Is extreme couponing possible in Ireland?

• 30-08-2011 04:14PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭

Anyone who has seen the tv program will know what I'm talking about. But would it actually be possible to pull it off in Ireland? Given that shops would nearly look for a reason to begrudge you your 50c off daz washing powder, I don't think so. Not to mention the way that most shop cashiers shame the life out of you by throwing their eyes to heaven and sighing loudly if you produce just 1 coupon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Anyone who has seen the tv program will know what I'm talking about. But would it actually be possible to pull it off in Ireland? Given that shops would nearly look for a reason to begrudge you your 50c off daz washing powder, I don't think so. Not to mention the way that most shop cashiers shame the life out of you by throwing their eyes to heaven and sighing loudly if you produce just 1 coupon....

Define extreme

I am picturing my mother grabbing her Daz, donning goggles and parachuting out of a plane here after paying by Coupon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

extreme couponing

Nothing sends the adrenaline rushing more than extreme couponing!
    Wtf?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

Lads, don't be so ignorant and sarcastic and just google it?
    And OP, what channel is the program on?

MarkD09 wrote: »

I just keep getting this thread :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Ireland doesn't have a coupon culture like the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd coup on your ma

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Doublechinlolz

MugMugs wrote: »

English please :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

its on one of the discovery and living channel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The shopping channel

MugMugs wrote: »
    English please :confused::confused:

You can have three guesses what I meant.

After the third you have to take off my clothes and dress me in coupons. Real dirty small coupons

It's on discovery but I haven't seen it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I'd love to try if it was possible here, it's when people find ridiculous amounts of coupons and manage to get $2000 worth of shopping for $5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

It's on discovery real time every Monday at 10pm. Absolutely obsessive people who make their anal retentiveness pay off by getting 800 dollars worth off groceries for 50 cent. It's incredible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

why didnt you google what channel it was on?

their anal retentiveness pay off by getting 800 dollars worth off groceries for 50 cent. It's incredible!

But really, how much of it is actually nice food or stuff they'll use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,536 ✭✭✭Blisterman

How does that work? Don't most coupons say "not valid with any other offer".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I've seen programmes on this before. Some people in the US are absolutely mad for it and they carry around folders of cut-out coupons that are itemised by the shopping aisles.

One couple spent hours and hours cutting coupons every day and even had their kids roped in to do it.

The buzz they got from a free item at the end of the week would bring a tear to your eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've been in queues in the UK where some old biddies tip hand-bags full of coupons onto to check-outs, and the rest of us have to wait for what seems like five hours while a suicidal girl on the till has to go through them all, just so the biddies can save a couple of quid.

We don't seem to have the fun of that here.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Blisterman wrote: »

Apparently not so in America. Not only can you use as many coupons as you like, you can also use coupons whose values exceed the price of reduced items and use any credit leftover to purchase other items. I don't suppose it really matters to the stores as they redeem the coupon from the manufacturers. Still can't imagine tesco or dunnes copping on though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Blisterman wrote: »

Not in America. Over there you can get your coupon discount, then apply your loyalty discount, then send off for a mail in rebate from the manufacturer.

Most of the time they'll give you a loyalty discount even if you don't have a card.

Also, lots of shopping centres will give you a book of coupons if you go to the mall customer service desk when you arrive.

And of course, all of this could be done in an outlet shopping mall which makes it even cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

It's on discovery real time every Monday at 10pm. Absolutely obsessive people who make their anal retentiveness pay off by getting 800 dollars worth off groceries for 50 cent. It's incredible!

It's on every week? I thought It was a one off, that must be the worst show on T.V.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

Is it considered extreme couponing if you get the coupons on pigsback.com and photoshop them so you can use them on products you actually buy? Just asking. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

x_Ellie_x wrote: »
    Is it considered extreme couponing if you get the coupons on pigsback.com and photoshop them so you can use them on products you actually buy? Just asking. :p

No, that's smart :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

I actually don't know how they get it down from $600 to $100 but I have links!

I've never watched the show, but I've seen clips... I like the following

Obsessed 12 year old couponer

This women searches in bins for them

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

One guy on mondays show gave it all to charity. He got €800 worth of stuff for nothing. He had to pre-order like 30 bottles of cola for himself.

Another woman doing it was just for herself. She must have been bored with her life. Bought 90 packets of croutons. Then there was another girl who emailed the store beforehand askong for a layout plan of the store. The day before the shopping she would carry out a reconaissance mission to make sure everything was there. Maniacs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

The majority of people on that show are simply hateful. They'll convert a room in their house to a storage facility and stock it full of stuff they'll never use because it will either expire or, in a lot of cases, they have more than they could use before they die. It's just greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

No, that's smart :)

Aww it's not! That's too bad. :( I was thinking about adding 'extreme couponing' to the hobbies section of my CV. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 nic2ie

i watched it last night and fair play to them but what got me is why would you need so much stuff. Surely most of it must have sell by dates. One woman gave some to charity which is a good thing but having 90 bottle of cereal is a bit extreme by anyones standards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

What is extreme couponing people?

Cos getting €5 off Yore Ma for the night, bringing the price down to €5, certainly doesn't qualify.