10 Leaving Cert pupils earn eight A1s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

orourkeda wrote: »
    I'm so glad I didnt put the effort into my leaving cert having read this post. I got 400 without lifting a finger.

I didn't lift a finger either... Although I should probably develop on that and say I am working toward a Masters as you can't do jack s**t with just a Psychology Degree. Job is funding the masters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Fair play to them!

I got 405 and now I work in a call centre.
    I got 430 and I'm on a Fas course :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Nah. Lots of normal people get 600 points or close to it. But doing 8 or 9 subjects is just weird
    I'm not saying they necessarily find getting 8 A1s easy, but that the extra effort they put in might not be as much as people would like to believe. It's feasible that somebody like that might enjoy a healthy social life.

8 or 9 because they're insane. I did 9 subjects for my Leaving, although one was a non-subject that the school was adamant I should keep for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Ah screw that, fair play to those who got those high points. And the same to to everyone who got their results today regardless of the outcome. Enjoy the last few weeks of the hols!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Why do people bother doing 9 subjects? We had to do 7; a fallback on in case we really screwed up..but 9?

If I had a fair idea I'd be getting top marks in 6 or 7 subjects I'd take more subjects on offer for the craic. What's there to lose?

Is there something wrong with learning for the sake of learning? Or is doing the minimum that standard that everyone should be aiming for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Caraville wrote: »
    As for the OP saying that the top students are the teachers' favourites- I'm betting the OP doesn't know that many teachers. My favourite students have always been the ones who let me do my job, makes a decent effort at their schoolwork and are polite. They might end up with 100 points or 600 points, that side of things are irrelevant.

i do,and im glad the day some retired,some where not made out for teaching,yes sure there are some messers in every class,but the top teachers if they had any messers in their classes had students quickly moved into another class,the same teachers who would lose their rag if anyone queried their method of teaching,the same ones who got their croke park agreement and are up in arms that the state is putting an extra student in their class because are not willing to take a pay cut,the same teachers who are retiring now to save their pensions,the same ones who are now going to fuss that the state could be cutting the 30 million bonus payment spent on correcting exam papers.

Caraville wrote: »
    Exams ARE being dumbed down. Look at exams papers from 10-15 years ago in comparison to today. Things are definitely easier nowadays, which is a slippery slope that I don't like.
    I haven't looked at a leaving cert exam paper for 12 years so I don't know what they're like now but I do remember that back then the internet wasn't as accessible and we would be checking Aertel for the points :o Oh how times have changed :D

Davidius wrote: »
    I'm not saying they necessarily find getting 8 A1s easy, but that the extra effort they put in might not be as much as people would like to believe. It's feasible that somebody like that might enjoy a healthy social life..

+1. The lad that got top marks in my year was not only quite good looking, he was extremely popular with both sexes and played on three different teams in different two sports.

Then again he didn't fit the stereotype of being the lonely, single nerd slaving over schoolwork 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The only people who put forward the nerd stereotype on people who get over 500 are those bitter about their own results.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Leaving Cert exams are far too easy in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

does anyone know how to work out the points for the older leaving results, the ones prior to A1, A2 etc system?
    I have been trying for years to figure out what my results would be now

Skerries wrote: »
    does anyone know how to work out the points for the older leaving results, the ones prior to A1, A2 etc system?
    Was that back when they had the Inter Cert and something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

prinz wrote: »
    If I had a fair idea I'd be getting top marks in 6 or 7 subjects I'd take more subjects on offer for the craic. What's there to lose?

Well good for you, but I don't know if doing it for that reason applies to most students..surely when your 16/17 there are far better things you could be doing for the craic to develop your social and emotional sides, not just educational?

Anyways, good on them.

Well good for you, but I don't know if doing it for that reason applies to most students..surely when your 16/17 there are far better things you could be doing for the craic to develop your social and emotional sides, not just educational?

Anyways, good on them.
    I did eight subjects personally. I certainly didn't do it for the craic and most people I know who did extra subjects didn't do it for the craic either. I did two extra subjects to compensate for my terrible Irish and another to act as a failsafe in case of a bad exam. Nearly everyone who's aiming for a course with high points requirements does the same.

Who says it's 'just educational' and who says that they are doing it at the expense of their social or emotional sides? :confused: It is possible to be a well rounded individual and excel academically...

If they were spending their time sitting on a wall or drinking cans of Dutch in a field somewhere that would be accepted as normal. Getting as rounded an education as possible and exposure in a lot of different areas, languages, music, art, sciences, maths, history etc etc - must be some sort of weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Anyways, good on them.

Take away the amount of time the lazy average people spend watching TV and doing other asocial activities and you've got loads of time you can spend on doing an extra subject or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭RH149

Skerries wrote: »

You can't really work out the points from the old grades. Back when I did it (apart from Trinity which had 100s in their points system) it was very simple:

A= 5, B=4, C=3 D=2 for Higher Level and I think you got 2 for an Ord level A and 1 for an Ord. B. There was and extra 2 bonus points for Higher Maths so anyone getting 6 As incl. Higher Maths got the maximum points of 32. They were the points for all the NUI Colleges and I think DCU and UL(was actually NIHE Dublin/Limerick then! Showing my age!)

Now the new system has A1 and A2 etc so the only way to work out your points based on your old grades is to guess whether that B you got was really an 84% (B1) or a 71 % (B3)..........Quite a difference! The bonus points for Hons. Maths are gone too so that might lower points.

So your points will be based on guesswork. I like to think my Bs were all of the 84% category but reckon I'm being too generous!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

awesome, the yearly "its too hard/easy/was harder/easier in my day rabble rabble" Leaving Cert thread has arrived.

prinz wrote: »
    Who says it's 'just educational' and who says that they are doing it at the expense of their social or emotional sides? :confused: It is possible to be a well rounded individual and excel academically...

If they were spending their time sitting on a wall or drinking cans of Dutch in a field somewhere that would be accepted as normal. Getting as rounded an education as possible and exposure in a lot of different areas, languages, music, art, sciences, maths, history etc etc - must be some sort of weirdo.
    Get wasted every weekend for two years - Legend.
    Get a well rounded education - Weirdo

Strange mentality to have really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭positron

Could someone please explain to me how the points system work?

I did my schooling outside Ireland, and I was 15 when I finished 10 years of schooling, and I had to 6 papers. Each will be scored out of 50 marks. And I scored 473 out of 600. Which is about 78%. It was a "First Class". 50-60% is second class, 40-50% is Third class or Pass. Below 40% is fail. And over 80% is a distinction. Top level rank holders usually scored around 580-590 out of 600.

Can someone help compare that to this, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Ach fair 'nuff so, just because I did a crappy 7 subjects instead of 9!
    Off with ye ye brainboxs and congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

positron wrote: »

I did my schooling outside Ireland, and I was 15 when I finished 10 years of schooling, and I had to 6 papers. Each will be scored out of 50 marks. And I scored 473 out of 600. Which is about 78%. It was a "First Class". 50-60% is second class, 40-50% is Third class or Pass. Below 40% is fail. And over 80% is a distinction. Top level rank holders usually scored around 580-590 out of 600.

I imagine if you contacted the CAO they could give you a comparative scale of some sort. This is their site http://www.cao.ie/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

inb4 bitter idiots pretending their 300 points is somehow more of an accomplishment than eight A1s.

Oh wait, I'm not inb4 it at all, there's been about 30 posts about it already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

skregs don't post in this thread any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Nowadays so many people have a Masters degree in the hope of being easier to get a job. It won't be long until everyone is walking around with phd's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

People say the exams are dumbed down compared to a decade ago

It's over a decade since I did my LC and even we were being told our exams were dumbed down.

The kids in the eighties were probably told the same by their elders.

In a decades time and DeVore is a billionaire, today's posters in the LC forum will be saying the same

Every generation believes they had it the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I think getting 8 A1's in the Leaving Cert is a great achievement. Well done to all of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Well done to them all, but they have a good few years hard work ahead of them yet. 600 points isn't the end of the road to success, it's the beginning.
    Faolchu wrote: »
    this being some achievement in addition to her good grades

She used to be his brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,590 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Get wasted every weekend for two years - Legend.
    Get a well rounded education - Weirdo

Strange mentality to have really.

Why do you think there's so many numbnuts around.

Also why boys underperform compared to girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

positron wrote: »

Everyone sits 6 subjects. The maximum points you can get is 600. Each subject is worth a maximum of 100 points at Higher level or 60 at ordinary.The points for each grade are broken down here
    http://www.educationireland.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=268&Itemid=100278
    There is no overall grade you get (ie 400 out of 600 doesn't mean you get an honour, you just get 400 points and you can do any course thats worth up to that amount depending on what courses you put down on the CAO form).