If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let the madness continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

4 miles last night. all grand for the first 2 then bang, pain in th eknee again. Stopped for a couple of seconds and it was gone only to come back again after half a mile or so. Finished out the run and got out the ice pack. Think its back to the physio again for me. Strange thing is though it doesnt seem to impact my pace.

Distance 4
    Pace : 7:52
    Weather: dry and bright
    Totals

Week: 18.81
    Month : 91.42
    Year : 692.34

Miserable morning out there today. I though it was supposed to be a nice weekend :mad: Anyway run was nice despite the rain. PAce was grand and handy and my knee was absolutely fine, must be the threat of the physio.

Distance 6.24
    Pace : 8:29
    Weather: wet
    Totals

Week: 25.05
    Month : 97.66
    Year : 698.58

Last night was back to the intervals again. this time it was 8 X 3 mins at 80% effort with a 90 second recovery. Not as severe as last week certainly but still a good tough session. Felt ok for most of the repeats and pushed the last one as hard as I could.

Interval pace
    7:07, 6:54, 7:02, 6:53, 6:46, 6:43, 6:50, 6:26

Distance 6.92
    Pace : 8:20 overall
    Weather: dry and breezy
    Totals

Week: 6:92
    Month : 104.58
    Year : 705.5

4 miles at a nice recovery pace this evening. Fantastic evening for a run nice and bright but not too warm. Legs were ok just a little heavy from last night.

Distance 4
    Pace : 9:05
    Weather: dry and mild
    Totals

Week: 10:92
    Month : 108.58
    Year : 709.5

Friday evening nice 6 mile run. Felt grand during it apart from a little soreness in the lower right calf. Just stiff though. Was a fantastic evenign for a run.

Distance 6.02
    Pace : 8:29
    Weather: sunny and mild
    Totals

Week: 16:94
    Month : 6:02
    Year : 715.52

Yesterday morning another nice run. Took it very easy at the start but picked the pace up mile on mile. Felt great. 2 days in a row running with the sun on my back....getting spoilt now.

Distance 6.24
    Pace : 8:28
    Weather: sunny
    Totals

Week: 23.18
    Month : 12:26
    Year : 721.16

Right time to catch up.

Essentially been on holidays the last 2 weeks, just back in country Friday and the running definitely took a hit. Managed to get out every second day on average but the distances were short and the pace was slow. Have managed to get out the last 3 days though. Weather was seriously hot though.

July 6th - 4 miles - 9:06 pace
    July 7th - 3.5 miles - 8:58 pace
    July 8th - 4.1 miles - 8:54 pace
    July 9th - 3.73 miles - 9:10 pace
    July 12th - 5.23 miles - 8:51 pace
    July 16th - 6.83 miles - 8:19 pace
    July 17th - 5.83 miles - 8:03 pace
    July 18th - 3:03 miles - 8:23 pace

Totals

Week: 3:03
    Month : 48:51
    Year : 757.41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Concerned2

I hadn't seen an update to your log in so long I though you might have gone into retirement ! I take it the batteries are now well charged for a good crack at the Dublin marathon :) Hope your enjoying our lovely Irish summer since you came back :D

The batteries are totally discharged I think. Its great to be back in this lovely Irish weather alright I was getting sick of running in sunshine and light breezes :D

I know, I know, I was supposed to be taking a month off racing but this was replacing the usual Tuesday session. Fantastic turn out for a very good cause (Meningitis awareness) last night with around 650 people taking part.

I wasn't exactly at race sharpness but just ran it as hard as I could. Somehow I had managed to leave my watch charging at home so once again I was getting no feedback on the course about my time. First K was pretty much uphill and I reckon I must have gone out too hard, I just seemed to have nothing at all in the legs once it flattened out. There was another nasty long drag at around the 3K mark which just totally wiped me. Managed to finish in 21:59 for my slowest 5K of the year so far. I'm putting it down to still being a bit in Holiday mode.

Between warm up/down and the race we covered 6.89 miles, I was running the warm up with a few others so was able to get the distance.

Distance 6.89
    Pace : Race
    Weather: bright and breezy

Totals

Week: 9:94
    Month : 55.4
    Year : 764.3

Today was just an easy enough paced 6 miler. Really rpoved that you cant be in a bad mood running today. Work has been a real pain this week and I was fit to scream heading out the door. Within about a mile all the stress had just melted away.

Now if I could just make it stay away :mad:

On a running note, just a nice handy run with a little tiredness in th elegs from last night.

Distance 6.00
    Pace : 8:37
    Weather: bright and breezy

Totals

Week: 15:94
    Month : 64.4
    Year : 770.3

Very handy recovery run today. My old knee started to make itself known again, same as usual though its just there but never gets any worse and goes away once I stop.

Lovely day for a run with a nice gentle breeze and the sun shining most of the time

Distance 4.00
    Pace : 9:03
    Weather: sunny and light breezy

Totals

Week: 19:94
    Month : 68.4
    Year : 774.3

Longish run yesterday at a faster pace than is normal for these runs. Found the first half grand but the pace was picked up for the second and I was really feeling it by the end. managed to keep with it though so happy with that.

Distance 12:46
    Pace : 8:20
    Weather: dull but humid

Totals

Week: 32.4
    Month : 80.86
    Year : 786.76

Easy recovery run today and I managed to keep the pace nice and slow. Didnt feel great though, think I might be starting to come down with somethign again. Kids all have a dose of the sniffles.

Distance 4
    Pace : 9:21
    Weather: dull but humid

Totals

Week: 4
    Month : 84.86
    Year : 790.76

Intervals again last night, 7 X 4 mins with 3 min jogs in between. Pace was supposed to be at 5K pace but I wasn't getting anywhere near it. the cold from Monday had well and truely settled into me and there was no way I could get up to pace properly.
    Came close to calling it a night after 4 but struggled on to finish it off.
    Interval paces (6:50 target) 6:55, 7:25 (all uphill), 6:56, 7:09, 7:07, 7:07, 7:13

Distance 8:46
    Pace : Intervals
    Weather: warm and sunny

Totals

Week: 12.46
    Month : 93.32
    Year : 799.22

Recovery run today at lunch time, no idea about pace as I left my watch in the car after last night. Pace felt nice and easy even though my legs were a bit on the tired side. Still suffering with the cold though.

Eventually go to the physio as well to have my knee checked out, thankfully nothing serious just a mild case of Patellar Tendonitis. Its a problem with the tendon connecting the kneecap to my shin. Physio did some work on it and gave me some exercises. Should be perfect in a week or so, dont even need to take any time off.

Distance: 4
    Pace : not a clue
    Weather: misty and humid

Totals

Week: 16.46
    Month : 97.32
    Year : 803.22

Tempo run today, mile easy 2 miles at tempo and mile easy. Was feeling a bit off during th eeasy mile but once I got going on the tempo miles it felt grand. Suffered a bit towards the end of the second mile, breathing more than the legs.

Tempo miles were 7:28 and 7:21 which is right in the ballpark.

Knee was fine, did a bit more stretching than usual at the end.

Pace : 8:09 overall
    Weather: cloudy and humid

Totals

Week: 20.46
    Month : 101.32
    Year : 807.22

Dropped the oldest lad to hurling training and took the time to head out for a nice handy run.

Pretty uneventrul really, not the most enjoyable run I ever did. just wasnt really feeling like it. Still got it done though.

Distance: 5:23
    Pace : 9:02

Totals

Week: 25.69
    Month : 106.55
    Year : 812.45

Usual Saturday morning group run. Small group today and some of the lads seemed to be in a rush to get home. First couple of miles were way too fast for me (7:30's). Myself and one of the others eased off the pace then and just ran in ourselves, definitely would have suffered if we kept that pace going. Still kept a nice pace going though overall. Enjoyable run.

Still a bit caught up with the head cold but its not getting any worse.

Distance: 6:20
    Pace : 8:19

Totals

Week: 31.69
    Month : 112.75
    Year : 818.65

Nice easy 4 miles this morning. Was very humid out and didn't really get into the run until it was nearly over. Felt a bit tired after a lateish night last night.

Tomorrow is the start of my DCM plan. Interested to see what difference the shortened specific plan will make.

Overall monthly mileage is OK given that there were two weeks holidays in there.

Pace : 8:59
    Weather: damp and humid

Totals

Week: 35.69
    Month : 116.75
    Year : 822.65

Its official start of marathon training today. 13 weeks to go.

The plan is a little bit unorthodox but it has been specifically designed for our group with a sub 3:30 goal in mind. Essentially it's 11 weeks of training increases followed by a 2 week taper with the last week just do what you feel like. 3 key sessions most weeks - Long Run, Tempo Run and a 'Quality Run (Intervals, hills, etc). Its not totally prescriptive with set miles each day but rather the goals for each week are set and we fit them in as we can.

Today was an easy run, would up at 4.3 miles. Little sore going out but got into it fine as usual. Was late getting out for this one but with the Streets on Saturday I want to be able to take Friday and Sunday off this week. The race will be in place of this weeks Tempo Run.

Distance: 4.3
    Pace : 8:39
    Weather: dull but mild

Totals

Week: 4.3
    Month : 4.3
    Year : 826.95

Last night was 4 X 4 mins at faster then 5K pace with 2 min active recovery between followed by 4 X 2 mins with 1 min AR in between. 10 min warm up and 10 min warm down. Splits were a little bit all over the place even though I felt I was giving the same level of effort each time. Found it tough going but was glad to be able to put in a fast one at the end.

Splits
    4 mins - 6:37, 6:53, 6:50, 7:04
    2 mins - 6:48, 6:58, 7:02, 6:31

Distance: 6.97
    Pace :
    Weather: warm mostly sunny

Totals

Week: 11.27
    Month : 11.27
    Year : 833.92

Easy run at lunch today. Took in a good bit of the Streets of Galway route to reaquaint myself with it ahead of Saturday.

Legs were pretty tired after last night but no pains thankfully. I am trying out some gel insoles in the runners on advice from the physio. Not really liking the feel of them to be honest but I will stick with it for another while just to see.

Distance: 5:01
    Pace : 9:00
    Weather: wet and humid

Totals

Week: 16.26
    Month : 16.28
    Year : 838.93

Moved my long run from teh weekend to today tp gove me the weekend free to concentrate on the Streets. It was only a 12 miler but I really suffered near the end for some reason. Legs and all were fine I just seemed to run out of energy almost. The last mile was a real struggle. Strangely for me it took me nearly an hour to be in the mood to actually get some food into me. Normally I can eat immediately after a run.

Anyway got through it and it didn't kill me. Day off tomorrow before the race Saturday.

Distance: 12:00
    Pace : 9:08
    Weather: mild and breezy

Totals

Week: 28.26
    Month : 28.28
    Year : 850.93

Another brilliantly run event by the crew in GCH. They even managed to keep the worst of the rain away.

Bit of a disappointing race again from my own perspective though. I went out too fast again (6:44 for the first mile) and after a mile and a half or so my legs just wouldn't respond at all. I could feel myself slowing down and I could see the people passing me but I just wasnt abel to respond properly. By the time we got to the 5K mark I had found a pace that I was able to hang onto and managed to pull it together a bit for the last 3K but there wasn't anything in the tank. Had been targeting a sub 35 or as close as I could get to it so a finish of 35:58 was disappointing. It is a PB by nearly a minute and a half but it's certainly no where near as good as it should have been.

.75 mile warm upa nd .5 mile warm down to bring the distance for the day to 6.25

Distance: 6:25
    Pace : 7:14
    Weather: cool and breezy, light drizzle

Totals

Week: 34.51
    Month : 34.51
    Year : 857.18

5 miler at lunch today. No real lingering effects from Saturday apart from some soreness in my right calf. Kept the pace nice and handy and just tried to enjoy the run without thinking too much about it. Was actually a really nice day for it. Going to aim for a 15 mile long run this weekend.

Distance: 5
    Pace : 8:45
    Weather: mild and light breeze

Totals

Week: 5
    Month : 39.51
    Year : 862.18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

BrokenMan wrote: »
    Another brilliantly run event by the crew in GCH. They even managed to keep the worst of the rain away.

Bit of a disappointing race again from my own perspective though. I went out too fast again (6:44 for the first mile) and after a mile and a half or so my legs just wouldn't respond at all. I could feel myself slowing down and I could see the people passing me but I just wasnt abel to respond properly. By the time we got to the 5K mark I had found a pace that I was able to hang onto and managed to pull it together a bit for the last 3K but there wasn't anything in the tank. Had been targeting a sub 35 or as close as I could get to it so a finish of 35:58 was disappointing. It is a PB by nearly a minute and a half but it's certainly no where near as good as it should have been.

.75 mile warm upa nd .5 mile warm down to bring the distance for the day to 6.25

Distance: 6:25
    Pace : 7:14
    Weather: cool and breezy, light drizzle

Totals

Week: 34.51
    Month : 34.51
    Year : 857.18

It says something about your improvements, BrokenMan, that you're disappointed with a minute and a half PB! I always do the same on shorter races, go out too hard (optimism), fade then and my dreams of a sub-whatever drift away into the distance...

thanks ronan. I never turn my nose up at a pb thats for sure. Time will come when I will be glad of any slight improvement. My old one for the 8K was crazy soft though and its not a distance I race very often.

6 X 1 mile intervals last night with 3 min recovery in between. Target pace was 7:05. Had been dreadin this session all day as I just want feeling in th emood for it. Came close to talking myself out of it even.

Surprisingly it went very well apart from the first mile where I was totally off the pace. After that I was running pretty well and managed the last one as my fastest. The even numbered ones were slightly uphill and the odd ones slightly downhill.

Pace : 7:15, 7:04, 7:04, 7:03, 7:13, 6:53

Overall a good enough session but happy to have it out of the way. With warm up and warm down managed to put nearly 10 miles in the legs.

Distance: 9:88
    Pace : 8:22
    Weather: dull and damp

Totals

Week: 14.88
    Month : 49.39
    Year : 872.06

Had a massage yesterday and took it as a rest day after that. Just did a little swimming. Today was a 4 mile tempo run, I'm finding it hard to convince myself that these are long wnough but I'm going to trust the plan on it. That and I do feel it tough towards the end. Im guessing its the combination of the tempo plus that hard Tuesday sessions that add up.

Anyway fairly windy out the prom today and it shows on the 2 tempo miles, 7:35 out and 7:12 back in again. The effor felt pretty even for both of them though and an average pace of 7:23 is in the range, if towards the higher end of it. The legs did feel pretty sore from yesterdays punishment though.

Pace : 8:05
    Weather: dull, windy

Totals

Week: 18.88
    Month : 53.39
    Year : 876.06