Do you remember collecting your LC results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

I remember getting my results a little after the morning rush as that sh*t pisses me off so wondered in at half elevnish got the results and went home.

Opened the results at home and calculated my points I was well happy. Got around the mark needed for the course I wanted.
    Went into my accountant uncle then who made sure I had added up my points right... I had added them up wrong, actually got 5 points more. This happened to qualify me for a 1000 euro entry scholarship!

The right result and a pay day what more could you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

NothingMan wrote: »
    Tantalising? 555 points, you've nothing to worry about except maybe medicine in Trinity and even then!

Fair play to you. Obviously put in the work. Best of luck with whatever ya do in college.
    It's Medicine alright, but in the Royal College of Surgeons. Trinity is a bit out of my reach with what I have at the moment. I need a drop in points to '09 levels to be in with a chance. I'll start worrying about all of that tomorrow though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It was six years ago to the day. My cousin, a classmate, turned 18 on the same day so everyone was looking forward to a mad one. Immediately after getting my disappointing results, a few of us went outside for a joint. I vomited after the first toke. Then we went to an old, abandoned house nearby for cans where I soon developed a splitting headache, got extremely pale and couldn't muster the energy to stand up. All after no drink and one toke. Everyone went home to get ready for the night's festivities then. I just laid on my bed with a sweating brow and a splitting headache until my lift came. No id and barely able to stand with dizziness, I went home from the pub after half an hour. To this day I don't know what happened to me.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I got mine last year and for the life of me I cannot remember what I did that night. I can remember what we did the night of out last exam (house party to end all house parties in my house, 50 people there, Gardaí called by neighbours, took about a week to clean the house and the neighbours still havent forgiven me:o), I can remember our Grad and obviously Debs, but cannot remember results night. We probably did something lame and went to the cinema.

I needed 410 for my course, got 415. Was absolutely delighted with myself.

I told by business teacher in the lead up to it that I was going to get an A1 in Business. She said don't get your hopes up, you probably won't. The first thing I checked was my Business result. A1. I went and found her, and said "Hey Miss, remember you said I wouldn't get an A in Business?" "Yeah" "Well look at this! (/shoved result in face)" Was absolutely delighted with myself.

I'm now doing a B.Sc in Business and Management and passed 1st year with flying colours so I'd say yeah it had an effect on what I'm doing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

1998 and was just fondly remembering it this morning. Added up my points about 6 times before I'd believe the score. Got to rub one particular teachers nose in a good result he hadn't expected me to get by informing him it had nothing to do with him but one of the school's other teachers who moonlit in a local grinds school.

And cracking a can of beer on school property with a few mates toasting the fact we'd never have to see half the guys from our school again. Good memory that.

Got home to find my mother opening a bottle of champagne for me and my best mate and went on the town that night... 13 years later and I can still remember large chunks of it (astonishing given the amount of nights out I had that summer!).

I loved that entire summer. I'd hated school (more to do with my classmates than the teachers) and knew college was going to be great (it was, happiest 5 years of my life!).

Did it have an effect in what I'm doing? It got me to college which got me a job so yes. Also, having had good teachers for Accounting and Economics made the first couple of years of my B.Comm an absolute doddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Got mine in 2009, I was happy with them :) but could of done better. I reckon people must of thought I had ben up all night stressing as I had actually been working night shift and my eyes looked like they had been painted with black paint :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

2004. had to drive out to the middle of nowhere to get mine. Great feeling to get them over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

2004 - Went up with a few the lads, got the results and points I needed so was very happy really.

Went on the lash that night with all the lads in my year and went on my LC holiday the next night very hungover.

Good times indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Ours were posted out :p

I awoke to my phone ringing from a mate asking me how I did. I was like oh is that today and said I'd ring back and strolled down to get them.

Little bit of nerves, opened it, got first choice and exact number of points I was aiming for and just thought sweet.

Little later in the day, I was thinking about how I'd never have to go to secondary school again which was a dump and felt a bit like a prison to me and just yelled out yes :)

Have never looked back since. No matter what anybody says, live begins at college :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

I can remember lashing back a bottle of JD with my mates once we got our results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Two years ago. Wasn't that bothered about it to be honest, things like that really don't stress me out at all. Did worse than I expected and was told I might have to repeat Maths Honours [which I failed :(] to get the course I wanted. Happily when the offers came in I got my first choice regardless so happy days.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Another 2003 student here...I do certainly remember as it was the first time I realised the potential enormity of them on the bus there. I remember doing the English exam, think it was paper two and feeling like going through the motions rather than it being the biggest thing in the world (tm)

Got 435 points which was about what I expected based on Mocks and my lack of study, strangely got my highest result in the subject that I actually studied..Biology. My CAO form then had absolutely no reflection on who I am now, 9/10 courses business/commerce bullsh!t, the other one I got and I am now a chemistry postgrad. If I had it back, it'll be all chemistry courses or physics at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Teaching TEFL at the moment, making good money but has absolutely nothing to do with LC results, they just want a native speaker :) Applying for college over here and all they want is to make sure I actually finished school!

So in the end it didn't really matter, though I was proud of my A1 in history. And shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

I thought I was great getting my results back in the day. I had gotten a summer job and went out and bought a massive Cuban cigar which I smoked after getting my results. Needless to say I wasn't too well that night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Didn't quite make it to LC but I remembering squealing like a loser when I opened my JC results. I get a wee twinge of jealousy every year when the LC results come out...it coulda been meeeeeeeeeeeeee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I do and I also remember no one believing my results until I physically showed them my yellow slip, though that was understandable considering I had the worst attendance record in 6th year in the history of the school! (though i'm sure someone has beat it since)

I wasn't a disruptive messer in school, when I was there I put my head down and did the work that was asked of me, most assumed I would fail due to my poor attendance.

I got the points I aimed for, by a margin of 10, 410.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Met the lads in town at 9am and strolled up the road toward the school, joking and laughing like we used to doing for the last 3 years before the 1st class. Arrived at the school and we were early but already most of the lads had arrived. People were talking for the sake of talking but everyone was distracted.

Finally doors opened and we queued up, naturally some more eager that others. One lad who is well known for being socially retarded was up first, got his results and went into the nearby classroom and will still in view of everyone else ripped out his results and immediately started screaming "Oh my god I got A's, i got A's", in front of a queue of over 40 anxious lads, some of which knew they were no where near a single A.

He kepts going "Oh my god, I can't believe it", I walked over and casually closed the door reducing his abnoxious yelps to muffles. I got a few nods of appreciation.

Finally it got to me, Principal looked at me, scrolled through the envelopes and held it up, "What were you looking for" he asked
    "Id be happy with over 450"
    He winked and handed me the paper.

Went down the stairs to the basement, there was one of my mates there in a corner opening his envelope, he looked at me with dead eyes as if to say "fúck off, this is my area"

I went outside to an empty bench, took my phone out and turned on the calculator and opened the letter. All 5Bs, 2Cs. I was moderatly happy with my result and after a few moments of staring at the paper, I walked back up the stairs to the sound of laughing. I went outside and the teachers spoke to us like equals, we joked with some and thanked some others.

I never set foot in that school again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

OneArt wrote: »
    Teaching TEFL at the moment, making good money but has absolutely nothing to do with LC results, they just want a native speaker :) Applying for college over here and all they want is to make sure I actually finished school!

So in the end it didn't really matter, though I was proud of my A1 in history. And shocked.
    A1 in honours History as well myself. Hence the bottle of JD that morning.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

It was a nice sunny day. I waited out side the school until they opened the doors at 9am with most of my class. I was really pleased with my results. I was a nervous wreck going in to collect them. I'd suffered with insomnia during the whole of 6th year and was honestly expecting to fail everything. I got A's in higher level geography and business. The lowest mark was a D in ordinary biology (I couldn't get my head around that subject no matter how hard I tried). The rest were B's & C's. I did 8 subjects - most were higher level, the ones that were ordinary level were maths, Irish and biology.

Ironically, it was the smartest girl in my class that failed the leaving. She was full of herself. Her parents had taken her to do a I.Q. test and she scored "highly gifted" or something like that. She'd spent the entire 6th year bragging about how she never studied and still got the highest marks in our christmas tests and the mocks anyway. All the teachers favoured her and they must have been marking all her homework & tests easier than the rest of ours. I remember we were all standing around with big smiles on our faces, happy with our marks, and she just burst into tears. She was standing next to me and I peaked over her shoulder and looked at her results. She did higher level in everything and her highest mark was a D in English. The rest were all E's & F's. I was shocked. One of the teachers quickly came up and put an arm around her and took her into the principals office. It just shows it doesn't matter how smart you are, you need to still study!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭locked_out

x_Ellie_x wrote: »

It was a nice sunny day. I waited out side the school until they opened the doors at 9am with most of my class. I was really pleased with my results. I was a nervous wreck going in to collect them. I'd suffered with insomnia during the whole of 6th year and was honestly expecting to fail everything. I got A's in higher level geography and business. The lowest mark was a D in ordinary biology (I couldn't get my head around that subject no matter how hard I tried). The rest were B's & C's. I did 8 subjects - most were higher level, the ones that were ordinary level were maths, Irish and biology.

Ironically, it was the smartest girl in my class that failed the leaving. She was full of herself. Her parents had taken her to do a I.Q. test and she scored "highly gifted" or something like that. She'd spent the entire 6th year bragging about how she never studied and still got the highest marks in our christmas tests and the mocks anyway. All the teachers favoured her and they must have been marking all her homework & tests easier than the rest of ours. I remember we were all standing around with big smiles on our faces, happy with our marks, and she just burst into tears. She was standing next to me and I peaked over her shoulder and looked at her results. She did higher level in everything and her highest mark was a D in English. The rest were all E's & F's. I was shocked. One of the teachers quickly came up and put an arm around her and took her into the principals office. It just shows it doesn't matter how smart you are, you need to still study!

The great thing about the internet, is that you can make up stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

About 10 years ago. Collected them in the morning and then had ice-cream for breakfast in celebration. Then a bottle of bacardi for lunch. And then after spewing up Bacardi flavoured ice-cream I didn't really feel like having dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

locked_out wrote: »
    The great thing about the internet, is that you can make up stuff.

Honestly everything I said there was 100% true. I heard that girl contested her results and I know she repeated the year in a different school (saw her on the bus a few months after in another school uniform). We weren't friends so I don't know how she got on after that. I just remember it so well cause everyone was expecting her to do really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

The night before was a restless one for me and I walked up the school about an hour before it opened and some others were there already.

Went, got my envelope, promptly ripped it open when I went outside. A couple of Cs and 2 Ds if remember correctly. Delighted with the C3 I got in pass maths as I had to get grinds because the teacher was fcuking useless.

I was a bit disappointed with my result in Honors English where I got a D3, I had gotten a C in the mocks and it was also the only subject where I had stayed in full time for both papers. However, this was the time when both papers were done on the same day so I was knackered by the time I got the poetry section on paper 2.

My best result was in Home Economics, where I got a C1 in Honors.

All in all, I got 330. Not bad but I didn't need it that year as I was doing a PLC course, helped me get the course I wanted the next year but lets just say life has worked out differently since then and being truthful, college wasn't all that great to me - probably because I made the fatal error of commuting to and from college instead of wanting to go further afield.

That night, didn't really do anything special, I was still a bit socially inept and didn't drink either so it closed a lot of options for me. It felt like a bit of a cop out as I felt my efforts haven't being properly rewarded tbh. Kind of kick myself these days over it but I guess that's how people learn and grow.

And one last thing to those who collected their results today, this isn't the end all and be all for everything. Its only one part of the story, there is still a lot more of life to live after this. Enjoy yourselves tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I arrived late for mine, didnt really care to be honest. Then i went to the pub for the rest of the day... i dont remember much after four but i woke up to the ma screaming at me because i never told her i had passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

2009 for me, so just 2 years ago.

Results were terrible. My world just came crashing down. Family and friends kept ringing to see how I'd done, it was soul crushing. Luckily I had a couple of teachers who I was friends with who were there to look out for me. Went out and bought shoes for the grad and went out that night anyway.

2 years later I'm in a great college in the States doing the course I've wanted to do my whole life and the LC is just a distant a memory that wound up not being in any way important in my life.

Happy out.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

15 years ago today. That makes me officially old.

Collected the results, met my boyfriend, opened them around the back of the school, cried with the shock, got the shift and then went to the pub and got pukemakingly drunk.

Left the pub with the gang and went knacker drinking, got sent home by the Gardai and then stumbled home with one of the lads and gave out shyte to him the entire way home because he had slagged me about having no tits when we were in 2nd year. Good times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I didn't bother getting mine, I was working the day mine came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I was up there at about 10am, The Principal made us go into her office and open them in front of her in groups of 4 so there was absolutely no atmosphere and nothing memorable.

I think I might have went out but can't for the life of me remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

2006. I went to a multi-story car park and opened 'em by myself. I didn't get what I wanted and was absolutely gutted. I remember listening to Fix You, by Coldplay on repeat for a few hours and I've no idea what I did that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I do, I got them today. Don't ask me tomorrow though.