If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

About last night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

That isn't actually too bad..fcuk it sure, at least I got mine dirt cheap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

fjsanchez wrote: »
    That isn't actually too bad..fcuk it sure, at least I got mine dirt cheap :D

not too bad when ya think of it but when youre downloading it it feels like a week :P

Scody94 wrote: »
    not too bad when ya think of it but when youre downloading it it feels like a week :P

I'd believe it..and the worst thing is you wouldn't be able to do anything else, ie watch youtube videos, play COD on the console etc. while the download is in progress cause of our crappy internet.. oh Eircom <3

eircom is a love hate thing hate it and love to hate it :P switchin to 25mb broadband over the next few days :P it was grand to play other games but id be sacrificing the download time :P

No don't switch to 25mb, everyone is switching these days, I'll be the only one on 3mb now :P

forever-alone.gif

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

fjsanchez wrote: »
    No don't switch to 25mb, everyone is switching these days, I'll be the only one on 3mb now :P

forever-alone.gif

I'm on 2MB ;)

Less than 1 where the modem currently is, ie: wired to the PS3. remove all extensions, phones and use frommain phone line, I get 1.2 to 1.5 MB :-/

edit - on topic note, might pick me up a copy of COD4 for ze laptop. Half considering it.

I'm on 2MB ;)

Less than 1 where the modem currently is, ie: wired to the PS3. remove all extensions, phones and use frommain phone line, I get 1.2 to 1.5 MB :-/

edit - on topic note, might pick me up a copy of COD4 for ze laptop. Half considering it.

I get 0.9 download and 0.1 upload most of the time :D, I only get 4 bars when the host is Irish, ie when I'm playing with the lads on Xbox there's normally someone with UPC. Thankfully my ping isn't too bad (25 ms last time I checked).

Yeah you should definitely get a copy of it, I found it for cheap on Amazon. Have been looking at videos of mods on Youtube like Promod and MW2 mod (all MW2 guns and maps on COD4 engine - all noobtubing/commando bullsh1t = heaven). Can't wait for it to arrive, though I will be unbelievably crap with keyboard and mouse :)

Lads, what's the story with custom maps and do many of you use them re: COD4 ?
    I remember seeing years ago some really nice custom maps. One was a copy of the Boston Red Sox stadium, Fenway Park it was called. Multiple tiers, underground, car park and all. Looked really good.

Bit of googling and wholla, footy stadium but yeah, amazing -

_21118-.jpg

_21117-.jpg

just played some star wars mod .
    , its frickin fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lads, what's the story with custom maps and do many of you use them re: COD4 ?
    I remember seeing years ago some really nice custom maps. One was a copy of the Boston Red Sox stadium, Fenway Park it was called. Multiple tiers, underground, car park and all. Looked really good.

yap alot of custom maps around

zombie stuff too

first time iv seen the Red sox one, looks pretty awesome

Scody94 what's your steam nick

Headshot wrote: »

zombie stuff too

Scody

Scody

added

hop onto ops and we'll have a quick game

added

hop onto ops and we'll have a quick game

<_< >_>
    i dont have ops yet :P
    60 for it is rather steep imo

<_< >_>
    i dont have ops yet :P
    60 for it is rather steep imo

ouch

dont get it for that rip off price (not worth it either)

bound to be cheaper online

ouch

dont get it for that rip off price (not worth it either)

bound to be cheaper online

is there a way i could buy the disk and link it to steam ?

yap its no bother

that's what I did

just buy it from any gamestore and it automatically links with steam

cool il head down town tommorow and see

its 45 euro in gamestop according to their website

You should beable to get it cheaper than that. Disgraceful pricing by them as usual

its 45 euro in gamestop according to their website

You should beable to get it cheaper than that. Disgraceful pricing by them as usual

ye just saw that there aswell :P

il have a scout around anyway

btw is portal 2 worth a buy ? 17.47 in gamestop

absolutely worth every penny

( I presume you havent played it on the consoles)

crysis 2 is another

absolutely worth every penny

( I presume you havent played it on the consoles)

crysis 2 is another

nope havnt played it at all

i could be broke this time tommorow lol

zombie stuff too

Red Sox is a baseball stadium ya fool :p

You've played on many yeah? Some cracking retro COD maps I've saw on www.gamebanana.com, highlight being Stalingrad which is a classic.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I love MW2 maps but not so much the gameplay. There's a heap of servers that has MW2 maps in rotation for COD4. Good fun and far more balanced gaming

There really is some fantastic maps in it now though.

Cheers for that Cherry. Looks great alright.

I've more or less decided last night that if MW3 is awful, bordering on MW2 awful! I'll commit and buy myself a gaming PC. Perfect chance to do so then. Yesterday once again emphasized how brilliant COD4 is while playing it on the PS3.. until hacked lobbies reared their ugly head again, 10 games of no stress and just rewarding fun. Don't think it's worth my time bothering trying to play on laptop.

Just buy a pc now. Join the dark side

But you're an angel with that voice of yours, hardly the dark side is it? Unless it's something like Dogma now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Red Sox is a baseball stadium ya fool :p

You've played on many yeah? Some cracking retro COD maps I've saw on www.gamebanana.com, highlight being Stalingrad which is a classic.

forgot how big the modding community was for cs/css ! 25,000 maps !!! Crazy.

I used to love playing KZ maps (Jumping maps), wonder if there are any for CoD4, would be cool. csbanana was awesome back in the day, gunskins and **** were brillant, good to see that they've spread to other games now. They really need to release mod tools for MW3, as balanced as they might make it, it will never be good enough for the PC community.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Bit of promod and star wars with scody and headshot last night. happy out

COD4 finally came today, but it is not running smoothly at all on my PC. Lagging a good bit. Any suggestions?