If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

NUIG boards freshers meetup

• 30-08-2011 03:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

*shamelessly copied from DCU forum* ;)

Hey, I'm heading into first year in NUIG and moving to Galway. :)
    Just wondering if anyone is up for an aul meetup and beers before lectures start.

I was thinking the Saturday evening/night before orientation in the college bar but of course am open to suggestions for the date/venue.

Might be a bit of craic, especially for those who are coming to Galway and not knowing many people there! Shur post here if ye're up for it! :cool:

EDIT: People who said they are/might be going

Okay, so far we have:

-NuckyT
    -Camilo
    -Eugers
    -MeganM
    -Nailz
    -Eoin MurMur
    -buzyliz
    -totothejuggler
    -Bee2011
    -workingstudent

And possibly paperpackages depending on if the night is changed.
    and Squeeonline perving in the corner!

Freshers Meetup! 25 votes

Friday 9th.. College Bar
    0%
    Friday 9th.. Somewhere Else
    64%
    NailzstrummyashMeganMRiderladtotothejugglerworkingstudentguitarman1No.5ConnieBarrycrazy cabbageEugersNuckyTGualotNoBetterManshnarfermarkeymic 16 votes
    Saturday 10th.. College Bar
    4%
    sea_monkey 1 vote
    Saturday 10th.. Somewhere else
    32%
    Eoin MurMurCamiloWhoSaysBrian123Mbenji29james1992buzylizbee2011 8 votes
    Different Date.. Different Venue.. COMMENT!
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Camilo

sounds good man, count me in :)

Be sure to update this with a time to meet up or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Eugers

Sounds good! i'd go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭MeganM

Count me in too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭NuckyT

Great, few of ye already! :D

How does the Saturday night before Orientation sound? (10th of Sep).
    Will y'all be around then? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Nice one, I'll be up for that! How about Friday the 9th, I would reckon that'll be less hectic than the 10th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Eoin MurMur

Saturday night sounds just lully :pac: I'm in!

Nailz wrote: »
    Nice one, I'll be up for that! How about Friday the 8th, I would reckon that'll be less hectic than the 10th?

Actually this wouldn't be a bad idea because the orientation is on the Saturday (I thought it was on Sunday :o ).

I'd say most people would be around the Friday night so! :)

Cool! So what about the venue? You suggested the college bar? Would it be open before the start of the term?

Yup. It's open all year round! I suppose it would be a good place to start and then move on into town! :p

I has suggestion! though it's a bit bizzare :P there's a big anual charity zombie walk up through town that night and every one dressed as a zombie gets into one of the clubs for free. Could be either very interesting or a total disaster :rolleyes:

NuckyT wrote: »
    Yup. It's open all year round! I suppose it would be a good place to start and then move on into town! :p
    That's sounds ideal! Good to know the college bar is open all year, could be a lifesaver for those who miss the college term too much. I wouldn't have known, as a man who's home address is 3 and a half hours away and has only been to Galway 3 times before this month I think you can forgive me that. ;)
    I has suggestion! though it's a bit bizzare :P there's a big anual charity zombie walk up through town that night and every one dressed as a zombie gets into one of the clubs for free. Could be either very interesting or a total disaster :rolleyes:
    I must say, that is an awesome suggestion! I'd consider this one; only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it, which would be a shame because it sounds gnarley. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 buzyliz

Count me in, sounds like a bit of krak :)

only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it

My thoughts exactly :o Pity, that.

only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it

Meh, well then i spose we'll only get to meet the ones who bothered to go :P sounds like a brilliant way to meet ppl :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭totothejuggler

I shall be there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭paperpackages

Aw I'd go but I have a birthday party to go to that night :( Have fun anyway!

Which night? We haven't fully decided a night yet! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

*goes solely to perve on first years*

Okay, so far we have:

-NuckyT
    -Camilo
    -Eugers
    -MeganM
    -Nailz
    -Eoin MurMur
    -buzyliz
    -totothejuggler
    and Squeeonline perving in the corner! :p
    And possibly paperpackages depending on if the night is changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bee2011

i would considering going only im moving to galway without my friends as they are all going to different colleges :( so i would be on my own and would feel like a loner turning up on my own :o

bee2011 wrote: »
    i would considering going only im moving to galway without my friends as they are all going to different colleges :( so i would be on my own and would feel like a loner turning up on my own :o

I think the whole point of the gathering is to "un-lonerfy" yourself :p

I doubt that any of the people who said yes on this thread know each other already either! I'm sure most people will be in the same boat as you! :p

Sure the point is to go and meet people :P I've a good few friends in galway already but i'll probably go by myself to meet new ppl :)

ok thanks everyone :) Kind of feel a bit stupid now after that :p I was just afraid everyone else here was going to turn up with another person and then there would be me on my own haha :p

Will I add you to the 'list'? haha :p

ya you can add me to the list thanks :D

NuckyT wrote: »
    I doubt that any of the people who said yes on this thread know each other already either! I'm sure most people will be in the same boat as you! :p
    Exactly! I know nobody in NUIG, I only know two lads who'll be going to GMIT so I'll hardly ever see them, also mind that home is 4 hours away. Believe me, he's not the only one there by himself — I'll clarify as well, I know nobody in the NUIG board either... ;)

....yet...
    ya you can add me to the list thanks :D

Done! :) List updated on the first post on this thread

In fairness though, I find meeting people that I only know from the Internet a bit... Weird. I bet it would be awkward as fuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭MeganM

I'm in the same boat, no worries. We'll have each other :D

What courses are you guys doing? Undenominated Science for me :)