Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Do you tip your food delivery driver???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Yes €2+
    You're the one who mentioned the 30 seconds initially. If it's long enough for me to get the impression that the customer is a thundering arsehole then it somewhat undermines the assertion that it's an insignificant period of time and therefore the driver can't possibly have achieved anything.

Its insignifcant in the grand scheme of your life. Also you cannot make an accurate judgement of someone based on that small a period of time. Just because they were rude then - there could have been any number of factors leading up to that behaviour. Besides, just because you do not tip does not make you a 'thundering arsehole'. I am always polite, thank the person and smile. Still wont be tipping.

Yup. If the driver earns a bit of extra cash by getting the tipper's food to them a bit faster, then they're going to do it. You can say that's not right all you like, but first of all, you'll never know if you're the second delivery or what order things went in, but the driver's responsibility to himself is to make the most money possible in a given night. I won't support anyone interfering with or eating the food, but in terms of determining delivery order, whether you tip or not is a contributing factor.

If ill never know that he chooses to come to me second, what difference does it make. As long as i get my food within an appropriate length of time, agreed by the establishment and it is not cold then i dont care if someone gets there 5 mins earlier. You know you are going to be waiting for a takeaway and if you want it faster go and collect it yourself. If it does take longer than a promised time with no valid reason, or if my food arrives cold, i would complain to the business itslef and never order from them again.
    It's not a bad job at all, but the pay is determined by the tips, and the flat rate pay is crap, as it presumes a rate of tips.

If you are getting paid under minimum wage then you need to take that up with your employer as that is illegal - if you get minimum wage there are plenty of other jobs out there that pay minimum wage too so not a reason to tip.

You still have not told me what you have done, other than the job you are paid for, to deserve a tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Yes €2+
    It's not a bad job at all, but the pay is determined by the tips, and the flat rate pay is crap, as it presumes a rate of tips.

What is the flat rate pay ? If its not below minimum wage(If it is... get a different job)... you know what... suck it up... all they have to do is drive a fooking car around and deal with a few customers.. I can understand a waitress/waiter complaining if they doesnt get any tips but for something that requires you to sit on your hole for most of your shift... get outta here.. probably wouldn't know what hard work is even if it slapped them on the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭MsJenjers

I might let them keep the change if it's a small bit but only cos I'm never arsed waiting for it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

No - They get paid already.
    e04bf0c8 wrote: »
    How long has it been since you done deliveries? yes things use to be this good but not lately, especially since the new year. Ive been doing deliveries for quite a while now and lately I consider it a good nite if I go home with even near min wage. And thats only taking into account the cost of petrol and not the extra wear and tear on the car!

For those that don't tip, the driver will always remember you. I always give preferential teatment to tipping customers. The most common is when I have to do multiple drops in one trip, I will always drop last to a customer that doesn't tip. Whether there order was in first or not![/QUOTE]

*is glad i tip*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

I tip my local chinese delivery guy. He's really funny when I open the door, and greatfull when he gets a tip on top of €2 delivery charge.

But I dont tip the other chipper fiuckers that starts slowly counting my change back to me...1 euro <looks me in the eye>........2 euro <slowly jingles pocket for more change>.........2 and heif euro........

I let the [EMAIL="b@stard"]b@stard[/EMAIL] finish and slam the door in his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Yes €2+
    Do I whaaaaa?! A beedin' tip is eh! I do in me hOle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Yes €2+
    I would never tip a delivery guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Bobby42

Yes €2+
    I've often tipped the delivery driver a euro or two but recently I've had delivery driving that are really reluctant to give the change back.
    You give them a 20 and they stand there awkwardly searching through a handful of change, taking ages, hoping you'll just say keep it. That really annoys me. I'll tip if I want to, I won't be bullied into tipping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Yes €2+
    Bobby42 wrote: »
    I've often tipped the delivery driver a euro or two but recently I've had delivery driving that are really reluctant to give the change back.
    You give them a 20 and they stand there awkwardly searching through a handful of change, taking ages, hoping you'll just say keep it. That really annoys me. I'll tip if I want to, I won't be bullied into tipping.

**** them. Make them wait if they are trying a stunt like that. I always give the correct change and close the door the instant the money touches their hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Only if its hot and fast delivery.
    Yeah. It's usually the same girl and she's nice and f4riendly.Usually just let her keep the change or round it off. Always between 2-3 Euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

jc002 wrote: »

If you're renowned for not tipping, this will be noticed. Expect your food to be delivered later. Plus, with stuff like chips, a known non-tipper will have their "tip" taken from the bag in advance. And believe me, that's only "for starters". On the other hand, if you DO tip (even a euro), the driver will go out of his way to ensure you get your food as quickly as possible in future.

Well, if that's the case, I will have a fist full of change prepared as a tip for every delivery in future.

But I will first rub this change all over my ball sac and ass crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

know a fello who delivers pizza in cork, he was telling me that he gets 5euro an hour, must use his own car and petrol at his own expense, but he said the tips are usually good which brings it up to a "normal" wage....

well if they wer getting paid 8euro / hour and did 4 deliveries every hour and each delivery gave a 2 euro tip, thats like a gazillion euro a day! everyone be doing it :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭e04bf0c8

Well, if that's the case, I will have a fist full of change prepared as a tip for every delivery in future.

But I will first rub this change all over my ball sac and ass crack.

suppose thats only fair seen as that is what happens your food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

e04bf0c8 wrote: »
    suppose thats only fair seen as that is what happens your food!

They started it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭superbad50

yes i would always tip. the way the country has gone , a lot of these drivers can not find work and are depending on a few guid to pay there mortgages. well I know 2 lads who this is the case with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Always wait for the change and hand a euro back. The delivery charge should be going to them too so its a fair enough premium to pay over going myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

jme2010 wrote: »
    I
    But I dont tip the other chipper fiuckers that starts slowly counting my change back to me...1 euro <looks me in the eye>........2 euro <slowly jingles pocket for more change>.........2 and heif euro........

haha. its true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I always do. I tend to order from the same place every time, and have gotten a good rapport with the two delivery guys. They even sent me a Christmas card, and more than once have given me free iced cream or a free drink off their own backs.

I know a guy who used to be a delivery man, and the delivery charge went towards paying for petrol. Dunno if it's the same for all, but I think it's reasonable to tip the guy, it's not like they're making total bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I always do. I tend to order from the same place every time, and have gotten a good rapport with the two delivery guys. They even sent me a Christmas card, and more than once have given me free iced cream or a free drink off their own backs.

I know a guy who used to be a delivery man, and the delivery charge went towards paying for petrol. Dunno if it's the same for all, but I think it's reasonable to tip the guy, it's not like they're making total bank.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Give him the tip o me boot if he is slow getting the nosh around......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

Used to deliver food when I was retraining about 12 years ago, the amount of miserable cnuts that will wait for 10p change is unreal

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

There are some services you tip and some you do not. Delivery drivers are one such bunch that you should tip unless they are ignorant dickheads. Nothing extravagant but a tip should be given or you are just being stingy. If ya can afford to get a guy to drop the food to your place cause you are too lazy to pick it up, then the least you should do is give em a euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Balloon Of a fish in C.

I always have a tip in one hand and wait for my change with the other first.
    If I get a smart look because I'm waiting for my change ,I keep the tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

No - Never - I can't afford it
    Yup. 2 euro.

However if they take an hour they get nothing. Most guys take about 20 mins or so but the odd few take liberties and they don't deserve a tip for being ****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

yes about 2 euro if they are on time

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Can't blame the delivery driver for being late if the lads in the shop take a small age to prepare it. Had one thick cúnt one night, tried ringing him to find his house but he wouldn't answer. I eventually found the house but he didnt want it, fair enough I didn't go hungry for the night after that.

Another thought, would you get offended if the delivery driver didn't accept your tip and just hands your change back to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Marty_Orr

yea I usually give what ever amount of coins I get with my change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I usually tip €2 but if they're quick I do give more. There's this Chinese place and they always deliver within 5 minutes of me calling them. I always give them great tips for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭VenusPlays

I usually tip 2 euro. But I dont tip one driver who grabbed my ass and tried to snog me in my hall! I dont order from that establishment anymore but my son does so he answers the door but wont tip. Happy to eat their pizza tho lol