Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Refused from Bars and Nightclubs

• 02-09-2011 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

Just want to get an idea of how widespread it is.

How often do you get refused from bars or nightclubs? 163 votes

Every time
    0% 0 votes
    most of the time
    4% 7 votes
    regularly
    1% 3 votes
    sometimes
    7% 13 votes
    rarely
    23% 38 votes
    never
    62% 102 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Never happens in Dublin, but the last time I went to Cork my friends and I were refused from several nightclubs for not wearing shoes.

What the **** do they think it is, the 1980's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

used to happen a good bit, now i go to late bars/ places that i know i'll get into/ just have a few cans at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Never happens in Dublin, but the last time I went to Cork my friends and I were refused from several nightclubs for not wearing shoes.

what, you were trying to get into nightclubs in your bare feet? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Normally if I'm refused, it's because I'm clearly hammered!

starch4ser wrote: »
    what, you were trying to get into bars in your bare feet?
    No, I was trying to get into clubs in runners, as I do every week in Dublin.

I get refused a very odd time for being too drunk and tbh I usually would be if refused.

Cant remember being refused from anywhere in the last year though and I'm out a good bit.

If you have enough cop on to make an effort when going out you wont get turned away for dress code etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

Yeah, Dublin appears to be the only place in the country that I can get into the clubs/pubs with runners.

I've only ever got turned away twice, once when I was underage and second for wearing runners. Neither events where in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

When i was 16 and 17 i got in everywhere never had a problem.

When i was 18-20 i never got in anywhere!!! Even when i was stone cold sober!!

21 + i get in everywhere havent been refused in years!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

In my experience I rarely got stopped.
    But within saying that, I still hate bouncers. If they dont like the look of someone "sorry pal not tonight" :rolleyes: or the best ever line "sorry, regulars only"

Power-tripping b*stards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

any bar or nightclub refusing people these days are completely mental. theyre crying out for business, so the only people they should keep out are scobes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

flag123 wrote: »
    Yeah, Dublin appears to be the only place in the country that I can get into the clubs/pubs with runners.

I've only ever got turned away twice, once when I was underage and second for wearing runners. Neither events where in Dublin.
    Any club that enforces a no trainers rule is clearly not worth going anywhere near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

Once at Barcode, but I clearly wasted so it was my own fault.

I don't think I've ever worn a shirt or shoes to a club. Love seeing all the country heads up in Dublin in the exact same pair of shoes, a pair of jeans and a white shirt with a light pinstripe. There must only be one clothes shop The Pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Although I no longer live in Ireland, those places that refused my money during the good times can go and starve in the bad times. What is more, I will badmouth the ones that really deserve it. I will remember overcharging, bad quality services, and more from the boom years.

So they sow, so shall they reap, and from my wallet and my friends, they will reap not a cent.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

As above, only if I'm clearly out of my mind drunk.

....Which I was last Saturday but somehow still managed to get in to The Church and Fitzsimons (I don't even remember being in Fitzsimons :o)

flag123 wrote: »
    I find it funny because the vast majority of scumbags wear shoes on a night out, along with bootcut jeans and some ugly check shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

In clubs pretending to be 'it' places like Pink at the moment or Krystle VIP...

Or on a few occasions Coppers but we were going in about 10mins before closing time...

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Any club that enforces a no trainers rule is clearly not worth going anywhere near.

Haha. There is a local pub in my area in north dublin.
    When I say kip. I mean a kip. Always has been and a few months ago they put up a sign saying "no trainers" allowed any more. Place is a dive that hardly gets business besides skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Not in years. Happened a few times around 4/5 years ago in Dublin, made it a rule never to return to any place that refused me without reason. Therefore could only be refused once.

Was refused entry a few places with good reason, happy to return to those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Haha. There is a local pub in my area in north dublin.
    When I say kip. I mean a kip. Always has been and a few months ago they put up a sign saying "no trainers" allowed any more. Place is a dive that hardly gets business besides skangers.

that's discrimination against a small minority of workers, do they discriminate only against gym trainers or is it education ones as well?

Skerries wrote: »
    that's discrimination against a small minority of workers, do they discriminate only against gym trainers or is it education ones as well?

I cant tell if you are seriously asking a question or making a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Cork is probably one of the worst places in Ireland for getting turned away at the nightclub doors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

prinz wrote: »
    Not in years. Happened a few times around 4/5 years ago in Dublin, made it a rule never to return to any place that refused me without reason. Therefore could only be refused once.

Was refused entry a few places with good reason, happy to return to those.

Yeah same here. I can't hold a grudge when I've been turned away, having lashed back a nagan about 5 minutes previously!

Although, barcode in Clontart took the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

have times changed.

I remember the late 90s and getting refused into manys a place in Dublin because I had non shoe footwear on - not trainers, more timberland or north face outdoors type of thing before the rest of the world copped on to its existence.

Am glad to see some of those up their arse city centre holes gone bankrupt since.

including these pompus cünts - now closed
    http://www.yelp.ie/biz/pravda-dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

including these pompus cünts - now closed
    http://www.yelp.ie/biz/pravda-dublin

I thought the just did a name change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Never refused, must be just so dam Sheeexayy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Not since I was 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Last time it happened, I tripped and stumbled walking towards the door. Refused on basis I had too much to drink even though was sober :( damned uneven footpath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

If you get refused from bars/clubs you are probably a ****ing ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Am I the only person that thinks having a dress code ie have to wear shoes isn't so bad. Fair enough not every night but the main nights, no harm in having the place and people in it looking smart. I think people are making a huge fuss out of nothing here.

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Am I the only person that thinks having a dress code ie have to wear shoes isn't so bad.
    I can tell this for certain, there is no club in Dublin that plays good music and has a "No Trainers" policy.
    Fair enough not every night but the main nights, no harm in having the place and people in it looking smart. I think people are making a huge fuss out of nothing here.
    I think far more people look better in a pair of Converse and good-fitting jeans than a Kickers shirt and a pair of ugly brown brogues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Koltashe

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Am I the only person that thinks having a dress code ie have to wear shoes isn't so bad. Fair enough not every night but the main nights, no harm in having the place and people in it looking smart. I think people are making a huge fuss out of nothing here.

I think the no trainer thing is more of an excuse not to let someone in when the bouncers simply don't like the look of people. I seen people going into a bar in trainers not a word about it and the next person coming up to the door after them gets refused for wearing trainers.

Besides guys can be dressed very smart while wearing trainers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Not in a long time, since i was 19 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Koltashe wrote: »
    Or on a few occasions Coppers but we were going in about 10mins before closing time...

Last ditch effort? ? :P

Never been refused myself, would want to be crawling in the door to be stopped in some places...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I haven't been refused yet. A few times the bouncers have stopped me and taken a good look to make sure I wasn't wasted and then reluctantly let me past. I've been pretty lucky with the 'too drunk' rule, a couple of times I wouldn't have blamed them for throwing me out or refusing entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I'm a girl and got refused from The Dragon in Dublin. Obviously didn't look gay enough to them :rolleyes:

Some bouncers are just pricks.

Luckily, as a woman, I don't get refused very often (in fact that was one of the first times since I'm over 18 I got refused!!) but I feel sorry for so many lads who get refused just cos the bouncer's on a power trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Never been refused from a bar or club except for when I was about 17 and had a clearly fake id.

Still get refused drinks in Tesco though if I forget ID despite the fact that its nearly always the same girl who serves me who sees me go out to the car and get my license and who'll look at me in surprise that I'm nearly 22 and then serve me. Every. Time. Ugh.

I should really just start to remember to bring it in..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Very rarely.

When it has occurred, I just go elsewhere.

Not a big deal.
    I'm a girl and got refused from The Dragon in Dublin. Obviously didn't look gay enough to them :rolleyes:

What a phenomenally idiotic post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Only been refused entry once at Front Lounge years ago because it was 'regulars only'. The lads I hang out with have been refused from a few places in town (Dublin) though-with reasons varying from too drunk/runners/just a plain not tonight pal. One of em tends to get refused everywhere because he refuses to carry ID (dunno why he gets asked because he is clearly over 18, over 6ft tall with dreads, beard etc-just not the type they want in there obviously). Very annoying :)

I always get refused in offies/Tesco when buying drink though and rarely remember to bring ID out and about with me, so when I pop in for a couple of bottles of wone on the way home from work I have to bring a friend/go home first. Headwrecking¬

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Once or twice, most recently was a bar that said they were over 23s. I was sober and explained to the bouncer(who was completely sound about it) that my friend and me were only going in for a few pints before the club, he still wouldn't let us in saying that he'd be in trouble if he did. Directed me to another bar though.

I have gotten into bars that have an over 21s or 23s policy though, I'm 19 and I usually just have a chat with the bouncer and they let me in. Usually it's "Oh, is it the just the two of ye? Go on in so".

If you act the cúnt they won't let you in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

Ridleys in Dundalk has to be the worst place for getting refused for absolutely nothing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

stovelid wrote: »

What a phenomenally idiotic post.

Care to explain why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Care to explain why?

Rereading your quote will suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

James__10 wrote: »
    Ridleys in Dundalk has to be the worst place for getting refused for absolutely nothing :confused:

Ah yes, good old Ridleys... a place where they would leave you standing at the bar and serve absolutely everyone else because you were from "out of town, hi"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Quite a few times, for having too much drink, or forgetting ID. Most times were fair enough, the rest were pure bouncer powertrip bullhole. Nothing more annoying than being pleasantly tipsy, looking forward to the night in the pub, and then having to bloody negotiate with some fool to let you spend your fecking money in the place while he waves drunker people than you in past you. I wonder if the job makes people into an arsehole or just attracts them?

That dress code thing for lads is a joke though, I used to go clubbing in jeans, runners, t-shirt, no make-up, never a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Never happens to me in Dublin, but everytime I go down to Cork, i get hassle from bouncers. My theory is that they give you hassle if they hear you speaking in a Dublin accent. Cork residents have a terrible inferiority complex when it comes to Dubliners (or who they assume to be Dubliners, in my case).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Got refused from a bar in New York because we weren't and I quote 'you guys are waaaay too straight to come in here':pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Got refused from a place off Dame Street over the weekend - I was the designated driver and the bouncer wouldn't believe I hadn't been drinking :confused:

I was with 5 other fellas who weren't in any way p1ssed either....weird considering we went around the corner to 4 Dame Lane and spent roughly 60 quid a head in there without a bother....we're all c. 30 years of age...not messers etc.

When walking back to the car, we passed the bouncers who refused us and let them know that we dropped €300 in a place around the corner. Appeared to be just bouncers on a power trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Got stopped one night when I was 17 trying to get into a nightclub in Tralee,spent an hour chatting to the bouncers about letting me in,finally let me in and just as I was going in the door I decided to tell them "Ye are the biggest shower of FU*CKING PRICKS i have ever met in my life" took off running into to the nightclub didnt even pay..lets just say I didnt last long in the nightclub and was barred for a few weeks,the stupid things you do after a few drinks when you are young..good laugh though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

dermo88 wrote: »
    Although I no longer live in Ireland, those places that refused my money during the good times can go and starve in the bad times. What is more, I will badmouth the ones that really deserve it. I will remember overcharging, bad quality services, and more from the boom years.

So they sow, so shall they reap, and from my wallet and my friends, they will reap not a cent.

Very philosophical, Mr. Wilde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Not since I was under age.
    Why would you be refused?? :confused: