Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HP Touchpad Thread (NO Discussion Of Personal Buying/Selling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

I bet all of the Argos stock goes to the Fleahbay outlet.

So when do we Riot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mattie B

Argos'ers, can you please state whether your reservation was on existing stock, ready for collection immediately (albeit at full price..) or based on a future delivery?

It appears that the future delivery reservations are being dropped, but want to confirm. Thanks.

I got mine in argos this morning was reserved on monday yes it was exsisting stock in store at full price got the 32gb for 145 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭GinjaNinja

so are argos honuring the reservations? yes/no, i'm a binary man

I have a reservation

Reserved
    will be available to collect from:
    Friday August 26th to Tuesday August 30th 2011

what are the chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Mattie B wrote: »
    I got mine in argos this morning was reserved on monday yes it was exsisting stock in store at full price got the 32gb for 145 euro

Looks like you are the only one who have got one from Argos anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭j4vier

did they text u to say it was available for collection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Gallus

ooter wrote: »
    fair enough,hope ye get sorted kenny.
    Argos'ers, can you please state whether your reservation was on existing stock, ready for collection immediately (albeit at full price..) or based on a future delivery?

It appears that the future delivery reservations are being dropped, but want to confirm. Thanks.

My reservation said that it was ready for collection and would be held till close of business on the 24/08/11 today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mattie B

j4vier wrote: »
    did they text u to say it was available for collection?

No when i reserved it on monday it was instock and was available for collection just waited till the price was dropped to collect it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭podge3

Not looking good :mad:

I have a reservation from a few days back. It was not in stock at the time but was due in today. As the store is a 60 mile round trip, I just rang to check it had arrived.

And no, it hadn't arrived. I was advised to ring back later today as "there is a problem with that item".

Just when I thought Argos might save the day.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

Gallus wrote: »
    My reservation said that it was ready for collection and would be held till close of business on the 24/08/11 today.

I'd speak to the manager like the argos helper said, sounds fishy to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,785 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

i wonder will all this stock promised for argos end up with amazon/fnac/bestbuy who have a guaranteed line up of buyers ready?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭formatman

Which Argos store Mattie B ?

Have a code for Argos Tallaght , but cant get through on the phone to check if there is one there for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 PeterGos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

paddyp wrote: »

I agree, something up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭darirl

paddyp wrote: »

I spoke to what I believe was the manager he said they had been sent back to HP...seemed a bit strange as the previous staff member had shown me the screen and said "<Managers Name> had them now" when I looked at the screen there was about 5/6 touchpads and two names listed down beside them..I said it to the manager that it looks like he got one himself and that was when he said they had been sent to back to HP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Stop asking if they are in the store,IT must now be clear to see even if they are in the store and you are not there now someone else is buying yours as Argos have canceled all our orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭wingnut

darirl wrote: »
    I spoke to what I believe was the manager he said they had been sent back to HP...seemed a bit strange as the previous staff member had shown me the screen and said "<Managers Name> had them now" when I looked at the screen there was about 5/6 touchpads and two names listed down beside them..I said it to the manager that it looks like he got one himself and that was when he said they had been sent to back to HP.

Very suspect. Can you over his head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

Horses4ite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,604 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I rang Sligo about a half hour ago.. and was told there's none in stock, and none in the warehouse, but possibly in a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭DMG_49

galait wrote: »
    Was just in Argos Athlone , The Manager spent 5 mins checking every store in Ireland North & South and Warehouse and it was a big 0 everywhere, I was looking at the screen and it was clear there are none available , Even the warehouses in the UK are empty

Went down to Argos in Letterkenny at 9 this morning, no luck out of stock everywhere when the manager checked.

He said they wont be getting it at that price as it was some kind of error, Tried telling him it wasn't an error. Don't think they got any in by the way he was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

Just off the phone with Argos Sligo. Have a reservation which is due in Friday and the lady who works there said the reservation is still good and it should be available friday as they have heard nothing to the contrary. she said whe would ring me if this changes so fingers crossed till friday then!

I'll be heading back in later to have a word..but I reckon Id have a better chance of buying one off him than Argos itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Perhaps this is a stupid question but is there a protective sticker on the screen. My screen is covered in smudges as if there is but when I try to peel at the corners it feels like I'm attempting to remove a part of the screen.

Has anyone found any cheap covers for sale?

Btw it doesn't play a lot of video formats out of the box you'll need to buy an app called Kalemsoft media player to play .avi files. I paid €7 for it through the devices store but it seems like you can buy it directly from their site for $6 http://www.kalemsoft.com/site/purchase.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭bifl

I made a reservation when there was stock available last night. With that I got a reservation number.

Just off the phone from my Argos shop and they confirmed that it is there in stock for me. As there is a reservation against this unit it has been taken off the system for general stock.

Here's hoping it's still there when I get there....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

If that's true then

ಠ_ಠ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭clevtrev

Never one to gloat but the missus just picked up a 32gb pad for me in Argos Dundrum - I reserved it last night and sales assistant said we wuz very loooky indeed as it was the last one in stock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

fair play to you for keeping your cool , When you knew that the manager was keeping them. I would of exploded in store and demanded he put me on to his area manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ye a few people's reservations finished last night so their stock probably came back on for a few lucky people last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭crazyderk

Just spoke to Argos in Nutgrove who said he checked all stores and they seem to be all gone!

Little Pea wrote: »
    fair play to you for keeping your cool , When you knew that the manager was keeping them. I would of exploded in store and demanded he put me on to his area manager.

Well thats the thing, I dont know for sure, Im only putting the small bit of info together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

crazyderk wrote: »
    Just spoke to Argos in Nutgrove who said he checked all stores and they seem to be all gone!

Could have saved you the phone call...