Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

London Riots

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

calex71 wrote: »
    Could this happen here??? We have our share of scum, but not nearly in the numbers and concentrated pockets they have there and they also have a few more cultural and racial issues too. My main worry here would be the Gardai numbers and preparedness for something like that.

Im a grown man and watching this is actually quite scary seeing buildings on fire on streets I know, I have friends who used to live on one of the streets effected tonight up until a month ago :eek:

not to worry my good friend, every since the rich people left, the gardai no longer have to protect them and their property, so the gardai will bash any non whitey they see on sight, they don't get a chance to form a group of more that 5, thank feck for the public order act ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I didn't use the M word.. Very deliberately.

And yet...

I think that is a bit shallow a reading of it. People are angry at a system that has failed them, in this case yet another civilian murdered by the hated police. It has manifested itself in a way that I will agree is not healthy, but this has been building for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

I don't hate the Brits. Far from it. I worked there and have a number of friends there and here from Britain.

If this was the police in Ulaan Blattor behaving like the Met behave I would criticise them. If I have an 'agenda' its accountability and competence from public servants. And a bit of ACAB admittedly.

I am getting the feeling you dont like police full stop,not about the country.But thats how you are coming across.
    The 18 year old black youth who was asked to be searched earlier apparently,refused search.When a mob approached the police man and surrounded him.Yeah so innocent they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

fatalll wrote: »
    they asked a guy this evening to search him... thats all..and they started again...
    Its bs if you think the cops killed this man in dubious circumstances.....
    he was allegedly a drug dealer...what do drug dealers do...exactly kill people slowly!! and painfully and cause misery in everyones lives
    You need to seriously check and read what your writing....

We have to give the cops the benefit of the doubt, but we can label a man with no convictions as a career criminal? Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

caseyann wrote: »
    I am getting the feeling you dont like police full stop,not about the country.But thats how you are coming across.
    The 18 year old black youth who was asked to be searched earlier apparently,refused search.When a mob approached the police man and surrounded him.Yeah so innocent they are.

casey ann you seem to think what most normal people think..
    well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭Sand

@OhNoYouDidn't
    Because they did it badly. Like they are doing it badly tonight. Like they killed someone who did not need to be killed on Friday.

You're very clearly biased - didnt you say the Met has been ****e since Jack the Ripper?

Would you mind expressing exactly what you expect them to do? I presume you want them to round up a hundred or so riot police, advance on the rioters beating their shields....and what then?

Because they did it badly. Like they are doing it badly tonight. Like they killed someone who did not need to be killed on Friday.

I thought that was thursday? http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2011/aug/08/mark-duggan-handgun-lethal-weapon
    Mark Duggan handgun tests show conversion into lethal weapon.

Mark Duggan, whose shooting by police sparked the Tottenham riots, may have held handgun converted to use live ammunition, according to ballistics tests. Photograph: pixel8000
    The weapon being carried by Mark Duggan, the man's whose death sparked the weekend's rioting, was a converted handgun capable of firing real ammunition, the Guardian understands. Expedited forensic tests are being carried out on the handgun found at the scene of Duggan's fatal shooting and bullets fired by the police.

It is understood that ballistics experts have established that the firearm being carried in the minicab was a lethal weapon. It was a handgun which at one point had not been capable of firing – a replica, a starting pistol or a collector's weapon. But the firearm had been converted – as many illegal firearms purchased on the street are – to carry live ammunition.

According to Sky the C019 firearms officer has said that he never claimed Duggan had shot at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,870 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

calex71 wrote: »
    Could this happen here??? We have our share of scum, but not nearly in the numbers and concentrated pockets they have there and they also have a few more cultural and racial issues too. My main worry here would be the Gardai numbers and preparedness for something like that.

Im a grown man and watching this is actually quite scary seeing buildings on fire on streets I know, I have friends who used to live on one of the streets effected tonight up until a month ago :eek:

It could, just look at the 2006 riots caused by Celtic jersey wearing yobs, What happened to them? Nothing! Just a couple of guest appearances on TV3 shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Oh my god.Just any excuse to blame police.They are handling the situation to the best of their ability without harming anyone.Because if they did then it would be police brutality.
    They are also stating that these people are moving across the city and when police are fixing that situation they start up in another area.
    Cop on.

If this is the best of their ability, then there are many, many people who need to be fired.

Sand wrote: »
    @OhNoYouDidn't

You're very clearly biased - didnt you say the Met has been ****e since Jack the Ripper?

Would you mind expressing exactly what you expect them to do? I presume you want them to round up a hundred or so riot police, advance on the rioters beating their shields....and what then?

If they are looting and burning out property, knock the ****e out of them.

But you are missing the entire context to why the Met have lost control here. Because they are corrupt and useless. And the locals know it and are running amock in the vacuum.

When the Met aren't taking backhanders from NOTW that is. Or shooting Brazilians. Or men with table legs. Or covering up for racist murderers of teenagers. And so on. And so on.

@OhNoYouDidn't

Are you willing to accept a Met officers word that the schoolkid he knocked the ****e out of was looting and burning property?

Given hes a member of force you consider corrupt and useless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

But you are missing the entire context to why the Met have lost control here. Because they are corrupt and useless. And the locals know it and are running amock in the vacuum.

When the Met aren't taking backhanders from NOTW that is. Or shooting Brazilians. Or men with table legs. Or covering up for racist murderers of teenagers. And so on. And so on.

There'll be the breaking of the ancient western code
    Your private life will suddenly explode
    There'll be phantoms, there'll be fires on the road
    and the white man dancing (^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^)

We have to give the cops the benefit of the doubt, but we can label a man with no convictions as a career criminal? Hmmm.

Some residents in the Broadwater Farm estate where Duggan grew up told the Daily Mail that he was a crack cocaine dealer who usually carried a gun.

read more: http://www.tntmagazine.com/tnt-today/archive/2011/08/08/mark-duggan-crack-dealer-linked-to-star-gang-say-reports.aspx#ixzz1UTuQ2X69

Have you seen his face book?
    I believe that if he had a firearm [on the evening he died] and if he saw police he would run rather than shoot. When he was remanded last time, he said he hated jail and never wanted to go back there. I can’t see why he would have a gun on him at all."
    Above said by his girlfriend.:rolleyes: Yeah innocent he is.
    Apart of some Jamaican gang apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

That would be pure specualtion on your behalf and you have no certain facts to back up any of the above ??
    Their are good cops and their are bad cops....end of, you can't tar them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Cops are not clamping down hard enough - riots will continue until the do - bring the watercannons in from NI

@OhNoYouDidn't

Are you willing to accept a Met officers word that the schoolkid he knocked the ****e out of was looting and burning property?

Given hes a member of force you consider corrupt and useless?

At this point they have totally lost control of an entire city. From going in WAY too hard on the protests during the summer, the infamous kettling scandal, to this extreme of standing around scratching their gickers while London burns.

They. Are. Totally. Useless.

Are we disputing their corruption? NOTW...?

If this is the best of their ability, then there are many, many people who need to be fired.

So easy to sit back on your high horse and make such statements isnt it.
    You go for the job if you have the solution.

Who needs to be fired.Oh wait should they send them in and let their police die like A police officer has been stabbed to death during riots at the Broadwater Farm housing estate in Tottenham, North London.
    Another policeman was shot and injured after a night of horrific violence between the police and hundreds of black and white youths.

God they are kicking in peoples doors now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Just watching it on BBC ... incredible. This isn't anything to do with protesting this is just rampant vandalism.

Have they no water cannon, no teargas, no rubber bulletts? ... a couple of army snipers would restore order in 10 mins.

How many peoples jobs are going up in smoke tonight while these layabout, good for nothings are give a free run of the city?

Cops are not clamping down hard enough - riots will continue until the do - bring the watercannons in from NI

They need the army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

What's so wrong with not liking the police? It's a valid point of view informed in my case by personal experience. There are a large number of people in society who mistrust and dislike the police. Who believe that communities should police themselves or that some alternative form of policing is desirable. The idea that the police are trustworthy and beyond reproach is a complete fallacy. Just ask the family of John Charles de Menezes or Frank McBrearty what their opinion of the police is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Ricardo G wrote: »
    That would be pure specualtion on your behalf and you have no certain facts to back up any of the above ??

No facts to back up the fact that John Charles de Menezes was murdered by the Met because he looked "Mongolian"? A completely innocent man murdered in cold blood. That is a fact!

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    What's so wrong with not liking the police? It's a valid point of view informed in my case by personal experience. There are a large number of people in society who mistrust and dislike the police. Who believe that communities should police themselves or that some alternative form of policing is desirable. The idea that the police are trustworthy and beyond reproach is a complete fallacy. Just ask the family of John Charles de Menezes or Frank McBrearty what their opinion of the police is.

Its a form of discrimination is what it is.If you dont like one policeman for a reason then thats fair enough(if that individual battered you).To blame a whole body of police force is discrimination for doing the job i personally would never do.
    He ran his fault.

@OhNoYouDidn't
    At this point they have totally lost control of an entire city. From going in WAY too hard on the protests during the summer, the infamous kettling scandal, to this extreme of standing around scratching their gickers while London burns.

They. Are. Totally. Useless.

Are we disputing their corruption? NOTW...?

Yeah - I knew I had you on that one.

Youre happy enough to blab on about knocking the ****e out of troublemakers, but youre not able to trust the word of a met officer as to who was a troublemaker. Essentially, you've got a childish view on things where something *must* be done, but simultaneously you dont want it done.

Thanks for your time. Come again.

Ricardo G wrote: »

So they haven't admitted officers took bribes from the NOTW?

De Menzes was not shot by the Met in error?

There wasn't massive controversy over the Stephen Lawerence murder where the Met were described as 'institutionally racist' by a judge?

Harry Stanley wasn't shot in the back carrying a table leg?

Not one cop held to book for any of the above.

Blair Peach, Satpal Ram, Winston Silcott, Kings Cross Two. The list goes on and on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

At this rate several will be dead by morning I'd imagine. There might just be enough of a pause (even the scum of the earth get tired) to declare a state of emergency with the attendant powers through COBRA to have an armed curfew. They should fly over 500-800 troops from NI and senior PSNI tacticians, they'd be better at this sort of thing than using local units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

They need the army.
    lol and the army are where?

@OhNoYouDidn't

Yeah - I knew I had you on that one.

Youre happy enough to blab on about knocking the ****e out of troublemakers, but youre not able to trust the word of a met officer as to who was a troublemaker. Essentially, you've got a childish view on things where something *must* be done, but simultaneously you dont want it done.

Thanks for your time. Come again.

I am asking for the police to DO THEIR JOBS

Not kill people. Not take bribes. Not cover up racist murders. Not kettle children. Not stitch innocents up. Get out there and deal with anti social behaviour and crime.

You make it sound like I am odd for having that opinion.

digme wrote: »

All of them? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    No facts to back up the fact that John Charles de Menezes was murdered by the Met because he looked "Mongolian"? A completely innocent man murdered in cold blood. That is a fact!

Wow, thats some list :rolleyes:

Our own Gardai have made numerous mistakes over the years, does that mean every one of them are corrupt ?? And just because you had a bad experience with ONE that does'nt make the rest a bad bunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

digme wrote: »
    Watching out for IEDS in a far off land.