10 Leaving Cert pupils earn eight A1s

• 17-08-2011 01:39PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/10-leaving-cert-pupils-earn-eight-a1s-516843.html
    The increased number of high performers in this year's Leaving Cert will give rise to further concerns over standards in the State exams.

A total of 10 pupils achieved eight A1s, another 39 secured seven A1s and 92 teenagers scored six A1s - 600 points.

However, principal of Hewitt College in Cork Patricia McGrath said exams are not being "dumbed down".

"To get A1s in (a number of subjects) is not easy…You have to be a very good student," she said.

Fair play to them,i look forward to the teacher standing behind them in a photo on the paper tomorrow :rolleyes:

*seriously though this mentality of teachers picking their fave students and not bothering with those who need most help still goes on.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

That's rubbish - the kids who work and have the ability get the points, not the teacher's "favourites". You can be a favourite and be as thick as a post you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

For subjective subjects like English and History it really depends on who is correcting them! One teacher will give you an A1 and another will give you a B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

But have no mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Showoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

If they are so clever, do they not realise they've the same amount of points as someone who got 6 A1s? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fair play to them,i look forward to the teacher standing behind them in a photo on the paper tomorrow :rolleyes:

Have to repeat, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Ah sure, they probably won't be able to afford the university fees and will end up working in McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

However, principal of Hewitt College in Cork Patricia McGrath said exams are not being "dumbed down".

"To get A1s in (a number of subjects) is not easy…You have to be a very good student," she said.

Jaysus, well that woman is a fountain of knowledge.

Anyway those kids didnt have half the craic i had so im happy with my 355! IN YO FACEEEE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

But have no mates.
    You generally hear a lot of things like this, I don't think people like to admit that somebody can achieve more than they can with less effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

So exams are not being dumbed down because students are achieving high grades in said exams ?

What the fukk am i reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Fair play to them!

I got 405 and now I work in a call centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

*seriously though this mentality of teachers picking their fave students and not bothering with those who need most help still goes on.

What also goes on is a couple of time wasters and eejits who take up time that the teacher could be using to teach with acting the bollix, are too fecking idle to open a book or pick up a pen, have parents who don't put the slightest bit of effort into chasing up on homework, or monitoring progess and then demand extra help from teachers, at the expense of the rest of the class actually trying to get ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

There are such things as teacher's favourites, sadly. I experienced it with my old Irish teacher who strongly recommended I drop down to ordinary level after one bad exam. On top of that he seemed to have nothing but contempt for me the c*nt. I had a different guy in 6th year. Managed to get a B3 in the Leaving which I was pleased with.

I've never been a trouble maker either. I would have been one of the most unassuming students in the class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's the people who really apply themselves and get the 300/400 points for their course of choice that are the real stars.

Or the one who drops out of school, learns how to run a business and employs the 9 A1'ers who impress most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

NEEEEEEEEEEEERDS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Davidius wrote: »
    You generally hear a lot of things like this, I don't think people like to admit that somebody can achieve more than they can with less effort.

Nah. Lots of normal people get 600 points or close to it. But doing 8 or 9 subjects is just weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭davetherave

Yeah....I'm just bitter :(
    Fair play to them, and more so those that worked their little cotton socks off to get nowhere near 600 points but what they wanted/need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Nobody manage 9 A1s then?

Standards are really slipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

great achievement, some would say there is more help out there for students doing the LC, tuition, the internet etc. but its probably harder with more distractions for them than before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Exams ARE being dumbed down. Look at exams papers from 10-15 years ago in comparison to today. Things are definitely easier nowadays, which is a slippery slope that I don't like.

As for the OP saying that the top students are the teachers' favourites- I'm betting the OP doesn't know that many teachers. My favourite students have always been the ones who let me do my job, makes a decent effort at their schoolwork and are polite. They might end up with 100 points or 600 points, that side of things are irrelevant.

Actually the ones who are all about schoolwork can be right wreck the heads. You'd love to just see them let loose a bit, sure there's more to life and they're way too young to be so serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

My girlfriends sister got 430 and she was chuffed. and she worked her balls off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

fair play to them, they are the future bankers of this fair land :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Getting 6 a's wont save them from emigration

Vicxas wrote: »
    My girlfriends sister got 430 and she was chuffed. and she worked her balls knockers off

Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

Fair play to them!

I got 405 and now I work in a call centre.

I got 495... and I also work in a call centre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

I'm guessing you didn't do biology for your Leaving Cert?

coco_lola wrote: »
    I got 495... and I also work in a call centre!

I'm so glad I didnt put the effort into my leaving cert having read this post. I got 400 without lifting a finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Opelfruit wrote: »
    I'm guessing you didn't do biology for your Leaving Cert?
    If he did, he failed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Why do people bother doing 9 subjects? We had to do 7; a fallback on in case we really screwed up..but 9?
    415 and did Arts. Waste of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Faolchu

she worked her balls off
    this being some achievement in addition to her good grades