Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going into Maynooth 2011?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

^ The orientation and registration info are sent out at the end of August, after the LC results.
    Solus01 wrote: »
    Random question, but how strict are the pubs/clubs/SU for ID? I'll only be 17 for 1st year but still want to have a decent social life haha

I was 17 for the first semester of 1at year and I was never refused entry anywhere. They usually look for student card as ID during the week. It might be a bit dodgy on really busy nights though, or possibly in Mantra. Things may have changed since back then though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

Being 17 shouldn't be an issue most of the time, most of my friends were 17 for first year. Sometimes you might have to get people to sign you in, but your social life shouldn't be affected much at all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 ceol1991

I'm going back to 1st year didn't like my course.
    I'm going to be doing music and anth :) and psychology through arts hopefully getting into second year psychology
    I have a place in village apartments got my room number and all :)

also I LOVE music and would love to be in a band or have a mighty session or something

I sing
    I play guitar, piano,uke, bodhran,hand drums(bongo,jimbo,etc)

mad for sept now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 plug_in_baby

I'm really really excited for Sep now, hopefully i'll get my 1st or 3rd choice cause i've my heart set on Maynooth now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jenjo

Hey :) im jenny and im doing social science in september.. reg & orientation on the 12th :D soooo nervous!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jenjo

ceol1991 wrote: »
    I'm going back to 1st year didn't like my course.
    I'm going to be doing music and anth :) and psychology through arts hopefully getting into second year psychology
    I have a place in village apartments got my room number and all :)

also I LOVE music and would love to be in a band or have a mighty session or something

I sing
    I play guitar, piano,uke, bodhran,hand drums(bongo,jimbo,etc)

mad for sept now:)

heya, can i ask what course u did that u didnt like??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

I got 400 points so I shall be seeing all you lads and lassies in just a few weeks.

Arts was 375 last year, no way it will go up by 30 points.

I'm still chuffed about the A1 in Higher Level History, absolute fluke but it saved my a**.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

karaokeman wrote: »
    I got 400 points so I shall be seeing all you lads and lassies in just a few weeks.

I'm still chuffed about the A1 in Higher Level History, absolute fluke but it saved my a**.

I don't mean to be a buzz killington, but in 2005-2006 it dropped by 25 points, so large point changes are possible. Pre-hatch chicken counting is never too wise...

mp3guy wrote: »
    I don't mean to be a buzz killington, but in 2005-2006 it dropped by 25 points, so large point changes are possible. Pre-hatch chicken counting is never too wise...

Yeah I know we'll see on monday anyways.

Thats really what the Sociology professor told me at Uni day. Just said its unlikely for Arts to go up by a lot since NUIM has the highest points for Arts in the country and application numbers remain steady each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 JMcG92

I shall also be joining all of ye with 495 points :cool:.

Now to get the rechecks over with in order to secure that sweet-ass €1000 give away for 500 points :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Well done guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭WatchOut

I got 435, 10 points less than Media Studies, but there is still a chance I MIGHT get it..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Mastroph

WatchOut wrote: »
    I got 435, 10 points less than Media Studies, but there is still a chance I MIGHT get it..:p
    There's every chance. A friend of mine was out by 5 points on the first round, but got in on the second round. See what Monday brings! :D Same goes to everyone of course. Congrats on results and we hope to see you here soon! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 ceol1991

jenjo wrote: »
    heya, can i ask what course u did that u didnt like??

eh I was studying English , I couldn't handle it the whole dept is so snobby IMO weren't great help so I decided I'd change instead of doing something I hated yano :)

WatchOut wrote: »

I'm exactly the same as you :p !! They might go down, but tbh i'd be just as happy to take Arts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭seanh12

What's the craic lads?!
    Anyone else here doing digital media??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 niamh1234

Got 340 so am happy cos failed 3 of my mocks but am 10 points short of my course, its multimedia mobile and web devolpment but hopefully might get it. Was talking to a lecturer on one of the open days and he was saying it could go down 5 or 10 but not much more and doesnt expect it to go back up. Got all my requirments in maths and science and that so monday will tell. Hopefully see you all in a couple of weeks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Ragdoll742

Got 430, so a good bit clear of arts :) Taking Psychology, German and English. Anyone taking similar?

Michael?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

I'm Noel, hopefully studying Arts. :D Just have to wait til Monday to ensure it. :) Also CALVIN HARRIS playing freshers week.. unreal :) Hope tickets will be left by the time I move up.. :(

Ragdoll742 wrote: »
    Michael?

How do you know my name:eek:?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I think, now bear with me now...
    She might know who you are!

Atm it's looking like my bro might be joining you guys in Arts studying psychology and whatever else!

Oh also I just had to point out, Karaokeman said arts in NUIM has the highest points in Ireland.. it actually doesn't, there are a lot of arts courses with higher points.

And back to Maynooth.. Do I call up after I get a CAO offer to see if I got accommodation?

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    And back to Maynooth.. Do I call up after I get a CAO offer to see if I got accommodation?

They'll let you know! :)

What I did was email to tell them that I had accepted my CAO offer and the accommodation offers were emailed out a few days later but I don't think that you even need to do that tbh!

They'll let you know! :)

What I did was email to tell them that I had accepted my CAO offer and the accommodation offers were emailed out a few days later but I don't think that you even need to do that tbh!

Ooh it says on the site to ring/email them the day after the CAO offers to find out!

Noel2k9 wrote: »

The email I got back after I applied said that the day after the CAO offers in August you will recieve an email letting you know if you've got a place on campus. So we'll be emailed on Tue ;)

It's Anto :D I thought it might've been you, going by the LC results and all. A quick look at your previous posts (mainly the U2 and Take That ones!) and I was confident enough to ask :L
    I think, now bear with me now...
    She might know who you are!

She?! :P

Your brother you say..where abouts are yous from? :)

Ragdoll742 wrote: »
    It's Anto :D I thought it might've been you, going by the LC results and all. A quick look at your previous posts (mainly the U2 and Take That ones!) and I was confident enough to ask :L

She?! :P

Your brother you say..where abouts are yous from? :)

I knew I was gonna get it wrong! :P
    It looks like a name a girl would pick! :P

Eh Wickla town!

I knew I was gonna get it wrong! :P
    It looks like a name a girl would pick! :P

Eh Wickla town!

You certainly lose something in translation on forums :L

I kind of assume everyone who's going is local, it's ridiculous. I live in Celbridge only 10 mins down the road so I don't think of the wider world much :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 thumbelinaxo

JMcG92 wrote: »
    I shall also be joining all of ye with 495 points :cool:.

Now to get the rechecks over with in order to secure that sweet-ass €1000 give away for 500 points :P.

I'm in the same situation as you! Hope the rechecks will bring me up to get those 5 points! :)