Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Greentopia wrote: »
    But that's assuming everyone with a tattoo gets one just to show off or make some kind of statement about themselves. That's not the case. I know a few people who got them done simply because they liked the design.

And none of them are boring I can assure you.

Obviously if you're boring or dull without a tattoo you're going to be the same person with one. Tattoos don't transform people's personalities.

Of course they dont transform their personalities. But they highlight their insecurities

I say this realising that its only true in 99% of cases

People get discrete tattoos or ones that mean something to them personally and they dont give a ****e what people think. But they are the tiny minority

I always liked the way that Irish people didnt have tattoos and the English did. Before Monoculture look at me cool celtic tat knackers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Would I get a tattoo on my neck?

No. Although I love tattoos and have a few I would not get one on my neck. It's way too visible and it would severely limit my employment opportunities. If it won't effect your future employment, don't mind it being on show all the time and answering the stupid questions like 'did it hurt?' then by all means go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

D1stant wrote: »
    Please explain why.

i have a tattoo. few people know, and even less care. its for me and noone else. i dont show it off, and you couldnt even see it unless i showed you where to look.

explained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭Heckler

deathrider wrote: »
    If you truely think that the reason people get tattoos is to make themselves interesting in the eyes of others, you're very much mistaken.

Amen to this. I have just one tattoo. High up around my shoulder. Got it done for noone but myself. Not even my family know i have it. Only my wife knows it's there. I didn't get it to show it it off. It took me a good four years of thought before i got it done and I have never regretted it for a moment. That was 5 years ago. Looking into getting another on my inside upper arm (where its not easily seen) and am happy to wait another four years before the right design takes me.

Not everyone with a tattoo is an attention seeking idiot. Worst reason in the world to get one is to just show off and say "hey look at me and my tattoo".

Invariably they are the really ****ty tattoos. Never seen a good neck tat unless its on someone with loads already. They can get away with it but if its a dolphin or some **** on someone with no other ones then it looks crap.

Then again each to their own. Live and let live.

Would never get a tat that was visible in a tee-shirt and shorts but thats only me.

Of course they dont transform their personalities. But they highlight their insecurities

People get discrete tattoos or ones that mean something to them personally and they dont give a ****e what people think. But they are the tiny minority

I always liked the way that Irish people didnt have tattoos and the English did. Before Monoculture look at me cool celtic tat knackers

Sorry now but thats total rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

We all have insecurities of course but I don't see any of my friends getting tattoos to cover up any.
    Lots of people-obviously far more than 1%, get them done simply because they like the design or because it has some personal meaning to them-child's name or a memorial for example. Nothing to do with insecurities.

Where's your evidence for this? how do you know they're a 'tiny minority'?

I'm saving for a tattoo. It won't be discrete as I want a large tattoo (tiny ones look crap mostly) and I'm self-employed so I can get it wherever I want and don't care anyway what people think of how I look. The one I get will be because I simply like the design not because it'll have any great meaning to me or because I'm looking for attention.
    I love art and design and to me tattoos done well are just another form of artistic self expression.

So what am I, insecure or not? part of the 1% or the 99% :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I hate tattoos with names on them, be it your own or your childs. It generally looks **** and cheap and its not like your gonna forget you have kids or your own name.

I know a few people who have their kids names tattooed on them and while I don't think it looks good and it wouldn't be for me so be it. These are really great people and great parents and not the scumbags that some posters seem to think that anyone with a tattoo is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

i suspect i am the most heavily tattooed woman on boards. i could be wrong, but i'd be surprised

and i'll fight your various fathers, particularly the ones without tattoos. nancy-boys, the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

In the 80's teenagers used to wear badges of their favousite band on their clothes / schololbags. It was basic insecurity - 'look at me I like Morrissey therefore Im intelligent and maybe a little flaky' etc

Tattoos are no different. You either have a personality or you dont. If you feel the need to adorn yourself to interest other people - you ARE boring.

lol. Are you really accusing people of being insecure when you make posts like that? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Sonics2k wrote: »
    You should look up some of the work by artists like Kat von Dee [...] some beautiful work.

Gallery.

I don't get the appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭policarp

I'd rather have a tattoo than a Jedward hairstyle. . .
    Or a beer belly for that matter. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I've a tattoo and my neck and barely anybody notices it, even people who know about it forget about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

policarp wrote: »
    I'd rather have a tattoo than a Jedward hairstyle. . .
    Or a beer belly for that matter. . .

:eek: Are there places where you can swap a beer belly for a tattoo?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Caireann wrote: »
    Imagine when your old and saggy and the tattoos not on your neck but on the floor. :rolleyes:

:confused: maybe if you're a miniature midget :rolleyes:

nah i depends on the hotness of the person, bloke in the gym with one, its seriously HOT :P

[QUOTE=bodice ripper;73946478]i suspect i am the most heavily tattooed woman on boards. i could be wrong, but i'd be surprised

and i'll fight your various fathers, particularly the ones without tattoos. nancy-boys, the lot of them.[/QUOTE]

:D 5 on my last count, wouldnt rule out a 6th
    I'll help ye out with the nancy-boy thing *smackdown* :)

*theres a few eeejits on this thread i wouldnt mind smackin upside the head

Sticjones wrote: »
    Tattoos on women = 100% skanger.

It's a great warning sign.
    Tandey wrote: »
    So you view women like Georgia Salpa and Megan Fox as skangers? right.......:rolleyes:

Maybe Mary Harney is your type of woman:pac:

:D judging by the post, with that depth of character she may well be the only one he'd have a chance with :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Don't have one, will never get one. Don't like them at all.

Art = sculpture, architecture, canvas etc.

Tattoos = Graffiti

Just my opinion. I like my skin to be as it was intended, clean, pale and free of ink injections.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Nope cant say that i do, looks like the male equivilant of the tramp stamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

tattos are for pussys ,
    amputations is where its at .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I have two tattoos and I love both of them. Like most things at the end of the day whether they are attractive or not is subjective. I love some tattoos on some people, don't like them on others.

But if someone was to make a snap judgment about me based on my tattoos and automatically assume I'm cheap and tacky because of having them, well they wouldn't be my kind of people, and most certainly not worth my time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I like tattoos in general, but i just can't see what this trend of getting your initials on your neck is all about. But, it's not like its hurting anyone so each to their own i suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Don't have one, will never get one. Don't like them at all.

Art = sculpture, architecture, canvas etc.

Tattoos = Graffiti

Just my opinion. I like my skin to be as it was intended, clean, pale and free of ink injections.:p

But you do know that some Graffiti constitutes art ergo tattoos are a form of art. Granted, people can get crap tattoos but it doesn't take away from the fact that there are bloody brilliant tattoos out there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Corkfeen wrote: »
    But you do know that some Graffiti constitutes art ergo tattoos are a form of art. Granted, people can get crap tattoos but it doesn't take away from the fact that there are bloody brilliant tattoos out there..

IMO graffiti is something that is written/drawn in a place where it shouldn't be - ie the body.

I never said that some tattoos aren't good art. I just disagree with skin as canvas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

GF has one on the back of her neck that I forget is there half the time cause her hair covers it up.

I think they can be classic and some can be awful. The canvess there done has a lot to be said for the over all result.

Definitly think ones done just to have one are not the way to go. A mate has his nick name tattoo'd across his back?????

I ll be biting the bullet soon and getting a massive leather armour slieve with loads of personal symobols incoportated. I ll cover it up when the situation warrents it but other than its there to be displayed too.

Irregradless, the tattoo is for me! not some whingey prissy yoke down the street that sees any tatto as ugly just because!

Live now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Jayob10 wrote: »
    i'd never judge someone on their appearance (what god gave them)

Its perfectly fair to judge someone for getting something idiot permanently marked onto their body that they may see as fashionable at a particular moment in time.

People who flaunt silly tattoo's are open to comment though, they are seeking attention is essence. I doubt theres anyone with a tattoo who hasn't either shown it off, or bullsh*tted on about what it stands for.

There will come a time where it will be "cool" to NOT have any body ink. It seems more people have tattoo's then those who don't.

Yeah I totally agree. Thats why I have no overweight friends as well.
    Lazy, smelly, uneducated lumps of giggly fat, the neck of them flaunting it in public.
    Gingers as well, nothing but bogball playing culchies, I cross the road as soon as I see these types.... haven't they heard of hair dye??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Jayob10 wrote: »
    i'd never judge someone on their appearance (what god gave them)

Its perfectly fair to judge someone for getting something idiot permanently marked onto their body that they may see as fashionable at a particular moment in time.

People who flaunt silly tattoo's are open to comment though, they are seeking attention is essence. I doubt theres anyone with a tattoo who hasn't either shown it off, or bullsh*tted on about what it stands for.

There will come a time where it will be "cool" to NOT have any body ink. It seems more people have tattoo's then those who don't.

I have 2 tattoos, so far. I have never shown them off and therefore have never had the need to bullshít on, as you put it, about what they stand for. There are people that know me, and probably don't even know I have them. I can hide them easily. Bit surprised at some of the shallow attitudes to tatts on this thread, tbh. I'm not tacky or a skanger:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I have nothing against tatoos but don't find them very nice.

People can argue about art all they want, but grafitti is art to one person and vandalism to another.

Don't understand why people find the permanency of them nice. Would hate to have the same image on my arms for the rest of my life.

Also not very nice on most Irish people due to our skin colour and freckles.

Have to say though in my experience though only rough c**ts get them on their neck, especially those web ones on the side and throat, absolutely awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

what insecurities ?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

I think tattoos are ALL cheap and tacky, i have yet to see one I liked. I have never seen a classy person with a tattoo. In fact I could never go out with someone that had one, not only would I be unattracted to them physically. I think it says something about the kind of person they are i.e. unsophisticated and a bit dumb.