20 year old dies from DVT (Read this)

• 31-07-2011 04:00AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭

BBC
    Gamer Chris Staniforth's death blamed on DVT

A man whose son died after playing video games for long periods is campaigning for greater awareness of the risk posed by their excessive use.

Chris Staniforth, 20, who would play his console for up to 12 hours, died in May from deep vein thrombosis (DVT).
    His father David believes the condition may have been triggered by long gaming sessions.

DVT can form during long periods of immobility and can kill if the clots travel to the lungs.
    Computer records showed his son would sometimes play online on his Xbox for periods up to 12 hours.
    The coroner said a clot formed in Chris' left calf before moving to his lungs.

Once there, it caused a fatal blockage, known as a pulmonary embolism.
    Mr Staniforth said: "After my research I saw there was no difference to Chris sitting at a desk on his Xbox and someone on a long-haul flight.
    "Sitting still is literally the danger zone. Chris loved to play and would stay up all night.
    "Millions of people worldwide are playing these games for hours, and there is a risk."

While Mr Staniforth has no problem with games consoles, he wants to highlight the heightened risk of DVT associated with being immobile, and is in the process of setting up a website.

In a statement, Microsoft, who manufacture the Xbox console, said: 'We have always encouraged responsible game play through our education campaigns such as Play Smart, Play Safe.

"We recommend that gamers take periodic breaks to exercise as well as make time for other pursuits."
    Poor lad was only 20. I'd imagine there's lots of boardies that spend similar amounts of time doing the same and I'm just putting this here so people are aware of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Im grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

everyone stretching their legs getting the blood flowing while reading that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

Very unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Are they going to blame gaming for this guy's death?

Go for a walk fat boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

/subconsciously flattens out his body on bed after reading OP during recent bout of insomnia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Should have bought a Wii...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭nomnomnom

Why did the thread have 'read this' in the title?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

And the parents just stood there not encouraging their son to go out and exercise etc.???
    Or did he live seperately from he's parents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Im grand.

Go for a walk fat boy.

Another heartless scumbag after hours post.
    Now I aint no columbo but a 20 year old spending hours on end playing games online seems to me the kid didnt have much of a social life ... which is sad. still wanna make jokes?

Or how about this ... re-read the story and see how its not about gaming is bad but sitting on your ass all day and some poor kid died from it. So how about you be less "thanks whores"

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Now I aint no columbo but a 20 year old spending hours on end playing games online seems to me the kid didnt have much of a social life ... which is sad. still wanna make jokes?

Or how about this ... re-read the story and see how its not about gaming is bad but sitting on your ass all day and some poor kid died from it. So how about you be less "thanks whores"

lol

nomnomnom wrote: »
    lol

FYP.
    Amy Winehouse died last week and boards members were quick enough to say "oh my god so sad" , "rest in peace :( " etc etc etc ...

But yet some random kid dies ... "am i meant to care?" is the response on here :rolleyes:

hypocrissy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Excuse me Sir but calling me a scumbag is quite unfair.

Are you trying to hurt my feelings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I like my PS3 but 12 hours on it and I'd be gone loopy. In my teens, I remember doing the rare all-night gaming sessions (GTA Vice City and San Andreas on the day they were released), going to sleep at around 6AM but there's no way I could do that these days. I wouldn't want to.

This guy might have had problems or something. 20 years old, that's very sad.

People here mourned for amy winehouse ?

This forum is worse than I thought.

Let her family mourn for her FFS

FYP.
    Amy Winehouse died last week and boards members were quick enough to say "oh my god so sad" , "rest in peace :( " etc etc etc ...

But yet some random kid dies ... "am i meant to care?" is the response on here :rolleyes:

hypocrissy.

I forgot to say I just thought your post was funny , I laughed out loud for a good long while , must be awake too long . Your choice of words r something just clicked with my funny bone

nomnomnom wrote: »
    I forgot to say I just thought your post was funny , I laughed out loud for a good long while , must be awake too long . Your choice of words r something just clicked with my funny bone

Glad I could help :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

12 hours pfff, I've done 15 hours today alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

FYP.

hypocrissy.

Eh, it's only hypocrisy if it was the same people making inconsistent comments. Your analogy is bundling all of Boards together as a single posting entity, which is just retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

How did he manage to get DVT? Was he sitting perfectly still for those 12 hour sessions? I've done weekend long sessions, with only 3 or 4 hours sleep each day, but i move around when i game, i don't sit in the one spot. Actually, I'd find that impossible!!!

Sad and all as it is, there's something more to it. Looking at the picture he was at risk due to his weight anyway, that coupled with the fact that if he did sit still for 12 hours at a time in an upright position may have led to it, but it wasn't just the gaming time alone. If it was, i should definitely have DVT, but then again i sit in a leather bean bag and am more stretched out, tv angled down towards me...

RIP anyway.

Oh, and @LighterGuy: It's AH, what do you expect? It took me very little time to realise that you don't post on AH without expecting these type of comments.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

hmmm.... it's not the gaming that caused it, it was the constantly sitting on his lazy lump of an ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

If there is one thing i dont do while gaming, it is sitting still.
    Guess it depends on what games you play.
    Play chess on line for 12 hours and you probably dont move much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Did he not have to go to the jacks at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Go for a walk fat boy.

DVT and PE's has nothing to do with bodyweight actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

DVT and PE's has nothing to do with bodyweight actually.

According to this link, a site dedicated to thrombosis, it says that obesity can be a factor in thrombosis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

FYP.

hypocrissy.
    For what its worth I don't give a fiddlers about the crack head or the loser gamer kid.

It sounds like the sensationalist accusation of a negligent parent who did nothing while his son wasted his life eventually during as a result of his inactivity and wants someone to blame other than himself.

I know that if I played games for 12 solid hours back home it wouldnt be long before my parents were on to me about it and ifi ignored their request to get off the power lead would be swiftly pulled out. I find it hard to believe anyone could sit and play games for 12 hours without getting up every now and again to stretch their legs, use the bathroom, get s snack, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Its good that you think im a scumbag because i said the words "Im grand" :rolleyes:

I couldnt care less about him to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Some people are more susceptible than others.
    My mum got a blood clot in the back of the eye. It was small thankfully but with that eye, she can no longer see anything directly in front of her.

It's possible that this guy was susceptible as well, as I think it's highly unlikely that he was sitting perfectly still for that length of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

My sister got a pulmonary embolism (blood clot) in her lung from sitting down while travelling for a long period. Very scary stuff. Stretch and buy the travel socks is my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Yakult wrote: »
    And the parents just stood there not encouraging their son to go out and exercise etc.???
    Or did he live seperately from he's parents?

Well lets look at the evidence.....hes 20 and played xbox for 12 hours a day.........theres no way he had a job ;).