Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Two bases didn't stop Munster winning 2 HECs etc. Its not ideal but its not a big barrier either.

I'm sure the players prefer the current situation instead of travelling all the time. They might only need 2 days together per week anyway and if theres a big game coming up the can always come together for a week or two depending on the need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

The Munster U20 squad has been named to take on the Leicester Tigers away on their academy training ground tomorrow, 2nd September, k.o. 1.00 p.m.
    Munster U20s Squad: Garrett O’Suillebhain (UCC), Paul Curtis (St. Munchin’s College), Kevin Slater (UCC), JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemian), Shaun Horgan (Rockwell College), Eamonn Mills (Dolphin), Brian Haugh (Young Munster), Niall Horan (Crescent Comp.), Brian Scott (UCC), Jake Considine (Young Munster), Sean McCarthy (Rockwell College), Shane Buckley (Garryowen), Ryan Murphy (Dolphin), Miah Cronin (Capt.) (Highfield), Luke Cahill (UCC). Replacements: Will Foley (PBC), Cian O’Donnell (Rockwell College), Richard Martin (UCC), Jack Donovan (Old Crescent), Cathal Gallagher (UCC), Neil Cronin (Garryowen), Rory Scannell (PBC), Seamus Glynn (PBC), Steve Dinan (PBC).

Munster U20s Interprovincial Fixtures

Munster v Leinster Friday, 9th September, Musgrave Park, k.o. 7.30 p.m.
    Ulster v Munster Friday, 16th September, Belfast Harlequins RFC, k.o. 4.00 p.m.
    Connacht v Munster Saturday, 24th September, Sportsground, k.o. 4.00 p.m.

From here
    Four former Shannon players could be celebrating this Sunday as they aim for glory in the Western Australian Premier grade grand final.
    Share Playing with the famed University of Western Australia and with a multitude All-Ireland medals between them, Andrew Finn, Fionn McLoughlin, Trevor Downes and Cian O'Connor are preparing for Sunday's grand final where they are hoping to bridge an almost 40-year gap since the club last won the title.

Felix Jones watching his team mates train in UL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

profitius wrote: »
    Two bases didn't stop Munster winning 2 HECs etc. Its not ideal but its not a big barrier either.

I'm sure the players prefer the current situation instead of travelling all the time. They might only need 2 days together per week anyway and if theres a big game coming up the can always come together for a week or two depending on the need.

Nah, it's a big issue. It's not enough to say what we've achieved, we should wonder about what we could have achieved with one training base. it's insanity, and rank amateurism to continue with two training bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭DerTierarzt

Just putting it out there, but Sonny Bill Williams and Matt Giteau yet to sign for next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Just putting it out there, but Sonny Bill Williams and Matt Giteau yet to sign for next season.

Giteau is gone to Toulon, and if Munster can afford SBW, then they must have struck oil in Thomond park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

That oil was from the tractors that baled the straw last Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭touts

Well looking at the who has left and who has come in list in the membership booklet it's pretty depressing reading. We lost a number of frontline players through retirement, transfer or injury (Hayes, Dowling, Murphy, Buckley, Warwick) and in return we got Botha, Keatley and a bunch of kids from the Academy. It felt more like the editor said they needed to pad out that page so they wrote down a few of the young lads and hoped no one will notice.

Any big names worth signing have been signed for other teams next year. We might be able to pick up someone like "the best player in Spain" (can't even remember his name) or a few Cullen's looking for someone to pay their wages while they recover from injury but in reality I fear there are few left out there who could give us the significant improvement needed to avoid being outclassed again in Europe last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭MaryKing

touts wrote: »
    Any big names worth signing have been signed for other teams next year. We might be able to pick up someone like "the best player in Spain" (can't even remember his name) or a few Cullen's looking for someone to pay their wages while they recover from injury but in reality I fear there are few left out there who could give us the significant improvement needed to avoid being outclassed again in Europe last year.

Any big names worth signing have generally remained where they are. I'd wait for a while yet before deciding it was a lost cause as most of these players have a release clause in their contract for a year plus and will keep their powder dry until after the world cup in case they are dropped.

We lost a number of frontline players through retirement, transfer or injury (Hayes, Dowling, Murphy, Buckley, Warwick)

Hayes is playing tomorrow.

Hagz wrote: »
    Hayes is playing tomorrow.

I think you know what touts meant when he listed Hayes as a leaver and I think you know why Hayes is playing tomorrow.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Well looking at the who has left and who has come in list in the membership booklet it's pretty depressing reading. We lost a number of frontline players through retirement, transfer or injury (Hayes, Dowling, Murphy, Buckley, Warwick) and in return we got Botha, Keatley and a bunch of kids from the Academy. It felt more like the editor said they needed to pad out that page so they wrote down a few of the young lads and hoped no one will notice.

Didn't Munster have a very big squad last year? You could in a way say Danny Barnes is a replacement for Murphy, Zebo for Dowling, Keatley for Warwick, Botha for Hayes/Buckley, and isn't there another young prop on the cards?

It remains to be seen how Barnes and Zebo get on but they do look promising and able replacements for Dowling and Murphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I wouldn't have regarded any of them as front-line players, except Warwick - am I wrong? Given the choice between Botha and either Hayes or Buckley, I know who'd I choose (if he was ever fit).

On the two training bases, it sounds like total lunacy; I knew there were bases in Cork and Limerick but I was under the impression that the entire squad trained in Cork or the entire squad trained in Limerick, didn't realise that you would actually divide it up. That can't be good.

I wouldn't have regarded any of them as front-line players, except Warwick - am I wrong? Given the choice between Botha and either Hayes or Buckley, I know who'd I choose (if he was ever fit).

On the two training bases, it sounds like total lunacy; I knew there were bases in Cork and Limerick but I was under the impression that the entire squad trained in Cork or the entire squad trained in Limerick, didn't realise that you would actually divide it up. That can't be good.

The entire squad do train together when doing skills/drills.

How many H/C games did any of them miss once fit and available?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭MaryKing

Dowling would have been a front line player. I don't think he has missed any HC games since about 2006.

I think the problem was that they were doing heavy training sessions in either Cork or Limerick and then had to sit in their cars for a couple of hours which wasn't helpful to recovery. Now it seems to be working well when they meet up for skills & drills.

Probably good for the morale as they are not always on top of one another and there is probably a fair bit of competition between the two centres.

It is a unique situation - but considering the demographics its probably best to have two centres. There would be huge competition from other sports in Cork where potential players and supporters would be drawn to and Munster could lose out because it is just too much hassle to get to Limerick (which is presumably where it would be).

You also have to think of the academy - as it is now, there is a great choice of educational establishments between UCC & UL and the other Institutes of Education. If confined to Limerick, you wouldn't be able to study a range of subjects.

phog wrote: »
    I think you know what touts meant when he listed Hayes as a leaver and I think you know why Hayes is playing tomorrow.

I think he meant that Hayes has left....which he hasn't. I think Hayes is playing because he's been selected..

Has Hayes announced his retirement or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

I think he meant that Hayes has left....which he hasn't. I think Hayes is playing because he's been selected..

The only reason he's on the bench is that he's stand by for the WC, after the WC he'll be retired.

Risteard wrote: »
    The only reason he's on the bench is that he's stand by for the WC, after the WC he'll be retired.

Fair enough, that never entered my head. I'm very sorry if I have offended anyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I personally think Munster will be stronger this season with all the young players coming through and the signings. Murray, POM, Sherry, Archer, Nagle, Barnes, Zebo, Keatley, Deasy, Scanlon, DOC2 are all pushing their way into the squad. Botha will help make the scrum a weapon or at least stop it from being a disaster.

Barry Murphy was always injured, Dowling was not a first teamer anymore before the injury, Hayes is past his best. Warwick has been replaced by Keatley who, IMO has the potential to be better.

Botha, although injury prone, will really help develop the props in Munster. He is a very good coach and the Ulster crowd gave him great credit in helping their scrum develop.

I see Munster U20s drew with Leicester 30 all on Friday. I cant find a match report but it looks like a high scoring game so must have been fairly entertaining.

Hayes got a brief run out on Saturday to help keep him match fit as he is on the standby list for the World Cup. I hope no one in New Zealand gets injured and Hayes plays again in two weeks and at that stage it has been announced that he is retiring because it would be nice for the fans to get a chance to salute him on and off the pitch. I would hate to see him just disappear off the squad list as the IRFU/Munster Branch seem to intent to do to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Hayes got a brief run out on Saturday to help keep him match fit as he is on the standby list for the World Cup. I hope no one in New Zealand gets injured and Hayes plays again in two weeks and at that stage it has been announced that he is retiring because it would be nice for the fans to get a chance to salute him on and off the pitch. I would hate to see him just disappear off the squad list as the IRFU/Munster Branch seem to intent to do to him.

I totally agree. Sadly when he came on he got blitzed in every scrum. If he has to go to N.Z. we may as well save the fare and bring all the lads home. He was pretty dire.

profitius wrote: »
    I personally think Munster will be stronger this season with all the young players coming through and the signings. Murray, POM, Sherry, Archer, Nagle, Barnes, Zebo, Keatley, Deasy, Scanlon, DOC2 are all pushing their way into the squad. Botha will help make the scrum a weapon or at least stop it from being a disaster.

Barry Murphy was always injured, Dowling was not a first teamer anymore before the injury, Hayes is past his best. Warwick has been replaced by Keatley who, IMO has the potential to be better.

Botha, although injury prone, will really help develop the props in Munster. He is a very good coach and the Ulster crowd gave him great credit in helping their scrum develop.

Keatley was woeful on Saturday night. Missed very kickable points and could not find touch. Had someone other than Deasy been on the bench Keatley would have been pulled after 50 minutes if not before but there was no serious outhalf cover. Against a better team we would have been put to the sword big time but from half time it looked as if the Dragons were only interested in the losing bonus and everytime they came within 7 they sat back again (especially when we were down to 13 men and they seemed happy to play it between the 10 meter lines). If ROG comes back injured from New Zealand we're in big trouble.

That unfortunately is the new reality we are facing not only at outhalf but in positions across the pitch as we no longer have the strength in depth you need to be at the top level in the Pro-12 and in Europe. Other than scrum-half, lock (and arguably hooker if Flannery stays fit which is still doubtful) we just have inexperienced kids backing up aging injury prone front liners.

Keatley was woeful on Saturday night. Missed very kickable points and could not find touch. Had someone other than Deasy been on the bench Keatley would have been pulled after 50 minutes if not before but there was no serious outhalf cover. Against a better team we would have been put to the sword big time but from half time it looked as if the Dragons were only interested in the losing bonus and everytime they came within 7 they sat back again (especially when we were down to 13 men and they seemed happy to play it between the 10 meter lines). If ROG comes back injured from New Zealand we're in big trouble.

That unfortunately is the new reality we are facing not only at outhalf but in positions across the pitch as we no longer have the strength in depth you need to be at the top level in the Pro-12 and in Europe. Other than scrum-half, lock (and arguably hooker if Flannery stays fit which is still doubtful) we just have inexperienced kids backing up aging injury prone front liners.

When Warwick moved to Munster his kicking was very erratic too, it's a skill that can be improved. I think Keatley is a good prospect, he's worth sticking with.

Keatley will get there, I think you need to give him more than one game in a red Jersey before you start worrying about him. Especially in a pivotal position like 2/9/10 where your mistakes are more obvious, it takes some time to get your whole grip on the game.

Keatley wasn't the finished product when he signed at the end of last season, and he won't be the finished product at the end of this season either. He will benefit hugely from working closely with ROG, but hasn't had a chance to do that yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

When Warwick moved to Munster his kicking was very erratic too, it's a skill that can be improved. I think Keatley is a good prospect, he's worth sticking with.

He has been in a professional rugby environment for 4 years or so. If he hasn't ironed out the glitches by now he either needs a new kicking coach or he has gone as far as he can. He looks a decent rugby player at times and I really hope he steps up a level. When does a player stop becoming a prospect Tony Buckley is still a prospect at 31 even though the coaches seem to be the only ones who can't see that the well is totally dry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Was he woeful or was he finding his feet? first competitive start for Munster and he's being slated, absolutely ridiculous. Keatley has more than proved himself as a decent outhalf and centre if need be.
    These "kids" managed to win most of their games last season while the frontliners were away and some managed to make the team for the knockout stages of the ML or did you not watch Munster last year?
    The O Gara injured comment could relate to any player at any time. O Gara out Keatley in. Where's the problem?
    If it takes 2 seasons for Keatley to settle in and hone his craft I would give him that, he is the future starting 10 for Munster and will probably get a run in green too when ROG retires.
    I'm personally delighted we signed him.

jacothelad wrote: »
    He has been in a professional rugby environment for 4 years or so. If he hasn't ironed out the glitches by now he either needs a new kicking coach or he has gone as far as he can. He looks a decent rugby player at times and I really hope he steps up a level. When does a player stop becoming a prospect Tony Buckley is still a prospect at 31 even though the coaches seem to be the only ones who can't see that the well is totally dry.

Believe me, he's no worse than Warwick was.