Why do all scumbags dress the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Downlinz wrote: »
    The white sneakers, tracksuit bottoms tight on the bottom and a zip-up jacket. Why do people willingly choose to dress like this when they know 90% of the people who see them will identify themselves as scumbags without knowing the first thing about them?

Is there some sort of pride being labelled as an undesirable/trouble-maker or do they just simply not care what people think?
    Either way why do they all have the same fashion trends when people in other social brackets dress so differently from one another?

I'll regularly dress like you described because it's ****ing comfy. I'm out for my walk and couldn't give a flying **** what some wanker thinks.

Also, i seriously dispute that other people dress all that different from each other. Walk into any pub in town on a friday night and all you see are variations of a theme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,970 ✭✭✭amacca

I'll regularly dress like you described because it's ****ing comfy. I'm out for my walk and couldn't give a flying **** what some wanker thinks.

Also, i seriously dispute that other people dress all that different from each other. Walk into any pub in town on a friday night and all you see are variations of a theme.

yeah...fcukin sheep the lot of em

I wear lots of different hings all the time...this week its a skin colored adhesive paste made up of ground sandstone finished off with a divine glittery bowler hat

just to be different

jeans and a t-shirt.....pffffft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

EarlERizer wrote: »
    :rolleyes: It doesn't sound silly at all......it sounds Pathetic! but it's keeping in line with the rest of the usual diatribe posted so far so your in good company

Carry on living your life with this mentality "I would be worried that others would assume" and you'll grow old & miserable regretting it!

p.s. you must look a right sight doing sport activities/gym!

Wow, you sound miserable yourself

Just because I take a reasonable amount of pride in what I wear? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

hdowney wrote: »
    oh i too would wear trainers and jogging bottoms if i were going to the gym, out to do exercise *shudder* :o but my 'lazy clothes' do look quite scruffy, i mean they are for lazing round the house, why should they look decent. hence why i would think someone would judge me if i went out looking quite so scruff. you can understand that.

i can tell the difference between someone who wears sporty clothes because they participate in sport and someone who wears trakkies etc all the time just coz

Apparently not,I think you will find that most of the 'scangers' who choose to wear sportswear on a daily basis actually have full wardrobes of the stuff, 4-5 pairs of trainers,several t shirts,tracksuits & a couple of their favourite team's jerseys (county dependant mind lol).More times than most they have the top brand items too.

It's actually those of us who are sport minded that tend to wear out our trakkies & trainers quicker than the daily dressers! obviously because we're using them for the intended purpose.

All i'm saying is, you cant judge a book by its cover, not everyone choosing to wear sportswear is a 'scumbag' ready to rob at the drop of a hat, that kind of attitude is inherent snobbery and in my experience if there's one thing worse than a downright scanger its a jumped up snob!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Jim Parker wrote: »
    Not necessarily. A pair of Air Max, an adidas tracksuit pants and a football shirt will set you back over €200.

Not if you know the right people.. If you live in the right estate.. such regalia will come a calling regularly for (excuse me) fúck all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

py2006 wrote: »
    Wow, you sound miserable yourself

Just because I take a reasonable amount of pride in what I wear? :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: You've changed your tune, thats not what you said, you stated that you NEVER wear said items for fear & worry of others thinking bad of you. That's not pride in your appearance,thats pathetic self doubt and an inferiority complex harbouring insecurities!

As for me and been miserable, not anymore :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Wearing runners,tracksuit bottoms and a zip up top doesn't automatically make you a scum bag.

Wearing a tracksuit doesn't automatically make someone a scumbag, but it sets off alarm bells if you see group of tracksuit-wearers in the distance.

Anyone that says otherwise is being naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Nodferatu

relocate all skanger scumbaggery tracksuit sheep to antartica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i'm not sure which of these 2 stereotypes i dislike more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

They've got no class, no imagination and no brains. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Male description: Hair that's way too gel'd, runners that are way to clean, tracksuit bottoms tucked into their socks, hand tucked into underwear, cap at a 90 degree angle from head, phone playing the latest jaAasoOoOn DerRuuUlLoOooO song at full blast, usually have an angry snarl on their face...

Female equivelant: bleach blonde hair, unbelievably tight black leggings/blue jeggings, tracksuit top that's way too tight and small for them, tits hanging out, pink lipstick, huge earrings, caked in make up, often pregnant.....

Other info: They use txt spk, are usually named Jacinta or Deco, they have about 60 cousins that live near them, their mothers claim loan parents even though their dads live with them,

What to do: avoid at all costs.

God, I love Dublin. <3

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Lol id say your some buzz!!

Please don't feed the trolls..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

I'm considered a 'scumbag' because how I dress, just a stereotype.
    I see 'scumbags' who wear jeans and stripy tops, I see other 'scumbags' who wear slacks and shirts most of the time.

I wear what I am confortable in and happy in and chose not to worry what people like yourself think.

Why should you be self conscious about other peoples small town mentality and stereotypical views.

"Either way why do they all have the same fashion trends when people in other social brackets dress so differently from one another?"

Really?

Poor thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Apparently not,I think you will find that most of the 'scangers' who choose to wear sportswear on a daily basis actually have full wardrobes of the stuff, 4-5 pairs of trainers,several t shirts,tracksuits & a couple of their favourite team's jerseys (county dependant mind lol).More times than most they have the top brand items too.

It's actually those of us who are sport minded that tend to wear out our trakkies & trainers quicker than the daily dressers! obviously because we're using them for the intended purpose.

All i'm saying is, you cant judge a book by its cover, not everyone choosing to wear sportswear is a 'scumbag' ready to rob at the drop of a hat, that kind of attitude is inherent snobbery and in my experience if there's one thing worse than a downright scanger its a jumped up snob!

ah but you see round here the difference can be quite obvious. mainly by the care the individual takes of their clothing. the scangers round my way will go around in the dirtiest (and not in a 'i've just been playing footie and have mud on my trakkies' kinda way) grimey looking clothes, and the sporty types show pride in their appearance, even when wearing tracksuits etc. so that is how i can tell the difference. pride in your appearance, no matter what you are wearing can tell a lot about a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

depends on what you Class as a scumbag tbh. Imho yes they have a uniform But so do banks, Boy racers and alcoholics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Fago! wrote: »
    Male description: .... hand tucked into underwear,

Far more disturbing than any clobber issues.

An issue deserving of a thread of its own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Downlinz wrote: »
    Wearing a rugby shirt to a rugby match isn't exactly what I mean.

I'm not just referring to rugby shirts. Check out how they were them. What else they're wearing. How similar they look to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Your sexuality is called into question if you dress respectably in those circles. That's the level of intellect we're dealing with. My town is well-populated with such people and I often stand out like a sore thumb. Not that I care at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

I think they look very smart and are a credit to their community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I wonder do scumbags know they are scumbags though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Lux23 wrote: »

I wonder do they like the rubberbandits and do they realise they're a complete piss take of themselves :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

py2006 wrote: »
    I NEVER wear a tracksuit/runners and certainly wouldn't wear a football or a GAA top! If I did I would feel terribly self conscious and I would be worried that others would assume I am a scumbag!

Edit: Sounds silly reading it back but its reality!

Never even in your own house or when doing exercise?

I find that sad. Maybe you could wear comfortable pants that isn't tracksuit, but no runners?

OOOhhhhh.... you were being sarcastic, oh I get it. lol. Good one. ;) BUT... that was frankly a bit ambiguous, as you get all sorts of nuts on the internet.

Were you being sarcastic? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

washman3 wrote: »
    If we had a proper justice system in this country he would be wearing the "striped pyjamas" for a long time...:D

Or better yet a pair of cement shoes, launch him off the side of O'Connell Bridge :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Im wearing tracksuit bottoms and runners now,am i a scumbag?

Are you an athlete, currently working out?

It's going to be one of two things, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

St.Spodo wrote: »
    Your sexuality is called into question if you dress respectably in those circles. That's the level of intellect we're dealing with. My town is well-populated with such people and I often stand out like a sore thumb. Not that I care at all

Same attitude in the 'respectable' school I went to, except replace dressing respectably with dressing in any way different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Lux23 wrote: »

I dont think so Lux. I happen to know (due to work) this duo of absolute SKUMBAGS. I mean these pair are the salt. I witnessed one day An asian lad asked him for directions, while he was answering him he shouted back at me "Do you smell Sh1Te around here awful smell is after coming" I didnt actually get it for a minute neither did the other chap. Like a moron I sniffed the air and said no. Then his sly wry smile copped me on to what he was really saying.... Now think of every skumbag Cliche and these pair are it from the clothes to the accents to the tatts the works. One thing that surprised me that on a seperate occasion I noticed he was watchin a group of Skumbag hoodies walking by. He said " F-ing Skumbags Hate them i do they should be all shot"
    I was like ehhh you are one lol in fact your a bigger one ! But i didnt say it to him :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Wouldn't really say scumbags for sure as it's like the fabric of society by now.. would certainly say their train of thought is sorta Delhi-bound or something ain't no room on that train folks clamouring for a space on the roof n what have you

I'll tell you what though the stripes of corporate conformity are very visible.. Adidas be making a killing more than ever, that O'Neill's somehow are permitted use those stripes does not help :/ trend capitalizers. the swoosh must be too subtle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

LH Pathe wrote: »
    Wouldn't really say scumbags for sure as it's like the fabric of society by now.. would certainly say their train of thought is sorta Delhi-bound or something ain't no room on that train folks clamouring for a space on the roof n what have you

I'll tell you what though the stripes of corporate conformity are very visible.. Adidas be making a killing more than ever, that O'Neill's somehow are permitted use those stripes does not help :/ trend capitalizers. the swoosh must be too subtle

so the mushies are out after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

What I really want to know is why they all have the same manner of cycling a bicycle.

Have you ever seen the scumbag on a bike? It's usually either a little too small or too big for him (possibly because it's stolen), and yet he somehow manages to sit about ten yards back from the handlebars, in an armchair position, one long arm steering and the other on his mobile.

He is usually wearing a baseball cap or has his hood pulled up over his head, but the posture is the most distinctive identifying feature, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Every skanger knows that you need a good pair of trainers to run away from the cops.