Four Irish students deported from US for altering passports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

It was a silly thing to do but it was for innocent enough reasons, they were simply doing it so that they could go out for a few drinks which is the norm at that age in Ireland. Deportation is enough of a punishment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

mikemac wrote: »
    I'm straying into urban myths here but just wondering

You are fully entitled to put your passport name as Gaelige, nobody can stop you, first language of the State.

If the lads changed their name to Irish would foreign authorities fail to spot this?

John Ryan is blacklisted but Séan O'Riain is not?
    Though modern passports have electronic tags so it may have worked a decade ago but not now?

Even if they could do this it wouldn't work, it would be the same a someone changing from their maiden to married name. The history/background on them would still be there

Only chance they could maybe, and it would be a huge maybe, is see if they are elegable for another passport, as long as its not american.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

It would be more in the line of America to sort out its gun and gang problem that harass a few people that want a few beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Panty_thief

second only to photocopying dollars.

Some people are really over-reacting with regards to this..they weren't hurting anyone and the fact that this could 'hurt their job prospects' is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

AdamD wrote: »
    Some people are really over-reacting with regards to this..they weren't hurting anyone and the fact that this could 'hurt their job prospects' is ridiculous.

Cant see it hurting their job propects unless the passport office decides to prosecute, their passport are effectivly the property of the dept of forign affiars, also a legal document that they tampered with.

Cant see them ever seeing the States again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

The things the Irish will do for a drink! Couldn't they copy what American under age pub goers do, whatever that is! Certainly wouldn't be interfering with passports. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Evaex

The US is one of most secure borders in the world. They are always years ahead of most other countries in the technology and security they use in their airports. All of which makes it more ridiculous that these Irish students decided to "alter" their dates of birth on the passports they would be presenting to homeland security. There was no real malice in what they did, but it was breathtakingly stupid .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Evaex wrote: »
    Your name is on your birth cert. Names cant be translated on official documents. Translating a name is changing the name.

Dunno about that. My name is in English on my birth cert but my name's in Irish on my passport, my birth cert name is displayed under "notes" though. So I'm not sure if I'm still disagreeing with you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Your name is on your birth cert. Names cant be translated on official documents. Translating a name is changing the name.

You're legally entitled to have your name in English or Irish on official state documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

I think you're thinking of the Leitrim player who said he had a bomb in his luggage in JFK airport on way back from Leitrim v New York game - it was 2003.

I hate when people dont have the details right.

On the 4 lads - pure stupid

Apologies for that:o

Dunno about that. My name is in English on my birth cert but my name's in Irish on my passport, my birth cert name is displayed under "notes" though. So I'm not sure if I'm still disagreeing with you...

I think it says "Bearer was registered at birth as <english version of your name> "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I think it says "Bearer was registered at birth as <english version of your name> "

Mine just says, on the 3rd page, "Birth cert name: <my name in English>"

You can use the name you normally use on a passport application, so if one were to setup a bank account and pay bills under your name in Irish after a 2 year period, you can get a passport with your name as Gaeilge. ;) I always thought it was more straight forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

They should never be issued passports again. Such muppets doing that for the sake of a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

I got an e-mail from UCC telling people on J1's to not do it. Apparently they were ironing on fake ID's over the passport to gain entry into clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

Quick question. WOuld the severity of this case be the same if it was a fake ID. ( not modifing your passport)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Quick question. WOuld the severity of this case be the same if it was a fake ID. ( not modifing your passport)
    What exactly do you mean ?..I'll try and give you my take on it :D

Nope, modifying an official Travel Document they view as extreme criminal behaviour. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bunch of stupid dopes if they thought that presenting a doctored piece of ID to a bouncer in Queens is the same as trying to do so with Homeland Security. They do NOT mess about !

Tampering with an official document is a serious offence over there, whether it be a passport or a drivers license. Then they'd be charged with underage drinking if they were busted trying to buy booze with it. Also a criminal offence. No mere slaps on the wrist over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭thomasj

T'other threads deleted now...
    I would assume its more boards server hamster problems. Happening all over the shop.

apologies for that, i thought i was having network problems so i clicked on it a number of times. I didnt know it would create a couple of threads.

I think part of the problem too is our view of the passport as just another form of ID, myself included. My passport lived in the back pocket of my jeans from the age of 18 until about 21 or so. Had it with me at all times on the off chance I would end up wanting to go to a pub.

Its only working with people from other countries and telling them this that I realised they treat the passport with much much more respect, the dont even use it for travel if possible if the can use their national id card instead. They couldnt believe the way we just have it with us all the time and don't really care too much about it.

Pubs and clubs are a lot of the cause of this too imo as when I needed ID it was the only thing that would definitely be accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭SamHarris

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Nope, modifying an official US Document they view as extreme criminal behaviour. :D

Its an Irish document in this case. But your right, its a very big deal.

I believe in Ireland you can get 10 years in prison for modifiying or selling your passport, its a very big deal everywhere. You can read the punishments on the back of your own passports if your interested.

In fact its not "your" passport as such - I think tis property of our department of state.

Must have been a group mentality thing where they talked themselves into thinking it was grand .Diffusion of responsibility and normalisation of the act because everyone else in the social group was doing it. I'm sure they regret it and are kicking themselves now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

It was marginally cleverer than

'Mooning' Donegal student still in Senegalese jail

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhcweyauaukf/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭thomasj

I get the feeling this thread is an attempt to create a 'talking' point in boards, being the first to bring up the day's news. I bet you don't give a sh!t about the story. You haven't offered your opinion on it. Just posting the news. We all have the internet.

apologies, had problems accessing boards properly earlier!

What a bunch of idiots!

I suppose theyre young, naive, and fooled into thinking theyd get away with it but you dont mess with the american authorities. Theres enough real life and drama programmes about them on over here!

what a way to learn a lesson!

I get the feeling in years to come they might be having a pint, joking about it but its a silly thing to have hanging over your head, having a criminal record in another country (no matter how silly). Just not worth it!

Hope it teaches others a lesson or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Gobsh1tes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭locked_out

Not a smart move. No grey area here I am afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

I hoped they liked the US, 'cause unless they marry an American the chances of them going there again are about as likely as their passports being accepted at customs.
    F###### twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

It would be more in the line of America to sort out its gun and gang problem that harass a few people that want a few beers.

How dare the US enforce their law. I mean in the couple of hours that they had to waste on this they could have ended the feud between the crips and the bloods as well altering their constitution to implement an irish standard of gun control. Personally, I've no problem with visitors to this fair land having nothing but contempt for our laws either. If a yank decided to light up a joint outside the Dail I'd say fair play to them. I mean who should stop them, especially when you consider the bankers that are still walking free.