Gay couple kicked out of bar for kissing on the dancefloor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

right i am a married man. i dont eat the face of my wife or indulge in big pda's despite the fact that i love my wife. why well its simple really pda's are not for the couples benifit they are for the publics benifit. so if some of the public maybe offended should they be stopped are was the act simply to offend the public.if they had taken their tools out and started give each other a handjob would you throw them out then where do you draw the line

Young[er] people in a bar traditionally do kiss, its a common activity. If it was any mix of genders at a kids matinee or during the day at a family restaurant then perhaps it would be acceptable to ask them to stop kissing. In a pub, straight couples are often allowed kiss, if a gay couple is merely kissing, then they too should be afforded the same respect a straight couple would have.

The line can be drawn wherever it is for straight couples, although IMHO that would and should prohibit public sexual activities such as you suggest. A PDA such as a kiss, hug or cuddle, or holding hands, would be reasonable.

its a bit **** you cant stop pda's by gays. you cant ban travellers so basically if you own a bar you have to cater for the minority while you watch your customers dissappear and your buisness go down the swanny

I dont know if your trying to insult travellers or gay people or both or neither.... I dont know if this point is worth exploring for fear of raising even more prejudicial and discriminatory points.

Your point re it being awful not being able to ban gay PDAs negates your point about you and your wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

are people afraid to admit that if they were out drinking that they woudnt want to see two men kissing.because i definetly wouldnt.
    Diddums.

I don't particularly like the sight of men kissing either, as I would not find fat or ugly people meeting each other particularly aesthetically pleasing.

I suck it up and get over it as you should too, you child.

Also,. what sort of square nightclubs/Christian Youth Meets are you all going to where you'd get kicked out for getting a wear??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

its a bit **** you cant stop pda's by gays. you cant ban travellers so basically if you own a bar you have to cater for the minority while you watch your customers dissappear and your buisness go down the swanny

I can see where you are coming from.

I imagine they were dancing outrageously and flaunting their sexuality.
    Good for them, but realistically, society has not 'progressed' enough for it to be generally accepted. I can see how seeing men dance and kiss could be quite off putting to some and especially to a Pub owner who doesn't want the place becoming known as a Gay Club.
    Pehaps they were trying to make a public point of the fact they are gay to their fellow college goers. Maybe they just couldn't control themselves even after being warned.

Realistically, this would not happen or be allowed to happen in most Pubs.

Surely the Landlord or Pub owner should have some say regarding House Rules?

If they want to get off with each other should they not just go to a Gay Bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

lastlaugh wrote: »

Bit of a silly point there, read up about licensing laws then come back to the thread.

For homework i want you to write an essay on the cause and effect nature of posting dumb **** on the internet and feeling shame after you masturbate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Or down the back of the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

I can see where you are coming from.

I imagine they were dancing outrageously and flaunting their sexuality.
    Good for them, but realistically, society has not 'progressed' enough for it to be generally accepted. I can see how seeing men dance and kiss could be quite off putting to some and especially to a Pub owner who doesn't want the place becoming known as a Gay Club.
    Pehaps they were trying to make a public point of the fact they are gay to their fellow college goers. Maybe they just couldn't control themselves even after being warned.

Realistically, this would not happen or be allowed to happen in most Pubs.

Great that you witnessed this and knew what they were at.

Interesting that you feel one should be able to ban people for dancing outrageously?

So just because society doesnt accept it it should not be allowed? In the US abolition of slavery wasnt exactly popular... Nor was allowing mixed race marriage - but equality demanded it.

The local district court could have something to say regarding house rules if any pub decides to discriminate against people on the grounds of age/gender/sexual orientation/ethnic origin / religion etc. Maybe you feel they should have stimulation tests at the door to ensure none of the gheys get in?

Great to see the old "keep the gays hidden" brigade is still alive and well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've seen straight people get kicked out of bars for eating the faces of each other. Is it not a rule in loads of nightclubs that there's to be no kissing on the dance-floor?

If it was people wouldnt go to nightclubs, Coppers would close down :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Shure we all know what lads are like given half the chance after a few jars, and there were two of them!!

Underpants over eyes, Scooby Dooooo how are youuuuu!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Nevore wrote: »
    I don't give a fúck about the gays or the pub but the use of the acronym "PDA" is disgusting. It's right up there with "other half"...
    That is all. :mad:

I don't mind it, seeing it always reminds me of this:

CHOOOOOON! :D

There's a place you could go that would suit your views just fine, the 1950's perhaps.

Worried you might catch the gay off someone if you see two men kissing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I don't mind it, seeing it always reminds me of this:

CHOOOOOON! :D
    Hmm, nice tune. But still! :mad:

unless you were one of the couple then you dont know what their intentions were while kissing

same as a straight couple, get the shift then home and ride each other senseless probably

Bit of a silly point there, read up about licensing laws then come back to the thread..

I really couldn't be arsed reading up on licensing laws, but I'll stay in the thread thanks Boss.
    The place wasn't a Gay Bar. End of.
    If they want to get off with each other, go to a Gay Bar.

Regarding your 'silly point', wasn't as silly as your below post doncha think? ;)
    No ****, you're married, you haven't seen a vagina since your honeymoon.
    For homework i want you to write an essay on the cause and effect nature of posting dumb **** on the internet and feeling shame after you masturbate.

Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Have to laugh at people being put of by same sex kissers, I don't particularly like seeing a guy and girl ate the face off each other in a dark corner of a nightclub either!

Same thing happened at home only nobody batted an eye lid, I only heard about it because the local lads were having a laugh about it. Oh the scandal of two guys being in love in a small town... :rolleyes:

Presumably its just a kiss, I don't get what the fuss was about. If everyone kissing on the dancefloor was being thrown out, fair enough but then pubs wouldn't get much business if they did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

lst wrote: »

You've just given me my first million quid idea.

Ladies and Gentlemen, step right up to be among the first to possess my new invention, the Gay Cosy. It's like a Tea Cosy, or one of those things mental old ladies used to put over the toilet roll - a kind of giant woolly hat that can fit two people and their roving elbows, as they shift the faces off each other.

Everybody will know what's happening under the cosy, obviously, but at least they can pretend otherwise. Everybody wins, and aul wans will finally have something to knit again.

This recession won't know what hit it, I swear to God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Just thought, we can do them in Aran wool too, for the tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

right i am a married man. i dont eat the face of my wife or indulge in big pda's despite the fact that i love my wife. why well its simple really pda's are not for the couples benifit they are for the publics benifit. so if some of the public maybe offended should they be stopped are was the act simply to offend the public.if they had taken their tools out and started give each other a handjob would you throw them out then where do you draw the line

Just because when you kiss someone it always leads to you giving them a handjob, doesn't mean everyone else does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

I'm very surprised at the amount of people who think a straight couple would be booted from a bar for kissing, have you ever seen any get kicked out for this in a pub or club? Cause i certainly havn't.
    In fact if the pub is in any way busy then I pretty much always see people kissing.
    Maybe in a remote rural pub where the majority of people would be 50 and up it could cause a stir but that's about really.
    The bouncer was obviously a homophobe unless he thought it would cause the other people in the club to get aggressive with the two lads which is possible i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

OT but no venue Ive ever had an involvement with (And theres many) has EVER driven a casualty to hospital, so thats no excuse. EVER! And over the course of about 6 years Iv had dozens of clubs, and hundreds of hospitalizations stemming from nightclubs.

Maybe you should drink less, that can't be good for your health! :pac:

Great that you witnessed this and knew what they were at.
    It is pure speculation on my behalf, can you enlighten me as to 'what they were at'?
    Interesting that you feel one should be able to ban people for dancing outrageously?
    You are of course misquoting me and trying to make me out as some kind of gay hater type. I was saying they were probably dancing outrageously and flaunting their sexuality, and I can see how this would become an unwanted specticle and potentially 'bad for publicity'. I also commented earlier that I believe society has not 'progressed' enough to view this as acceptable. That's just the way it is for now.
    The local district court could have something to say regarding house rules if any pub decides to discriminate against people on the grounds of age/gender/sexual orientation/ethnic origin / religion etc. Maybe you feel they should have stimulation tests at the door to ensure none of the gheys get in?

Sounds interesting.

I really couldn't be arsed reading up on licensing laws, but I'll stay in the thread thanks Boss.
    The place wasn't a Gay Bar. End of.
    If they want to get off with each other, go to a Gay Bar.

No real point in having this discussion with someone who expresses ignorance of licensing laws and then refuses to check them out. You appear to be having legitmate issues in distinguishing between personal preference and enforceable law that does not transgress established anti-discrimination policy so, as the blind man said to the screwdriver, there's **** all i can do with you.

I can tell by your use of "end of" that you are both a reasoned and logical individual, so clearly the original impression i had that you are a cretin is incorrect. (In some universe maybe).

Regarding your 'silly point', wasn't as silly as your below post doncha think? ;)

Hmmm.

Clearly, i don't think so. Once again, your illustrious failure to understand what is really happening is most disheartening. Also, only ghey's use smiley faces there Penfold.

No real point in having this discussion with someone who expresses ignorance of licensing laws and then refuses to check them out. You appear to be having legitmate issues in distinguishing between personal preference and enforceable law that does not transgress established anti-discrimination policy so, as the blind man said to the screwdriver, there's **** all i can do with you.

I can tell by your use of "end of" that you are both a reasoned and logical individual, so clearly the original impression i had that you are a cretin is incorrect. (In some universe maybe).

Clearly, i don't think so. Once again, your illustrious failure to understand what is really happening is most disheartening. Also, only ghey's use smiley faces there Penfold.

No need to get so nasty.

Is there a particular post I added that has offended you in some way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Can I point something else out:
    The dancefloor is for dancing on. It's very possible that any couple would be asked to stop or get off the dancefloor if they were scoring, for the same reason as they'd be asked to get off it if they had a drink in their hand. It's dangerous for themselves and others on a dancefloor is everyone is jumping around and one couple are standing still on it. The potential for someone to inadvertently get bashed is huge, and when that happens, a proper drunken fight could develop.

Most clubs will ask you to get off the dancefloor if you stop to text or something like that, it's usually "either dance or go to another part of the room"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

have to laugh at all the people giving out about the 'bouncers'. if the two lads happened to be set upon the same people would be complaining that they should have done something to prevent it!! i bet not one of ye has ever worked as security in a pub/club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

The dancefloor is for dancing on. It's very possible that any couple would be asked to stop or get off the dancefloor if they were scoring, for the same reason as they'd be asked to get off it if they had a drink in their hand. It's dangerous for themselves and others on a dancefloor is everyone is jumping around and one couple are standing still on it. The potential for someone to inadvertently get bashed is huge, and when that happens, a proper drunken fight could develop.

Most clubs will ask you to get off the dancefloor if you stop to text or something like that, it's usually "either dance or go to another part of the room"

Never been asked to get off the dance floor for any of those things or seen anyone who has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I've never ever seen a straight couple to get off the dance floor just for kissing.
    I have in my time asked people to get off the dance floor if they are blatantly very drunk, aggressive, not dancing or getting extremely sexual.
    sean1141 have to laugh at all the people giving out about the 'bouncers'. if the two lads happened to be set upon the same people would be complaining that they should have done something to prevent it!! i bet not one of ye has ever worked as security in a pub/club.

I do work as a doorman, and security jobs. So do my cousin and uncle.

u mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

TheZohan wrote: »
    Enjoy your strawman.

Calling something a strawman doesn't make it so. I'm at a loss as to where the analogy breaks down or where I misrepresent what you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Most clubs will ask you to get off the dancefloor if you stop to text or something like that.

No they don't.