there must be 25 Irish lads in relationships with EE girls.
    I like those numbers.

Generally speaking Irish women don't go out with lads who work down the local Topaz and earn minimum wage.

90% of Polish workers in Ireland and the UK are in unskilled jobs. Hand on hearts girls you don't like that.

they are covered up, but big boobies dont exactly blend in, love:rolleyes:

actually thats another thing, calling me love or pet......big no no:cool:

I know, I was only joking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

If a guy comes up to me on a night out, I used to be very polite and would chat away with them.

Recently though it's just becoming a pain and I wish guys would just stop coming up to me altogether (I'm not big headed by the way. I'm in no ways a stunner at all but it just shows that drunk sleazy guys will hit on anyone). Why can't men understand that they don't have the God given right to a conversation with me! I know that sounds really rude and obnoxious but sometimes I just want to have a night out with the girls and not be annoyed by men :(

Yeah believe it or not, this happens to guys as well.
    Least it does to me on nights out with mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭jameshealy19

What?? Guys want to talk to you!!
    Gosh the cheek of them

I've actually never met one. I wonder what the ratio is for every 1 Irish girl dating an Eastern European man, there must be 25 Irish lads in relationships with EE girls.
    I like those numbers.

Generally speaking Irish women don't go out with lads who work down the local Topaz and earn minimum wage.

90% of Polish workers in Ireland and the UK are in unskilled jobs. Hand on hearts girls you don't like that.

Actually, lots of EE emigrants are very well educated.

I wouldn't think there's as many Irish EE relationships in general now as there was a few years back.

I like those numbers.

I prefer a guy with minimum wage rather than dole
    I know, I was only joking!

I know, but it just winds me up, my boobies are my boobies, if I want to show them to you(not you in particular btw:P) I will, but for now paitence grasshopper.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

--LOS-- wrote: »
    ah the ole irish girls are ugly bitches thread

*yawn*

I dont think everyone is saying all irish women are ugly, definitley not true, but a lot of young irish women are unrealistic , nothing wrong with going out and looking your best and no need for every woman to just accept any bottom of the barrel lad who comes up to them.

But at the same time theres no need to be rude when a lad comes up to you or sit there turning away genuinely interesting lads who arent bad looking just because you think with a bit of slap and some hair dye that suddenly your catwalk material and deserve football players fighting over you.

Actually, lots of EE emigrants are very well educated.

I wouldn't think there's as many Irish EE relationships in general now as there was a few years back.

From my experience, the EE tend to stick to themselves. There are a few lads going out with EE girls of course. I dated one on and off myself for a while.

They are quite old fashioned in their approach to dating etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

I sympathise with the OP here. If someone talks to you in a pub/club then you should be civil. If you are rude to them within the first 10 seconds of speaking to them then, you're rude, simple as. Does the fact that you are in a club make the situation any different? If the OP said hi to a girl in a supermarket and got a withering response would it be any different? The girl is rude, simple as.
    Anyways OP, plenty of nice girls out there who are better brought up than the ones you had the misfortune of meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I know, but it just winds me up, my boobies are my boobies, if I want to show them to you(not you in particular btw:P) I will, but for now paitence grasshopper.......

Tease! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

lima wrote: »
    Having lived and visited in various cities around the world (years in London, now living in Melbourne) I still have to say Irish girls think way too highly of themselves.

Now I know Irish men with drink on them are a complete embarrassment, but still, the bitchyness of Irish girls is something that still haunts me from my youth and I still find it hard to talk to Irish girls abroad, so mostly I don't.

I remember walking up the stairs from the toilets minding my own business in 4DameLane and there were two girls talking on the steps. I said 'excuse me' as they were in my way and one of them said 'no, no, you go on ahead' and pushed me on!! I was with a girl upstairs and just had to crack up laughing at the cheek of them thinking I was chatting them up.

I have to say, in other countries, men and women interact in pubs/clubs all the time.. there will be chitchat between them and then the guy might ask the girl does she want to dance etc. and she will either say yes or politely say no. Simple. That's the way it works outside of Ireland. Then you go out in Ireland and girls have these shields up and act like complete bitches.

I really do think it's just a coping mechanism for their own insecurities and lack of self confidence, added to a skewed opinion of self-worth brought on by the materialism of the media and leftovers of the 'feel good factor' of the celtic tiger days (because I'M worth it etc.)

OP, forget trying to talk to Irish girls in clubs and just go abroad where social interaction is normal between males and females. If you don't get laid, then at least you may make friends with some girls and that may lead to meeting your girl in the future...

ah for christ sake, if I actually hear people saying Irish women are up themselves or think too highly of themselves once more............:rolleyes:

You'd want to have a high ego in Irish clubs these days with the crap going on. and it comes from both sides. drunken and sober eegits groping you from either side, and then girls yes some being rude without reason.

But this thing of Irish women being up themselves is a pathetic excuse guys are making when things dont go their own way.
    I tend to notice the people I do know who say go out abroad to meet girls are the ones who have had no success here.

you cant paint all with the same brush.
    And FYI, since your above post mentions if you dont get laid, you can at least make some lady friends. Feck it, with your priorities revealed there straight off, the rest of Europe can have you, I wouldnt. Now hows that for being up myself for you :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This thread makes me feel embarrassed to be an Irish male. When I go out I perve more than the next man. I mentally undress nearly every female I see and imagine them in all sorts of sexual positions but its totally unacceptable to go up and annoy a female just because you want to ride them. Have some respect for yourselves and for your female counterparts. Nobody likes chuggers harrassing you for a "chat". What's the difference between that approaching a female in a pub/nightclub for a "chat". Cop onto yourselves.

coffee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Where did I mention anything about Irish girls in my post? :confused: