whats the most unmannerly cycling club in ireland? Orwell Wheelers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,303 ✭✭✭kenmc

bcdf047d7dle-nod.jpg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

If I see you I will hop off the bike, run to you, hug you and squeeze your ass cheeks before leaving you alone in the unfriendly roads. You either do it correct or you don't do it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

i was only jokin really!

Good bank holiday Friday thread. Lumen wins funniest comment IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭daragh_

AstraMonti wrote: »
    hug you and squeeze your ass cheeks before leaving you alone in the unfriendly roads.

You do that to everyone. And you never write or call afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

Well i think its time i went home for the evenin.

Bye Mark! See you soon, yeah? Coffee's in Laragh are on me this weekend, I insist.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Now that's what I call Greek love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Bandara

Marky you poor diddums,

I future everytime I pass you I'll promise to give you a biccie, I'm guessing your so fat already it ain't going to matter anyways.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭markcroninbsc

hopefully by tuesday the dumdummians will have gone from the grumpy ould yokes they are
    2511630873_45c177d571.jpg

to something a bit more happier and plesant to meet on the road

TeamSurfingUSA3.jpg

Hammertime wrote: »
    Marky you poor diddums,

I future everytime I pass you I'll promise to give you a biccie, I'm guessing your so fat already it ain't going to matter anyways.....

Just the one? Thanks i suppose.

LIAR!
    Well i think its time i went home for the evenin.
    a photo of three triathletes and their friend
    wibble

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Why all the culchie hatin?

Everyone knows that a proper dub is merely the offspring of one or more culchies.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

sory excuse my ignorance. I'm not 100% sure but i thought dundrum and orwell wheelers were the same thing no? I definitly mean the ones with dundrum written on them.

Sorry excuse my ignorance but I thought you were taking the p!ss so I responded in kind.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

Why so much hate. Get some friends or something.

and a branded jersey :mad:

Diarmuid wrote: »
    As an Orwellian, when on the bike I don't acknowledge anyone with a qualification less than a PhD

Huzzah, they called me stupid, they told me this day would never come.

Finally, my PhD will have some value. Four years of felling trees and digging up their roots is finally paying off.

It's all coming up Yi Harr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭furiousox

Yes!
    Funny Friday is BACK!! :D

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

Yi Harr wrote: »
    Huzzah, they called me stupid, they told me this day would never come.

Finally, my PhD will have some value. Four years of felling trees and digging up their roots is finally paying off.

It's all coming up Yi Harr.

he said p-h-d, not j-c-b :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

TeamSurfingUSA3.jpg

Mad, didn't know Laird Hamilton cycled, obviously suits him, he doesn't look 46. (second from the right, dark cap), epic surfer and a really nice fella!

kenmc wrote: »
    he said p-h-d, not j-c-b :)

Funny you should mention that. Spent Wednesday and Thursday in a mini digger (for the good of science).

Still though, if it means people will say hello to me whilst cycling it's a win win situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

He calls it giving the other rider a heads up. I think the freds could at least say "on the right" if hello is too much.

His speech is faltering and his eyes show fear. I suspect he is making that video under duress, with some fella in a full-face helmet out of shot threatening to whack him with a bicycle pump if he veers from the script, while muttering "Let's just love each other. WHY CAN'T WE FECKIN' LOVE EACH OTHER!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Mad, didn't know Laird Hamilton cycled, obviously suits him, he doesn't look 46. (second from the right, dark cap), epic surfer and a really nice fella!

It's certainly an interesting team. Another slightly unusual member is the guy from Rage Against The Machine on the far left of the photo. There was a good article in Cycling Plus (I think) about it last year - can't find it online but this article gives an overview. Sounds like they were a strong bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

doozerie wrote: »
    It's certainly an interesting team

Well, thanks to markcroninbsc and doozerie what started off as a troll thread ended up as an education. Well done lads. (and oflahero and TinyExplosions made me laugh).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

While I won't tar every Orwellian with the same brush, there's at least one rude ****er who's muttered curses under his breath at me as I've passed him.

Lots of them said hi to me today on their way down from Glencree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

The OP should be made aware of the fact that these guys he has been referring to were probably 'training',and focused on the task in hand, or upper/middle class types who only know how to do the royal wave,which to be honest is best not to do whilst climbing, or just simply ignorant. This 'problem' is not exclusive to Orwell, but it being the club with the largest membership in the country,odds are,there are MORE of the aforementioned types ;)
    And for the culchie bashing members,enjoy your Randonee that is mostly outside the Pale next weekend :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I ates hang sangwiges n tae from d'boot e'me car in fronta Croker of a Sunday.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

self confessed culchies and drink don't mix :D:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

doozerie wrote: »
    It's certainly an interesting team. Another slightly unusual member is the guy from Rage Against The Machine on the far left of the photo. There was a good article in Cycling Plus (I think) about it last year - can't find it online but this article gives an overview.

"Unfortunately Team Surfing USA was knocked out of the race when Winn was hit by a rival team's support van. "That was the only way they were going to stop us--by crashing into us," says Hamilton"

See, that's the way to treat surfers and GAA players when you see them out on the bike. OP should count himself lucky that Orwellians didn't elbow him into the nearest hedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭C3PO

Returning home from 3-Rock today on the mountain bike, covered in muck and (even worse) wearing an Epic Club jersey when I saw a chap in an Orwell jersey cycling up Rathmichael Rd in my direction. Let's find out I thought to myself so I said a quick "howya" and got a wave, a smile and a "Hi there" in reply ...... lovely guys those Orwell Wheelers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Most people when they pass you comming the opposite direction will give you a nod, wink or a wave. I usually nod and wink ;) like that.

Jaysus,, hard to spot a wink coming the opposite direction !!

Must check to see with the next Orwelllians ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Bloody right! I know a lad who used to work in one of the food stalls in Croker and he wouldn't eat from them...

its a little blurry but i think thats an orwell dundrum jersey?? Well done mrs!!! They do seem to be gettin better. well done orwell dundrum :D
    http://www.gpspeedometer.com/skt/images/full/P8280139.JPG