Whats the scariest thing that ever happened you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Sin_J

Was bout 11 i think and home from hospital about 2 days after getting my tonsils out. Walk to the bathroom and spit out blood in the sink. Thought my gums were bleeding till it didn't stop and my mouth kept filling with blood.

The scariest part wasn't as much the blood itself, it was the sound. Everytime i took a breath it sounded like a large water pistol squirting as the blood came out of the back of my throat and filled my mouth. I was strangly calm while my mother was freaking out. Wasn't till the bloodloss start making me faint that it really got to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

inkwell wrote: »
    How fast were you driving? :rolleyes:

I was going round a bend and it was a narrow-ish road...I often travel that way so I know it can be dangerous as regards other motorists. I was going about 45mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Sleep paralysis ranks high here as well. I was literally shakeing after I woke up and eventully realised what had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

A few years ago, I used to hallucinate. I've blocked out most of them (I don't want to even remember some of them) but the most vivid I had was one of a solider outside my bedroom at night. Just standing there, kind of looking like Michael Collins or something. But then his head turned me and died a bit I was so scared. Hallucinations are horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

A few years ago, I used to hallucinate. I've blocked out most of them (I don't want to even remember some of them) but the most vivid I had was one of a solider outside my bedroom at night. Just standing there, kind of looking like Michael Collins or something. But then his head turned me and died a bit I was so scared. Hallucinations are horrific.

Actually, yes. I had one or two hallucinations, though they were odd in that I was dreaming but had my eyes open. I actually woke my brother while having a dream in which I was in a war I was dreaming, but I had my eyes open and was actually thinking he was a soldier and had a knife. I was screaming at him and everything. Freaky! I was about 10 or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Was working as a care assistant to the elderly in a home. One of the clients was very ill, myself and another assistant were helping the lady next door into bed when the t.v. in the next room came on and the song by 'The blue oyster cult' 'Don't fear the reaper came on'.

When we went to check on the lady she had died........freaked the hell outta me and the other assistant. True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

on my bike? lots, off it? not so much..
    anyway in the alps in hottest part of summer, after cycling up to snow line...it snowed there 2600m [its rare, Ive done it for years]
    I had to descend, my hands were so cold, my hands kept slipping off the handlebars:eek: I was hypothermic by the time I came to the next town, and stopped a van to take us home....scared the **** out of me afterwards when I realised how close to dying I was up there and so far from home [base] I was :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭LittleMissLost

I found my mum passed out on the couch after overdosing on something in an attempt to kill herself. I was around 12 and there was only me and my 3 year old brother in the house. That was scary trying to figure out what to do.

Oh and when I was about 13 I woke up to mt grandmother (who lives 4 hours away) beside me telling me my mum had "gone" and they didn't know where she was. Turns out she'd driven out the road with a rope to try hang herself but couldn't so slit her wrists and drove off the edge of a cliff instead. That was pretty scary too.

She's still alive though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

I found my mum passed out on the couch after overdosing on something in an attempt to kill herself. I was around 12 and there was only me and my 3 year old brother in the house. That was scary trying to figure out what to do.

Oh and when I was about 13 I woke up to mt grandmother (who lives 4 hours away) beside me telling me my mum had "gone" and they didn't know where she was. Turns out she'd driven out the road with a rope to try hang herself but couldn't so slit her wrists and drove off the edge of a cliff instead. That was pretty scary too.

She's still alive though

:eek:...Christ Almighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭inkwell

We poor fragile human beeings... (I am serious)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭theparish

Sin_J wrote: »
    Was bout 11 i think and home from hospital about 2 days after getting my tonsils out. Walk to the bathroom and spit out blood in the sink. Thought my gums were bleeding till it didn't stop and my mouth kept filling with blood.

The scariest part wasn't as much the blood itself, it was the sound. Everytime i took a breath it sounded like a large water pistol squirting as the blood came out of the back of my throat and filled my mouth. I was strangly calm while my mother was freaking out. Wasn't till the bloodloss start making me faint that it really got to me.

I have memories myself as a kid after the tonsils were taken out puking up blood 4 or 5 times around the ward I was in.Thought my number was up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Joe10000 wrote: »
    Was robbed at knifepoint when I was 16, I'm no hero but was strangely calm during it. Innocence of youth maybe.

I knocked a cyclist down one time and she disappeared under the car, thought I had killed her but she was up and limping in no time.

Being on a tail boat in Thailand that got caught in bad weather, no life jackets and 20ft swells, nearly **** me cax.

That would actually scare me more than anything in this thread.

Scariest thing would probably be a bad magic mushroom trip were I thought I died or a really bad does of the horrors that lasted for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Some scary stuff on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

At 7, seeing my usually docile mother break every red light and other conceivable road law in order to go from Dun Laoghaire to her dying father in Naas in under 25 minutes.

The whole ordeal was terrifying, and it didn't really get better once we were there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Scariest thing would probably be a bad magic mushroom trip

Very scary indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

Superbus wrote: »
    At 7, seeing my usually docile mother break every red light and other conceivable road law in order to go from Dun Laoghaire to her dying father in Naas in under 25 minutes.

The whole ordeal was terrifying, and it didn't really get better once we were there.

Similar experience only a few months ago. Mam's sister, cancer, the desperate need for a goodbye, running out of time... Very scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

caitmb wrote: »
    Im hoping this hasnt been asked before but...it probably has! Whats the most frightening thing to have happened to you?

On a regular thurs afternoon early this June I was driving my mother from Portlaoise towards Cork on the motorway. As she is an ultra nervous passenger I was taking it a lot handier than usual.....I was behind a petrol tanker thing and went about overtaking it. As I was halfway through overtaking what do I see coming towards me on the wrong side of motorway only a red Opel Corsa being driven by an old Lady!! Needless to say minor heart attack ensued.... The tanker driver made a move to pull onto hard shoulder only to see that there was a car parked with a driver on the phone,all the while I was standing on my brake! I got back in behind the tanker with millimetres to spare.The shakes didnt stop for hours after.

Ps yer woman driving the corsa gave me the evils as if I was in the wrong....

sorry, but if you were halfway trough overtaking, would it not have been safer to floor it and complete the overtake ,rather than standing on the brake? I realise this may not be the case with all the factors you've described, just wondering?

that's pretty scary .

I've been involved in a few scary moments like:
    caught in a cattle stampede,thrown out of tractor,crushed by a cow,
    chased by a 8 month pregnant tinker with a glass ashtray,
    mugged by junkies with a broken bottle ,held to ransom by pirates and been to Croke Park when Dublin were playing:D
    also held my grandmothers hand and puke basin while she was having a heart attack (that was probably the most scary)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Shelli2

Childbirth.....

Then being told the baby that just came out of your body weighs 12lbs.....

Then being told that subsequent babies are likely to be bigger....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I hallucinate when I'm sick and/or have a high temperature. At least, that's what I tell myself!

The night two strangers came into my house was a scary one (turned out to be the next door neighbours' house-guests, their key worked in our lock, long story) and although I was dead calm at the time and had accepted that I was probably brown bread, afterwards I was in a lot of shock.

Got jumped walking through the city center one night by some scumbag. Luckily a good Samaritan intervened long enough for me to pull my little alarm (my Da gave it to me years ago, always used to carry it in my bag) and draw some attention to the situation. I remember being dropped home that night and just sitting on the front step for a while, not knowing what to do with myself and unable to locate my keys.

Was a passenger in a car crash and broke a few bones in my face. The wreckage was pretty horrific, the woman we'd hit had to be cut out of her car and everything. There was a babyseat in the back (with thankfully no baby) but seeing it there had to be one of the most terrifying moments of my life. Held it together until I got to the hospital and rang my folks and then just broke down and passed out. Still to this day cannot listen to the Counting Crows "Mister Jones", as it was what had been playing on the radio at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Gav77

Kidnapped by the mafia in rome after a night out. Was drunk so the ol IQ wasent very high at the time. Robbed, beaten and left in the middle of rome a blood mess, not knowing where i was. No money, phone but thank god i had left my passport in the hostel cause had a flight later that day! Made it to the hostel by bunking 2 trams, went to police(no help). Bunked a train to airport, got caught by ticketman...taking me to police but let me go because he had to get back on the train...made it home! Funny looking back though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Andromeda_111

Today, going into work, went to slow down at traffic lights approaching a roundabout and my motorbike lost all grip. My right knee grazed the ground then I nearly got highsided when the bike regained some traction. I went straight through the red lights with no control what so ever and the bike stalled (much to the amusement of the 2 guys in a jeep on the roundabout I'm sure :o) Nearly hit the roundabout but just managed to turn the engine back on and gain control in time to make it around.......Still not quite sure how I survived without an off. The rest of the journey into work was somber affair I tell ya. Bloody greasy rain :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Finding my friend after she'd had a brain hemorrhage and having to call an ambulance and go to hospital with her was pretty scary, particularly as because of the nature of what had happened to her and because I wasn't family I didn't know what was going on for hours.

And more recently, paranoid schizophrenic housemate wasn't exactly a bed of roses. Didn't feel like I was in physical danger but I was definitely very very far outside my comfort zone.

caitmb wrote: »
    Yeah,rang the guards and kept an eye on the news but no word of an accident thankfully. Still get a blast of nerves even now going to overtake.....

Did the lad you met on wrong side even stop??

well his car didn't give him much of an option! Tried blaming me as well :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TrixIrl

Em, the two that stand out are:

Stayed in a hotel in Carlow last Jan for work, fall asleep watching tv. Wake up at about 4 in the morning - two men standing over me - when I screamed they said "feck it shes awake" and ran off. Called hotel security and the guards. Terrified to sleep tho for ages without a chair against the door.

Driving through Clonmel and its gazillion roundabouts and my car spun on some spilt oil and hit a car approaching the roundabout in the opposite direction, a few dents but all ok. It really got me when I realised the other car had 2 small babies in it. Freaked is not the word - some random guys had to move my car for me, call the guards etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Being told that I had oesophageal cancer over 4.5 years ago, I was glad that I finally had a confirmed diagnosis but I had already looked into details about it and knew how grim my prognosis was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭TrixIrl

CathyMoran wrote: »
    Being told that I had oesophageal cancer over 4.5 years ago, I was glad that I finally had a confirmed diagnosis but I had already looked into details about it and knew how grim my prognosis was.

I was going to thank your post but that didnt seem appropriate in a way.. That is truly scary, but 4.5yrs into it and still kicking? Really really great!

tide while I was trying to swim to shore
    was utterly amazed at how difficult it was and how long it took, and petrified

few other things i suppose but i'd have forgotten by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

TrixIrl wrote: »
    I was going to thank your post but that didnt seem appropriate.. That is truly scary, but 4.5yrs into it and still kicking? Well, i like that!
    I got married and have two children since, have my delayed yearly ct soon, now that is scary as I have been told that it would be terminal if it returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

One of the scariest things that I have witnessed was my daughter having multiple epileptic fits, and lapsing into unconsciousness for several hours, on Christmas Eve a few years back. This was before she had been diagnosed with epilepsy, so we didn't have a clue what was happening to her. Being with her in the treatment room at the hospital, while they gave her oxygen, and kept shouting her name to try and snap her out of it. I'm pretty sure I got my first grey hairs that day:(