Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIG boards freshers meetup

• 30-08-2011 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

*shamelessly copied from DCU forum* ;)

Hey, I'm heading into first year in NUIG and moving to Galway. :)
    Just wondering if anyone is up for an aul meetup and beers before lectures start.

I was thinking the Saturday evening/night before orientation in the college bar but of course am open to suggestions for the date/venue.

Might be a bit of craic, especially for those who are coming to Galway and not knowing many people there! Shur post here if ye're up for it! :cool:

EDIT: People who said they are/might be going

Okay, so far we have:

-NuckyT
    -Camilo
    -Eugers
    -MeganM
    -Nailz
    -Eoin MurMur
    -buzyliz
    -totothejuggler
    -Bee2011
    -workingstudent

And possibly paperpackages depending on if the night is changed.
    and Squeeonline perving in the corner!

Freshers Meetup! 25 votes

Friday 9th.. College Bar
    0%
    Friday 9th.. Somewhere Else
    64%
    NailzstrummyashMeganMRiderladtotothejugglerworkingstudentguitarman1No.5ConnieBarrycrazy cabbageEugersNuckyTGualotNoBetterManshnarfermarkeymic 16 votes
    Saturday 10th.. College Bar
    4%
    sea_monkey 1 vote
    Saturday 10th.. Somewhere else
    32%
    Eoin MurMurCamiloWhoSaysBrian123Mbenji29james1992buzylizbee2011 8 votes
    Different Date.. Different Venue.. COMMENT!
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Camilo

sounds good man, count me in :)

Be sure to update this with a time to meet up or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Eugers

Sounds good! i'd go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭MeganM

Count me in too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭NuckyT

Great, few of ye already! :D

How does the Saturday night before Orientation sound? (10th of Sep).
    Will y'all be around then? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Nice one, I'll be up for that! How about Friday the 9th, I would reckon that'll be less hectic than the 10th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Eoin MurMur

Saturday night sounds just lully :pac: I'm in!

Nailz wrote: »
    Nice one, I'll be up for that! How about Friday the 8th, I would reckon that'll be less hectic than the 10th?

Actually this wouldn't be a bad idea because the orientation is on the Saturday (I thought it was on Sunday :o ).

I'd say most people would be around the Friday night so! :)

Cool! So what about the venue? You suggested the college bar? Would it be open before the start of the term?

Yup. It's open all year round! I suppose it would be a good place to start and then move on into town! :p

I has suggestion! though it's a bit bizzare :P there's a big anual charity zombie walk up through town that night and every one dressed as a zombie gets into one of the clubs for free. Could be either very interesting or a total disaster :rolleyes:

NuckyT wrote: »
    Yup. It's open all year round! I suppose it would be a good place to start and then move on into town! :p
    That's sounds ideal! Good to know the college bar is open all year, could be a lifesaver for those who miss the college term too much. I wouldn't have known, as a man who's home address is 3 and a half hours away and has only been to Galway 3 times before this month I think you can forgive me that. ;)
    I has suggestion! though it's a bit bizzare :P there's a big anual charity zombie walk up through town that night and every one dressed as a zombie gets into one of the clubs for free. Could be either very interesting or a total disaster :rolleyes:
    I must say, that is an awesome suggestion! I'd consider this one; only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it, which would be a shame because it sounds gnarley. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 buzyliz

Count me in, sounds like a bit of krak :)

only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it

My thoughts exactly :o Pity, that.

only imaginable failure is that I can't see a massive percentage of people on here doing it

Meh, well then i spose we'll only get to meet the ones who bothered to go :P sounds like a brilliant way to meet ppl :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭totothejuggler

I shall be there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭paperpackages

Aw I'd go but I have a birthday party to go to that night :( Have fun anyway!

Which night? We haven't fully decided a night yet! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

*goes solely to perve on first years*

Okay, so far we have:

-NuckyT
    -Camilo
    -Eugers
    -MeganM
    -Nailz
    -Eoin MurMur
    -buzyliz
    -totothejuggler
    and Squeeonline perving in the corner! :p
    And possibly paperpackages depending on if the night is changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bee2011

i would considering going only im moving to galway without my friends as they are all going to different colleges :( so i would be on my own and would feel like a loner turning up on my own :o

bee2011 wrote: »
    i would considering going only im moving to galway without my friends as they are all going to different colleges :( so i would be on my own and would feel like a loner turning up on my own :o

I think the whole point of the gathering is to "un-lonerfy" yourself :p

I doubt that any of the people who said yes on this thread know each other already either! I'm sure most people will be in the same boat as you! :p

Sure the point is to go and meet people :P I've a good few friends in galway already but i'll probably go by myself to meet new ppl :)

ok thanks everyone :) Kind of feel a bit stupid now after that :p I was just afraid everyone else here was going to turn up with another person and then there would be me on my own haha :p

Will I add you to the 'list'? haha :p

ya you can add me to the list thanks :D

I doubt that any of the people who said yes on this thread know each other already either! I'm sure most people will be in the same boat as you! :p
    Exactly! I know nobody in NUIG, I only know two lads who'll be going to GMIT so I'll hardly ever see them, also mind that home is 4 hours away. Believe me, he's not the only one there by himself — I'll clarify as well, I know nobody in the NUIG board either... ;)

....yet...
    ya you can add me to the list thanks :D

Done! :) List updated on the first post on this thread

In fairness though, I find meeting people that I only know from the Internet a bit... Weird. I bet it would be awkward as fuck.

I'm in the same boat, no worries. We'll have each other :D

What courses are you guys doing? Undenominated Science for me :)

MeganM wrote: »
    Undenominated Science for me :)

Same :D

I'm in the same boat, no worries. We'll have each other :D

What courses are you guys doing? Undenominated Science for me :)

Arts for me anyways :P My friend is doing undenominated science in NUIG too though. It sounds interesting! :D

Same :D

*Highfives*

Did you pick your modules when you were registering? I wasn't too sure if I should or not. I still haven't fully decided. :o

Business Information Systems B.Sc myself. This will be a awfully Sciencey love-up altogether.

*Highfives*

Did you pick your modules when you were registering? I wasn't too sure if I should or not. I still haven't fully decided. :o

Nah, Not yet. I'll probably go for the usual 4 though: Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology because you're eligible for more subjects in 2nd year with those.

In fairness though, I find meeting people that I only know from the Internet a bit... Weird. I bet it would be awkward as fuck.

hm...i wouldnt say it'd b that bad..sure we'll get drunk to make it less awkward :P

Eugers wrote: »
    hm...i wouldnt say it'd b that bad..sure we'll get drunk to make it less awkward :P

Lol that's the spirit! :D

Business Information Systems B.Sc myself. This will be a awfully Sciencey love-up altogether.

They will be bonding immediately.... see what i did there? :o

Im doing commerce. Anyone else doing this course? :)
    Where are all you guys staying? I could only get dunaras village.

Trust me, there is much more f*cked up **** on the internet than this! :pac:

I suppose your right, nothing odd about a few students meeting up and getting moderately polluted... Or not so moderate. :P
    They will be bonding immediately.... see what i did there? :o
    They'll all have great chemistry between them. :pac:
    Eugers wrote: »
    I will be hanging around with you for the meet-up with that charisma!

haha fine by me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 workingstudent

i might go aswel as i wont know other people when i'm moving up friday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 buzyliz

Im doing commerce. Anyone else doing this course? :)
    Where are all you guys staying? I could only get dunaras village.

Awh im doing commerce too! :) i dont know anyone doin the course :L im staying in corrib :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Awesome. The chances I'll make it up are slim but you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭No.5

Hey,this sounds like a good idea, I'd definitely be up for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭totothejuggler

So has the night were doing this on be decided??

anyone else doin engineering?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

count me in :D

yeap engenering 4 me aswell. did you see the timetables yet? there up on the website.

buzyliz wrote: »
    Awh im doing commerce too! :) i dont know anyone doin the course :L im staying in corrib :)

I dont know anyone else doing commerce either :p I want to try and get to know peoople doing commerce so i have someone to go to the first lectures with :D

It won't let me edit my post on the first page! :o

Anyway.. Here's the list

-NuckyT
    -Camilo
    -Eugers
    -MeganM
    -Nailz
    -Eoin MurMur
    -buzyliz
    -totothejuggler
    -Bee2011
    -workingstudent
    -No.5
    -crazy cabbage

So who's staying in Gort? :D

So has the night were doing this on be decided??

Nope, though the Friday would probably be best!