Mother bear kills cub, then itself to save them from brutal life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

argosy2006 wrote: »

Bearly any room to move!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

If its in a tiny cage how could it run into a wall killing itself? Cant see how that would actually kill the bear tbh

Anyway, sick stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

NIMAN wrote: »
    Does anyone genuinely believe that a bear would have the intelligence to put its child out of its misery before commiting suicide?

Come on people ....

Bears are incredibly intelligent animals so it's not too far fetched to believe the reasoning behind the mother doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Wertz wrote: »
    Feckin' chinese, milking bears, castrating tigers, killing white rhino for horn and fishing seahorses almost to extinction and all for their traditional medicine bullsh*t. Never mind removing the top layer of the oceans predators so they can make soup...

I wonder could we get them to come up with a remedy that uses Irish politicians tongues...

As for the topic: could the bear come to that somewhat logical conclussion? I believe so...smart animal and capable of showing rudimentary emotion and forward planning...suicide among animals it rare but it happens, dolphins in captivity are known for it. Killing the young first is a step up though but I don't see why not, if they can come to the conclussion that life is hopeless (which it very much was in those conditions)...

There's quite a bit of debate in the scientific community over whether animals can plan things in advance, even to a small degree, and there seems to be more scientists saying they believe more animals are capable of it.
    Personally I think it's not hard to believe that the mother might've killed the cub to end its suffering.
    There wouldn't too much thinking to it: first an instinctive emotional reaction to hearing its cub suffer, and she would probably have known that killing it would've ended its suffering.
    I don't know if it would definitely have been able to have thought like that, but it seems somewhat plausible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

This is too upsetting for me to read.surprised more people hadn't heard of this already.needs much more awareness

And I suppose that is the problem. It is absolutely horrific and yet people don't want to talk or read about it and so it goes on and on.

I am not giving out - it sickened me to read but at the same time these things do need to be out there to hopefully get enough people to react.

How anyone could do that as a job day in day out to a living creature is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Horrible, I guess Morrissey was right when he described the Chinese as a sub-species in terms of their treatment of animals.

Morrisey's been right on a few things lately...

That is absolutely brutal. We all know stuff like this goes on and yet it's not something we think about until we read something like this.

That is absolutely horrific. What is being done to stop it? Surely there are groups that raise awareness to stop this brutality?

I had no idea it existed.
    Jesus christ.
    :(:(:(:(:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

:( Damn Chinese and their herbal remedies.

Stick to making my fried rice, ktnx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

And I suppose that is the problem. It is absolutely horrific and yet people don't want to talk or read about it and so it goes on and on.

I am not giving out - it sickened me to read but at the same time these things do need to be out there to hopefully get enough people to react.

How anyone could do that as a job day in day out to a living creature is beyond me.
    I've read about it already so I know what goes on,without reading it I already feel disgusted at what the chinese do for their bollix medicine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

video puts it all on context really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

When it comes to china there are bigger fish to fry tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I do agree that people do tend to empathise with animals as if they were human a bit too much.
    But no living thing should be treated in such a way if it can be helped.
    I do wonder about animals sometimes- when they appear to act in human-like ways, maybe there is more to them than we give them credit for.

No, anthropomorphism is attributing human characteristics to animals.

Of course folks should empathise with any creature whose existence as a vessel for sham medicine renders its life an utter misery.
    saving her cub from a life of torture by strangling it
    they often try to kill themselves by hitting their stomach
    the mother hugged the cub and eventually strangled it

And the title of this thread itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Sickening. It reminds me of the TV show Stephen Fry did with Mark Cawardine (sp?) about endangered animals .Loads of creatures in Asia are becoming extinct or very rare because of Chinese medicene. Disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I really dislike a hole lot of things about China. I try to boycott anything that comes out of that country as much as possible. They don't treat people all that much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

doomed wrote: »
    And the human race is supposed to be the most advanced species? Yeah right!
    It doesn't mean we're the most ethical species, I don't think that poor human ethics can be argued. But yes, in terms of dominance humans are the most advanced species, the fact that it was the humans who were locking the bears in cages, and not the other way around, is illustrative of that.

Although it would be great in the case of these bears and these farm workers if it could simply be the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I wouldn't care so much about the (medicine) practice itself.. the West has some fairly questionable practices of its own when it comes to animal testing etc.. The shear cruelty shown towards the animals in China is just inexcusable though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

ScumLord wrote: »
    I really dislike a hole lot of things about China. I try to boycott anything that comes out of that country as much as possible. They don't treat people all that much better.

I hear what youre saying but right now Im picturing you sitting naked on the floorboards of a bare empty room :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

No, anthropomorphism is attributing human characteristics to animals.

Of course folks should empathise with any creature whose existence as a vessel for sham medicine renders its life an utter misery.

And the title of this thread itself

I'm not disagreeing with your point.
    But I am not seeing the difference between what you said and what I said though. :confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

How is milk produced?The calf is taken away from it's Mother who calls for days for it and the calf wants it's mother too. The milk production has been stimulated this way and no other.The milk for you'r tea and coffee is got that way.There are many disgusting practices in the irish dairy beef and pig industries.The chinese ways are disgusting but you will find many secrets on various ways around the world.You like Cats???That leather wallet or shoe lining what is it??Cat skin How do they get it.SHIN SCEAL EILE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The Chinese seem to be big into this nonsense. They put elephant tusks into medicines, tiger parts and all sorts. The trouble is there are 1.3 billion Chinese and if only a small percentage want to use these farcical remedies then god help the worlds wildlife.

They are mad about shark fin soup too, they think its a sign of affluence to be seen eating it.... ridiculous :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Whoever works in a place like this has to be suffering from some kind of a mental illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

What a load of shite.

A bear friend ofmine told me the bear had been depressed for some time and that the proposed water charges had been the final straw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

sollar wrote: »
    They are mad about shark fin soup too, they think its a sign of affluence to be seen eating it.... ridiculous :mad:

Whatever about their ridiculous reasons,how they do this is shocking.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Whoever works in a place like this has to be suffering from some kind of a mental illness.

Can you imagine how decensitised you would have to be to be able to torture animals like that every day and then go home to your family at the end of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

paddyandy wrote: »
    How is milk produced?The calf is taken away from it's Mother who calls for days for it and the calf wants it's mother too. The milk production has been stimulated this way and no other.The milk for you'r tea and coffee is got that way.There are many disgusting practices in the irish dairy beef and pig industries.The chinese ways are disgusting but you will find many secrets on various ways around the world.You like Cats???That leather wallet or shoe lining what is it??Cat skin How do they get it.SHIN SCEAL EILE.
    That's not what I see out of my window, I see mother and calf together in fields all the time, the calf's are feed and happy from what I've seen on farms. It can't be argued Irish farming is anywhere close to this, all our beef and milk is basically free range by international standards.

If people care about the quality of life their food has they will buy Irish when it comes to beef and milk. Same can't be said about chickens and pigs but cattle have it good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

A very sad story :( I don't think you can compare milking cows to this

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's not what I see out of my window, I see mother and calf together in fields all the time, the calf's are feed and happy from what I've seen on farms. It can't be argued Irish farming is anywhere close to this, all our beef and milk is basically free range by international standards.

If people care about the quality of life their food has they will buy Irish when it comes to beef and milk. Same can't be said about chickens and pigs but cattle have it good.

while cows certainly have it better than other animals they are killed when their production value wains and also 340,000 cattle were exported live to other countries last year, not exactly in good conditions, almost half of these were less than 6 weeks old with a lot not exactly getting the treatment Irish cows get then! veal farms, halal etc
    still better than other animals i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Can you imagine how decensitised you would have to be to be able to torture animals like that every day and then go home to your family at the end of it?

Only an evil person devoid of any hint of compassion could do this.