Fantasy Football chit chat thread

• 27-08-2011 07:27PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭

Can we have one cos I and others are getting a bit tee'd off the peeps moaning/celebrating about how an event or players selection is good or bad for their league position.

Dedicated Fantasy Football Thread 12 votes

YAY
    0% 0 votes
    NAY
    100% 12 votes

mike65 wrote: »
    Can we have one cos I and others are getting a bit tee'd off the peeps moaning/celebrating about how an event or players selection is good or bad for their league position.
    em...http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056324510

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭JPA

mike65 wrote: »

There already is one. :confused::confused:

But I think ALL FF chat should be banned from other threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Opps you can tell how utterly uninterested I am in the FF shi1te.

Right then if there is a thread STOP FCUKING GOING ON ABOUT IT ON MATCH THREADS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,267 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Set up a FF sub forum imo. There could be a whole load more than just one thread. Then ban all FF talk from the main forum.

Will be a bit of of a nightmare for the mods to enforce intially but after a while would all be good

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

It's a joke at this stage. I hope United win 11-8 with Fabio and De Gea scoring and making up all each others goals, lawl, ROFl and sure it's probably going to get an ol' thank or two as well.

Saw one post last week where a lad hoped his team lost for fantasy football purposes. I mean that's shocking stuff in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Whats wrong with FF chat in threads? Lighten up ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Whats wrong with FF chat in threads? Lighten up ffs.

Because nobody actually cares about another person's fantasy football team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Just use the "Boards.ie Fantasy Football 2011 / 2012" thread ????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭JPA

KevIRL wrote: »
    Set up a FF sub forum imo. There could be a whole load more than just one thread. Then ban all FF talk from the main forum.

Will be a bit of of a nightmare for the mods to enforce intially but after a while would all be good

I don't think another forum is necessary, the FF thread is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

It's kinda annoying to scroll down through loads of 'oh he messed up my FF'

It doesn't really apply to a match thread does it? Same as people taking about the match in a club thread.

(Took me ages to figure out FF and then I was seeing it everywhere!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I don't remember FF talk being a common thing in match threads last season, but I wasn't here for the first couple of months.

Is it always like that at the start and eventually dies down or is there a much bigger influx of FF subscribers this season?

I agree btw, it shouldn't be allowed. No one gives a flying fúck how randomers in match threads are getting on in FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Who do you think I should bring in for N'Zogbia Mike???? He hasn't done enough in the first three games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

Fantasy football forum would be great. Would be able to have its own individual match threads with a focus on the main fantasy football players instead of the overall game. If WBA are playing stoke I don't really give a **** about the result, all i want to know is how the main FF players are looking. Would be a nice option to read through and see what peoples opinions are.

Would also be able to have many other threads in relation to individual players and a weekly thread with a captains poll.

I'm sure it would help reduce FF talk within the Soccer Forum, but I play FF anyway so I'm quite happy to read people's posts in relation to it, but can see why it would get annoying for other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,758 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Personally I don't ever talk about fantasy football outside of the dedicated thread but there is plenty of bitching and moaning in the superthreads about ridiculous stuff that this should be well down the list of what people don't want going on in those threads.

So I say leave it as it is. If you get rid of all the other retarded rubbish out of it then come back here and talk about removing ff chat from superthreads. Just because it doesn't particularly interest you is not a good enough reason to ban it from a thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

IrishIrish wrote: »
    Fantasy football forum would be great. Would be able to have its own individual match threads with a focus on the main fantasy football players instead of the overall game. If WBA are playing stoke I don't really give a **** about the result, all i want to know is how the main FF players are looking. Would be a nice option to read through and see what peoples opinions are.

Would also be able to have many other threads in relation to individual players and a weekly thread with a captains poll.

I'm sure it would help reduce FF talk within the Soccer Forum, but I play FF anyway so I'm quite happy to read people's posts in relation to it, but can see why it would get annoying for other people.
    That a good idea imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Blatter wrote: »
    I agree btw, it shouldn't be allowed. No one gives a flying fúck how randomers in match threads are getting on in FF.

Aren't we all randomers here? That rational could be applied to any thread.
    What about posting in superthreads of a team you don't support?
    What about posting in a match thread where you support neither team?
    Do the people with an interest give a fiddlers what a randomer thinks?......just sayin':rolleyes:

Leave as is or you open a can of worms. Ignore posts you have no interest in, or dont get involved in the thread if its annoying you.

Btw I post in FF thread about FF stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,824 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Can we have a subforum for the nominations of things to have a subforum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

In fairness lads if there is a Fantasy Football subforum there might as well be a League of Ireland subforum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭token56

In fairness lads if there is a Fantasy Football subforum there might as well be a League of Ireland subforum.

Probably best not to go there,

I dont think there is a problem with the way things are at the moment, if someone has a problem with a post in a match thread report it and if the moderators think its in the wrong place warnings/yellow cards should teach people very quickly that FF posts in match threads are not on and just keep them to the dedicated FF thread. The question is whether or not mods think this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭joe123

Jesus lads it takes little to annoy ye if someone mentioning fantasy football bothers you that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Its fine the way it is imo, people should keep the talk to the thread but if they want to post in match threads let them, be a bit harsh to infract people for posting about a FF team. Let the mods decide :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

How would you actually stop people mentioning FF in a match thread though, and would they then be banned?

Seems a bit extreme in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Where would we be if Fantasy Football did not exist? does not bare thinking about :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

I enjoy Fantasy Football as much as the next lad, but the last time I went over to a United match some of the other fans told me that they were over at a United match where United beat Chelsea and a lad on the bus home sat complaining about the fact that he was disappointed that Drogba didn't score for his FF team, people like that need a good slap :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭doc_17

I see no problem with it. Just don't read them if it annoys you