The crankiest person you've ever encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

I was in starbucks this morning and the woman in front of me could not have been more rude - stoney faced, no please, no thank you.

SO fcuking rude - I don't understand people like that & there are so many around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Sooopie wrote: »
    I was in starbucks this morning and the woman in front of me could not have been more rude - stoney faced, no please, no thank you.

SO fcuking rude - I don't understand people like that & there are so many around.

I bet I can guess what age group she was in.

For some reason there's a certain age that a woman reaches that makes her want to upset anyone that works in retail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I ruined my own grad cause I'm in a foul mood just so good to be back in bed. In fact I've been in a cranky mood all week Tuesday to Tuesday. no money no gf and everything going horribly wrong that if you even say a letter to me I will snap back simply cause I just lost as for the staff member I don't know if he thought I was drunk or wat and couldnt care less he must had a fire poker up his rear y
    There's no need to treat to innocent like animals

In Tesco not so long ago and this young one with a kid in a pram drops a jar of Dolmio sauce beside me, smashing it on the floor. Cue a lot of "Oh for fúcks sake" and "this is ridiculous" and sighing and tutting as if it was me that knocked out of her hand.

On my way back around a few minutes later she was giving out to a management looking person about how her child could have slipped or got cut on broken glass. She clammed up as she seen me coming and walked off with a final "fúckin ridiculous" as a parting shot to the poor sap cleaning up.

One Christmas morning in the church car park this middle aged man ( big fat feck who was driving a BMW ) was giving out hell and glaring at everyone because....the car park wasn't emptying fast enough for him!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

My girlfriend, about one week of every month :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Sergeant wrote: »
    So have you any examples of cranky bastards you've had to deal with, or seen in your day to day lives?

Crankiness begets crankiness.
    If you don't walk up to people with a cheery smile and a happy disposition they're going to mirror your attitude right back at you.

It's like the classic American tourist syndrome, where they say everyone was rude to them on their travels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

Lapin wrote: »
    Please tell us you didn't type all that out.

The words sad and fúcker spring to mind.

Ya cranky fúcker :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Larianne wrote: »
    The librarians in the Hamilton Library in Trinity. I've never met any group of people so unhelpful and stoney faced in my life.

(I use to work as a care assistant so I have dealt with cranky pants's at times but I'd usually be able to break them down and have a laugh with them. Was a bit of a challenge for me.)

I wished one of the librarians a Happy Christmas last year and she nearly choked on the chocolate that she had just lobbed in her mouth. She didn't know what to say back!

She was probably Muslim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Naomi00 wrote: »
    On a school trip to Paris for my French class, we were in Disneyland for the day. I was buying something in one of the shops and asked the man at the desk what price it was, or something like that. Next thing he starts shouting and ranting at me about how you 'speak English when you are in London, here you speak French' blah blah blah. He went on and on for ages. It was ridiculous considering I was only 14 at the time, he was speaking English himself. And also that fact that he works in Disneyland which is full of English speaking tourists :confused: And it's meant to be a fun place, grumpy bàstard.

I think he thought I was English. Lots of security guards in shops said really racist things to the people in our group about how 'English people aren't allowed here' etc. As much as I like France, I think the stereotype of racist French people is very very true :\

That's just parisiens in general - the rest of France hates them!

If they think you're English then it's especially bad - as soon as they realise you're Irish they'll completely change their tune.

Larianne wrote: »
    I have never been anything but polite with them. They don't even say hello back!!

Yeah, I think there's one in the Arts library but he's not the same as the Librocop in UCD. He is proper Librocop. Has a limp and all! Puts the fear of God into you!

Here's an interview with the man himself!
    http://i.imgur.com/rhM9g.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

My two mates. a middle aged man and his wife who is a midget dressed as a schoolboy.

They're really, really cranky.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Went into a shop in Dublin one Saturday morning to get a sandwich.
    Oul wan making it was grumpy as fcuk.
    Asked me why I hadn't made myself a lunch.
    I ignored the comment and got the paper and a drink as well.
    As I was leaving she says "I hope you fcuking choke on it"...

Didn't happen, but it made me laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

The bitch in the dole office in Edenderry. You would think we are calling round to her house looking for forms to be signed. She would turn milk sour with a look... Maybe she just needs a good rodgering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Anyone from the Cork area will know Skippy the crazy old lady. She was a regular in the shop I used to work in.

Every week she'd come in buy the same thing and then come back to complain, she'd complain about the product, about the shop, about me, and about everything really until eventually she'd start roaring a mixture of god fearing babble combined with some serious profanity.

Frequently she'd just stand there for 20 mins at a time ranting away as I'd serve other customers. Her outrage about the product centred around the fact that it was made in Germany and she demanded i contact the company and she'd fly into a rage when I'd tell her that it's not happening.

Every week.

The first time it happened i politely told her it's not happening, she flew into a rage and I told her to fcuk off.

As i didn't know who she was i felt guilty until i told my boss about it and told me it was grand as she knew who it was. After that whenever she came in and started ranting I'd just tell her PFO until she got the message, or until security came along and removed her which would practically send her into convulsions.

That was years ago now, I don't know if she's still alive or not. Last I saw of her was when i was on a bus at a bus stop in Bishopstown about 3 years ago which she was attacking with her bag.

So yeah, proper cranky so she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

She was probably Muslim.
    She was probably a single mother on the One Parent Family Payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a certain bar owner from the beaumont area of dublin, a right thundercunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Lapin wrote: »
    Please tell us you didn't type all that out.

The words sad and fúcker spring to mind.

Ok so, I didn't type all that out. Happy?

Anyways, myself and an aunt were in a shop on sunday morning.

There was a loaf left, brown loaf and it was gone hard.

Aunt asked was there any more fresh loaves as this one was gone solid and tapped it to prove.

This auld troll butts in (about 70) "Well I got a loaf this morning and it was fine"

Aunt (losing patience), "Sorry, well I just tapped it and it's rock solid."

Aunt asks worker is there any more fresh loaves and she says no, old granny butts in again "The one I had was fine this morning"

Aunt loses it and says "Look, that fúcking loaf is rock fúcking hard. I can smack it off your head to fúcking prove it."

The auld granny was not happy.

You could say the aunt was a bit cranky but it was just one time she cracked and was "fúck this, fúck that" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Denerick wrote: »
    I used to work in a supermarket and some of the cranks you'd come across... One woman once gave me a five minute dressing down because the price of chickens had increased by a euro. For five minutes she called me and the company I worked for a 'load of thieving jews'. If I were a Jew I would have headbutted her.

*headbutts*

With my Jew horns, that's gonna seriously hurt ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Theres one bint that works in a service station in drogheda, and i swear to god shes the snappiest b!tch in all of ireland, she nearly takes the hand off you when you hand her a fuel card. Feel like slapping her every single time i see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

a certain bar owner from the beaumont area of dublin, a right thundercunt

And a certain blonde bar lady in Grogans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭needadvi

an arse like two refuse bags filled with chicken gizzards. She was a classic crank.

What is the relevance in describing her ass and eh why were you glancing at her bum in the first place? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Destroyer666

Was in my local petrol station in the Galway area before work one morning. Twas about 7ish and the morning papers had only arrived, anyway was up paying for my coffee and The Star and there was around two or three people in front of me paying for petrol etc. From the entrance of the shop came a womans voice more annoying than Joan Burton's, bellowing will someone untie The Independents, I need an Independent. The foreign guy behind the till who I know well kindly pointed out to her that there was a queue and he'd be with her asap but she still continued ranting away how she runs a buisiness and customer feed back is what makes her so succesfull blah blah. She left without her paper but really some people just fancy themselves over everyone else and think nothing of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

who else is feelin the love from the most unhappy woman in offaly -- the ticket selling lady in tullamore train station...

oh boy, she defines crank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I used to wrap bales for really ignorant grumpy farmers. One lad wanted me to manoeuvre the wrapper so that the completed bale landed in such a way as so he could leave them there for the winter. Quite difficult on uneven ground, enclosed space and mis-shaped bales.

"I want these close to the ditch now" So i put them close to the ditch, then he cursed me out of it for putting them too close to the ditch and how the rats would eat them so he spiked them and I wrapped them again then he complained how expensive plastic and how I was costing him money. Then it started to rain, which was obviously my fault so he wanted to stop the work but refused to use his phone to ring my boss and then rang off my phone to rant to my boss about the rain and how "this wasnt good enough", using my credit all the while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

wild_cat wrote: »
    I bet I can guess what age group she was in.

For some reason there's a certain age that a woman reaches that makes her want to upset anyone that works in retail.

Maybe they're just pissed off as the weight of specious generalisation becomes heavier and heavier upon them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Was in my local petrol station in the Galway area before work one morning. Twas about 7ish and the morning papers had only arrived, anyway was up paying for my coffee and The Star and there was around two or three people in front of me paying for petrol etc. From the entrance of the shop came a womans voice more annoying than Joan Burton's, bellowing will someone untie The Independents, I need an Independent. The foreign guy behind the till who I know well kindly pointed out to her that there was a queue and he'd be with her asap but she still continued ranting away how she runs a buisiness and customer feed back is what makes her so succesfull blah blah. She left without her paper but really some people just fancy themselves over everyone else and think nothing of it.

Couldn't have been that successful of a business if she reads the Indo! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Amen! Been 8 years since I studied there, but it would seem that nothing has changed. Almost like they knew they couldn't be fired or something.

That's Deggsie's gaff innit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

every barman in every pub on baggot street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Was waiting for a bus on George's St one day when this young homeless girl came staggering by. I've seen her in that area a few times and she's always drunk night and day. Anyway she comes over near to where I'm standing with a can of Guinness in her hand. She sits down in a shop doorway and starts trying to pop open the can. She's so arseholed that eventually the ring falls off with the can still closed. Then she starts poking it with her finger for a few minutes but that's not working either. So eventually she just roars '**** it' turns the can upside down and slams it off the pavement. She lost about three quarters of it. It goes all over the ground and all over her. She just sits there covered in Guinness and drinks the remainder of the can before staggering off in search of more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

needadvi wrote: »
    What is the relevance in describing her ass and eh why were you glancing at her bum in the first place? :eek:

Very relevant maam

The poster obviously concluded what most people would, who know these things.

Fat saggy arse, like a roofers toolbag, bleached hair == trouble.

Lad was right wasn't he?