Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ZTE Blade / Orange San Francisco

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

moved from ss to cm7 after and incident where i needed a replacement phone, caused my mango just and the san fran swimming, very nice rom, tho looking to maybe focus on battery life now, is port spring leading the pack at the mo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

You can do that, or use the all in one GSF Gen2 TPT :D

I've a SanFran on SS and am trying to TPT to GSF

Looking for suggestions as to whats up

Tried A

Downloaded gsf-blade-b19-tpt.zip to XP machine, checksum verified
    Used 7-zip to unzip it on XP m/c
    Copied directory image to SD card
    Power off phone, pull battery, reinstall battery,
    Power up phone holding Vol+ in
    Phone boots to SS ( well at least it didnt brick it )

Tried B

Downloaded gsf-blade-b19-tpt.zip to XP machine
    Copied Zip file to SD card, checksum verified
    Unzipped file on SD card using Androzip
    Power off phone, pull battery, reinstall battery,
    Power up phone holding Vol+ in
    Phone boots to SS ( well at least it didnt brick it )

What be the error of my ways ?

0lddog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Don't you have to hold the + volume and menu button while powering up
    I press all 3 buttons at the same time and it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Tony H

Did you disconnect the charger?

tuxy wrote: »
    Don't you have to hold the + volume and menu button while powering up
    I press all 3 buttons at the same time and it works

Thanks Tuxy, thats what I was doing wrong

Very slick software upgrade process. Shame this user is a digital eejit:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

your graaaand mate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Rockin

Rockin wrote: »
    Must be - maybe my 3 SIMS that I have aren't compatible. I'd love to know why though, Thanks for the help all the same.

Just an update - the SIMS were deactivated because they werent used for 6 months. 2nd level technical support (took ages to reach them) reactivated the cards - all okay now . Thanks for the help guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Zeppi

I've changed the rom from CM7 to Ginger Stir Fry Beta 19 and I saw a huge improvement as regards the battery life since my last charge, now it stands 51% for 41 hours, switched to 2G and wifi switched off when not needed. I definetly recomend this rom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭mp3ireland2

Any body have this strange problem? I can only charge the blade via computer, not via plug in the wall! And battery life is ridiculous (short), like not even an hour of the charger and it's 15% warnings! It was my brothers phone but he gave up on it. I sorted out for him with Portuguese spring as far as I remember... I'm chargin it now before i re flash. I did a facrtory reset, and cleared the battery stats.. .but still didn't charge from wall. I'll re flash to ginger stir fry i think when it charges up enough, but i'm not convinced it's a software issue.. .anybody any experience of this? Trying to sort it out to sell it as i've one of my own already!

Edit: upgraded phone to ginger stirfry, still no charging from wall. http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/23952-won%C2%B4t-charge-from-the-wall-only-on-usb/ problem found here but no solution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Can anyone advice on the best way of backing up apps and data on a Gen1 before upgrading via TFT to GSF?

I understand a nandroid gen 1 back up won't restore on a gen2 San Fran.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭darkmaster2

Tazz T wrote: »
    Can anyone advice on the best way of backing up apps and data on a Gen1 before upgrading via TFT to GSF?

I understand a nandroid gen 1 back up won't restore on a gen2 San Fran.

Titanium backup for the apps and app settings anyway. It's worth getting the full version for a proper batch restore function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Sorted, lads. Cheers.

got my eyes on that Monte Carlo now, mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Mmm...had a problem with this phone last night.

All of a sudden it started to freeze on me, sometimes during reboot and sometimes when the phone was on for a short while. Had to keep removing the battery and trying again.

Then I tried taking out the sd card, have left the sd card out ever since and now it's working fine.

I assume there is a corrupt file on the sd card that is causing the phone to freeze?

How do I go about removing this corrupt file? I don't have a notion. Might not even be a corrupt file :confused:

At least my phone is working, thought it was as good as gone last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Strange, that happened to mine last night too.

Was stuck in a reboot loop, im on GSF btw.

Removing the battery sorted it, hasnt happened since.

Does anyone know of a Windscreen mount that would fit the Blade ? Available on DX maybe ?

I don't know what other mainstream phones it shares it's dimensions with.

A more universal (adjustable) mount would be fine too, allowing me to keep it following an upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

beerbaron wrote: »
    Does anyone know of a Windscreen mount that would fit the Blade ? Available on DX maybe ?

I don't know what other mainstream phones it shares it's dimensions with.

A more universal (adjustable) mount would be fine too, allowing me to keep it following an upgrade.

Here you go:

http://android.modaco.com/topic/320012-best-car-dock-windscreen-mount-for-sf/

Mezcita wrote: »

Never thought of looking on Modaco, even though thats ground zero for all things blade related. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Mmm...had a problem with this phone last night.

All of a sudden it started to freeze on me, sometimes during reboot and sometimes when the phone was on for a short while. Had to keep removing the battery and trying again.

Then I tried taking out the sd card, have left the sd card out ever since and now it's working fine.

I assume there is a corrupt file on the sd card that is causing the phone to freeze?

How do I go about removing this corrupt file? I don't have a notion. Might not even be a corrupt file :confused:

At least my phone is working, thought it was as good as gone last night!

Wee update, after some googling, I formatted my sd card and it seems to be working ok again so hopefully that did the trick and it's not just a temporary fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,902 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

What can I download to stream footie on this phone. It does not appear to have Flash. Is there an android version of Flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

beerbaron wrote: »

Got this one http://www.dealextreme.com/p/car-windshield-mini-holder-swivel-mount-for-cell-phone-5-0-7-5cm-41529 works very well.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

What can I download to stream footie on this phone. It does not appear to have Flash. Is there an android version of Flash.
    If ya search around you can find an ARMv6 Flash Player .APK
    That said the Blades ARMv6 processor lacks certain parts and raw power so do not be surprised if the flash part of the website fails

I've been goofing around with the above with no joy.

Csipsimple appears to work grand so I'm wondering are there any known issues with native GSF (19) SIP ?

Pah!

Seems to work now

Dont know why....perhaps it was the reboot that I did ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭b318isp

Is there anyway to get the blade to use the headphones for sound, but keep the microphone in use?

When I plug in headphones and then receive a call, the microphone is deactivated (I assume because the blade is expecting one on the headphones). So, I have to unplug the headphones to take the call - and often return to the music blaring through the speaker before I get the can back in! Not good in an open plan office...

BTW, on Froyo, Swedish Spring.

I could do with a spare charger for my Blade

I've now got to much respect ( and am depending on it to much ) for the little green 'droid to use a charger from the 2Euro shop.

What do you all use as a second charger ?

A mini usb connection will fit in the Blade's socket. Stick the other end into your pc or lappy and away you go.

I have a problem with the sound on the phone. Have the volume up to max, but can barely hear the caller. If I turn on the the speaker, it works perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭amby666

A mini usb connection will fit in the Blade's socket. Stick the other end into your pc or lappy and away you go.

Micro USB is what you need. Mini USB is too large.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Would anyone recommend one of these ? Is it still one of the best budget android phones or is it nearly over the hill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭ronano

i'd recommend it, it's still got active development rom wise so you'd have 2.3 and for the price is a steal. The skate/monte carlo is on the scene but is more expensive and less dev but its early days so i'd say go for san fran