Tattoo on your neck - cheap and tacky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

most humans are yes.

what category do you fall into..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 malafela

Might as well stamp 'Cheap and Tacky' on your forehead.

Only for total successes who don't care what people think, or total losers.

Any ordinary punter who has it done ,in my opinion, is a total and unequivocal knacker.

That's the way I roll.

Most retarded statement ive ever seen!

Please tell me why anyone would want to do this?

Much rather get a nice tattoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

mattjack wrote: »
    what category do you fall into..?

Im not to clever and i will be the first to admit that... but there are a hell of a lot more that dont even reach my low level intelligence.

Im thinking of getting a tattoo of Tony Danza on my fore head... i believe this will make me successful in my futire job hunting :pac:

This proves the low level of intelligence ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

hypothetical example..

Yes. Yes, it is... :confused:
    I will concede one thing to you in your argument though...it MIGHT say something about their personality...

Whether your fat or thin, tall or small doesn't say anything about your personality.

The clothes you choose to wear, the way you wear your hair and whether or not you have Tattoo's generally can say things about your personality.

The fact that you can change hairstyles and fashion over the course of your life and not a Tattoo tells me a lot about someone who chooses to get a Tattoo particularly (getting back to the OP) a visible one like on your neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

This proves the low level of intelligence ..
    its called a joke ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

seven pages in of pure and utter crap from people that know nothing about tattoos.with only a handfull of decent repleys.

what most of what people are saying here is ,if u have a tattoo u are thug/scumbag/knacker and of low inteligence,quite amazeing repleys from people that think that there logic on tattoos is the right one thank god i have no freinds that think like that.

let me tell u a small bit about me(bearing in mind im not a scumbag/thug/knacker and all else e think) my 2 arms are done there called a sleeve in tattoo world:D also i have my neck done.now my tattoos are what ive been true in life 2 of my tattoos are of 2 children i lost:mad:from stillbirth.the other six also are of meaning to me.for me i like tattoos always did and i dont show them off as some people do i admit that.also i dont drink/smoke and spend all my time with my kids/family i teach my children to respect everyone no matter what there view is of them.the only people that have a issuse with tattoos are from people that have none if u like or want something in life u should not worry what other people think.its like boards.ie most of what people repley is s-it but it dont worry me they can talk crap all they long ill still b the person i am a decent hard working man:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Im far from shallow.

Like the other poster said it's fair enough to judge someone by how they choose to present themselves to the world.
    Why judge someone at all?
    seven pages in of pure and utter crap from people that know nothing about tattoos.with only a handfull of decent repleys.

what most of what people are saying here is ,if u have a tattoo u are thug/scumbag/knacker and of low inteligence,quite amazeing repleys from people that think that there logic on tattoos is the right one thank god i have no freinds that think like that.

let me tell u a small bit about me(bearing in mind im not a scumbag/thug/knacker and all else e think) my 2 arms are done there called a sleeve in tattoo world:D also i have my neck done.now my tattoos are what ive been true in life 2 of my tattoos are of 2 children i lost:mad:from stillbirth.the other six also are of meaning to me.for me i like tattoos always did and i dont show them off as some people do i admit that.also i dont drink/smoke and spend all my time with my kids/family i teach my children to respect everyone no matter what there view is of them.the only people that have a issuse with tattoos are from people that have none if u like or want something in life u should not worry what other people think.its like boards.ie most of what people repley is s-it but it dont worry me they can talk crap all they long ill still b the person i am a decent hard working man:)

clearly you need to learn to count ;)
    different folk different strokes, alot of people dont agree with my views and i dont agree with theirs, but anyone who says that a person is a scum bag because of tattoos needs a slap.

booboo88 wrote: »
    Why judge someone at all?

Because sometimes it's necessary and benificial to pre-judge someone based on appearance in order to avoid danger or hassle.

As i've stated before using this example:
    You step out of a building and on one side of the street you see a few dodgy looking characters (lets say junkies) coming towards you.

On the other side of the street are a few normal Joe Soaps (lets say some office workers)

Which side of the street are you going to choose to walk along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

clearly you need to learn to count ;)

his counting seems fine to me :pac:

Because sometimes it's necessary and benificial to pre-judge someone based on appearance in order to avoid danger or hassle.

As i've stated before using this example:

I wear ox blood docs ,keep my hair in a crew cut,have scars on my face and arms ..weigh bout 15 stone and am 5 ft ten(bit over weight I know).......have tattoos all over my chest,legs and arms..sorry if I scare ya....:)

Not scared, the danger I was referring to was from the hypothetical junkies.

It's just that I see a Tattoo as...
    ... a physical manifestation of some of the types of personalities that I don't generally get on with, so I will avoid them.

Not scared, the danger I was referring to was from the hypothetical junkies.

It's just that I see a Tattoo as...

good man...glad your not scared.....I,m sure I,d have no problem with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Hate the yokes - on me or a partner/prospective partner* - so no. Absolutely not.

* Possible exception of tiny discreet ones depending on the bearer, but otherwise it'd be a red-card issue

Not a fan myself.

Was gonna get one when I was younger. Fúcking delighted now I didn't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I have several tattoos myself and love them.
    I always maintain it's better to get a tattoo that has some meaning to the wearer, rather than something that looks cool.

Never understand the attraction of tattooing Chinese writing on an Irish person though.:confused:

geetar wrote: »
    his counting seems fine to me :pac:

wow, you can see seven pages too? is this like a sixth sense ye have?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

paul galvin a kerry football player has a tattoo on his arm, i think it is the blessed vergin mary,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

wow, you can see seven pages too? is this like a sixth sense ye have?:rolleyes:

nah just a pair of eyes really.

really cuz im only seeing 3 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

tattoo on neck = retard who could not see past the now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Idea for Tattoo on neck

CUT HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

really cuz im only seeing 3 ;)
    It depends on your 'posts per page' settings and i think pages are shorter on mobiles.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Everyone is entitled to their personal taste but shouldnt try to force others to adhere to it. I have a tattoo and love it. If that rules me out as a prospective partner for someone well then they werent the right guy for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Not a fan of neck tattoos. Never seen one I've liked. The majority of tattoos I see on people here wherever they get them done are crap tbh and look gack but I know that doesn't mean that all tattoos are.

It just means the standard of tattooing is not that high (with a few notable exceptions) in this country.

I'm on a U.S. website that has a tattoo forum and many of the people there have really outstanding artistic work done that looks amazing.

It's all down to the quality of the artist's work, good placement and working out a custom designed tattoo with the artist you've chosen that some thought has been put into and that you know you'll want on you for years to come.

The problem is too many people seem to open a tattoo artists book and pick the first piece of flash they like without giving it any further thought, or get the same designs everyone else have like stars, kanji, celtic bands, praying hands and so on that are usually not done with a high degree of skill anyway, so is it any wonder many people don't like tattoos if that's what they mostly see?

The quality of work of the top artists in the world bears little resemblance to the work of the local scratcher in Ballyknowfeckall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

In the 80's teenagers used to wear badges of their favousite band on their clothes / schololbags. It was basic insecurity - 'look at me I like Morrissey therefore Im intelligent and maybe a little flaky' etc

Tattoos are no different. You either have a personality or you dont. If you feel the need to adorn yourself to interest other people - you ARE boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

D1stant wrote: »
    In the 80's teenagers used to wear badges of their favousite band on their clothes / schololbags. It was basic insecurity - 'look at me I like Morrissey therefore Im intelligent and maybe a little flaky' etc

Tattoos are no different. You either have a personality or you dont. If you feel the need to adorn yourself to interest other people - you ARE boring.

If you truely think that the reason people get tattoos is to make themselves interesting in the eyes of others, you're very much mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

But that's assuming everyone with a tattoo gets one just to show off or make some kind of statement about themselves. That's not the case. I know a few people who got them done simply because they liked the design.

And none of them are boring I can assure you.

Obviously if you're boring or dull without a tattoo you're going to be the same person with one. Tattoos don't transform people's personalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

deathrider wrote: »
    If you truely think that the reason people get tattoos is to make themselves interesting in the eyes of others, you're very much mistaken.

Please explain why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

By and large, tattoo on neck = scumbag to my mind.

Don't have any myself but my other half has enough for the two of us so it's not that I've anything against tats in general, just agree with the philosophy that a business suit should be able to cover any tats one has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Please explain why.

I thought my post pretty much explained itself.
    People do not get tattoos just to show off and go "Looky here, I'm interesting because I've got a tattoo" People get them for a multitude of different reasons. Every tattoo that anyone's ever got has it's own reason for being there. I'd imagine each reason is vastly different from the last.