Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

London Riots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

fatalll wrote: »
    I dont think they did, unless you are listening to some foreign channel and getting the translation wrong,
    usually the media will say why are they not cracking down on them....ie they are too soft..
    or when they do, they will say the police used excessive force...

lets see how long that takes to happen

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-14450248

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Nodin wrote: »
    Yet oddly the races are out there, side by side, mingling as a vast sea of rioting tracksuited skangers as we type.....

The great irony is that the anti-social behavior that is so prevalent in estates across much of the UK is a critical example of 'successful' assimilation: many members of the second generation have adopted the norms and values of good ol' British yobbism. More's the pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Why do you want an Aussie TV series introduced?:eek:

Its Martial Law.

oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Wow society breaking down right in front of our eyes.

http://www.wikihow.com/Survive-a-Breakdown-of-the-Social-Order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭ultain

sollar wrote: »
    Young people with little stake in society venting imo

More like they are not under the illusion they have a stake in society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Stupid thread is stupid.

How the angle that this is somehow as a response to the killing of the Mark Duggan is frankly beyond me. This is nothing more than petty thugs out to cause mayhem.

Ridiculous.

In Tottenham after the death of the alleged drug dealer and gang member Mark duggan who was carrying a gun.http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2011/aug/08/mark-duggan-handgun-lethal-weaponThey robbed machetes and knives from a store.I wouldnt be sending any police into any of them situations.
    And what the hell is Britain doing allowing those items to be sold at all in shops in first place?

Anyway, one thing we can all agree on, its not a proper riot until we see some sliced ham.

Sand wrote: »
    Theres no point leaving outnumbered police surrounded in areas where they are being stoned and petrol bombed, yet lack the support to do anything about it. It only encourages further attacks by the local scumbags eager to act out ritualistic, safe violence against faceless targets. Policemen have families too, and commanders have to take into account the safety of their own men and women under their command.

Like I said, send in the social workers - let them do their thing and show the police how its done.

This is not Hurricane Katrina where half of the police force was MIA. Why would the city, at a minimum, not enforce a curfew? Have they not learned anything about urban riots in the last 100 years?

This whole situation reeks of rank incompetence. Most of the UK leadership is terrified of being shrieked down by the far left or the far right. Either take some fcuking leadership when your capital city is on fire, or stand down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Typical. Still playing the race card.

Step by step guide to getting on in life:

Step 1: Buy an alarm clock,

Step 2: Get up and go to school,

Step 3: Get a job.

These are the steps taken by people who WANT to get on in life.

i dont see where it says the met are doing a terrible job anywhere..
    and your point is???

caseyann wrote: »
    In Tottenham after the death of the alleged drug dealer and gang member Mark duggan who was carrying a gun.http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2011/aug/08/mark-duggan-handgun-lethal-weaponThey robbed machetes and knives from a store.I wouldnt be sending any police into any of them situations.
    And what the hell is Britain doing allowing those items to be sold at all in shops in first place?

If you won't send the police to confront thugs, then you have a **** police force.

caseyann, if cops don't want to deal with violent people, riots, and mayhem, then they need to go work in a supermarket or something. Given the current economic situation, I am sure there would be many willing to take their place.

And I see you haven't addressed the points raised by the Indo article at all. Surprise, surprise.

I am watching it live on tv i dont need to read the rags.Thanks :)
    I wouldnt expect them to put their lives in jeopardy and be outnumbered and be in fear of being killed by a bunch of knackers.

If you won't send the police to confront thugs, then you have a **** police force.

Oh my god.Just any excuse to blame police.They are handling the situation to the best of their ability without harming anyone.Because if they did then it would be police brutality.
    They are also stating that these people are moving across the city and when police are fixing that situation they start up in another area.
    Cop on.

And as i said already.Bring in the army with guns and scare the **** out of them and herd them up and lock them in detention steel grated camps.

Oh my god.Just any excuse to blame police.They are handling the situation to the best of their ability without harming anyone.Because if they did then it would be police brutality.
    They are also stating that these people are moving across the city and when police are fixing that situation they start up in another area.
    Cop on.

well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I think this thread was started by OhNoYouDidn't mainly as a soapbox for his well known agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭V_Moth

Cop on.

And as i said already.Bring in the army with guns and scare the **** out of them and herd them up and lock them in detention steel grated camps.

Because this worked in the 1960's in Norn Iron.....

The Hackney kick off is being blamed on the same group of teenagers being stopped and searched 3 times in 20 mins and they had nothing on them. This the day after they killed a chap in dubious circumstances. They are a law onto themselves and totally oblivious to the spirit of human rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Well we don't know how the gun got there. We don't know if the cops saw it in advance. We have no idea if the policeman was in fear. We do know that he got no shots off and the police managed to shoot one of themselves and they initially lied about it.

Being armed does not make you 'fair game' by the way, no more than walking home past a riot cop, carrying a table leg or getting the tube to work does.

That's right. So how can you be so sure it was murder then

mike65 wrote: »
    I think this thread was started by OhNoYouDidn't mainly as a soapbox for his well known agenda.

This should be good. My what?

I didn't use the M word.. Very deliberately.

But he wouldn't be the first innocent man riddled with bullets by the Met with the officers in question getting away scott free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

Typical. Still playing the race card.

Step by step guide to getting on in life:

Step 1: Buy an alarm clock,

Step 2: Get up and go to school,

Step 3: Get a job.

These are the steps taken by people who WANT to get on in life.

so are when you are president/billionaire you'll fix ireland?

and when i grow up, i'll be a black superhero, but not a lame one, i'll be blackman, cause i believe in my dreams and stuff and santa is real, and bertie was not a crook, and nobody saw this coming, the war in iraq was because sadam was doing satan .... but then i wake up and realise i'm just a white kid who is not stupid ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Could this happen here??? We have our share of scum, but not nearly in the numbers and concentrated pockets they have there and they also have a few more cultural and racial issues too. My main worry here would be the Gardai numbers and preparedness for something like that.

Im a grown man and watching this is actually quite scary seeing buildings on fire on streets I know, I have friends who used to live on one of the streets effected tonight up until a month ago :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Murder is only when there was a delibrate act to set out to kill a person. In such a circumstance as the initial incident, this mental intention would be very difficult to prove.

I was on my way over here to start a thread about it because it is unbelievable that parts of a major city like London have slipped into anarchy.

Whether you agree with the position of the OP or not, it is certainly an issue worth having a thread on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This should be good. My what?

Your agenda (going deaf?)

You are using the thread as a trojan horse to spout your usual anti-Brit clap-trap. You do this by attacking the police as they represent the state and the state is Britian. I'm sure by the time you go to bed you will have shoehorned Northern Ireland into the discussion somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,058 ✭✭✭✭Sand

V_Moth wrote: »
    You are creating a false dichotomy.

No, Im not. What we are seeing in London is what happens when law and order breaks down. People are terrified in their own homes, worried about their families, worried about their places of work - what will happen to the people working in these places that have been burnt down? Where will they work whilst firms are being rebuilt?

Theres no dichotomy involved - if you want to send in the police to restore law and order, its going to require force. You arent going to do it, someone else is going to do it on your behalf. They will be sent in to an extremely difficult situation where they will be under constant attack by rioters where they will have to use force to subdue and disperse them. In such a situation I absolutely guarantee you that someone will get hurt. If the rioting crowds contain youngsters and children youre going to have to accept that they could be hurt.

So before you send in someone else on your behalf to restore law and order on a rioting crowd that you know contains children and schoolkids you had best be willing to accept responsibility for that decision.

The public, media and politicians have crucified the police for policing far less troublesome rioters very recently, where no children were involved. It would be insanely brave of any police commander to break up the rioters, when we all know that you would be screaming blue bloody murder should anyone get hurt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

did they shoot him in the back of the head on a train? if not, we can't be sure it is not murder, coz that is the only example of not murder i know along with others.

The Hackney kick off is being blamed on the same group of teenagers being stopped and searched 3 times in 20 mins and they had nothing on them. This the day after they killed a chap in dubious circumstances. They are a law onto themselves and totally oblivious to the spirit of human rights.

they asked a guy this evening to search him... thats all..and they started again...
    Its bs if you think the cops killed this man in dubious circumstances.....
    he was allegedly a drug dealer...what do drug dealers do...exactly kill people slowly!! and painfully and cause misery in everyones lives
    You need to seriously check and read what your writing....

Your agenda (going deaf?)

You are using the thread as a trojan horse to spout your usual anti-Brit clap-trap. You do this by attacking the police as they represent the state and the state is Britian. I'm sure by the time you go to bed you will have shoehorned Northern Ireland into the discussion somehow.

I don't hate the Brits. Far from it. I worked there and have a number of friends there and here from Britain.

If this was the police in Ulaan Blattor behaving like the Met behave I would criticise them. If I have an 'agenda' its accountability and competence from public servants. And a bit of ACAB admittedly.

Sand wrote: »

The public, media and politicians have crucified the police for policing far less troublesome rioters very recently, where no children were involved. It would be insanely brave of any police commander to break up the rioters, when we all know that you would be screaming blue bloody murder should anyone get hurt.

Because they did it badly. Like they are doing it badly tonight. Like they killed someone who did not need to be killed on Friday.