Oileán na Marbh

• 22-08-2011 08:15AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

Has anybody read this in this morning's Irish Times?

It was very poignantly written, but it highlights yet another aspect of the unchristian nature of what passed as the principal Christian church in Ireland. Oileán na Marbh is an island off Donegal where a mind-numbing 500 babies are buried. These babies were refused a Christian burial and their parents denied the respect and consideration which their very real suffering deserved. There is a soul-destroying 1200 additional known burial sites for stillborn and unbaptised babies across Ireland. The savagery, abject coldness and sheer inhumanity of the way these parents were treated by a supposedly compassionate and loving Church is staggering.

Oileán na Marbh

OILEÁN NA Marbh in Co Donegal tells us much about ourselves and about a society that allowed religion to dictate in the intimate sphere, that suppressed rather than enhanced, that categorised levels of spiritual worthiness and sniffed at those outside the orthodox strait-jacket. Times past, no doubt, but the remnants still linger in the failure of some churchmen to fully take on board the sexual cruelties that were visited on many vulnerable children.

Few will feel proud of a theology that demanded stillborn and unbaptised babies should be laid to rest outside of consecrated ground. Even the coldest heart will feel for women around Ireland who were enjoined to grieve silently as their babies were taken away at night for burial beside a cemetery wall, or for the disconsolate father who had to walk across to Oileán na Marbh at low tide to lay his child to rest.

Séamus Peter Boyle, a founding campaigner to have a plaque erected in honour of the island’s dead, expressed it poignantly. They had all watched the mothers and fathers on the beaches and the pier over the years, some going to the island alone and “we knew but it was never really spoken about”. The 200 people who gathered on this rocky Carrickfinn island last week were there to speak about it, and to honour the 500 babies interred on the island between the Great Famine and 1912 and the immeasurable suffering of their parents. They were there not only on behalf of the island’s dead, but also in a sense for those buried in more than 1,200 known burial sites around the country. They were there to demonstrate that, as Mr Boyle said, “things have changed”.

There is now more sensitivity in how we deal with death generally. Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin has been responding to issues raised by parents about the Angels areas. A Little Lifetime Foundation has continued to comfort, inform and support many couples who have endured stillbirth and neonatal deaths. The Irish Hospice Foundation, through the Forum on End of Life, its Hospice Friendly Hospitals Programme and the Final Journeys project, has brought a professional and compassionate focus to end-of-life issues. The funeral business is tailoring its sometimes costly services to meet changing needs, among them the increasing desire for non-religious funerals, cremation, and a reduction in removals. The regulation of this sector is vital and could be organised at little cost. Like the Oileán na Marbh commemoration, it would enhance the Irish way of doing death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

dionysus wrote:
    stillborn babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

<SNIP>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

<SNIP>
    If you think thats funny, you have a sick fücking mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Everything the Catholic Church touches is tainted. They display no Christianity or humanity. I cannot see what purpose they serve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

<SNIP>
    I assume you find that funny but really it's just nasty, ignorant and insensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Dionysus wrote: »
    Oileán na Marbh is an island off Donegal where a mind-numbing 500 babies are buried. These babies were refused a Christian burial and their parents denied the respect and consideration which their very real suffering deserved.
    How many thousand end up in the buckets of back street clinics every year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Everything the Catholic Church touches is tainted. They display no Christianity or humanity. I cannot see what purpose they serve.

Certainly not the man who's message they claim to represent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

How many thousand end up in the buckets of back street clinics every year?

There's a big difference between wanted full term babies and unwanted zygotes.

Depending on your belief system anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

There's something unsettling about how easily and completely "the church" (however you want to define it) is given 100% of the blame for these things that happened in all our shared past.

I agree they had a lot of power they could have used to change these situations - but if what many commentators are right and that the church was society and society was the church....isn't it just a little bit slippery of all of us to say that only the fellas wearing the collars were responsible for this. Anyway - where did the fellas in collars come from except out of our own families?

It was a sick society - and it didn't stop at the church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

There's a load of these graveyards scattered all over the country I think, there's certainly one in Moycullen in Galway, although nobody likes to talk about it much. Nasty business.

As usual, my response is to seize church properties and assets in the state as penalty for their grievous and ongoing crimes against the people and children of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And still the zombies line up to have their kids put into this organisation and to get married in it...... :rolleyes:

There's something unsettling about how easily and completely "the church" (however you want to define it) is given 100% of the blame for these things that happened in all our shared past.

I agree they had a lot of power they could have used to change these situations - but if what many commentators are right and that the church was society and society was the church....isn't it just a little bit slippery of all of us to say that only the fellas wearing the collars were responsible for this. Anyway - where did the fellas in collars come from except out of our own families?

It was a sick society - and it didn't stop at the church.

It was but no man of god could have been wrong back then....

I presume when your child went into the priest hood it was seen as a direct calling from god.

So I presume what "god" channelled through these people went as law and no one was going to question that.

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    There's a load of these graveyards scattered all over the country I think, there's certainly one in Moycullen in Galway, although nobody likes to talk about it much. Nasty business.

My grand aunt buried twins in a very old family grave in a disused grave yard. They had to do it in the middle of the night.

I'd say that happened quite a lot and due to everything being so closed years ago I doubt whole families know they have siblings or relatives randomly buried in family graves.

wild_cat wrote: »
    It was but no man of god could have been wrong back then....

I presume when your child went into the priest hood it was seen as a direct calling from god.

So I presume what "god" channelled through these people went as law and no one was going to question that.

But then isn't it all (I mean Irish society at that time...many of us weren't born then) of our faults for buying into that attitude. Were judges unaware of the brutal nature of some places they were sending kids to? Did the doctors who patched up kids from orphanages who had "fallen down stairs" really believe it after the first hundred times?

I guess what I'm saying is.....the type of church that many despise now didn't take over this country by force. They were handed it on a plate and asked to do our dirty work.

But then isn't it all (I mean Irish society at that time...many of us weren't born then) of our faults
    No, it's not. The idea originated with the church and was perpetuated by the church. It's the fault of the church. The people digging the graves weren't bishops but the guards at Auschwitz weren't generals either. They didn't do what they did because they were German, they did it because someone told them to.
    I guess what I'm saying is.....the type of church that many despise now didn't take over this country by force. They were handed it on a plate and asked to do our dirty work.
    The church swooped in on a post colonial state after a particularly brutal few centuries of occupation by a country who viewed the inhabitants as little better than vermin. Ireland was worn to a frazzle, battered and exhausted. So along come the holy joes and say, hey ignore all that other stuff we did to legitimise your indiginity, we'll just buy up a load of this while its cheap, insert ourselves into state services while they are reeling, and yoink, we can play this place like a violin from hell, and we'd know about that.

As for being asked to do our dirty work, have you one iota of evidence to support your accusation about the treatment of stillborn children in pre-Christian Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

An absolute travesty, these women who's babies died before babtism were treated disgracefully, and I should know, my gran was one. Wasn't even allowed to keep the body, it was buried in an unmarked location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We should dig up the remains of a few bishops and catapult them into the sea.

Just for the craic

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'd read about that island earlier this year. A fascinating piece of social history, but very, very sad to think too much about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Were judges unaware of the brutal nature of some places they were sending kids to? Did the doctors who patched up kids from orphanages who had "fallen down stairs" really believe it after the first hundred times?

I imagine some judges were just ignorant, others may have felt that the brutal treatment would do the kids some good. Poverty was considered unseemly, sinful by many in our society, for a long, long time. Times have changed immensely with regard to the treatment of children (thanks be to fúck).

In my lifetime it has gone from being acceptable for a non-parent to batter a kid, to socially unacceptable for a parent to administer all but the most symbolic corporal punishment to their kids.

No, it's not. The idea originated with the church and was perpetuated by the church. It's the fault of the church. The people digging the graves weren't bishops but the guards at Auschwitz weren't generals either. They didn't do what they did because they were German, they did it because someone told them to.

So the "just following orders" defence is fine? Covers everything? Everyone can wash their hands of it - it was all the bishops/generals fault.

we'll just buy up a load of this while its cheap, insert ourselves into state services while they are reeling, and yoink, we can play this place like a violin from hell, and we'd know about that.

The RCC was delivering "state services" in Ireland long before 1921 and long before they were "state services". I don't doubt they muscled into prime position after independence (or I would say were invited in with trumpets blaring by a state desperate for credibility) but the vast health and education infrastucture developed by the RCC before independence did serve real people and was far from all bad.
    As for being asked to do our dirty work, have you one iota of evidence to support your accusation about the treatment of stillborn children in pre-Christian Ireland?

I used dirty work refering to the provision of (ridiculously inadequate) care for kids taken off parents (by the state).
    I have no evidence at all of how pre-Christian Ireland treated stillborn babies. I have no doubt in some ways they may have been more humane than we are even now. But are you saying pre-Christian ireland was a better, safer, all-round-lovelier place to raise a child than 20th century Ireland? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Has anybody read this in this morning's Irish Times?

It was very poignantly written, but it highlights yet another aspect of the unchristian nature of what passed as the principal Christian church in Ireland. Oileán na Marbh is an island off Donegal where a mind-numbing 500 babies are buried. These babies were refused a Christian burial and their parents denied the respect and consideration which their very real suffering deserved. There is a soul-destroying 1200 additional known burial sites for stillborn and unbaptised babies across Ireland. The savagery, abject coldness and sheer inhumanity of the way these parents were treated by a supposedly compassionate and loving Church is staggering.

Oileán na Marbh

OILEÁN NA Marbh in Co Donegal tells us much about ourselves and about a society that allowed religion to dictate in the intimate sphere, that suppressed rather than enhanced, that categorised levels of spiritual worthiness and sniffed at those outside the orthodox strait-jacket. Times past, no doubt, but the remnants still linger in the failure of some churchmen to fully take on board the sexual cruelties that were visited on many vulnerable children.

Few will feel proud of a theology that demanded stillborn and unbaptised babies should be laid to rest outside of consecrated ground. Even the coldest heart will feel for women around Ireland who were enjoined to grieve silently as their babies were taken away at night for burial beside a cemetery wall, or for the disconsolate father who had to walk across to Oileán na Marbh at low tide to lay his child to rest.

Séamus Peter Boyle, a founding campaigner to have a plaque erected in honour of the island’s dead, expressed it poignantly. They had all watched the mothers and fathers on the beaches and the pier over the years, some going to the island alone and “we knew but it was never really spoken about”. The 200 people who gathered on this rocky Carrickfinn island last week were there to speak about it, and to honour the 500 babies interred on the island between the Great Famine and 1912 and the immeasurable suffering of their parents. They were there not only on behalf of the island’s dead, but also in a sense for those buried in more than 1,200 known burial sites around the country. They were there to demonstrate that, as Mr Boyle said, “things have changed”.

There is now more sensitivity in how we deal with death generally. Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin has been responding to issues raised by parents about the Angels areas. A Little Lifetime Foundation has continued to comfort, inform and support many couples who have endured stillbirth and neonatal deaths. The Irish Hospice Foundation, through the Forum on End of Life, its Hospice Friendly Hospitals Programme and the Final Journeys project, has brought a professional and compassionate focus to end-of-life issues. The funeral business is tailoring its sometimes costly services to meet changing needs, among them the increasing desire for non-religious funerals, cremation, and a reduction in removals. The regulation of this sector is vital and could be organised at little cost. Like the Oileán na Marbh commemoration, it would enhance the Irish way of doing death.

I find it hard to find an instance where the catholic church has been anything but cold and uncaring towards the people of Ireland.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    An absolute travesty, these women who's babies died before babtism were treated disgracefully, and I should know, my gran was one. Wasn't even allowed to keep the body, it was buried in an unmarked location.

My uncle was buried in a paupers grave (he died at 5) the catholic church wouldnt afford him a decent burial without money. I think their an example of a negative force in this country and frankly the onus is on them to prove otherwise.

So the "just following orders" defence is fine? Covers everything? Everyone can wash their hands of it - it was all the bishops/generals fault.

The RCC was delivering "state services" in Ireland long before 1921 and long before they were "state services". I don't doubt they muscled into prime position after independence (or I would say were invited in with trumpets blaring by a state desperate for credibility) but the vast health and education infrastucture developed by the RCC before independence did serve real people and was far from all bad.

I used dirty work refering to the provision of (ridiculously inadequate) care for kids taken off parents (by the state).
    I have no evidence at all of how pre-Christian Ireland treated stillborn babies. I have no doubt in some ways they may have been more humane than we are even now. But are you saying pre-Christian ireland was a better, safer, all-round-lovelier place to raise a child than 20th century Ireland? Really?

The celts had divorce, women were afforded more rights and they didnt have this catholic guilt that a lot of people have now. They were far more advanced socially than the typical catholic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

I Heart Internet...... reference your source that medics or doctors were called to industrial schools to tend kids being raped and beaten.

knird evol wrote: »
    I Heart Internet...... reference your source that medics or doctors were called to industrial schools to tend kids being raped and beaten.

Chrisitne Buckley stated that it was the case, she also said inspectors who called to the school knew what was going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Limbo existed for centuries

Then suddenly they declared it didn't exist
    Strange :confused:

This lady is my hero by any criteria she is a saint and someone I would look to for courage and someone who could describe the nature of the catholic church in ireland. Here shes describes her trips to the hospital were she wasnt beleived about the beatings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

What do the hospitals do today with the remains of miscarried or stillbirth? Medical waste isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The savagery, abject coldness and sheer inhumanity of the way these parents were treated by a supposedly compassionate and loving Church is staggering.

In 1912 the Church wasn't running with the image of compassion and love they attempt today...they were just the Church, they represented God and we will all evil sinners on the way to hell. They were right and had the power, we were wrong and cowed by them.

Not disagreeing with your sentiment at all...just pointing out that Church have long embraced cruelty and have inflicted suffering on people for centuries.

This new touchy feely Church is a recent thing, and they even got that wrong.

The whole body of actions resulting from the teachings of the Catholic church are the responsibility of the Catholic church. Would people have buried stillborn babes in unmarked graves if it were not for the teachings of the church? So yes, the church is wholly responsible.
    The hypocrisy of the church in strongarming its way into an important position in a fragile young state after centuries of condemning those who fought for the freedom of that state, (such as the wretched Cardinal Logue, who said the government could not be faulted for punishing - executing - the 1916 leaders) is quite typical of the theocratic doublespeak representatives of the church come out with.
    I'm quite sure some of those children would have rather taken their chances anywhere else than in the loving arms of the church.
    It would certainly have been better had the church kept its grubby hands away from Ireland.

Since there aren't any time machines however, we'll have to settle for throwing them out on their ears today.