Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite unsolved mystery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Crop circles intrigued me as a kid. I know some of them were fake, but what about the rest? Anyone done any reading up on them.

And agree Scientology. More money than sense, some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Why people still folliow scientology despite being biggest load horse dung ever heard

Same reason people follow Catholicism

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Why people still folliow scientology despite being biggest load horse dung ever heard

Damn right, they should get back to believing something more plausible like how some Jewish carpenter was really God in disguise who impregnated his own mother (who he was also the father of...meaning he was his own father and grandfather) so she could give birth to him to atone for a sin which he was very pissed off about even though it never really happened as the story was just an allegory.

Those crazy Scientologists and their Xenu and Galactic Confederation :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

the kerry babies mystery 1985
    philip cairns disapperance 1986

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I like these two things (neither really mysteries though):

Ancient abandoned fortress in Siberia (the photos are amazing):

http://englishrussia.com/2007/08/07/an-ancient-fortress-on-the-island/

I'm not sure if anything on that site is ever real though.

That place exists, its called Por Bajin, just type the name into Google Earth and you can see it. Its in Russia almost on the border with China. Two of the reasons they think it survived so well is the preserving qualities of cold air and the isolation of the area, there were never many people living there at any time in history. The site is about 200m x 150m, its big but not massive by ancient standards.

Eever wrote: »
    He could have shot himself, and then the little boy who the policeman sent in the window to open the door for him thought to himself "ooh look a gun! That'll be fun" and stole it??

:eek::D

I think you have it worked out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

In Australia around 1980 there was a couple who camped at Uluru with their two month old baby. They claimed a dingo took the baby from their tent and was never found.

I'm on my phone so can't link the wiki page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I love the area of aliens in art work, particularly ancient drawings. The thing I love is that even if not extra-terrestial influenced, it's cool to imagine what it is the original artists were trying to convey. Was it there equivalent of bad spirits. Is the familiar alien gray some deep seated human boogey man in our mind?

This is from 10,000 years ago

http://www.dudeman.net/siriusly/ufo/art/ancientastronauts.jpg

These are Aborigine 'Wondjinas'

http://www.nephilimskulls.com/v/vspfiles/images/kimberly_australia2.jpg

http://top-technology-reviews.com/uploadfiles/top-technology-reviewscom-1286042749/early-ancient-alien-rock-art-discovered-in-australia-location-being-kept-secret_1.jpg

Even Medievel Art features some weird stuff.

http://www.ufo-sightings.org.uk/images/ancientastronauts.jpg

http://lifesgreatclues.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/6..jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭secrecy_ie

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

secrecy_ie wrote: »
    Also, not a huge mystery, but impressive - dogs in Russia who use the subway:

http://abcnews.go.com/International/Technology/stray-dogs-master-complex-moscow-subway-system/story?id=10145833

Sure we had a cat here recently that uses the DART! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

In Australia around 1980 there was a couple who camped at Uluru with their two month old baby. They claimed a dingo took the baby from their tent and was never found.

I'm on my phone so can't link the wiki page.
    Here ya go
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Azaria_Chamberlain_disappearance

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Crop circles intrigued me as a kid. I know some of them were fake, but what about the rest? Anyone done any reading up on them.

And agree Scientology. More money than sense, some people.

Occams razor. Since people admitted to doing hundreds of them before, also we know it's possible for them to be made by humans, why do we need to involve any other theories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Eever

:eek::D

I think you have it worked out!!!

Brilliant. What authorities do I alert to hunt the theiving bastard down and to collect my prize?

Here's a mystery of my own for yous:

One day my sister walked out her front door to find a bag had been placed there. In order to put it there one would have had to walk up her garden path, turn to the right and place it in the front porch, it definately couldn't have just been thrown there by someone over a wall or anything.

She opened the bag and found that it contained law books (which most definitely are not cheap!) So she thought it a bit odd and opened the books, they all had a name written on the inside cover. Then she remembered that a lady in her hockey club (not really a friend of hers but they were friendly enough) has a brother who studies law. She rang said lady and asked if the name on the books was by any chance her brothers name and she said yes!!

Her brothers bag, with the books had been stolen THREE WEEKS earlier from a pub in town (Dublin), only to turn up three weeks later, carefully placed on my sisters doorstep in Dublin 18.

Explain that one!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Really enjoying this thread, i look forward to checking it each day. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Brilliant. What authorities do I alert to hunt the theiving bastard down and to collect my prize?

Here's a mystery of my own for yous:

One day my sister walked out her front door to find a bag had been placed there. In order to put it there one would have had to walk up her garden path, turn to the right and place it in the front porch, it definately couldn't have just been thrown there by someone over a wall or anything.

She opened the bag and found that it contained law books (which most definitely are not cheap!) So she thought it a bit odd and opened the books, they all had a name written on the inside cover. Then she remembered that a lady in her hockey club (not really a friend of hers but they were friendly enough) has a brother who studies law. She rang said lady and asked if the name on the books was by any chance her brothers name and she said yes!!

Her brothers bag, with the books had been stolen THREE WEEKS earlier from a pub in town (Dublin), only to turn up three weeks later, carefully placed on my sisters doorstep in Dublin 18.

Explain that one!!

He faked the theft of the books in a bid to meet her. He then planted the books there, knowing his sister (accomplice) had passed on the information about the supposed missing books.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,394 ✭✭✭cml387

The cause remains a mystery for a number of major railway accidents in the UK over the years.
    Two that spring to mind:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moorgate_tube_crash
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrow_and_Wealdstone_rail_crash

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Occams razor. Since people admitted to doing hundreds of them before, also we know it's possible for them to be made by humans, why do we need to involve any other theories?

Christ, talk about a bloody spoilsport. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

anne lovett, the 15 yr girl who died in granard , longford in january 1984 after giving birth to her son (who also died) , the mystery being why this was allowed to happen in the first place, and did people close know but did nothing

Start with your local garda station...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Christ, talk about a bloody spoilsport. :rolleyes:

Fine. Aliens made them. They've obviously nothing better to be doing than flattening acres of wheat into geometric shapes.

They have also started branching out into promotional work
    http://larryfire.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/papacrop_3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

How about Jimmy Hoffa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Who were the first Europeans to the Americas? Surely not the Romans? In my uneducated opinion if a ship made it, it was blown there in a storm.

http://www.nytimes.com/1985/06/25/science/underwater-exploring-is-banned-in-brazil.html
    51. Underwater archaeological survey conducted in Baia de Guanabara (Rio de Janeiro), Brazil, under auspices of the Naval Museum, on what is believed to be a possible Roman amphora carrier from the 2nd century BC. Three other shipwrecks found and surveyed on this site (16th, 17th and 20th centuries). September 1982 - February 1983.

http://www.shipwreckconference.org/conference_bios_marx_projects.htm

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Fine. Aliens made them. They've obviously nothing better to be doing than flattening acres of wheat into geometric shapes.

They have also started branching out into promotional work
    http://larryfire.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/papacrop_3.jpg

Lighten up :D:p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

secrecy_ie wrote: »
    Also, not a huge mystery, but impressive - dogs in Russia who use the subway:

http://abcnews.go.com/International/Technology/stray-dogs-master-complex-moscow-subway-system/story?id=10145833

Pffff! Subway dogs? DART cats? Go home, amateurs. In Greece, dogs go to riots!

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭secrecy_ie

The Tylenol murders is another one...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicago_Tylenol_murders

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Popsy

Who is/was the Edgar Allen Poe 'Toaster'?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poe_Toaster

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

The Shroud Of Turin. I read a book a few years ago that made an attempt to explain it, it was called The Second Messiah. The authors had a really clever explanation for the whole thing, which managed to explain every mysterious detail of the shroud and it's history...just no actual evidence unfortunately. They appear to have pulled the whole story out of their asses...still, it was by far the most realistic and convincing theory I've ever heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Popsy wrote: »

Brilliant story imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Obelisk

Tazio wrote: »
    Popsy wrote: »

Brilliant story imo.

They are suggesting it's a man.

An old gay lover, perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Who shot JFK - the Magic Bullet theory just doesn't hold water for me.

Where are Ireland's missing women?

Missing children; Madeline McCann, Philip Cairns, Mary Boyle.

Amelia Earheart

What happened to Tutankhamun ( Egyptian Pharoah for those who don't know)
    Others will probably come to me later.