Old Owners of your House Knocking In...

• 01-09-2011 04:42PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

There I was playing a little GTA not up to much. Enjoying a day off :D

Door bell goes and there's a group of old people huddled around my door. Hmmm.

Turns out they lived in my house when they were kids and wanted to take a picture outside of it. They were over on holidays from the states. I say yeah grand.

Throughout this I was wondering should I invite them in or something? I mean the house has changed a lot since I was born (19 now) so it's not like they'd even recognise anything after 50 odd years! Plus I was home alone... thought it might have been a bit weird having an aul chin wag with random strangers snooping around my abode. Plus I was stopped in the middle of a motor way in GTA...

So, anyone ever have past owners of your house call in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I wouldn't answer the doorbell to anyone so to answer your question it'll never happen!

If friends call round they can ring me when outside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

GTA? Pausable so yeah maybe a cuppa would've been nice.

COD or something else online, they can f*ck off back to Alabama!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Opportunity for a gang bang missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Fareplay OP - it was probably a big deal for them. Most people would give them a grunt on the doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

kfallon wrote: »
    I wouldn't answer the doorbell to anyone so to answer your question it'll never happen!

If friends call round they can ring me when outside!

What do you live in a bunker or something :confused:
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    GTA? Pausable so yeah maybe a cuppa would've been nice.

COD or something else online, they can f*ck off back to Alabama!

Would have been awkward.... "So... this was your house, eh?" "Yup"
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Opportunity for a gang bang missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Miaireland

As my house is a new build I haven't but part of my work place used to be a house many, many years ago.

A very elderly Gentleman called in with his Grandson and Great Grandson to see his old homeplace. He seemed quite sad that it was totally changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Was only thinking about this the other week. The house I lived in until I was 9 was up for sale recently and I thought about pretending to be interested in buying it just to have a nose around. Saw the pics on Daft though and it looks nothing like I remember...mainly coz we were poor as hell and couldn't afford stuff and now it's done up to the nines.

Fair play OP, if I ever muster up the balls to go to my old house, I hope the occupants are similarly accommodating

Fareplay OP - it was probably a big deal for them. Most people would give them a grunt on the doorstep.

I talked to them for a few minutes. Told them ho was dead around the area and not to bother knocking in. :o

I was wearing a pair of tracksuit bottoms, a grubby tshirt, was barefoot and hadn't made my way to the shower yet; so I didn't fancy inviting them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

You should have inspected their wallets for verification

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Strangely enough I have a somewhat fascination with the 2 houses I grew up in. Whenever im in 'the area' I usually pop by my old stomping ground and spend a few minutes down memeory lane

RedXIV wrote: »
    Fair play OP, if I ever muster up the balls to go to my old house, I hope the occupants are similarly accommodating

That's kind of what I'm wondering though; was I accommodating enough? I didn't invite them inside just talked a few moments and got out of the way for their picture.

Felt a bit of a prick for not letting them in but it would have been pointless as it's all 600% changed since 1950 and I wasn't clothed properly, showered etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Dean0088 wrote: »
    What do you live in a bunker or something :confused:

Eh no but this may come as a surprise to you that random people don't have a key to my house so when/if they call round they can only come in if I let them in. If they don't have my phone number there's no point in ringing the bell cos I won't be opening the door in case it's TV Licence Man, Jehovahs, people trying to sell me stuff or general time wasters!

It's quite an easy system to understand you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Call me a cynic :)
    but if any previous owners of a house I lived in came around I would think a scam / con was at play. I wouldnt believe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

This happened to me when I was about 9 or 10, standing out the front of our house in London (behind the front gate) when a woman came up and was just staring up at the house 'sorry to stare, I used to live here about 25 years ago' she said with a far away/misty look in her eye, 'ok' (this was before the word 'whatever' was invented), 'what a saddo' I thought to myself.

Fast forward 30 years, there I am standing outside my old house in London, gazing up at the upstairs window with the same misty/far away look saying to my husband 'that was my bedroom, oh my God they've still got the same coloured glass on the balcony door' etc etc, boring him stupid basically.

If someone had come out I would have told them I used to live there and could I come in and have a look round (although they probably would have said 'ah Trance, we've got some outstanding bills here for you and no you can't come in, bugger off')

kfallon wrote: »
    Eh no but this may come as a surprise to you that random people don't have a key to my house so when/if they call round they can only come in if I let them in. If they don't have my phone number there's no point in ringing the bell cos I won't be opening the door in case it's TV Licence Man, Jehovahs, people trying to sell me stuff or general time wasters!

It's quite an easy system to understand you know!

I get it and all. I'm the kind of person who can't leave a door go unanswered. What if it was a neighbour just knocking in for a favour of whatever?

Even if it was the TV Licence man you are aware you could just say "fcuk off"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

They probably just wanted to ask you if the house was still haunted:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

When I first bought my house and hadn't yet changed the locks (I had ordered a new door and it was taking it's sweet time), the old owners were apparantly popping into my home whenever it suited themselves (when I wasn't there) to see what I was doing with the place, pick up mail, move stuff around, make themselves a sandwich, borrow a DVD - all without my knowledge.
    Until one day I was home but the hubby had taken my car, when in they stroll!:eek: I nearly had a heart attack- but instead I went nuts! Fecking cheek of them!!
    Three years later their important mail still comes to my house, including credit union books - and straight into the bin.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

You should have inspected their wallets for verification

Couldve "charged" them admission aswell....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fair play OP.

I would like to see inside the house(s) I grew up in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Dead Man Walking

Dean0088 wrote: »

Even if it was the TV Licence man you are aware you could just say "fcuk off"...

or, eat the telly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

RedXIV wrote: »
    Was only thinking about this the other week. The house I lived in until I was 9 was up for sale recently and I thought about pretending to be interested in buying it just to have a nose around.

I did this once.
    But the estate agent copped on immediately seeing as I was only 16 at the time!
    So glad I went though.
    Was able to show my little sister where we lived when she was born- we left when she was 3 so didn't remember.
    Funny thing was that it was way smaller than I remembered it.
    I guess I was alot smaller when I lived there though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

Was just thinking about this the other day-would love to go back to my old house-We moved when I was 11 and I never forgave my mother-I loved that house!

People living there now would probably think I was a nutter if I turned up.

I wouldn't blame them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

They probably just wanted to ask you if the house was still haunted:P
    ...or if the asbestos insulation they installed was still making the house snug and warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Id love to go back to my old childhood home :( i really miss dam you op for making me remember the good times !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Yep, happens a bit. Our house is quite old, over 200 years and it has passed hands a few times as you'd imagine and there's also a bit of land with it. So you do get people calling in to look at where their 'people' came from.
    It's supposed to be haunted to so they like that!

I've moved a couple of times when I was a kid and would love to knock into my old houses. I pass one every time I come home from Dublin and I haven't ben in it since I was 7 though have great memories there. I'm gonna break in some day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

If an old owner called to my house I'd tell them to phuck off as I am the first one in this house since it was built.

AND I'D TELL THEM ANOTHER THING TOO, THIS HOUSE IS COMING WITH ME TO THE GRAVE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

The house I grew up in has been and still is in my family (my parents built a new one so it is my uncles now) for over 200 years, ever since we built the damn thing, so if the old owners show up we will be majorly confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

My best friend (RIP to him) had lived for several years with his parents in a housing estate in Clonmel, So one night he was out of it on Ecstasy and drink and the local Gardaí spotted him dangling upside down on railings by the protestant church, So they took him down and he sort of snapped out of his buzz so the Gardaí decided to drop him home but what they didnt realise was that his family had moved out two years before.

He was in such a state he didn't realise it either, so the Gardai drop him off and he gets in back kitchen door by opening the latch which was what he always used to do if he was late, He even told me he thought his parents had decorated the house that day as it looked different and yes it did two complete strangers from Co Down were living there now, So he looked in the fridge and found a bottle of wine and went into the living room with a large bread knife trying to open the wine cork and then a female appeared at the door "What are you doing in my house" and my friend replies "What this is my house" till the penny dropped, Everyone got a great laugh out of it, Once the Gardaí found out they told him to bring her up a bottle of wine and flowers but she still brought him to court for it but im sure it was struck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

You left an unattended vehicle on a motorway? Shame on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

jive wrote: »
    THIS HOUSE IS COMING WITH ME TO THE GRAVE.

I'm just going to get them to throw me in bed and brick up the front door on their way out. Best mausoleum ever.