The Horrors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

OP, twice in the space of 15 minutes you told us that you're not an "alco". Sounds like denial to me. I think you should stop drinking, at least try it for a while. And I wonder, is your username a play on words? The first two letters and the last two letters spell "Wino".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Green Back

WinstonOno wrote: »
    Goin out on a saturday night, staying in a mates house, he then 'drags' you to the pub at 11 o'clock the next morning, where things quickly get out of hand!! The horrors would usually occur on the monday night. Seriously, im not an alco!!

You need to give up the second day of boozing, from a cost (the horrors, impact on the start of the working week, money etc.)/benefit (the craic) point of view it just isnt worth it. Choose to go drinking Sat or Sun but not both.
    I used to do it most weekends, it wasnt worth it in the end. I'd end up spending a lot of money and the start of a new week would be a write off. Come friday I'd be back to full health and do it to myself all over again.
    And if you cant stop may be you should consider whether you do have an issue with alcolhol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

For a minute there, I thought I was the only one to get them, was thinking maybe I am an alco!! Its happened me a handful of times, and most of my mates, so thought it was a common enough experience. Don't really drink anymore, just cant handle the hangovers, so mainly got them when I was younger and was drinking more than I could handle. Horrible experiece tho, not asleep, not awake, sweating, nightmares!! alcohol is the devils juice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I do be usually just feeling a bit on edge after a sesh, I've never hallucinated, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Colin4May

Weirdest thing for me, is I feel really randy when I have a massive hangover... and of course as soon as you start to do anything about it.. like move on your girlfriend snopring next to you... the blood starts pumping, and I almost black out! Cruel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

I've never had hallunications after a hard weekend partying (well not from alcohol anyway).

Just end up sleeping for most of the next day. The only thing Alcohol seems to do to me is turn me into an energetic drunk followed by feeling wrecked for a day or 2 afterwards. Then again i only go out drinking one day out of every 2 or 3 weeks lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

For a minute there, I thought I was the only one to get them, was thinking maybe I am an alco!! Its happened me a handful of times, and most of my mates, so thought it was a common enough experience. Don't really drink anymore, just cant handle the hangovers, so mainly got them when I was younger and was drinking more than I could handle. Horrible experiece tho, not asleep, not awake, sweating, nightmares!! alcohol is the devils juice!!

It is a terrible experience, I got it once early in my drinking days and its damn scary. Its alcohol poisoning simple as. It poisons the mind. I wish I knew that years ago, but at least I know it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 opelastra

only got it a handful of times myself. The worst i ever got was when that evil leprechaun was standing at the bottom of my bed with a knife and a big evil grin on his face. I woke sitting up on my bed pointing at "him" and shouting "dont come f*cking near me with that knife" :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

I was reading the thread about hangover cures and it got me thinking about nights (and days) i've spent in the horrors. I've had manys a bad one, from feeling like the walls are bending in and about to fall on top of me, to hearing whispers under the bed.
    A particularly strange one was a big mouse with a bale of straw on his back who was making his way slowly across the room, and every few steps he would stop and look directly at me and wink!! Twas a while till I touched the sauce after that one I tell ya.
    Was wondering if any boardsies have had any similar 'in the horrors' experiences or know what causes them?? By the way im not an alco, just like the odd 'splurge' ;)

Long time reader, first time poster!!
    went on a 2 week bender in Ibiza a few years ago, I had severe dt's for 2 or 3 nights when I came home, I woke the first night actually climbing the walls trying to turn on the light to escape from a nightmare where there were rats after me, the rats and vicious dog hallucinations contiued for another 2 days aswell as sweating buckets of sweat and hearing voices when I went to bed, the best way is to gradually decrease the amount of alcohol you drink in those situations, even now after 2 or 3 days on the sauce I get mild dt's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I was reading the thread about hangover cures and it got me thinking about nights (and days) i've spent in the horrors. I've had manys a bad one, from feeling like the walls are bending in and about to fall on top of me, to hearing whispers under the bed.
    A particularly strange one was a big mouse with a bale of straw on his back who was making his way slowly across the room, and every few steps he would stop and look directly at me and wink!! Twas a while till I touched the sauce after that one I tell ya.
    Was wondering if any boardsies have had any similar 'in the horrors' experiences or know what causes them?? By the way im not an alco, just like the odd 'splurge' ;)

Long time reader, first time poster!!

How much do you be drinking for this to happen? Is a 'splurge' a week long bender or something? I've had my fair share of hangovers in the past but nothing like this. Sounds like what people get when they're going through withdrawal symptoms.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Stop Lad!

I get that horrible 'not asleep not awake' thing too when im sleepin off the hangover during the day, and wake up with my heart pounding and feeling anxious for a reason I dont even know.... pure torture. Also been there a couple times with the whole seeing faces in the walls and feeling of other people in the room thing, only after a disgraceful feed of liqour tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Air_Bass

Wow OP, either you've been getting spiked frequently or else drinking SERIOUS quantities of spirits non-stop all weekend.
    Are you on medication or combining booze with psychoactive drugs ??
    I've been on 3, 4 and 5 day 'splurges' and never experienced anything like you describe. Sure enough there'd be combinations of confusion, bluesiness, randiness and that horrible combination of tiredness mixed with the inability to sleep but not the vivid hallucinations you describe.
    I'd suggest taking the drinking down a few notches or else go drinking with different buddies and see how things work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

Yep. I've had them. Spent 2 and a half months working in Lagos.

Worked every night in a bar drinking during work, before and after.

Had the shakes every day till I had a drink and had hallucinations a couple of times worst was when the fan in my room started talking to me telling me everyone hated me and stuff...scary!!

When I came home I had the shakes for bout 2 wks my mam was freaked out!

Grand now tho :) still get the shakes with a hangover if it was a big one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Got them a few times. Horrible. Used to think i could hear a mouse going across the wooden floor. Id get up and search te room. Nothingg back to bed, toss and turn then it would walk across the floor again. ****in melt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Had them a good few times, think they are getting worse too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

meh, amateurs :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭JeanLucPicard

I have had them too.

The horrors come from a heavy drinking spell.

E.G Beginning on Thursday straight through til Sunday. Sunday night will be fine...possibly Monday too. Then I'm afraid to go to bed Tuesday.....

I never had the spiders....its a room full of wasps is what comes for me. And things appearing to move around the room. Horrid sweats and if you do finally sleep the worst nightmares possible.....

It's a horrible thing to go through... Used to get them after bonging Buckfast or Nobleman. Only thing worse is a bad acid trip.. I had a horrific one and wasn't right for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You are drinking a fair whack to suffer from hallucinations, as they are commonly associated with alcohol withdrawal.

I used to drink plenty and i have to say, i never got hallucinations during a hangover.

Well it depends what you call a hangover. As I said over in the hangover thread. If a bottle of Lucozade sport or a cold shower cures it, then its not a hangover you have.

Just like if 2 neurofen fix it, its not a migraine you have, its a headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Epicness

I thought this was about the band The Horrors, I am disappointed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I usually lie in the bed..duvet over the head wondering 'what the f**k did i say to that person last night?'

It goes after about 2 days! then you do it all over again!

I can relate to that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

One night after a good few scoops me and the girlfriend went back to my place. I woke up in the middle of the night, the bedroom was pitch black and I could see a red light in the middle of the wall, images of aliens and spaceships came to mind. I didn't know what the light was but it freaked me out, I jumped up in bed and started panicing, I kept saying, "Look at that, can you see that." pointing at the light still panicing, the girlfriend woke up and I was still saying, "Can you see the light, can you see the red light." She sat up and looked at the light and said, "Yeah I can see the light, its the light from the tele ye dope."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

well seriousley i looked up from under the blanket and up at the fireplace and i seen the pope an john f kenneddy and maggie thatcher stareing me in the face ian paisley was saying the rosery an mother teresa was on the pill an the child of prague and jesus mary an joseph were dancing on the mantlepiece the rats were trying to count the sheep and i was floatin around the room and i theought i was harry potter flyen on a broom well ill tell ya now ill never again will touch a drop then i drempt there was no duty free left down in knock so i went back down into the blanket so i could see no more and i woke up in a mushroom field in gortalocka after fallin into a fairy ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have experienced paranoia, anxiety and depression after some long drinking sessions 2-3 days, but it usually passes within 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Stop Lad!

well seriousley i looked up from under the blanket and up at the fireplace and i seen the pope an john f kenneddy and maggie thatcher stareing me in the face ian paisley was saying the rosery an mother teresa was on the pill an the child of prague and jesus mary an joseph were dancing on the mantlepiece the rats were trying to count the sheep and i was floatin around the room and i theought i was harry potter flyen on a broom well ill tell ya now ill never again will touch a drop then i drempt there was no duty free left down in knock so i went back down into the blanket so i could see no more and i woke up in a mushroom field in gortalocka after fallin into a fairy ring

hahahaha, some serious hardcore horrors there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Hmmm I find the few hours of mindless pleasure you get from a good session is sometimes outweighed by the results the next day.

Wake Up feeling Knackered,
    Cant recall what was going on
    Feeling sickly in your tummy
    Lost wallets, phones

Full day of recovering half a weekend wasted :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

I call this the fear,had a mad night out Saturday, Sunday I was ok, but Monday and Tuesday thought I was gonna die, cold sweats, hot sweats, paranoia. Thats why I'm on a detox now for a few weeks!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭WinstonOno

Christy knew what I was talking about!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I think it gets worse the older you get. Hangovers I can live with, the booze blues are a different kettle of hamsters and part of the reason I don't drink near as much as I used to.