Pre-drinks, how much?

• 10-08-2011 11:07PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

So im just back from the lads pre drinks session before hitting Harcourt St for some clubbin. Im not heading out myself as i was driving before being invited and have work in the morning (not a good idea for myself anymore).

Anyway a few of them were pissed which got me to thinking how much do people drink before they head out. I usually have say 5 or 6 bottles of Miller or whatever because I dont like getting a taxi or bus drunk going in.

Well, what do you drink? :pac:

Cue the "im irish i drink 16 cans and a nagen of tesco vodka rafturrrr"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Bottle of wine usually. Bad idea. Used to chase it with 2/3 shots of Micky Finns but I have gotten older and wiser.

Worst night recently was when I drank a half bottle of wine mixed with a half bottle of peach Shnapps with Mr Freezes as ice. Yummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Maybe a naggan of Captain Morgan's and/or a few cans. Never go over the top though, I don't really see the point of going out already drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 surestew

4 cans of bulmers and a naggin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Im not a big beer drinker but If im heading to someones house for a few drinks before we go out I usually buy a shoulder of jack. When I have that finished Im pretty well sorted for the night save for one drink in the nightclub or a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

A game of Kings decides how much pre-drinking i do. Usually loads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭First Explorer

Normally buy 6 cans and drink between 4-6 of them depending on how long i'm waiting around for others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭klose

8 cans of that sweet sweet bav or go halves on someone with a 20 box of bud/miller usually one of the supermarkets has one of them going for 15-18 euro each week.
    Drink a nice bit before going out cause i dont drink much while out to maximise scrubiness :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

And here I was wondering why all the younger ones seem half pissed arriving in the pub. Must investigate this lark myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

8 cans of that sweet sweet bav or go halves on someone with a 20 box of bud/miller usually one of the supermarkets has one of them going for 15-18 euro each week.
    Drink a nice bit before going out cause i dont drink much while out to maximise scrubiness :D

Being a trinity student it's gotten to the point where bav is my favourite out of all the mainstream beers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

depends on how much fun I'm having at home or if I've to meet people in town.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    A game of Kings decides how much pre-drinking i do. Usually loads...

Oooh I'd like to know what rules ye play by up the country. We should have a game together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i usually walk into a pub with my head tilted backwards in case i spill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Does anyone actually say "pre-drinks?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭ciano1

flahavaj wrote: »
    Does anyone actually say "pre-drinks?"

Yes, lots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

about 6 cans for the night would do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Oooh I'd like to know what rules ye play by up the country. We should have a game together.

Zero.. Always meet in the pub. Even was back in Ireland for a few weeks. We'd all meet in the pub to start off, or go for dinner first.

Was the same in my poor student days.
    We would have after drinks at a house, rarely before.

What's this game of kings thingy?

I rarely "pre-drink" a glass of wine or possibly two while I'm getting dollied but not to get drunk just because I like my wine....

What's this game of kings thingy?

It's a card game. You draw cards in turns and do different things depending on what you draw.

Guarenteed to get you seshed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

Usually I don't drink before going out. But If I'm waiting around for a long time... I'd just have 1 or 2 bottles before going out. I'm not really a big drinker.

Guarenteed to get you seshed.

I vaguely remember a game called fuzzy duck from my, eh.. younger years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

It usually involves a lot of stripping :p

Ace is a tequila shot, 2 f*ck you, 3 f*ck me, 4 hit the floor, 5, everyone drink for 5, 6 question master thing, 7, hand to heaven, 8, pick a date, 9 bust a rhyme, 10, toilet card, Jack, finish your drink, Q, waterfall, and King is the community cup.
    Fun :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭HelloYoungBoy

2 turbo nagins and the night is a haze!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Depends. If it's a special occasion and I want to get messy, or I'm playing catch-up, I'll go on the Morgan's. 2-3 of them (with a pretty lop-sided ratio of Morgans:Coke) and I'm on my way.

But I don't drink heavily that often anymore. So generally I just have 2-3 Bulmers while getting ready to get me a bit buzzed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

7-8 cans usually and then maybe a pint or two over the night inside to keep me ticking over

feck kings though - hate them ****e drinking games.. I want to enjoy my drink not have to neck a pint of vodka whiskey bavaria and bulmers mixed together because I got the last king :mad:

and I wouldn't call it pre drinks - It's more along the lines of "having a few cans"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

A shoulder of vodka or Jack and 4-bottles/cans.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    It usually involves a lot of stripping :p

Ace is a tequila shot, 2 f*ck you, 3 f*ck me, 4 hit the floor, 5, everyone drink for 5, 6 question master thing, 7, hand to heaven, 8, pick a date, 9 bust a rhyme, 10, toilet card, Jack, finish your drink, Q, waterfall, and King is the community cup.
    Fun :P

No stripping for us. Sure we're usually all girls.

Ace-Waterfall, 2 For You, 3 For me, 4 to the floor, 5Never have I ever, 6 all drink, 7 to heaven, 8 pick a mate, 9 Bust a rhyme, 10 make up a rule (usually end every sentence with in my pants) Jack go back, Queen is quizmaster, King all drink!

I wanna go drinking NOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Ya I don't get the point of the drinking games either. If the idea of the games is to get drunk, why not just get drunk by drinking loads?

No stripping for us. Sure we're usually all girls.

Ace-Waterfall, 2 For You, 3 For me, 4 to the floor, 5Never have I ever, 6 all drink, 7 to heaven, 8 pick a mate, 9 Bust a rhyme, 10 make up a rule (usually end every sentence with in my pants) Jack go back, Queen is quizmaster, King all drink!

I wanna go drinking NOW

Ah here you've ruined the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Owldshtok

Keno 92 wrote: »
    A shoulder of vodka or Jack and 4-bottles/cans.

What sort of measure is a shoulder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

Oh god i remember fuzzy duck. And some other game that involved throwing a coin in a glass....

I'd usually have 2 or 3 beers before going out but that does depend on whether or not i'm waiting on others to get a bl@@dy move on!