Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP Touchpad Thread (NO Discussion Of Personal Buying/Selling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

coach22 wrote: »
    couldnt get a touchpad so i just bought the pre3 on elara! ah well at least i got something in the end!!!!

Do you have a link? I can't see it.. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Sounds like Marty has some 'splainin to do, something fishy going on there.

Is his second name McFly?
    Did he arrive on a hoverboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭ooter

yeah is there a link for the pre 3 on elara?
    can't find it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭clank182

Pre 3s sold out that was quick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,603 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Tusky wrote: »
    Just ordered a Palm 3 also - have absolutely no need for it. Just got it to do some sort of trade for a touchpad.
    clank182 wrote: »
    Got 2 pre 3s from elara going to try and turn one into a touchpad :D
    Ah here.. that's a bit lousy for the people who actually wanted Pre 3's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Reserved a 32GB for Argos Liffey Valley on Sunday - got confirm and code to say it would be available from Friday (tomorrow). Rang yesterday morning when I saw others on here had gotten before the date they were due to be available - not in stock. Tried again this morning on the off chance - again not in stock. Then got a txt from them just before 12 saying it was ready for collection - didnt' want to leave it till after work to collect just in case it 'accidentally' got given to someone else so I went over there at lunch and collected it.

The guy at the till went off to double check it was actually there when he saw what the order was - came back a min later to say it was all grand and took the payment. Said they'd only gotten a couple (however many that happens to be) today and that they were all reserved so allocated to those customers. So at least in LV they appear to be honouring reservations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

rosboy wrote: »
    P.P.S. As regards the multiples, I was ordering for friends too...they weren't all for me, and I wasn't intenting to sell them on :)

That's what might have messed you up tbh.

coach22 wrote: »

Picked one up too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,078 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

missed out on the Pre3 for the girlfriend by minutes. was there when I went on the site, gone by the time i hit checkout. At least I didn't tell her I was going to get it for her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Basq wrote: »
    Ah here.. that's a bit lousy for the people who actually wanted Pre 3's.

Hmm - yethink? Never really thought of it that way but I suppose youre right. If I cant trade it + cash for a touchpad I shall give it to someone in this thread who wants it for cost price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rosboy

Had three reserved (under three different reservation numbers) in Argos on the Childers Road in Limerick. Reserved Monday morning about 10:00. Got confirmation emails and texts.

Got texts a few hours ago telling me that the stock was waiting for me instore for collection.

Went down, and was told by the store manager (Marty), that all reservations made since Tuesday were cancelled, and that they were issued this morning on a first come first served basis.

Three problems with that:

1. My order was made Monday.
    2. I didn't get any communication from Argos telling me it was cancelled.
    3. I actually got confirmations from them that it was instore and ready for collection!

The manager reckons it the policy of Argos Nationwide. When I put it to him that others were having their reservations honoured, he simply said, well they shouldn't be.

Now, I don't want to seem bitter at all, but it seems like Argos have handled this poorly enough. It seems the policy changed from stored to store. Some peoples were honoured, and of course they were very happy. Some people seem to have walked in off the street and got them (the manager said they were issued on a first come first served), and I'm sure they won't complain about us with reservations. I think Argos need to review their automated system. If you cancel orders, let the customer know...and don't tell them they are in stock ready for collection!

/rant

Just got reply on Twitter from @argoshelpers:
    Hi, I am sorry your Touchpad could not be collected. Stores have been required to cancel reservations due to failed deliveries.

Had three reserved (under three different reservation numbers) in Argos on the Childers Road in Limerick. Reserved Monday morning about 10:00. Got confirmation emails and texts.

Got texts a few hours ago telling me that the stock was waiting for me instore for collection.

Went down, and was told by the store manager (Marty), that all reservations made since Tuesday were cancelled, and that they were issued this morning on a first come first served basis.

Three problems with that:

1. My order was made Monday.
    2. I didn't get any communication from Argos telling me it was cancelled.
    3. I actually got confirmations from them that it was instore and ready for collection!

The manager reckons it the policy of Argos Nationwide. When I put it to him that others were having their reservations honoured, he simply said, well they shouldn't be.

Now, I don't want to seem bitter at all, but it seems like Argos have handled this poorly enough. It seems the policy changed from stored to store. Some peoples were honoured, and of course they were very happy. Some people seem to have walked in off the street and got them (the manager said they were issued on a first come first served), and I'm sure they won't complain about us with reservations. I think Argos need to review their automated system. If you cancel orders, let the customer know...and don't tell them they are in stock ready for collection!

/rant

Hi, I am sorry your Touchpad could not be collected. Stores have been required to cancel reservations due to failed deliveries.

missed out on the Pre3 for the girlfriend by minutes. was there when I went on the site, gone by the time i hit checkout. At least I didn't tell her I was going to get it for her!
    Got one for my girlfriend too Have an android myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭lalipule

did manage to buy palm pre3 as well, my hands were shaking when pressing buttons (thank got had account with them, no need to enter all details)

would propably try to do the same as the most people- trade it for touchpad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭Soarer

I'd just like to thank the Boardie (who shall remain anon unless he wants to be outted!) who contacted me before lunch asking if I wanted his spare code for a 32gb in Argos.

I'd helped him out nearly 2 years ago and at the time he said he hoped he could return the favour at some stage.

Well today turned out to be that day, even though I'd long since forgotten our interaction, and I'm now the proud owner of a 32gb TouchPad.

As I said to the guy in question, it's proof that karma does exist. It also reaffirms what Bargain Alerts is all about.

God bless everyone!

TheZohan wrote: »
    That's what might have messed you up tbh.

Don't think so. Manager in Childers road saying no reservations at all being honored. A few pages back, others having same problem in same store.

Either way, doesn't really matter now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

That's not the same as stock being delivered but sold FCFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Are reservations being cancelled across the country? I was in a shop that had 2, both reserved. Would they be FCFS now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭cas2kx

Got my 32gb touchpad from argos in jervs she said its the last one and she didnt know they were coming in and if she did she would have got one :)

Missed out on the pre3 sale tho :(

That's not the same as stock being delivered but sold FCFS.

Agreed. They are giving different stories from different outlets.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

EI_Flyboy wrote: »
    I would, I'm pretty sure it's actually illegal and could be considered breach of contract.
    I'd be willing to bet that in the terms and conditions Argos have left themselves plenty of ways out. Cancelling reservations might be a crappy thing to do but I doubt it's any way a breach of contract or illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭iPhone.

Celj..... just back now pal..... thanks for that..... don't trust expansys with their funny allocation system..... you prob gave it to someone else now n e way.... fair play.

Still arguing with argos myself - two seperate text reservations - no stock when i tried to collect - store said they got no stock whatsover so no chance of a non collect transfer either - and uk CS basically said tough, system error!!

iPhone. wrote: »
    Celj..... just back now pal..... thanks for that..... don't trust expansys with their funny allocation system..... you prob gave it to someone else now n e way.... fair play.

Still arguing with argos myself - two seperate text reservations - no stock when i tried to collect - store said they got no stock whatsover so no chance of a non collect transfer either - and uk CS basically said tough, system error!!

When did you order? It seems as if reservations up until and including Sunday are being honoured, with the odd Monday one here and there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭bromley52

For anyone who does manage to get their hands on a Touchpad and Pre 3, from what iv read you can transfer files between them by simply touching them together. HP were really doing some cool stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭m4rkiz

TheZohan wrote: »
    If your girlfriends hot I'll swap you a Pre3 for her...

i think ill keep her, well, unless you have argos reservation number for touchpad... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

got a pre3 for myself as i need a new phone but I'd stick with the current one if anyones interested in a swap for a touchpad