Pre-drinks, how much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭soyawhatsup

That game sounds class! However, with Kings, when I play with my friends we do the version that has the 'rules' bit, where someone comes up with a rule and whoever breaks it has to drink. My friends always come up with ridiculous rules that are impossible not to break (no pronouns, no first names, etc.) and we all just end up drinking loads, and the more you drink the less likely you are to be able to remember the rules. It's killer, but great fun!

Best rule EVER is Little Green Man, you have to imagine there's a little green man on top of your drink and you have to mime taking him off before you drink and put him back on when you're finished. (If you forget to take him off or put him back on, drink for 15 seconds) Many a messy night has that little green b*****d provided me with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭alcomoholic

x_Ellie_x wrote: »
    Usually I don't drink before going out. But If I'm waiting around for a long time... I'd just have 1 or 2 bottles before going out. I'm not really a big drinker.

you're an embarrassment to the irish nation.

depends what we're doing.

sport,pub and club night:

we'll head to one of the lads house during the day around 2pm for whatever sport is on and stay there drinking until about 6pm. usually have six cans here, and a dominos meat feast also for myself for a bit of soakage. we'll watch the sport and probably have a few games of call of duty aswell.

then about six o clock its down to the local, for continued sport viewing or just regular banter.

stay here until about 11pm, usually get through about ten pints in that period.

11pm we head into town, a dirty stop off in the kebab shop for a quick chip kebab to settle the tummy, and then we're usually in the club by about 11.45

in the club i go for doubles of the captain/vodka/bushys depending on what i fancy. usually go at a pace of a drink every 30 mins so i usually get about 4 or 5 doubles in me.

by 2.30 if i'm still on steady ground i might chance my arm with a couple of monsters and see if any of them will give me a jump and a place to nestle my head. :p

alternatively if we're taking it handy and cheapening it up we'll just drink in one of our houses from about six onwards. usually go for 8 cans and two power naggins of the captain. cans can be decreased from 6 or increased to 10. obligatory dominoes is also ordered and we usually get to the club about 12ish (kebab is left till after the club on these nights).

sunday morning is spent with my head in the toilet and a packet of paracetamol in my hand.

sunday afternoon is spent in the local for a dose of the cure!

its great being 23 with nothing in front of me but boozing and shagging!!gotta love my life if i do say so!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Shane L

@alcomoholic

How much do you spend on the weekend :pac: as a student I can get away with a 20-30 euro night out having 6-8 cans of dutch/amstel/whatevers 1 euro or a good old bottle of tesco vodka =P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

We call it pre-booze, and for me it's a nag of Southy with white or red lemonade. Maybe a few cans if I'm not up for spirits (Carlsberg or Bavaria).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

This thread is making me want alcohol.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I have a couple of Babyshams and a game of scrabble.

Maybe 2/3 cans. Past the age of drink counting tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Just goes to show how much the pubs and clubs
    are ripping people off, when most of the posters
    here reckon they can only afford a few drinks in
    these establishments. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

This thread is a bit retarded because different people have different tolerance levels. For example someone in here may be able to drink 8 cans and a shoulder of vodka before heading out and that same amount would hospitalise someone else.

Also boasting about how much you drink is a pretty poor trait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,099 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I thought i could handle my drink pretty well, but judging by this thread apparently not. 10 cans before heading out, what the ****? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Best rule EVER is Little Green Man, you have to imagine there's a little green man on top of your drink and you have to mime taking him off before you drink and put him back on when you're finished. (If you forget to take him off or put him back on, drink for 15 seconds) Many a messy night has that little green b*****d provided me with!
    Best rule I've seen is everyone has to sing everything they say for the rest of the game. If you talk/forget to sing, you have to drink for 10 seconds. It just turns into madness with everyone shitfaced and singing over each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

baz2009 wrote: »
    Usually either 6 cans or 8-10 bottles, don't like being hammered leaving the house.

Ace touch your face, 2 fúck you, 3 fúck me, 4 touch the floor, 5 high five, 6 'dicks'(all the lads drink), 7 'chicks', 8 pick a mate, 9 bust a rhyme, 10 waterfall, J pick a rule, Q quizmaster, K pour in the drinks 'til the last K. Them rules FTW!:P Bust a rhyme is my favourite.:D

I love to be the first in bust a rhyme and say something like " I have an orange." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Best rule I've seen is everyone has to sing everything they say for the rest of the game. If you talk/forget to sing, you have to drink for 10 seconds. It just turns into madness with everyone shitfaced and singing over each other.

A mate of mine used to play a rule called gren man in Oz. Whenever someone had to drink they had to take the green man off their shoulder and sit him on the edge of their drink. If you forgot and someone asked where your green man was they got to decide its location and you had to go and get it and place it on your drink before downing whatever you had left. They used play it in the hostel when drinking during the day so the got fairly creative with the greens man location eg. inside the dvd player in the common room of the hostel where people were watching a dvd, on top of the umbrella at a table where a family were eating their dinner etc. when you were getting the green man you were not tell anyone what you were doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

super-rush wrote: »
    I don't think i've ever had pre drinks.

I can't keep up with the yoof of today.
    Crackle wrote: »
    Thank fook I'm not the only one.

How long has this been the thing to do?
    Joe10000 wrote: »
    +1, have never had a drink at home before heading out on the town.

No recession round yer neck of the woods I take it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

That game sounds class! However, with Kings, when I play with my friends we do the version that has the 'rules' bit, where someone comes up with a rule and whoever breaks it has to drink. My friends always come up with ridiculous rules that are impossible not to break (no pronouns, no first names, etc.) and we all just end up drinking loads, and the more you drink the less likely you are to be able to remember the rules. It's killer, but great fun!

Ye my personal favourite rule is you can't say the word drink.

Nothing :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

KeithM89 wrote: »
    A game of Kings decides how much pre-drinking i do. Usually loads...

Drinking games just slow down my drinking tbh

flahavaj wrote: »
    Does anyone actually say "pre-drinks?"

knob speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This 'pre-drinks' lark is schoolboy carry on. Go out, enjoy a few beers and polish yourself off afterwards when you get home.

Usually head out earlyish, often straight after work and start drinking in the pub but if we do drink in the house before it can vary a lot from 5 or 6 bottles to 12 bottles (corona usually) and a loads or whiskey, vodka, jager etc.

As a rule I prefer drinking in the pub than back at a house, would usually have 8 or more pints before hitting late bar/club where it would be onto corona and then double vodkas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭zyxwvu

I used to try to drink as much as possible, which normally resulted in me drinking about 8 cans of carlsberg or tuborg and being very drunk upon leaving! All so I could feel like I was saving lots of money. As a result I often got turned down away from nightclubs so I've learned to cut it down. Normally I have about 3 cans or 4/5 bottles and then another 2 bottles when I get out to the club. Does the trick and I don't wake up feeling too ropey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Usually head out earlyish, often straight after work and start drinking in the pub but if we do drink in the house before it can vary a lot from 5 or 6 bottles to 12 bottles (corona usually) and a loads or whiskey, vodka, jager etc.

As a rule I prefer drinking in the pub than back at a house, would usually have 8 or more pints before hitting late bar/club where it would be onto corona and then double vodkas.

how much would you spend on a night out????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Best rule is drink with left hand only. One night i thought it would be a good idea to apply this rule for a laugh thinkin id catch everyone out but i was the only one caught. Alreadm tipsy and forgetful then being punished for noet drinking with the left. I was in some state. No pointing and no names are also good
    Good times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

About 6 cans, 5 in the gaff and one for the road/taxi. I'll usually have a 2 or 3 captain/scotch n' coke in the gaff as well, for the sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Naggin of vodka mixed with West Coast Cooler or couple of cans of Coors Light depends how drunk I want to be.

Although if there is a big of us girls heading out we play kings and it's usually vodka or preach snapps then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Pre-drinking always ends badly. Never doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Crackle wrote: »
    Thank fook I'm not the only one.

How long has this been the thing to do?

me too...what's the deal with it...do you take it in turns to hold a pre-drinks thing at all of your houses each week or something? What if one of your mates lives with his folks? Do you have to put up with their mum coming in every 5 mins asking if you want sandwiches?

I'd much prefer the pub :D

Horgan wrote: »
    how much would you spend on a night out????

Depends on the night, I suppose somewhere around 70 to 100 euro, including any cover charges and a bag of chips after. A big night with an afternoon start could push over the 100 euro mark.

Even if we drink before going out I still end up spending 50 or 60 euro (incl food after and 5euro for the taxi), oh and that would usually include the cost of the beer in the house too I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

you're an embarrassment to the irish nation.

depends what we're doing.

sport,pub and club night:

we'll head to one of the lads house during the day around 2pm for whatever sport is on and stay there drinking until about 6pm. usually have six cans here, and a dominos meat feast also for myself for a bit of soakage. we'll watch the sport and probably have a few games of call of duty aswell.

then about six o clock its down to the local, for continued sport viewing or just regular banter.

stay here until about 11pm, usually get through about ten pints in that period.

11pm we head into town, a dirty stop off in the kebab shop for a quick chip kebab to settle the tummy, and then we're usually in the club by about 11.45

in the club i go for doubles of the captain/vodka/bushys depending on what i fancy. usually go at a pace of a drink every 30 mins so i usually get about 4 or 5 doubles in me.

by 2.30 if i'm still on steady ground i might chance my arm with a couple of monsters and see if any of them will give me a jump and a place to nestle my head. :p

alternatively if we're taking it handy and cheapening it up we'll just drink in one of our houses from about six onwards. usually go for 8 cans and two power naggins of the captain. cans can be decreased from 6 or increased to 10. obligatory dominoes is also ordered and we usually get to the club about 12ish (kebab is left till after the club on these nights).

sunday morning is spent with my head in the toilet and a packet of paracetamol in my hand.

sunday afternoon is spent in the local for a dose of the cure!

its great being 23 with nothing in front of me but boozing and shagging!!gotta love my life if i do say so!!! :D

You got it nailed bruvv!!

Usually 6 - 10 cans or 10 bottles and a naggin. Save the naggin for last and drink it, with a mixer, in the joe maxi / Q for the club (we always hit Coppers so we have plenty time to Q and drink).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

me too...what's the deal with it...do you take it in turns to hold a pre-drinks thing at all of your houses each week or something? What if one of your mates lives with his folks? Do you have to put up with their mum coming in every 5 mins asking if you want sandwiches?

I'd much prefer the pub :D

Yeah turns are usually taken, and at this stage the 'rents know better than that! For them it's either:

1. Steer well clear of the designated session area / fridge and not be seen.

2. If you do need to interrupt or walk through, you get the craic going with the lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭dirtypanties

this thread is making me feel sick!:(

I thought I could handle my drink but if I was drinking 8 cans before going out I'd be tucked up in bed by 11pm!Gone are the days of double vodkas too...does that mean I am officially old?????