Getting Refused from Bars and Nightclubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Got refused from a club in Dublin because it was ethnic minorities only night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Never been refused. Not that I go very often. One time I was dragged to a club without being dressed for it, and the conversation went something like this:
    Bouncer: "Sorry, you're not dressed right, you can't go in."
    Me: "No problem. OK, guys, I'll see you next week ... "
    Bouncer: "Hang on a minute, you can come in ... "

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Sammy_Jankis

Was meeting a a good few college friends once in a bar on Dame street. I was coming straight from work (it was about 10:30 on a Thursday) and was told I was too drunk to go in.

Explained I was coming from work and was wearing shoes, shirt etc. I then got quite annoyed, called one of my mates and they decided to all leave and we go somewhere else. There was about 15 of us. I should of taken a picture of the bouncers face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

markc1184 wrote: »
    Not so bad now, but a few years ago there was one particular bouncer who worked different doors around Drogheda. Never had a run in with him or been kicked out of anywhere that he had been working before but all of a sudden he refused me entry no matter were he was working. Even tried kicking me out of the local shopping centre he worked security in, for drinking in public even though it was a can of Monster energy drink that I had. The pr1ck took a disliking to me for something and still have no clue what it was over.

I know exactly who you're talking about, he's a complete a*s to most people. They're so bored in that shopping centre they just spend their time moving groups of kids from one end to the other. I remember we were once sitting on a bench having a chat and one of the came up to us and goes, "Right, move along lads." When we refused he started threatening to "ban us for life" (honestly the most stupid threat I've ever heard in my life). So my friend (who happened to be pregnant at the time though not visibly) start giving out and asking why were there benches if nobody was allowed to sit on them?

I don't really get refused entry into most places unless its specifically fancy or so. You'd have to pay ME to go into most of the nightclubs in Dublin. Although a few weeks ago I got refused into a nightclub in Germany because I was told that, being "English" (I spoke German but he picked up on the accent) I had to have my passport which I don't carry around with me, ESPECIALLY when since I live in another country and the bloody embassy is all the way in Berlin.

FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

I've been refused only a few times and simply said fine and moved on somewhere else. Just don't see the point in arguing with them, regardless of whether they're right or wrong. I know it can be annoying but it's not the end of the world. 1 pub/club's loss is gonna be another's gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Pete M.

I used to get refused from most places.

Either 'looked' too drunk or they just didn't like the twinkle in my eye.

Now it's just when I'm too drunk :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I should of taken a picture of the bouncers face.

Why?.

And do you think he'd have let you?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

funny people mentioning gay bars, I actually am gay and cant even feckin get into them. been given the youre straight, dont take the piss general excuses.

spend my whole life terrified to come out, finally do few months ago and then im not gay ENOUGH.....hows that for a kick in the balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

cosanostra wrote: »

That was a travellers' wedding that you tried to gatecrash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭terrlobe

cosanostra wrote: »
    The bouncers at Lily's made me feel a second class citizen earlier this summer by telling me I need to be a member to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

I was once refused and told to 'get a coffee', so off I went to get a coffee, stumbled back to the door and was still refused, nearly scalded myself with the coffee, what a waste! The joys of clubbing in Cork:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I was once refused from Coppers, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Skerries wrote: »
    I was making a joke as when did we start calling them trainers?
    Trainers are what the British call them, they are runners here

oh :pac:
    Your right, trainers is a stupid name. Only said that cause of the original quote :P
    but as far as I remember, said pub says "trainers" - which you're right. is a stupid name. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Sammy_Jankis

Why?.

Eh because his facial expression was priceless when he saw a large group of people leave his pub and go somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Why?.

How would he stop her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

There was a lad a few years back got refused from Barcode cos he was pissed so he went around the back to the park and climbed over the fence. He slipped, fell and impaled himself under the jaw through his mouth. Moral, don't get Hung up on being refused! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

starch4ser wrote: »
    Just want to get an idea of how widespread it is.

in Cork, thanks to retarded bouncers, quite pandemic id say...

"how many had you? its friday night boss, come on had you one?

you had?, ok so off you go."

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

I voted never. It's been a while since i was in a bar OR a nightclub though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Meirleach

I don't get out the often, I've only been refused once lately.

Went into a pub with a few friends, bouncer puts his hand on my shoulder and asks to see some ID, "No problem" says I, hand him my passport and get refused because "you don't look like the guy in the picture"

Yes it was my real passport :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

do straights get refused from gay bars normally?
    i've never tried to get into one but from what i read here it seems that they are discriminated against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I've only ever been refused for being under age. I never seem to have problems with bouncers and I find they usually do a decent job at fishing out the scumbags of the queue. They could handle situations better but to be fair they reject people all the time for various reasons and it must be hard to give a phuck after a while.

I was thrown out once for falling asleep in the smoking area (had mono, didn't know that at the time) but was just told to get some fresh air (although the smoking area was outside...). I went out for about 2 mins and leaned up against the wall near the bouncer then walked back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

Happens to me all the time, I have taken to just carrying ID. I think it's because I am very short (5ft) and look very young for 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

stovelid wrote: »
    Rereading your quote will suffice.

Nope. Still didn't do it. Thank you for your extreme helpfulness though :rolleyes:

I'm a bisexual female. I was interested in going to The Dragon to meet other such women. What is idiotic about suggesting that I didn't get in because I didn't look gay enough? You do know it actually happens? I know many gay guys who have gotton refused for looking 'too straight', and a few gay women who have been refused also for no other reason (not drunk etc.) so it's safe to assume they looked 'too girly' to be gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

in Cork, thanks to retarded bouncers, quite pandemic id say...

"how many had you? its friday night boss, come on had you one?

you had?, ok so off you go."

lol
    Most of the bouncers working Cork City are apes on a power trip.
    I have seen blokes working doors that could not add 2+2 when i was in school with them thirty odd years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Nope. Still didn't do it. Thank you for your extreme helpfulness though :rolleyes:

I'm a bisexual female. I was interested in going to The Dragon to meet other such women. What is idiotic about suggesting that I didn't get in because I didn't look gay enough? You do know it actually happens? I know many gay guys who have gotton refused for looking 'too straight', and a few gay women who have been refused also for no other reason (not drunk etc.) so it's safe to assume they looked 'too girly' to be gay.

Hooray! I have nothing to add to this thread! Saturday! Yeaaaaaahhh!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

OK Retired doorman here ....
    Never have a problem anywhere Dublin /Cork ..Pubs/Clubs , maybe its me ,my looks or my manner ..
    Yes some doormen are pr**ks ,some are on power trips etc .. but sometimes the customers are just t*ts and just don't deserve to get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Eh because his facial expression was priceless when he saw a large group of people leave his pub and go somewhere else.

I can promise that he wouldn't have given a rats arse how many people you'd have taken out with you..

Hand on heart - a bouncer doesn't give a toss, there's not a thing you could do or say that he likely hasn't heard a hundred times or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    OK Retired doorman here ....
    Never have a problem anywhere Dublin /Cork ..Pubs/Clubs , maybe its me ,my looks or my manner ..
    Yes some doormen are pr**ks ,some are on power trips etc .. but sometimes the customers are just t*ts and just don't deserve to get in.

I assume you mean "but sometimes the customers just act like t*ts and just don't deserve to get in", at least I hope so anyway :)

On a side note, on occasions where I've been refused, I've often been eventually let in, I wait until things are quiet and politely talk to them and explain the situation in a calm
    and collective manner, course if you stink of booze and you're slurring your words, then it's just not going to happen, if at that point they still refuse you, then politely bid them good night and move on. I always have a good chuckle at the melodramatics you get outside night clubs over being refused. You're just not helping your case at all waving your arms in the air and screaming "Why not!?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

never been refused entry anywhere. got asked for id here once, thought it was quite funny cos i was like 23 at the time. but other than that nope.

i can completely understand bouncers refusing entry to someone who is already 3 sheets to the wind, and if there is a specific dress code and you arn't adhering to it, but those idiot powertripper bouncers need a good wallop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I've never once been refused from a pub since I was 20 years old, bar being turned away from one venue in London because I wasn't 21, even then he left me in the end. I've been out in London, Istanbul, Dublin, Cork, Galway, Belfast, Barcelona, Amsterdam etc; never have I been stopped from entering a gaff.

I also work the doors here in Cork City, both in-house for one late bar and also for a company catering for the biggest and most popular late bars in the city centre; I've done clubs in the past also. Some places in Cork, especially those owned by one particular publican, want a very specific clientele. These particular venues are selling a certain "scene" and the owner doesn't want anyone in the venue that will dilute that scene; to that effect he will instruct his door staff to admit his targeted demographic. The publican in turn is only reacting to the wishes of his clientele who may be turned off by large numbers of very young men or those with shaved-heads, gaudy jewellery, tattoos etc. In other words, the pub trade is a reflection of wider societal division and snobbery.

This is the process at work here, it's not a case of a doorman setting himself up as an amateur sociologist casting aspersion on people for the craic. We're the lowest link in the chain like, if you want to b*tch about dress codes or no large groups being admitted etc then ring the owner and tell him. Don't start roaring at us out on the street at 12:30am while you're full off drink, it's not our fault and as Makikomi said, we've heard it all before. To be honest there is a ridiculous culture of entitlement in this country where people think it's their God-given right to drink 10 pints and then enter a premises p*ssed off their face and then lecture you about how they're a solicitor and you're a nobody when they're politely refused entry. Or how people think they've a right to camp in the pub an hour after last call and then start screaming their heads off because you asked them to finish up and leave. Of course the next the day when they wake up hung-over they'll never acknowledge the fact that there was a conflict because they were ignorant drunk c*nts, nope, blame it on the "power tripper" bouncer.

Do bouncers make mistakes? Of course they do, and there are some clowns doing the job, no doubt about that. Similarly you'll find cowboy electricians, dodgy solicitors, assh*le cops, crap teachers, ignorant shopkeepers but somehow it's not ok to generalise these professions but perfectly acceptable to categorise all door-staff "power tripping gorillas."